Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXII-215,743 ROI (4,137 deaths)111,166 NI (2,036 deaths)(22/02)Read OP

Stheno wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1363570463423815683?s=19

20% of worldwide deaths with only 5% of the world population

Worth putting these figures in context.

If Ireland were the size of the United States, we would currently have 270,000 deaths.

Therefore if Ireland had just double current deaths (8,000 or 0.16% of the population), we would have 540,000 deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,672 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Thank you so much Sir Philip Nolan for giving us permission to breathe air outside this summer

A lot of people out and about today. I think people have already decided that the outdoors is safe and the government can feck off.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Ah Jesus I thought that was us at first.....
    You're not the only one, got excited for a second:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭rodders999

Leitrim and Roscommon have achieved zero covid!:D Sligo very nearly there too. Maybe they can carve out their own New Zealand of the NorthWest...

I still wouldn’t go!

(I jest, I jest).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,676 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

A lot of people out and about today. I think people have already decided that the outdoors is safe and the government can feck off.

all well in good but its the government who are the decision makers in turn places won't be open til they get approval

No way in hell businesses will go rogue and open up, far too risky

I just want things open and get on with our lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭pawdee

If Ireland were the size of the United States, we would currently have 270,000 deaths.

Therefore if Ireland had just double current deaths (8,000 or 0.16% of the population), we would have 540,000 deaths.

If my aunt had balls she'd currently be my uncle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

hmmm wrote: »
    We're about 6 weeks behind the UK in vaccinations, no reason why this can't be us in time.

There's no pressure on anyone, the supply of vaccines will determine when we can open.

This is pretty much it. We can use Israel and UK to see what works and what didn't. Personally, I think the UK are moving a little too fast unless their vaccination schedule has some hidden boost powerup in the coming weeks.

(Assuming the leaked plan is the actual plan)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

The reason the spike existed is because Ireland has almost uniquely avoided any form of herd immunity spread.

It has become obsessed with limiting all viral transmission.

That's why the spike was as big as it was. A spike itself was inevitable; the extreme policies implemented by Chairman Holohan etc. only amplified the spike when it did occur.

Nonsense. Portugal had a significantly larger christmas spike and it wasn't their first rodeo.

Interestingly enough, Portugal are now in arguably better shape than us because of the harshness of their recent lockdown.
    They have a fantastic looking trajectory, and will possibly drive their case numbers into the ground with a couple of weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Labaik

Stheno wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1363570463423815683?s=19

20% of worldwide deaths with only 5% of the world population

There obesity levels wouldnt of helped there cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,769 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

It really wasn't worth doing that

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

I don't think that's fair. Not saying some are not using mental health as an excuse but it is an important issue.

People can get lonely and not everyone has people nearby. I know people in my family that I would have concerns about, live alone, not many friends. Has a tendency to be very introverted and may not be too quick to admit they are suffering.

Also people's living conditions can get amplified in these situations. Living in small apartments on top or each other. Domestic violence increasing as well.

I'm not saying that mental health is the only concern but it is a concern for many.

I haven’t disputed any of what you have said.

My point is that most of those who shout ‘mental health’ don’t actually give a sh*te and they are bored of looking at the same four walls.

You see loads of people giving out about the mental health pandemic but not one of them claims to be suffering themselves. They use it as a political tool because they want to reopen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Faugheen wrote: »
    I haven’t disputed any of what you have said.

My point is that most of those who shout ‘mental health’ don’t actually give a sh*te and they are bored of looking at the same four walls.

You see loads of people giving out about the mental health pandemic but not one of them claims to be suffering themselves. They use it as a political tool because they want to reopen.

Yep.

And for some, covid itself is causing neurological issues such as brain-fog, dementia, anxiety and depression.

They won't even acknowledge these people.

Faugheen wrote: »

Very well said - people anchor themselves to campaigns to further their own agendas, rather than caring about the cause they bring up.

It reminds me of the people who stand up for LGBT rights when they oppose all-things Islam ("look at how the Muslim world treats The Gays").

Once Islam is out of the way or not in the question, they go back to their homophobic tendencies - however light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

On the news just now, the reporter said “NPHET said some outdoor mixing of households will also be looked at down the line, possibly by early summer as an incentive to keep people motivated under level 5”

Are we supposed to be thankful for this? Wow NPHET, we are not worthy.

Jesus fcuking wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,769 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

On the news just now, the reporter said “NPHET said some outdoor mixing of households will also be looked at down the line, possibly by early summer as an incentive to keep people motivated under level 5”

Jesus fcuking wept.

Are they in touch with reality at all? That's already happening.

Alcohol sales were banned for most of their lockdown.
    They're kicking the **** out of a variant we really need to see dead. They don't have the money that Western nations do to make lockdowns more comfortable.

Fair play to South Africa. We owe them a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,410 ✭✭✭brickster69

Just as they gave 1 million vaccines away to Kenya.

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Just as they gave 1 million vaccines away to Kenya.

Was that the.AZ vaccines?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

If this is Britains roadmap out of lockdown then it will put some pressure on MM and co

https://twitter.com/PoliticsForAlI/status/1363551368842207240?s=19

Thank God, imagine going on holiday without having to throw German towels in the pool every morning.

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

Jesus fcuking wept.

That's not offering anything at all really. Realistically people can and do meet up outdoors as things stand. It's happening in parks all around me for sure. It's easy to spot the people carefully staying apart catching up over a takeaway coffee. It's all very safe and if I had someone worth meeting within my 5k I'd be doing it too.

Sam McConkey likes this
    lawred2 wrote: »
    It really wasn't worth doing that

If we had a population of a billion, and the 0.08% of the population who have died went up by a factor of just one hundred, we would have had EIGHT HUNDRED MILLION deaths already.

Was that the.AZ vaccines?

Not all but a fair chunk, as well as to some others.

Jesus fcuking wept.

Time to abolish NPHET in its current formation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭mcburns07

So if were twice as bad as the US we'd have 40k more deaths than them.

What point are you trying to make here :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,626 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

just seen RTE news , looks like a clip from Summer 2019 , that was today:pac: