Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭Tork

kieran26 wrote: »
    Interesting,

I was stopped by a Garda at a checkpoint on Saturday evening and was told i couldn't go to get a takeaway in the town 10km from our village because getting a takeaway wasn't essential.
    I questioned him on it and said surely getting food is esential he insisted it wasn't and that i should turn around. I wouldn't mind if i was taking the piss but i think i was being reasonable.
    I have questioned it with the Superintendent but haven't received a response yet.

Seems to me Guardi don't all know what they are enforcing and a heavy handered ham fisted approach will only lead to resentment an lead to more lack of compliance.

So why didn't you tell them you were going shopping (in what I assume is a bigger town) or that you were going to get some things for elderly parents? That's what everyone else does.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Either hes
    A) just tryna be a cool kid calling Gardai "pigs"
    B) He thinks Babe was a true life documentary and pigs can talk.

50/50 which he means tbh.

You completely misunderstand Hectors point. He was referring to the Portuguese Italian Greek and Spanish tenants he had lined up to stay in the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Tork wrote: »
    So why didn't you tell them you were going shopping (in what I assume is a bigger town) or that you were going to get some things for elderly parents? That's what everyone else does.

Because most people try to be honest when dealing with law enforcement agencies.

I don’t think advocating being dishonest is the best advice tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭kieran26

Tork wrote: »

To be honest i normally would, But as i thought my reason for going was reasonable i didn't think i needed to lie.

I just turned back and took the back road, I had already paid of the takeaway so I wasn't going to lose my 30 quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

kieran26 wrote: »
    To be honest i normally would, But as i thought my reason for going was reasonable i didn't think i needed to lie.

I just turned back and took the back road, I had already paid of the takeaway so I wasn't going to lose my 30 quid.

I think it's better just to be honest, all they will do is turn you around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭OwenM

Because most people try to be honest when dealing with law enforcement agencies.

I don’t think advocating being dishonest is the best advice tbh

Were not very far from a police state and curfews with the terrified masses baying for more, not such an easy thing to unwind. It's natural to resent simple freedoms being restricted so bending the truth like this isn't at all bad and I'd guess the Guard would tell you the same thing off the record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Rodin wrote: »
    Well we all know those in the nursing homes did not do their utmost for their residents...
    in their defense, they got ****ty advise in the beginning.

my granny is in a home (she is 101) place is sealed like fort knox , haven't seen her since last summer before she went in.
    They still have covid cases in jan with some deaths,
    PTH2009 wrote: »
    Leos Phased opening system was actually better than the Living With Covid Plan

i'd give my left nut for that plan now rather than the sh1te we are dealing with. How things change? I guess thing can always get worse:pac:

Penfailed wrote: »
    Outrage about a light hearted piece on RTE on the restrictions thread...okay.

its soft propaganda designed to wear down or get the populace "onside".
    Its pretty common tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,332 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

OwenM wrote: »
    Were not very far from a police state and curfews with the terrified masses baying for more, not such an easy thing to unwind. It's natural to resent simple freedoms being restricted so bending the truth like this isn't at all bad and I'd guess the Guard would tell you the same thing off the record.

Police state ey? Do gulags fall under essential construction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,471 ✭✭✭MOH

You're merely deflecting from the point. As usual.

You seem to have deliberately failed to read paragraph directly above the one you quoted, and blathering about parks. The only one deliberately deflecting is you. Here, I'll bold it for you.
    The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) health system policy tracker states that public spaces defined as parks, restaurants, bars, cinemas, non-essential shops and services were closed in Ireland for 120 days from March 12th.

The country with the next highest number of days where public spaces were shut was Finland....
    paw patrol wrote: »
    in their defense, they got ****ty advise in the beginning.
    Like the CMO saying restricting visits was premature when nursing homes were trying to protect their residents. Which alone should have led to his removal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Outrage about a light hearted piece on RTE on the restrictions thread...okay.
    A light hearted piece in the middle of a deadly and terrible pandemic?
    You might have to think about that.

So no comedy or puff pieces or lightheartedness, all misery all the time...... Gotcha.

Some of the stuff on tv and the media is like something off brass eye. Dont pass the gravy bowl at Christmas was a good example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

hynesie08 wrote: »
    So no comedy or puff pieces or lightheartedness, all misery all the time...... Gotcha.
    So Prof Luke O'Neill thinks this deadly and terrible pandemic is a big joke?
    Its official now!

So Prof Luke O'Neill thinks this deadly and terrible pandemic is a big joke?
    Its official now!

Well, if you inferred that from my post on boards then it must be true.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) health system policy tracker states that public spaces defined as parks, restaurants, bars, cinemas, non-essential shops and services were closed in Ireland for 120 days from March 12th.

The economy was not closed for 120 days FFS. How could it be? It wasn't even closed for 1 day. Parts of it were closed, which then had a phased reopening.

Does anyone even do a courtesy fact check before they come out with this nonsense.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Police state ey? Do gulags fall under essential construction?

maybe we aren't at gulags yet.
    but harassing people for their details (the old - show me your papers ,sir) while they are trying to get dressed after a swim in the sea is definitely police state material. No amount of glib retorts by the great lockdown defenders can take away from that.
    It would be funny if wasn't so tragic that last weekend my son (19) was keeping watch for the police while I, under threat of a 100e fine (or worse) sneaked a 15min swim. Its beyond satire , you wouldn't see it in a comedy.:rolleyes:

While i'm annoyed as fcuk at the gardai , it's more worrying the number of people who think this is all good. Servile fools , they might deny it but they'd have loved the era of John Charles McQuaid. Some seem to hold this notion that the state and it's agencies actually own you - it's bizarre as fcuk tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Ah Jesus. Seriously?! First, there's too much doom and gloom on the media. Now it's a propaganda drive. They can't win.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭mikekerry

but harassing people for their details (the old - show me your papers ,sir) while they are trying to get dressed after a swim in the sea is definitely police state material. No amount of glib retorts by the great lockdown defenders can take away from that.
    It would be funny if wasn't so tragic that last weekend my son (19) was keeping watch for the police while I, under threat of a 100e fine (or worse) sneaked a 15min swim. Its beyond satire , you wouldn't see it in a comedy.:rolleyes:

While i'm annoyed as fcuk at the gardai , it's more worrying the number of people who think this is all good. Servile fools , they might deny it but they'd have loved the era of John Charles McQuaid. Some seem to hold this notion that the state and it's agencies actually own you - it's bizarre as fcuk tbh.

It's the hypocrisy of it all, guards out making dance videos in beaches, scenic spots exactly the same places where people are being fined, arrested.
    It's almost like people are are being trolled.

Ah Jesus. Seriously?! First, there's too much doom and gloom on the media. Now it's a propaganda drive. They can't win.

That's not what is being said.
    Its all propaganda,.
    The fear factor then the fluff pieces.

We have the doom merchants and George Lee then followed by puff pieces on how roz purchel or rosanna davison look so great with the salons closed (and what you can do at home to achieve their look) and the "mental health" card then played for good measure.

It's all pushing the same agenda, keep us all on track and accustomed to the "new normal".
    Sure , it's not that bad living in a balloon :rolleyes:

no critical analysis , bar the twice they wheeled out the doctor who was fired by the HSE.
    But he was too good in his analysis so they didn't bring him back.

It's never off message. ever.
    That's the point.

MOH wrote: »
    You seem to have deliberately failed to read paragraph directly above the one you quoted, and blathering about parks. The only one deliberately deflecting is you. Here, I'll bold it for you.

You don't need to 'bold' it for me. I read the paragraph above. I still can't see where it says, in Finbar's words, "the economy has been shut for almost twice as long as the rest of Europe."

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭hamburgham

mikekerry wrote: »
    It's the hypocrisy of it all, guards out making dance videos in beaches, scenic spots exactly the same places where people are being fined, arrested.
    It's almost like people are are being trolled.

All the while the north inner city (Dublin) has turned into a no go area for normal working people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Boggles wrote: »
    The economy was not closed for 120 days FFS. How could it be? It wasn't even closed for 1 day. Parts of it were closed, which then had a phased reopening.

Does anyone even do a courtesy fact check before they come out with this nonsense.

Perhaps the OECD are incorrect so

Boggles out for his afternoon stroll doesn’t believe the indigenous economy was shut for nearly 4 months last year

Must have been lots barbers, restaurants and cafes open

Where do you walk boggles? Is it along a yellow brick road?

no critical analysis , bar the twice they wheeled out the doctor who was fired by the HSE.

Herd immunity loon who claimed the flu was worse?

They didn't bring him back because he was clearly delusional, how he found himself as Clinical Director of a hospital group is a mystery, he did the right thing and resigned though.

Perhaps the OECD are incorrect so

No Fintan, just you.
    Because the economy has been shut for almost twice as long as the rest of Europe up to that point.

The economy was not shut for 120 days.

Seriously think about it.

Harassing people? I'd be taking that up with GSOC. What would your son have done if the Guards landed? Shouted at you to stay in the sea? Isn't he putting himself as well as you at risk of a fine? That's just silly.

Meanwhile, in the real world, I had three bikes that needed serviced in Halfords. We'd paid for our cover for the year with them and it was soon to run out. Loaded up the van and took them almost 50km. Was stopped about a mile from Halfords. The guards were waving most people on but I had to pull over. Guard: "What's the purpose of your journey?" Me: "Taking these bikes to Halfords for service and repairs." Guard: "Do you think that's an essential journey?" Me: "When you've two teenagers in the house who love getting out on their bikes...I'd say yes." Guard: (pausing to weigh it up in his head) "Go on then. Drive safe."

They're not all out to get you. It's incomparable with a police state.

That's not what is being said.
    Its all propaganda,.
    The fear factor then the fluff pieces.

We have the doom merchants and George Lee then followed by puff pieces on how roz purchel or rosanna davison look so great with the salons closed (and what you can do at home to achieve their look) and the "mental health" card then played for good measure.

It's all pushing the same agenda, keep us all on track and accustomed to the "new normal".
    Sure , it's not that bad living in a balloon :rolleyes:

It's never off message. ever.
    That's the point.

I take your point. I'm oblivious to it as I rarely watch or listen to RTE.

They didn't bring him back because he was clearly delusional, how he found himself as Clinical Director of a hospital group is a mystery, he did the right thing and resigned though.

you are being deliberately obtuse almost on the verge of lying now.
    Dr Feely was told if he resigned none of his team (younger and with commitments) would be impacted.
    His statement states this and nobody in HSE denied it.
    He was coerced into resigning - that is dismissal.

He probably has a better track record than Tony Holohan anyway

The police state comments are over the top but in fairness I'd like to see the distance regulations scrapped. There are bigger issues to worry about than making sure someone doesn't go for a swim or a walk in a forest because it's outside their 5k.

I totally agree.

you are being deliberately obtuse almost on the verge of lying now.
    Dr Feely was told if he resigned none of his team (younger and with commitments) would be impacted.
    His statement states this and nobody in HSE denied it.
    He was coerced into resigning - that is dismissal.

So what?

He clearly didn't have the capacity to perform his role.

I have no idea why anyone would champion someone with "ideas" that were psychopathic, particular a clinical director of a hospital group.

He resigned because he lost control of his faculties, and his position was no longer tenable.

Strange person to admire.