Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Very true, those who are both happy with the Level 5 restriction and would also welcome even harsher restrictions well in towards 2022 seem to forget one thing....This all has to be paid for!

*sigh*

I've said repeatedly on this thread that I don't know anyone that doesn't realise the financial pain that's coming our way.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Hmob

walus wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,316 ✭✭✭brickster69

It’s a list of all reported side effects following vaccination in a certain time period. Now most of it is the likes of sore arm and mild fatigue, however there are more serious reports. Now what the anti vaccers well understand but choose to misrepresent is that every event post a medical treatment of any sort must be reported as such until proven otherwise. A heart attack, stroke, whatever, irrespective of cause.

There is an AZ one also.

https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/958615/COVID-19_AstraZeneca_Vaccine_Analysis_Print.pdf

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

It’s a list of all reported side effects following vaccination in a certain time period. Now most of it is the likes of sore arm and mild fatigue, however there are more serious reports. Now what the anti vaccers well understand but choose to misrepresent is that every event post a medical treatment of any sort must be reported as such until proven otherwise. A heart attack, stroke, whatever, irrespective of cause.

All very true, but to go back to the question, rather than any anti-vax sentiments it's probably more a case of "I've had Covid or probably had it (given the number of cases in that setting) the last thing I need is a weekend of feeling lousy when I'm already immune." HCWs in nursing homes have borne the brunt and are likely worn out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,030 ✭✭✭growleaves

They got sick with the vaccine, not of the vaccine? Grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

TobyHolmes wrote: »
    when are we likely to move to Level 3?

June?

I’ve done so multiple times for you via the ESRI link.

Do me a favour and post it again. If it's the one that says we closed public parks for almost twice as long as everyone else, then it's blatantly obvious that it doesn't equate to us shutting down our economy for almost twice as long as everyone else.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

Can we not go down the rabbit-hole of off-topic discussion of vaccine related injuries and deaths. Especially in the manner that it's being presented on the thread here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭TobyHolmes

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    June?

do you think april/ may is out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,571 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Leos Phased opening system was actually better than the Living With Covid Plan

Who knows really, that's just my guess.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'd say April is anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,030 ✭✭✭growleaves

Who cares?

There is so much money sloshing around now at minimum or negative interest.

It is the least of our worries, unlike 2008 and IMF. It is global now and not just country specific. Good that we are still a member of EU.

Anyone with an inkling of sense should care. The QE propaganda has lulled most people to sleep.

Low or negatives rates don't make borrowing inconsequential when the principal is so high. Debt is still debt.

We've seen the effects of this policy in one country with the actions of the Bank of Japan, who've been using it since the 1990s. I remember a Channel 4 documentary about Japanese people living in tiny pods back in the early 2000s.

How does extending this system out to the whole world make it less of a problem? The whole world will feel the pain when the deficit chokes economic activity. Assets (including housing, education and healthcare) will be unattainable for any ordinary person except through peonage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

You have but you will see it again and ignore it just like the other chap.

And I will be repeatedly asked to prove it and it’s rather simple to do so

Here is the link

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/ireland-had-longest-lockdown-for-pubs-and-restaurants-in-europe-report-1.4414028?mode=amp

Here is the summary

It’s crucial to remember that’s the 1st lockdown. It doesn’t include the other business closures NPHET indulged in last Summer and Autumn

We closed businesses in our capital for months after that, but the rest of Europe did not.

We have witnessed economic suicide in Ireland in 2020

We are now the only country to close construction

How ye are still defending those measures is beyond belief tbh

It’s not like being the strictest nation in Europe reduced our death rate in Spring 2020

But we will still be in this thread next July waiting for the barbers to open while the usual suspect will say we are just like Europe or some other voice will say people moving about spread cases

I can post the figures, you can ignore them.

But the day of reckoning will be brutal for Ireland

you must be sick to the teeth of posting that link at this point fintan

Stheno wrote: »
    I'd say April is anyway

lets hope for May then #freedommmmmmmm

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    Who knows really, that's just my guess.

yeah i know. the papers have given up saying anything at this stage.

baa humbug

lets hope for May then #freedommmmmmmm

Hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

growleaves wrote: »
    Anyone with an inkling of sense should care. The QE propaganda has lulled most people to sleep.

Low or negatives rates don't make borrowing inconsequential when the principal is so high. Debt is still debt.

We've seen the effects of this policy in one country with the actions of the Bank of Japan, who've been using it since the 1990s. I remember a Channel 4 documentary about Japanese people living in tiny pods back in the early 2000s.

How does extending this system out to the whole world make it less of a problem? The whole world will feel the pain when the deficit chokes economic activity. Assets (including housing, education and healthcare) will be unattainable for any ordinary person except through peonage.

Totally. It is used as a panacea for sluggish growth and very inefficient at that as it does not work. Money supply alone will not fix gdp.

The expectation is that such amount of money will cause inflation and consequently, at zero interest rates, the principal to be paid out will be nominally devalued. But what if this depression brings deflation? Has anybody considered that option? This scenario seems far less rosy to me and the signs are that that might as well be the case.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

Personally I have zero support for continuing any lockdown beyond the next few weeks. I just read an article comparing California and Texas's approach to Covid and their infection/unemployment outcomes were similar despite Texas having a total of only a few weeks lockdown in the last 12 months. Lockdown fatigue set in ages ago which is why this current one is not having much effect on the caseload. Like Cali, Ireland has the worst of both worlds - a hardcore lockdown but really high cases and deaths.

Set up a nationwide system to vaccinate the whole population at once (not in stages) and aim to have it done in a few months. This piddling about with 40k vaxxes/week needs to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Penfailed wrote: »
    Do me a favour and post it again. If it's the one that says we closed public parks for almost twice as long as everyone else, then it's blatantly obvious that it doesn't equate to us shutting down our economy for almost twice as long as everyone else.

What rubbish

All you got was parks were closed from this
    The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) health system policy tracker states that public spaces defined as parks, restaurants, bars, cinemas, non-essential shops and services were closed in Ireland for 120 days from March 12th.

It’s the nearly the complete indigenous economy in Ireland and you can only see parks are shut.

I suppose not everyone’s livelihood was effected so some don’t realise

The following backs up the fact Ireland had the longest economic lockup
    Meanwhile, consumer expenditure — a better metric by which to assess the national economic welfare, the report argues — is expected to fall by 9.2% after plunging by over 20% during the lockdown period.

Only the UK and Spain experienced worse declines, according to the ESRI analysis.
    While Irish GDP was inoculated by the strong performance of exports, particularly pharmaceuticals and computer services — two categories dominated by multinational companies — the shock experienced on the ground has been much worse, particularly in the construction and entertainment sectors.

This, according to the report, is related to how strict the March-to-June lockdown was compared to other countries.

Highlighting recent Oxford research in the stringency of the public health restrictions rolled out across the world in March, the ESRI report concludes that Ireland “ had one of the strictest and longest lockdowns” in Europe.
    The value added to the Irish economy by construction activity fell by 38% in the first six months of the year as a result of the pandemic-related shutdown measures. This represents the worst decline in Europe.

This is all during Ireland’s 1st lockdown. They implemented 2 more when the EU did not. Construction is shut again.

I don’t know what more you want as proof.

In fact it doesn’t matter, you have it in 2 different sources in black and white and will still ignore it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Hmob

spacetweek wrote: »
    Personally I have zero support for continuing any lockdown beyond the next few weeks. I just read an article comparing California and Texas's approach to Covid and their infection/unemployment outcomes were similar despite Texas having a total of only a few weeks lockdown in the last 12 months. Lockdown fatigue set in ages ago which is why this current one is not having much effect on the caseload. Like Cali, Ireland has the worst of both worlds - a hardcore lockdown but really high cases and deaths.

Set up a nationwide system to vaccinate the whole population at once (not in stages) and aim to have it done in a few months. This piddling about with 40k vaxxes/week needs to stop.

Agree with the first part

On the second, we're vaccinating as quick as possible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭batman_oh

What rubbish

It’s the nearly the complete indigenous economy in Ireland and you can only see parks are shut.

I suppose not everyone’s livelihood was effected so some don’t realise

The following backs up the fact Ireland had the longest economic lockup

This is all during Ireland’s 1st lockdown. They implemented 2 more when the EU did not. Construction is shut again.

I don’t know what more you want as proof.

In fact it doesn’t matter, you have it in 2 different sources in black and white and will still ignore it.

It's bizarre. Unless you seriously had your head buried somewhere you should realise we have had by far the longest restrictions anywhere. There's nowhere in the world that people have been unable to leave either 5km or their own county for as long either

What rubbish

I should have said, "public spaces."

"The country with the next highest number of days where public spaces were shut was Finland (74 days) followed by Slovakia (66 days) and Bulgaria and Estonia (both 65 days)."

Public spaces doesn't mean that our economy was shutdown for almost twice as long as everywhere else, y'know, like you stated.

Penfailed wrote: »
    I should have said, "public spaces."

"The country with the next highest number of days where public spaces were shut was Finland (74 days) followed by Slovakia (66 days) and Bulgaria and Estonia (both 65 days)."

Public spaces doesn't mean that our economy was shutdown for almost twice as long as everywhere else, y'know, like you stated.

You are only highlighting a lack of understanding of basic definitions within the article.

batman_oh wrote: »
    It's bizarre. Unless you seriously had your head buried somewhere you should realise we have had by far the longest restrictions anywhere. There's nowhere in the world that people have been unable to leave either 5km or their own county for as long either

Has anyone said otherwise?

You are only highlighting a lack of understanding of basic definitions within the article.

You're merely deflecting from the point. As usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

RTE scraping the barrel again.
    This is apparently the future of gigs

https://twitter.com/SarahDallaghan/status/1358921006220460037

RTE scraping the barrel again.
    This is apparently the future of gigs

https://twitter.com/SarahDallaghan/status/1358921006220460037

Jeasus I hope there is no air supply into those fcuking things

Luke o Neill gets around. He looks like he's creaming himself when he's talking about the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Here’s the full link. RTE should be defunded
    https://twitter.com/clairebyrnelive/status/1358926477228732418?s=21