If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,756 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

How's the dail bar doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭Dickie10

i find it very odd that people equate pubs being opened to alchos?! alchol consumption has sky rocketed and not a pub open. most alcoholics never set foot in a pub. most i heard of anyway. i agree they shouldnt be open til we have virus under control that means over 70s vaxxed and all other vulnerable. after that every one for themselves. risk management. hospitals will cope once over 70s vaxxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,605 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

PTH2009 wrote: »
    How's the dail bar doing?

Why don't you ask your local td?

Dickie10 wrote: »
    i find it very odd that people equate pubs being opened to alchos?! alchol consumption has sky rocketed and not a pub open. most alcoholics never set foot in a pub. most i heard of anyway. i agree they shouldnt be open til we have virus under control that means over 70s vaxxed and all other vulnerable. after that every one for themselves. risk management. hospitals will cope once over 70s vaxxed.

Wish it was that simple but goal posts are been moved everytime

ordinary people will need to put pressure once vulnerable are vaxxed. need the government to know that their seats are in jeopardy for the next election, once that pressure comes on things will change. I would be very confident vaccines will do thier job. all we need to do is not overrun the health system to badly. that wont happen once most vulnerable and over 70s are vaxxed.

We wont and dont need to get rid of covid for normality to resume in june/july.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

obvious stealth war
    hilarious! well done...

tenor.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,729 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Dickie10 wrote: »
    ordinary people will need to put pressure once vulnerable are vaxxed. need the government to know that their seats are in jeopardy for the next election, once that pressure comes on things will change. I would be very confident vaccines will do thier job. all we need to do is not overrun the health system to badly. that wont happen once most vulnerable and over 70s are vaxxed.

We wont and dont need to get rid of covid for normality to resume in june/july.

June/July may be realistic. People saying they won't tolerate pubs still being closed come paddys day are delusional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

June/July may be realistic. People saying they won't tolerate pubs still being closed come paddys day are delusional.

I’m celebrating paddy’s day either way. You don’t need a pub to celebrate our national day.

fin12 wrote: »
    I’m celebrating paddy’s day either way. You don’t need a pub to celebrate our national day.

Sure there going to be celebrating it down in Australia

There’s actually really cool paddy’s day decorations in Euro Store if anyone’s interested.

And hopefully, when it does come to pass, we'll cremate the term "wet pub" for all eternity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,455 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

And hopefully, when it does come to pass, we'll cremate the term "wet pub" for all eternity.

It never came up until Covid restrictions - except the food and drink industry who coined the phrase, of course. But normal people never needed to distinguish between food led pubs and drink led pubs until now and I doubt we’ll need to do so after covid either.

oh yeah , sure thats on 5 weeks away. No i would be happy enough to stay locked down in level 5 til may 1st. case numbers may only be around 100 or less by then , but schools need to be kept closed til after easter which is april 12th back i think.
    then hopefully level 4 til mid june. BUT , i really think hotels/restaurants and pubs all need to stand together and make the government open all of these or none. time to stop the food/wet pub nonsense once and for all thats disgrceful and no evidence to support. if all hotels refused to open til all hospitality were allowed open i think government would blink within a fortnight, max 2 weeks show of solidarity by everyine. crazy a small country pub has to mess around with food or chips and only 10 people in each evening. My mid June someone tell me what risk the health service will be put under by all hospitality open? none. that includes nightclubs/late bars etc. most going to these are 17-40 . very little risk , not near enough to even think they should not be open as normal. No fear of killing grannys or grandads by then, plus a huge amount of other people will be vaxxed by then. we dont need everyone vaxxed and we dont need to expel covid nor will we. people will get sick and some will die of it too but were not immortal its all about numbers end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

I'd have went without going to a pub, or having a drink at all, for several 3 week periods a year by my 30's. If you added it up cumulatively I'd say there was 2- 3 months every year in the last few years where I didn't have a drink. While the novelty may wear off I can't imagine a scenario ever again where I won't go to a pub every single weekend once they re open, such is how grateful I will be to have them back.

Same my man. I have a rake of booze in the gaff but haven't had anything resembling an urge to crack into the cans and haven't touched a drop since 26th Dec.

I am however raging to meet the lads in town, go to a couple of nice pubs and have a lash of pints. I am a craic addict it seems, the gargle is a nice bonus :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Bigfatmichael

I'm looking forward to the clubs and pubs opening and hopefully get a ride. It's now 13 months since I had one.

I'll settle though just for beer gardens to be allowed open this summer.

I'm extremely sexually frustrated. Open the pubs and clubs FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Greenlights16

I'm looking forward to the clubs and pubs opening and hopefully get a ride. It's now 13 months since I had one.

We’re all with you brother in these desolate times for the single riders out there.

Remember to keep things mixed up in the Pamela department, there are better days ahead.

Just imagine the utter horn on the women when they’re first let out again in the summer.

They’ll get up on the crack of dawn. Get yourself ripped into sh#te for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Bigfatmichael

We’re all with you brother in these desolate times for the single riders out there.

Remember to keep things mixed up in the Pamela department, there are better days ahead.

Just imagine the utter horn on the women when they’re first let out again in the summer.

They’ll get up on the crack of dawn. Get yourself ripped into sh#te for that

I'm looking forward to the day and the floors be dripping wet when I walk into a place. Hopefully not too long to go.

In these desperate times I've just signed up to POF and have got a reply from a fairly overweight 45 year old.

I suppose I'll give it a go even though I'm 27.

She's outside my 5KM radius so wonder will going for a ride be a good excuse for a guard. I'll load up the back seats with shopping bags actually.

I'm looking forward to the day and the floors be dripping wet when I walk into a place. Hopefully not too long to go.

In these desperate times I've just signed up to POF and have got a reply from a fairly overweight 45 year old.

I suppose I'll give it a go even though I'm 27.

I don’t get that, u will get other messages. Online dating is a nightmare though.

Don’t waste his / her time if u are not genuinely interested. There’s nothing worse than time wasters which are a plenty nowadays as far as dating is concerned.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

When we get to 10k posts and need a new thread I'll make sure it refers to "non-dry pubs" in the title....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,668 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

You should put a call in to the CMO, let him know how you feel

?s=fatherted&e=S03E03&i=S03E03-67VKz1vu&t1=YOU%20SHUT%20THE%20PUBS%20AND%20NOW%20I%27M%20HAVING&t2=TO%20YANK%20MESELF%20OFF%20AROUND%20THE%20CLOCK

06vA704hEQ2S.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

I genuinely cannot get my head around the fascination with having pubs open, I've posted in this thread a few times and it's just mind boggling.

The only people who should be crying out for them to open are the staff who are currently down money due to them being closed. Anyone else who is still complaining seriously needs to seek an AA meeting.

Simple question, what part of the country are you from ? Its fair to say you sound like you are from an urban part otherwise you would understand that in a village the pub is the centre of the village. Its where people meet, go to ask questions, look for trades people, all manner of stuff, and heaven help us actually have a drink. So for the population of such villages and I`m sure you will agree there are thousands, what social outlet do these people have ?

If I was attending pubs just for drink , I seriously would not set foot in one, why would anyone if it’s just pure alcohol and alcohol alone they are seeking going to a pub. Why pay pub prices for the same drink u can bulk buy in the shop.

The pub to a lot of people is all about the social aspect.

If I was attending pubs just for drink , I seriously would not set foot in one, why would anyone if it’s just pure alcohol and alcohol alone they are seeking going to a pub. Why pay pub prices for the same drink u can bulk buy in the shop.

It will be bliss when they reopen (food or non food) in terms of the social aspect more than the alcohol part. Let's hope it will be fully opened and not this 11pm last orders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

It will be bliss when they reopen (food or non food) in terms of the social aspect more than the alcohol part. Let's hope it will be fully opened and not this 11pm last orders

Or the food bollocks.

Just open the ****ing pubs and let people show some personal accountability for their actions. The country is ****ed, it's time to open up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,605 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Because asking irish people to be considerate and responsible over Christmas worked so well.....

It’s only going to be real bliss when they open and operate as they did pre this Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

one word, guinness

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Because asking irish people to be considerate and responsible over Christmas worked so well.....

Yes when they all traveled over here from abroad. Couldn’t just stay where they were for one bloody Xmas. They had their fun and then f*cked back again to where they came from. Leaving the rest of us to suffer the consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

You can blame government decisions for that. Not the general public.

What's the plan so? Keep everything closed till when?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Ignore the thousands travelling in from the UK and heading to Brazil and back too. And the longest closure time on pubs in the whole world and all the shops being closed in the lead up causing massive pent up demand.
    Easy to blame people for being bold when the decisions made are questionable