Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

The UK arent going to open anything up till April at the earliest bar schools. (Construction wasn't shut down).

So that means here we will be closed till June or July with our slow vaccine roll out and the new variant spreading so fast.

If we got it down to 200 cases a day and went to level 4 we would be back up to 1000 cases a day with 10 days.

I think the best way to gauge how early we could open up is to look at when pup ends. Someone was saying on here Leo was talking about extending it until the end June so that will be the earliest we will get any kind of real reduction of restrictions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭BTownB

That`s your theory.

Nope that's the science. Can't believe at this stage people are still questioning this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

Graham wrote: »
    I do indeed.

Not sure what posts you're reading "where people are mocked for not enjoying being forced to cover their faces in public".

The imaginary posts in his own head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭landofthetree

There are no plans to buy Covid-19 vaccines outside the EU process, the Department of Health has confirmed, while it remains unclear if surplus UK doses could be imported into the State.

Although health authorities here are administering vaccines as quickly as supplies arrive, the Department of Health says it does not intend to seek additional supplies from outside the EU framework. The department also confirmed that it is not prevented by EU rules from seeking supplies from companies outside the EU portfolio
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/government-has-no-plans-to-buy-surplus-covid-19-vaccines-outside-eu-process-1.4476496?mode=amp&__twitter_impression=true

Wtf are they thinking?

If you can source extra vaccines you should take them.

Vaccines are cheap compared to lockdowns and they save lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,633 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

They’re thinking they don’t need any additional vaccines over the EU programme, that’s all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

That`s your theory.

What is 'my theory'? Is it that is how Multipass perceives the risk and why he is against wearing masks? Or that covid causes only mild sickness in the vast majority of the population?

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Wtf are they thinking?

If you can source extra vaccines you should take them.

You want to buy in vaccines that have not been approved for use here?

Just on the masks... we’ve been wearing them for over a half a year now and have been in lockdown most of that time.

And we still have thousands of new cases everyday.

Wearing a piece of cloth on your face does very little.

Just on the masks... we’ve been wearing them for over a half a year now and have been in lockdown most of that time.

You have a controlled parallel study in Ireland to call on to make that assertion?

There is a lot of info for and against the efficacy of wearing masks. I would imagine that they can help, but they need to be of a proper quality, must be worn appropriately and replaced often. None of those three things I can actually see happening out there.

Boggles wrote: »
    You have a controlled parallel study in Ireland to call on to make that assertion?

Don’t need one, I have my own two eyes.

Numbers dropped to almost 0 without masks. With masks we’ve thousands of cases a day and endless lockdowns.

Seasonality seems to be more of a factor than the piece of cloth.

Great visual though. Really adds to the fear and misery of it all.

That will be a challenge to peer review.

Again, there is no such thing as anti restrictions as a basis, it's just anti science.

I imagine you are not fond of vaccines or high speed broadband either, are you?

Numbers dropped to almost 0 without masks. With masks we’ve thousands of cases a day and endless lockdowns.

Seasonality seems to be more of a factor than the piece of cloth.

Great visual though. Really adds to the fear and misery of it all.

Masks are amazing, so amazing we need to have everything closed down for most of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Again, there is no such thing as anti restrictions as a basis, it's just anti science.

Requirements for Science = observable, testable, repeatable, and falsifiable experimentation.

Please explain when masks went through the above requirements.

ps little cartoon drawings/videos do not qualify the requirements

Numbers dropped to almost 0 last summer without masks.due to the vast majority of people following the restrictions rules last year.

FYP

dalyboy wrote: »
    Requirements for Science = observable, testable, repeatable, and falsifiable experimentation.

Please explain when masks went through the above requirements.

Roughly a 100 years ago was the start of it.

There is a mask thread, reams of info and studies since.

Very informative, fill your boots.

Roughly a 100 years ago was the start of it.

There is a mask thread, reams of info and studies since.

Very informative, fill your boots.

Oh well then there must be one scientifically adhered example you can cite.

Remember. observable, testable, repeatable, and falsifiable experimentation.

Waiting ......

To implement things such as lockdown or masks, there should already be peer reviewed scientific studies proving their benefit. This hasn’t happened yet.

Oh well then there must be one scientifically adhered example you can cite.

Remember. observable, testable, repeatable, and falsifiable experimentation.

Waiting ......

The latest one.

There is many.

https://www.pnas.org/content/118/4/e2014564118

Fill your boots.

Again there is a whole thread dedicated to it.

Knowledge is power.

The latest one.

There is many.

https://www.pnas.org/content/118/4/e2014564118

Fill your boots.

Again there is a whole thread dedicated to it.

Knowledge is power.

Thanks for the link.

Sadly it’s merely a hypothesis on the usefulness of society wearing masks.

Nothing was conclusive (strange that) apart from literature suggests further study.

So nothing observable, testable, repeatable, and falsifiable.

Anyway , I’ll leave it that as there is a separate thread for this topic and don’t want to derail restrictions focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,988 ✭✭✭Russman

Mother Nature "lads I'm throwing a pandemic, brand new virus gonna be unleashed on ye"

The world "ahh jaysus no, hold on, will you not wait til we have some studies done proving what measures we'll take will work ?"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Masks have been used to prevent/limit infection since the 1800s

Pretending they suddenly have no impact on the spread of infection is patently absurd.

Russman wrote: »
    Mother Nature "lads I'm throwing a pandemic, brand new virus gonna be unleashed on ye"

The world "ahh jaysus no, hold on, will you not wait til we have some studies done proving what measures we'll take will work ?"

Infairness they told us it was not advised to wear masks well into the summer. So what changed?

Russman wrote: »

In reality it`s only a tiny minority of delusional people who believe that should happen. Thankully they have been largely ignored.

Thanks for the link.

Sadly it’s merely a hypothesis on the usefulness of society wearing masks.

Nothing was conclusive (strange that) apart from literature suggests further study.

So nothing observable, testable, repeatable, and falsifiable.

Anyway , I’ll leave it that as there is a separate thread for this topic and don’t want to derail restrictions focus.

So you didn't understand it, fair enough.

In places where social distancing cannot be achieved I can see why the use of masks can be beneficial:
    https://twitter.com/Reuters/status/1316404648392056832

Those masks need to be however worn properly, be of adequate quality and replaced often.

Graham wrote: »

Masks have been used to prevent/limit infection since the 1800s

Pretending they suddenly have no impact on the spread of infection is patently absurd.

Longer than that. It was in the link.
    Wu Lien Teh’s work to control the 1910 Manchurian Plague has been acclaimed as “a milestone in the systematic practice of epidemiological principles in disease control” (3), in which Wu identified the cloth mask as “the principal means of personal protection.” Although Wu designed the cloth mask that was used through most of the world in the early 20th century, he pointed out that the airborne transmission of plague was known since the 13th century, and face coverings were recommended for protection from respiratory pandemics since the 14th century

walus wrote: »
    In places where social distancing cannot be achieved I can see why the use of masks can be beneficial:
    https://twitter.com/Reuters/status/1316404648392056832

Those masks need to be however worn properly, be of adequate quality and replaced often.

Not acceptable I'm afraid.
    ps little cartoon drawings/videos do not qualify the requirements

Neither are peer review'd studies or 700 years of scientific history.

2 eyeballs only.

So you didn't understand it, fair enough.

Tut tut .

Ad hominem attacks are ultimately self-defeating. They are equivalent to admitting that you have lost the argument.

Have a nice day

Tut tut .

Ad hominem attacks are ultimately self-defeating. They are equivalent to admitting that you have lost the argument.

Have a nice day

Attack? :confused:

You either clearly didn't read it or clearly didn't understand it.

Which isn't great faith posting considering you demanded it.

But indeed have a great day.