Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

gmisk wrote: »
    House opposite and a bit up....having a house party....

All in this together....yep...

Be better to have controlled environments open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

Jealous of Italians. Bloody fresh pasta and house wine for every1 starting tomorrow.

Potential holiday destination :pac:

Gonna get all the hate now about Irish hospitality etc. Lovely, beautiful, high standards Irish hospitality businesses that are closed. For months on end. Assuming they re open ofcourse.

I'd say Tony is gonna be very concerned now at 6.01 with Italians letting loose. He ll want mandatory 14 day quarantine regardless of the test result if you coming from the EU covid vector that is Italy.

You wouldn`t know too much about supporting Irish hospitality would you considering your shameful and hypocritical lack of support for them after they reopened last summer despite your caterwauling for months about the sector not reopening soon enough for your liking. You are a complete and utter windup merchant. If I get a ban for stating this then so be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,608 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Be better to not have house parties...they are fecking adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

froog wrote: »
    all of this goes back to posters in this thread not understanding the basic mechanism of how the virus spreads. all the other wacky viewpoints can be traced back to that.

This time last year, the suggestion of locking up an entire population, closing schools, sport, all social activities, family visits destroying a large part of the economy to control a virus that transmits much like the flu and predominantly is lethal to a small percentage of a particularly vulnerable demographic would have been considered a wacky viewpoint...

In fact, given the stats we see from around the world...it should still be a wacky viewpoint, but shove enough hysterical content down people's throat and watch how they give up their liberties and turn on one another!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,633 ✭✭✭Tork

There's no guarantee these house party people would've gone to a pub if it was open. Or that they wouldn't have loaded up on drinks at home before heading out to one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Be better to not have house parties...they are fecking adults.

Would you recommend book reading or maybe watching 6.01 every day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

This time last year, the suggestion of locking up an entire population, closing schools, sport, all social activities, family visits destroying a large part of the economy to control a virus that transmits much like the flu and predominantly is lethal to a small percentage of a particularly vulnerable demographic would have been considered a wacky viewpoint...

In fact, given the stats we see from around the world...it should still be a wacky viewpoint, but shove enough hysterical content down people's throat and watch how they give up their liberties and turn on one another!!!

100%.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Really? What makes you think that controlled environments are better than a house party. Plenty of examples of clusters from such environments, though they don't get reported nationally because track and trace doesn't pick them up, but they very much DO get reported locally by people who know what is happening in their locality.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Tork wrote: »
    There's no guarantee these house party people would've gone to a pub if it was open. Or that they wouldn't have loaded up on drinks at home before heading out to one.

Or gone to a pub first and then back to the house afterwards.

I had a Messenger video catch up with mates, some of whom I haven't seen in a year, last weekend. It wasn't the same as sitting round a table in a bar or a house...but it was great!

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Book reading personally, if you could manage all the long words. Maybe a picture book for you?

You think it's a good idea to have a house party at the minute? I would like the numbers to drop so I could get back to some normality....mad idea I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

a virus much more infectious than the flu, much deadlier than the flu, and for which we had no vaccine.

why do you leave out these crucial facts when making absurd points like this? it looks extremely foolish.

From the Irish Times article on Belmullet Controlled environment indeed
    According to one healthcare worker, one premises was overwhelmed by crowds of drinkers. Individuals hired rooms for the night and invited friends to join them and party.
    “There was four of five hundred people there,” said this person. “The bar was full, the foyer was full, the back bar was full, the restaurant was full. Very few masks.

“Personnel were overpowered with it; they couldn’t do anything; the guards came and cleared people out but they couldn’t clear people out that were staying there.”
    “The staff weren’t letting them in,” he said, “but they got in through windows and drink was also being handed out through windows to people outside.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

See whatever you want to see old buddy. As you well know the government here bowed to pressure from various sectors and went against NPHET recommendations`by greatly easing restrictions almost 2 months ago now when the case numbers were far too high to justify doing so. We have all seen what the dire results of that were. The Italian authorities may be making the same mistake now. As I already stated time will tell what the outcome is. Whatever happens we won`t have too long to find out.

or maybe old buddy there's more to be taken into consideration when running a country than what the covid numbers are on the evening news and there should be a balancing act between having protective measures and making sure the economy isn't beat to ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

House opposite and a bit up....having a house party....

All in this together....yep...

Sure head over and confront them then, if you feel so strongly about it. That is of course if there even is a party.....
    Thanks for your suggestion.
    Naw your grand, they are rough as a bears arse I just called the gardai, leave it up to them to decide if it's a party....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

I’ll ask (without holding out much hope of an answer). Would you not think both of your suggestions would be far more advisable at the moment? Or do you think having house parties at this time is fine?

A yes/no answer to both is all I ask.

a virus much more infectious than the flu, much deadlier than the flu, and for which we had no vaccine.

why do you leave out these crucial facts when making absurd points like this? it looks extremely foolish.

How do you know, do we test people for the flu every year? Can you provide the figures? How many people die from flu every year or die with flu? Any idea?

WE don't know it's deadlier than the flu because we don't know how many people get it...it's case fatality rate can only be guessed....it is certainly a nastier infection than the flu.

Even 11 months in you can't show a morsel of data that severe lockdowns are worth the cost...we don't even know what the cost is as it has never been done before.

By the way, I have no difficulty, given that it is a new virus with no vaccine that there is a need for restrictions....hardly a wacky viewpoint now is it?

As for calling me foolish, you do realize what is motivating you to call me that, you cannot fathom how someone can have a different opinion to you...it simply too much to understand.

How do you know, do we test people for the flu every year? Can you provide the figures? How many people die from flu every year or die with flu? Any idea?

WE don't know it's deadlier than the flu because we don't know how many people get it...it's case fatality rate can only be guessed....it is certainly a nastier infection than the flu.

Even 11 months in you can't show a morsel of data that severe lockdowns are worth the cost...we don't even know what the cost is as it has never been done before.

By the way, I have no difficulty, given that it is a new virus with no vaccine that there is a need for restrictions....hardly a wacky viewpoint now is it?

As for calling me foolish, you do realize what is motivating you to call me that, you cannot fathom how someone can have a different opinion to you...it simply too much to understand.

I am sorry, but this horsesh*t is tiresome. Anyone admitted to hospital with symptoms of a respiratory infection will be tested for flu, anyone who died from respiratory conditions will be tested for flu, sentinel teeing for influenza is carried out on an ongoing basis. We know an awful about the rates at s impact of flu( well almost - 40% of influenzas may also be a symptomatic meaning the ifrs are even lower than we think). The reason we noticed Covid is because of influenza monitoring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Thanks for your suggestion.
    Naw your grand, they are rough as a bears arse I just called the gardai, leave it up to them to decide if it's a party....

Ah right, “scumbags” I suppose. Anyone spreading covid is a scumbag right?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

Arghus wrote: »
    I think we should have stayed in it for at least another two weeks further into December than we did to try to bring that incidence level to as close as possible to 100 a day or less.

We should have never opened hospitality to indoor eating and drinking. That was a bad mistake.

And their should have been a coherent policy that was properly implemented to minimise the risks from overseas travel. That should have been put in place months ago.

We may have ended up again back in a level five once more in January in either case. But there's a big difference between going to level 5 with 1300 cases and going there with at least 6000. Another lockdown was probably inevitable during the early parts of this year, but this period is many gradients worse and will be more prolonged than it had to be and more people have died than necessary who would otherwise be alive.

But, being honest, you'd probably be in level 5 for a great deal of the Winter one way or the other.

We have locked down since Christmas and still there are 79 deaths?

We need to admit defeat and open up and get back to normal.

We simply can't save the old and the sick without destroying our economy businesses jobs and the futures and freedoms of our young people.

If we collapse the economy then society will collapse and we will have civil war.

Anyone who still believes in lockdowns masks social distancing etc has lost the plot.

This insanity must end NOW

I am sorry, but this horsesh*t is tiresome. Anyone admitted to hospital with symptoms of a respiratory infection will be tested for flu, anyone who died from respiratory conditions will be tested for flu, sentinel teeing for influenza is carried out on an ongoing basis. We know an awful about the rates at s impact of flu( well almost - 40% of influenzas may also be a symptomatic meaning the ifrs are even lower than we think). The reason we noticed Covid is because of influenza monitoring

And yet you go on to back up my point...

The only thing we do know about this is that it is a nasty infection...and it is new, which would justify precautions and restrictions....not the lunacy we are witnessing.

We are putting down cancer deaths as Covid deaths...

WE don't test for the flu virus en masse like we are with covid, so our numbers are all over the place...we are feeling our way in the dark and nobody is any the wiser....nobody has a clue what our case fatality rates are!

You are in no position to be declaring what is horses##t and what isn't I'm afraid!!!

Ah right, “scumbags” I suppose. Anyone spreading covid is a scumbag right?
    Did I use the word scumbag?
    Nope.
    I said "rough as a bears arse"
    Did one of the them stab someone
    Yes.

Anyone having a houseparty at the minute is a selfish tosser imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

The only thing we do know about this is that it is a nasty infection...and it is new, which would justify precautions and restrictions....not the lunacy we are witnessing.

WE don't test for the flu virus en masse like we are with covid, so our numbers are all over the place...we are feeling our way in the dark and nobody is any the wiser....nobody has a clue what our case fatality rates are!

You are in no position to be declaring what is horses##t and what isn't I'm afraid!!!

you are badly and i mean badly misinformed about this virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Polar101

We have locked down since Christmas and still there are 79 deaths?

We need to admit defeat and open up and get back to normal.

Obviously because there is a lag in deaths. More people are dying now because there were more cases around the holidays, when there were less restrictions.

Do you think deaths would go up or down if we stopped all restrictions now?

you are badly and i mean badly misinformed about this virus.

Ha ha haaaa

If I am then that would make two of us!!!

Polar101 wrote: »
    Obviously because there is a lag in deaths. More people are dying now because there were more cases around the holidays, when there were less restrictions.

I know someone who has a parent in ICU and isn't doing well. They caught Covid at Christmas.

You have no evidence for any of your assertions yet treat them as if they are more valid than established science. That and the echo chamber ye have have backing each other up with nothing more than conjecture is the horsesh*t.

Countries are doing what they are doing to mitigate the impact for the craic?

Excess deaths in euromomo members just happen to closely match Covid deaths through coincidence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

ypres5 wrote: »
    or maybe old buddy there's more to be taken into consideration when running a country than what the covid numbers are on the evening news and there should be a balancing act between having protective measures and making sure the economy isn't beat to ****.

That was tried for 3 weeks in this country in the run up to Christmas and as I already stated in my previous reply to you we know how that turned out when people lost the run of themselves and is why we find ourselves back in Level 5 restrictions and with the huge surge in positive cases, hospitalisations and deaths since then. The same may well happen in Italy in the coming weeks. We will know soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

Covid is not flu and debunking other such myths. Read at your peril.

https://www.jhsph.edu/covid-19/articles/no-covid-19-is-not-the-flu.html

Since December 2019, COVID-19 has killed more people in the U.S. than influenza has in the last five years.

Influenza is a significant burden on the population, but COVID-19 has had a vastly larger effect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

Polar101 wrote: »

It's moot.

We need to open up because we need to get the economy going to save businesses jobs and educate children and young people or we won't have a country left.

We cannot keep locking down and opening up.
    Life is not worth living if we have to shut down all social activity wear masks and socially distance or remain prisoners in our own homes.
    We have to throw away the masks and get back to normal and stop living in fear.

The vaccine roll out is too slow and utterly pointless since 99.97% of the population don't need it.