Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

We have locked down since Christmas and still there are 79 deaths?

We need to admit defeat and open up and get back to normal.

We simply can't save the old and the sick without destroying our economy businesses jobs and the futures and freedoms of our young people.

If we collapse the economy then society will collapse and we will have civil war.

Anyone who still believes in lockdowns masks social distancing etc has lost the plot.

This insanity must end NOW

After reading this rambling nonsense I think it`s quite clear who has lost the plot.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

You have no evidence for any of your assertions yet treat them as if they are more valid than established science. That and the echo chamber ye have have backing each other up with nothing more than conjecture is the horsesh*t.

Countries are doing what they are doing to mitigate the impact for the craic?

Excess deaths in euromomo members just happen to closely match Covid deaths through coincidence?

The excess deaths don't confirm that severe lockdowns work....

It is the severity of the lockdowns that is my issue....nothing else...they are way too severe and costly and are most likely creating more issues than they are solving....can I produce evidence, I have linked to articles touching on the surge of anti depressant rates, and the surging hospitalization rate of anxiety related food disorders, we are not getting real data on how this is impacting the collective mental health of the nation but only a proper moron would pretend there hasn't been a noticeable increase this past 11 months.

Established science....don't make me laugh...we are one year into what will be an issue for years to come....remember, as a result of the particular demographic that is affected the most by this virus, the more you save this year the more you lose next year!!!

Established science!!!!! You are a howl Raind!!!! This massive human experiment is not yet a year on the go!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Aph2016

When will 2020 deaths be categorised? We can then see how many deaths have been put down as covid when in reality they were something else, but covid just happened to be detected post death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,608 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

It's moot.

We need to open up because we need to get the economy going to save businesses jobs and educate children and young people or we won't have a country left.

We cannot keep locking down and opening up.
    Life is not worth living if we have to shut down all social activity wear masks and socially distance or remain prisoners in our own homes.
    We have to throw away the masks and get back to normal and stop living in fear.

The vaccine roll out is too slow and utterly pointless since 99.97% of the population don't need it.
    Where is your 99.97 figure coming from?
    It sounds entirely makey uppey.
    I am not sure if you know how vaccines generally work....
    Why is wearing a mask so difficult?

Looks like lockdown is not exactly working at the moment, like NPHET admitted would happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,590 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Looks like lockdown is not exactly working at the moment, like NPHET admitted would happen

It's all hospitality and non essential retails fault oh wait

yeah and there answer will be more restrictions with MM/Leo obeying them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

fellas are still going with the covid is flu stuff after an entire year. i mean that's what you're dealing with here. as i said, the basic understanding of this virus is just not there. it renders all other arguments with them essentially pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

It's moot.

We need to open up because we need to get the economy going to save businesses jobs and educate children and young people or we won't have a country left.

Life is not worth living if we have to shut down all social activity wear masks and socially distance or remain prisoners in our own homes.

The vaccine roll out is too slow and utterly pointless since 99.97% of the population don't need it.

i agree with you on the vaccine front, once over 60s and people with serious ailments are vaccined, level 1-0 should be considered. Oxford have a calculator that determines your risk of covid based on your age, ethnicity, conditions, weight etc and i as someone in their 20s (and admittedly a bit chubby from lockdown) have a 1 in a million chance if dying from covid and a one in 20k chance of getting hospitialized from it. the only reason I'll take a vaccine is if it's necessary to travel

Covid is not flu and debunking other such myths. Read at your peril.

https://www.jhsph.edu/covid-19/articles/no-covid-19-is-not-the-flu.html

Ha ha haaaa...lads, ye just gobble this stuff up without question...

Firstly, no one is suggesting there is no difference between this and the flu.

The Flu and Covid however are very similar in how they work their way through a population and what part of that population is at the greatest risk.

Because it is new it does require precautions and restrictions that we wouldn't ordinarily do for the flu....we do that precisely because we know that there isn't the same levels of immunity in the population.

Lads, stop drinking the kool aid, this isn't that hard to figure out!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

froog wrote: »
    fellas are still going with the covid is flu stuff after an entire year. i mean that's what you're dealing with here. as i said, the basic understanding of this virus is just not there. it renders all other arguments with them essentially pointless.

The lack of comprehension of what the virus is and how it spreads that is displayed by some on this thread is absolutely breathtaking to read.

Ha ha haaaa...lads, ye just gobble this stuff up without question...

Firstly, no one is suggesting there is no difference between this and the flu.

The Flu and Covid however are very similar in how they work their way through a population and what part of that population is at the greatest risk.

Because it is new it does require precautions and restrictions that we wouldn't ordinarily do for the flu....we do that precisely because we know that there isn't the same levels of immunity in the population.

Lads, stop drinking the kool aid, this isn't that hard to figure out!!!

Oh to be as enlightened as those swallowing the contrarian manure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,333 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

PTH2009 wrote: »

My god you're right, cases have come down 70% since we closed the pubs....... And here was me thinking you wanted them open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

PTH2009 wrote: »

i blame people walking on empty beaches in the late evening personally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,989 ✭✭✭Russman

It's moot.

So, our hospitals are almost overrun right now and we’re in L5, do you think by opening up back to normal things will improve ?
    If we ignore the virus, it’s not there ?

The lack of comprehension of what the virus is and how it spreads that is displayed by some on this thread is absolutely breathtaking to read.

there was a fella here a few weeks ago who thought that buildings were permanently infected by covid once an infected person had been in them. like it was radioactive waste or something. frightening ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Polar101

It's moot.

It probably is, since Ireland has chosen to try and suppress the spread of the virus - so it doesn't really make much difference what you or I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Getting a haircut at 8 from young apprentice barber up the road. I can't wait.

And no, I won't feel an ounce of guilt. Chap will get €20 for his troubles.

Hope no one dies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,989 ✭✭✭Russman

The entire western world is wrong but it’s ok, Boards posters have it figured out :D

The excess deaths don't confirm that severe lockdowns work....

It is the severity of the lockdowns that is my issue....nothing else...they are way too severe and costly and are most likely creating more issues than they are solving....can I produce evidence, I have linked to articles touching on the surge of anti depressant rates, and the surging hospitalization rate of anxiety related food disorders, we are not getting real data on how this is impacting the collective mental health of the nation but only a proper moron would pretend there hasn't been a noticeable increase this past 11 months.

Established science....don't make me laugh...we are one year into what will be an issue for years to come....remember, as a result of the particular demographic that is affected the most by this virus, the more you save this year the more you lose next year!!!

Established science!!!!! You are a howl Raind!!!! This massive human experiment is not yet a year on the go!!!!!!

!!!!!! I win the argument through exclamation marks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You miss the point completely on excess deaths. 12.5% increase on the 5 year average in Europe with mass restrictions does not mean restrictions don’t work. You do understand that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Lol I see that cases and deaths do not recognize level 5.

Perhaps mandatory masks indoors for all?

Should we go to some sort of 7 pm to 7 am curfew also and pray cases come down? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,885 ✭✭✭facehugger99

froog wrote: »

You're right.

The flu is very unpleasant.

Most people who catch Covid don't even know they have it.

One must wonder, how after 4 weeks of below closed, we still have 1,400 + new daily cases?

Schools
    Barbers
    Restaurants
    Cinemas
    Concerts
    Football stadiums
    Book shops (for my friend Beni)
    Gyms
    Swimming pools
    Golf clubs
    Pubs

list goes on.

I know right. If these things were opened we would be having 20,000 + daily cases :rolleyes:

Lol I see that cases and deaths do not recognize level 5.

Perhaps mandatory masks indoors for all?

Should we go to some sort of 7 pm to 7 am curfew also and pray cases come down? :rolleyes:

looks like it's working nicely to me. what data are you looking at?

541486.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Sure the flu never killed anyone because it's not recorded as a flu death if someone dies with it.

Can't say the same about Covid19.

They're different alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

You're right.

The flu is very unpleasant.

Most people who catch Covid don't even know they have it.

Same may apply for the flu. Many people may never know they've had it. We've never tested enough to know.

Turtwig wrote: »
    Same may apply for the flu. We've never tested enough to know.

Imaging recording deaths as "flu deaths" if they had flu 4 weeks ago?

oh wait

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

Russman wrote: »
    So, our hospitals are almost overrun right now and we’re in L5, do you think by opening up back to normal things will improve ?
    If we ignore the virus, it’s not there ?

We can't destroy our country our economy our society our future and condemn another generation of young people to unemployment poverty and utter despair.

The fact is several posters on this thread do not want to go back to normal.

Oh to be as enlightened as those swallowing the contrarian manure

Ha ha haaaaa....you really are gas Raind.

A dog with a mallet up his a##s can see that this virus is

New, therefore precautions and restrictions are required.
    Behaves in a very similar manner to the flu that we deal with every year.
    It surges in the same manner
    It transmits in a similar manner
    It predominantly affects the same demographic in terms of fatality.
    It is most likely seasonal like the flu. Certainly in this part of the world.

No enlightment needed there Raind old boy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Imaging recording deaths as "flu deaths" if they had flu 4 weeks ago?

oh wait

I don't understand your point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Polar101

I think the most critical thing at the moment would be to get the huge number of covid patients in hospitals (normal beds and ICU) down, so normal healthcare services could resume. I strongly believe we can't afford to keep them shut or limited for long, there's no PUP for healthcare.