Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mental health and CoVid-19

• Registered Users Posts: 30,365 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

acequion wrote: »
    Thanks Goose76. But I've never heard of CBD. What is it?

I've seen a few shops around selling cups of it.
    It's also seems to be here.

https://www.fullcirclehemp.com/collections/cbd-coffee

But Google it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Anon.123

if you need recommendeations on cbd let me know as ive been using it quite sometime so know a good bit about it, id aboid prescription pills at all costs and use cbd its far better overall.

good luck :)

Sorry for jumping into the thread, would it be possible to get the recommendations for CBD please? Generally I’ve had no luck with it but would be willing to persevere again.

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

I ordered from Dr Hemp Me yesterday; they're an Irish company that seem to have a good reputation. Will see how it goes as I've never tried CBD but hoping it helps with getting to sleep at night.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Anon9876

if you need recommendeations on cbd let me know as ive been using it quite sometime so know a good bit about it, id aboid prescription pills at all costs and use cbd its far better overall.

good luck :)

Hi, yes this would be great! Thanks. Can you share on here or prefer me to DM you? Cheers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

2027 Can't come fast enough IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

2027 Can't come fast enough IMO.[/QUOTE

What’s happening in 2027?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,400 ✭✭✭Dinarius

Regarding resources in these trying times, but I'd like to mention Crisis Textline as another source of help for those in need of a friendly ear (via text message).

On a related matter, can someone please clarify this for me...

I've found plenty on exceptions to the 5kms restriction rule regarding visits to the elderly and care homes, etc.

What I'd like to know is this...

Can someone visit a person outside 5kms for care or medical reasons who does not fall into these categories?

An example I came across this morning was someone wanting to visit their brother (49) who lives alone, and has ongoing mental-health issues.

Can the relative simply visit them, or do they need some sort of official permission to do so?

A link to a HSE or government explanation of this would be great.

Many thanks.

D.

Dinarius wrote: »
    Regarding resources in these trying times, but I'd like to mention Crisis Textline as another source of help for those in need of a friendly ear (via text message).

On a related matter, can someone please clarify this for me...

I've found plenty on exceptions to the 5kms restriction rule regarding visits to the elderly and care homes, etc.

What I'd like to know is this...

Can someone visit a person outside 5kms for care or medical reasons who does not fall into these categories?

An example I came across this morning was someone wanting to visit their brother (49) who lives alone, and has ongoing mental-health issues.

Can the relative simply visit them, or do they need some sort of official permission to do so?

Many thanks.

D.
    They can say they are in their support bubble. If they can get their without having to go through a checkpoint like is there back roads to travel on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭lucalux

Dinarius wrote: »

Many thanks.

D.

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/3516d-support-bubbles/

Some on it here, but dated from early December, so...

Scanning a couple of articles, this is what was reported back at the start of January:

From RTÉ:
    https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0106/1188079-at-a-glance/

"All household visits are prohibited, including social visits to gardens, except for essential family reasons or those in your support bubble."

I think the situation you describe comes under a support bubble if that man lives alone, and also family reasons.

Thanks both.

Yes, it does appear to come under support bubbles and is permitted.

Useful to know.

D.

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭All that fandango

Hi, was wondering the last while, with the support bubble, what do you actually say to a guard if stopped and you genuinely are part of a support bubble? I mean anyone could just say "Im going to my support bubble"?

I drive down the country a few times a week to my dad. During the last lockdowns I had no issue saying where I was headed when I met a checkpoint. This time I was more wary because the Gardaí seem more strict. As luck would have it though I haven't come across any checkpoints on the way out of Dublin County. The one outbound on the N7 doesn't seem to be there.

Personally I won't use the term 'support bubble, just that I'm keeping an eye on my elderly father. Although I should add that my car is registered to that address and I could easily say I'm going home from work.

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭All that fandango

I drive down the country a few times a week to my dad. During the last lockdowns I had no issue saying where I was headed when I met a checkpoint. This time I was more wary because the Gardaí seem more strict. As luck would have it though I haven't come across any checkpoints on the way out of Dublin County. The one outbound on the N7 doesn't seem to be there.

Personally I won't use the term 'support bubble, just that I'm keeping an eye on my elderly father. Although I should add that my car is registered to that address and I could easily say I'm going home from work.

Thanks for the reply Diamonds. I wonder would the guards be understanding of people going to visit their partners in different counties. Especially if this is going on until at least March...

No bothers :)

I'm really not sure what constitutes a support bubble. If you are alone and need support then that's one but I don't know after that.
    Driving to a different county to visit your partner is probably seen as unnecessary travel. Even though the person is very close to you that won't matter.

Now you could say you are travelling to your support bubble because you are.....well you could come up with a reason perhaps.
    I wouldn't say I am travelling to see my partner.

I know that's not what we are supposed to do but its all very hard.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Goose76 wrote: »
    This might sound a bit totalitarian but I’d be all for a national media ban on all COVID related discussions and articles unless they are 100% fact based, e.g: number of cases today, the government deciding to move to a new level officially etc.

Genuinely have begun to loathe Varadkar, he is loving this situation , sick of him going on radio and tv every chance he gets saying what MIGHT happen. Said yesterday we won’t be in level 3 in March, why say that and panic people? Surely we could be if cases dramatically fell? He’s done this loads of times during the pandemic, peddling drama and uncertainty, saying this could happen or maybe that could happen etc, and I’m so sick of it.

It’s not just him though. Sat down hoping to relax on my lunch break just now and first thing I see is a thought piece from RTÉ about the merits of pursuing a zero covid strategy, full of maybes and what ifs and useless comparisons. Who wants to read this???

Give me the facts and only the current, real hard facts.

The major detractor to my mental health since all this has begun has been the deliberate uncertainty pushed by mainstream media. Not the rumours caused by the general public or the conspiracy theories online, but literally Varadkar and state sponsored tv and their unbridled delight in telling us all what might/could/maybe potentially happen. Please just shut up.

You are doing this to yourself. You really are! You make the choice to read/listen to the media, knowing it will offend and upset you.

Check in maybe twice a day?

They are doing their jobs in the freedom of speech we have here.

Listen to good music; read a book?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

I avoid RTE and any Irish TV, catch the odd radio news. I do have sky news on in the background whenever, so can kind of keep up with things but be disconnected cos they are talking about the UK. I can only imagine that if you were on a diet of Irish media taking in hours and hours of concerned talking heads it might bring your mood down.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 29,001 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

silverharp wrote:
    I avoid RTE and any Irish TV, catch the odd radio news. I do have sky news on in the background whenever, so can kind of keep up with things but be disconnected cos they are talking about the UK. I can only imagine that if you were on a diet of Irish media taking in hours and hours of concerned talking heads it might bring your mood down.

Understandable why people would avoid the media, but it doesn't seem to bother me too much

• Registered Users Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭uli84

Just realised that we’re pretty much in lockdown since October with 1 week or so break in December, that’s bloody 4 months :( last year the movement restriction was far shorter and 4 months from March brought us to July anyway when at least I could have a trip to Wicklow with small group of friends. Now 4 months gone and there isn’t even an end in sight :/

uli84 wrote:
    Just realised that we’re pretty much in lockdown since October with 1 week or so break in December, that’s bloody 4 months last year the movement restriction was far shorter and 4 months from March brought us to July when at least I could have trip to Wicklow with small group of friends. Now 4 months gone and there isn’t even an end in sight :/

Tis unfortunate alright, but truly is shows how inadequate our health services are, and the disturbing thing is, not much will probably change after the fact

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Tis unfortunate alright, but truly is shows how inadequate our health services are, and the disturbing thing is, not much will probably change after the fact

Not sure why the blame on HSE for the pandemic, which is what a lot of posts do. Compared with many other countries we have done well. Very well. We have no bodies piling up and none of the latest burial plans they are left with in the US; burying them 4 to a large box.

No one has any training or experience in dealing with a pandemic. It IS hard . Says I who has not been further than my gate for all this while. But it is eedful to contain the virus.

Blame the virus not the HSE! And accept the hardships as best we all can and must. Acceptance will bring peace.

And feel for all the families like mine, who have lost loved ones to covid. Life is precious, however limited it is.

Graces7 wrote: »
    Not sure why the blame on HSE for the pandemic, which is what a lot of posts do. Compared with many other countries we have done well. Very well. We have no bodies piling up and none of the latest burial plans they are left with in the US; burying them 4 to a large box.

No one has any training or experience in dealing with a pandemic. It IS hard . Says I who has not been further than my gate for all this while. But it is eedful to contain the virus.

Blame the virus not the HSE! And accept the hardships as best we all can and must. Acceptance will bring peace.

And feel for all the families like mine, who have lost loved ones to covid. Life is precious, however limited it is.

im not blaming the hse for the virus, ive family and friends working in the health service, so ive an idea of what theyre dealing with on a daily basis, even pre covid, but we were actually warned of the strong possibility of such an event, and we continually refused to truly prepare for it. we continually refuse to truly create a health service that actually provides us with our actual needs, this is particularly evident in the psychological element of our service, but its also evident in the physical aspect, im not expecting any great changes post covid in our services

I say the health services will be worse as the bill after this will mean totally neglected again.

fin12 wrote: »
    I say the health services will be worse as the bill after this will mean totally neglected again.

we really need to get over this deficits crap, its dangerous thinking, and theyre not as dangerous as we think, theyre in fact critical for a functioning society and economy, our health services are gonna be traumatised after this one

Yes, we need a health service that works.

But, we also need one that is accountable.

Since Micheal Martin created the catastro**** that is the HSE,we haven't had one.

Remember in 2019 when Pascal found €3bn down the back of a sofa (unexpected Tech tax windfall) and it went straight to the HSE, increasing their budget from €17bn to €20bn? That was a one-off find. Will their budget ever be reduced in the future? Not a chance.

The old health boards tried to operate within budgets and there was the possibility of comparing their relative performances, and asking questions about why one might be doing better than another. There was an element of competition.

The HSE is a black hole. Where does the money go? Does anyone ask? Ask yourselves, why has big business in this country gotten into the private hospital business like nowhere else? (You know who I'm talking about.) Because health is a license to print money.

Health finance is out of control and has been since long before Covid, and no one has the cojones to ask why.

D.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

• Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Admin

A few earlier posts have been removed due to the direction they were taking, but I'd like to remind posters that should you be experiencing difficulties at this time, please know that you do not have to deal with this on your own.

We encourage people experiencing difficulties to talk to someone they trust and, if appropriate, to go to their GP. If you need help urgently and outside of GP hours, please go to your nearest A&E department.

Here at Boards.ie our moderators are not trained to support people experiencing difficulties. There are other organisations better positioned to provide specialised support. These organisations are listed below. We hope that you will follow these up so that you can get the help and support you need.

If you need immediate help:
    Aware’s Support Line is open 7 days per week, 10am-10pm on 1800 804 848

The Samaritan’s phone line is open 24/7 on 116 123

Pieta offer one-to-one, face-to-face support. Click 'Contact us' to find the phone number and opening hours of your nearest branch on their site or email mary@pieta.ie for advice on getting an appointment.

Text about it - text HELLO to 50808 to speak to a Crisis Volunteer in a safe space via text. Service available 24/7.

If you need non-urgent help:
    Aware have a support email service at supportmail@aware.ie

There are some other useful services that you can use also listed here.

/Admin

• Registered Users Posts: 15 bluescat

Try to get through to them....good luck !!!

Dinarius wrote:
    Health finance is out of control and has been since long before Covid, and no one has the cojones to ask why.

Far more money is required for it, but there is a serious accountability problem, there's major financial issues in both the public and private entities, the private entity certain is just extracting money, and the public entity certainly is wasting it, but the reality is, far more money is required for the service in total.

Our health care needs have become highly complex, probably due to many factors, including the fact, we 're living longer, and complex issues are arising from this fact, and that just means, more money is needed. It's clearly obvious we need far more direct, frontline staff, and this will be even more so, post covid. The psychological element of our system is beyond disturbing at this stage, as far as I can see, multiples of billions are required immediately, today, to start dealing with it, this should have been announced from the beginning of covid, and regularly throughout it, that's obviously not going to happen, so........

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭ShadowTech

I’m feeling more hopeless all the time. It’s not just the lockdown but the diminishing prospects for the future. I’ve believed all along that vaccines were the solution to get us out of this but the news and the noise from the government make that sound less and less likely. I have to admit, I’ve come to expect the goal posts to move but I didn’t see this coming and I feel broken.

Vradkar has said that even with full vaccination we wouldn’t be looking at travel at least for this year. Some experts and government types saying masks and social distancing won’t be going anywhere even with vaccinations fully rolled out. Talk of closed borders and zero-covid policies that would result in very long and even more difficult curtailments of civil liberties. While I realise that the discussions on Boards probably doesn’t accurately represent the population as a whole (I mean, the views on either “side” of restrictions/no restrictions argument are often pretty extreme and the middle-ground often seems to be ignored) it’s still upsetting to see so many people prepared to continue with restrictions of some kind for potentially years after vaccinations on the off chance the virus mutates. I feel like we’ve lost sight of the reality that a life worth living involves risks; we can deem the current level of risk to be too high and warranting of some restrictions but we shouldn’t normalise this past the absolute necessity.

If the world we’re steering into is just constant restrictions and curtailment of basic civil liberties even after the emergency phase has passed I don’t really see a point. If social distancing and masks remain mandatory for years then things like museums, concerts, and gigs just aren’t that enjoyable anymore if they’re permitted to take place at all. I’ve family and friends living abroad and the idea of not seeing them again is just heartbreaking. I feel like every meaningful thing in life is being destroyed and the light at the end of the tunnel has only illuminated more tunnel.

It’s getting harder and harder to get out of bed in the morning, harder to find a reason to work even though I know I should feel lucky to still have a job, harder to make myself eat, exercise, just exist. I don’t know how we can be expected to exist like this for 6 or 9 months or longer. I can’t believe there’s no organised movement demanding a more balanced approach. It’s just so fecking hopeless. :-(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 299 ✭✭DessieJames

statesaver wrote: »

Absolutely spot on here.

NPHET are the absolute worst for this,day in, day out they churn out the fear and scaremongering to the masses, Holohan must thrive on misery, he is like a broken record saying the same thing over and over again, mainstream media just pander to NPHET, ive never heard the likes of Zara King on Virgin media news at the daily briefing ever challenge/ask any hard questions to Holohan or NPHET on anything, RTE equally as bad as are all mainstream media outlets.

There's a reason i rarely watch the news anymore, it will just depress you.