Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXII-215,743 ROI (4,137 deaths)111,166 NI (2,036 deaths)(22/02)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Rezident

Am I misunderstanding something here?

Leo saying even with EVERYONE vaccinated in September, we can’t assume herd immunity and probably won’t allow travel to Ireland for Christmas

So basically saying this will never end?

Any more messaging like that and the government will completely lose the people.

That ship has sailed.

I like Leo, but many, if not most of us have already lost confidence in this shambles of a patchwork government. Their one job was to stop travel in to Ireland LAST MARCH! Not a year later. It's too late now, the damage is done, more than enough people are infected to affect the whole population.

Punishing those of us that are lonely and isolated for being human is no longer acceptable to many of us that are not vulnerable. If a load of old people have to die, maybe that is Nature or Karma's way of finally bringing down property prices so we can afford a home, instead of all the old people buying two or three houses each - we can see this failed government was never going to do that either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭DraftDodger

Quarantine at home lol. Yeah people are going to be doing that alright. Mickey mouse government with mickey mouse measures

Turtwig wrote: »
    A huge swathe of differential diagnoses that have some or all symptoms of covid. Other people are just tested as part of infection control to detect outbreaks early.

Like colds and flu's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Colds yes

Not sure about flu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,745 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

My pet hate of this entire pandemic?

The fact that practically every Indo lead story has a photo of Dr Tony looking pensive.

https://m.independent.ie/news/coronavirus-ireland-death-toll-passes-3000-as-90-further-deaths-and-928-new-cases-confirmed-40014897.html

That man is going to make a pile of cash out of all this, gotta be a book in the making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,373 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Quarantine at home lol. Yeah people are going to be doing that alright. Mickey mouse government with mickey mouse measures

Many of thought it was quarantine at home anyway.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Yes . Thats what I have decided to do too . I am not listening to Leo rabbit on about next December and get myself worked up
    It is so bad for mental well being , so one day at a time and do the best I can to fill the day and be a tiny bit productive if I can

Exactly

After the shock of the past few weeks I think the government are too afraid to be anything other than pessimistic

I think they got an almighty fright

Now I can wfh in a dedicated space and I enjoy my work so its a distraction. I also just have my other half who can also wfh

However I feel for those who are now out of work and essentially in limbo, perhaps worried financially, and having to cope with children stuck at home

I was temporarily laid off for eight weeks in the first wave, it was truly awful tbh

Not having an end in sight like now must be rotten

I'm taking a positive view, that cases will drop hugely, and as vaccines are rolled out we will see some normality return soon, as in a few months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,753 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Miriam very critical of everything

She didn't hold herself to the highest standards before Christmas herself either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

With every day it looks more likely that only mass protests will get us out of this.

I'm sure the virus will magically disappear if only enough people protest against it.

And don't forget the looting.

I will only work properly if there is looting.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭DraftDodger

Many of thought it was quarantine at home anyway.

If anyone is selfish enough to go on holiday in the middle of a pandemic then they can't be trusted to stay at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Lads what's a PCR test

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Colds yes

Not sure about flu

I don't think i have heard colds mentioned in the media in ages. They have to be still about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

It's mad that with all the passionate talk of hwo we're not gonna take it any more on all these threads, there hasn't been any sign of civil disobedience or protests. It's almost as if people are full of ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Tpcl20

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/doctor-quits-twitter-after-pr-consultant-claiming-to-be-close-confidante-of-health-minister-said-he-was-undermining-his-clinical-role-40015811.html

What in all feck are they doing like. Donnelly has always been an utter cretin but one of his communications people running a public health representative off twitter is next-level. Heads need to roll for this, the medical community will be getting behind him 100%.

Between the Education Minister destroying the trust in the education sector and the Health Minister just destroying what's left of the remnants of the public health sector, it's actually just like they're trying to single-handedly burn the country to the ground, public service by public service.

Wait now for Eamon Ryan to tell bus drivers they need to take a pay cut and we'll have the triple-whammy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Can't believe that today I find myself in full agreement with Alan Kelly and even Paul Murphy today. The government are making a shambles out of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭mcburns07

D.Q wrote: »
    It's mad that with all the passionate talk of hwo we're not gonna take it any more on all these threads, there hasn't been any sign of civil disobedience or protests. It's almost as if people are full of ****.

People have been beating that drum for months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

snotboogie wrote: »
    A vaccine doesnt stop you getting the virus in that it doesn't give you 100% protection, however it does vastly reduce your chance of getting the virus, by between 90% and 95% with the mRNA's. Saying vaccination does not stop one getting covid is very misleading.

I am not being malicious or intending to mislead. From a google search I have not seen evidence that the current vaccines give sterilising immunity. They may but I have not seen the links. The article I linked has a doctor saying prevention of transmission is unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,664 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I don't think i have heard colds mentioned in the media in ages. They have to be still about.

Lot of people on the 'have you been tested tested' thread were negative for cold, sinusitis like symptoms. Lot testing positive too.

I hope we dont get winter vomiting bug... hand sanitiser doesnt work on norovirus.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,753 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

If anyone is selfish enough to go on holiday in the middle of a pandemic then they can't be trusted to stay at home.

It's not a difficult task for the Irish government to review arrival plans into Ireland..

Flights arriving from the Canaries! There's near zero travelers going to the Canaries for essential reasons.

Shut these flights down.

What sort of yahoo boards a flight to the Canaries?

But then maybe he's got it right.. he's the happy one. The rest of us fools keeping ourselves at home.

Ryan admitting that the health service has been hiding how bad a job the government have been doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,307 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

peasant wrote: »
    I'm sure the virus will magically disappear if only enough people protest against it.

And don't forget the looting.

I will only work properly if there is looting.

Well now there is talk that even full vaccination of the population does not guarantee herd immunity and that restrictions may not even end then.

At what point doesn't the cure become worse than the disease? And yes I'm fully aware who famously said that. I dont care anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Psychedelic Hedgehog

I think the government tried to underpromise with the expectation of overdelivering in terms of a timeline to return to normal, in order to keep people committed to the restrictions in the short term. They made an absolute balls of it, however.

I'm choosing to concentrate on positive news, though. Won't do the noggin any good doing otherwise.

Rezident wrote: »
    That ship has sailed.

I like Leo, but many, if not most of us have already lost confidence in this shambles of a patchwork government. Their one job was to stop travel in to Ireland LAST MARCH! Not a year later. It's too late now, the damage is done, more than enough people are infected to affect the whole population.

Punishing those of us that are lonely and isolated for being human is no longer acceptable to many of us that are not vulnerable. If a load of old people have to die, maybe that is Nature or Karma's way of finally bringing down property prices so we can afford a home, instead of all the old people buying two or three houses each - we can see this failed government was never going to do that either.

Is this post for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

More than 800 people caught COVID in hospital this month according to Prime Time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭PrairieDawn

Is anyone watching the documentary on bbc2 right now? Its about what was happening right back in Jan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Eamon Ryan letting slip, "Managing Covid would involve a year or two lockdown".

Get these muppets out of government. Running the country into the ground

Yes!! Bring in the Other Muppets!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,307 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Eamon Ryan letting slip, "Managing Covid would involve a year or two lockdown".

Get these muppets out of government. Running the country into the ground

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=116061474&postcount=803

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

Well now there is talk that even full vaccination of the population does not guarantee herd immunity and that restrictions may not even end then.

At what point doesn't the cure become worse than the disease? And yes I'm fully aware who famously said that. I dont care anymore.

who is saying full vaccination of the population does not guarantee herd immunity?

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    More than 800 people caught COVID in hospital this month according to Prime Time

Shhhhhhhh Tony Holohan will start beating the alcohol drum again.

Is this post for real?

That post is vaguely similar to a conspiracy theory that the Chinese released this to kill off old people to free up property and reduce pension payments. Bonkers stuff.