Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭aziz

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    Even the politicians will have to take pay cuts . It’s all coming

HA,HA,HA, stop it will ya, that’s the funniest thing I heard 😷

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

..... That would be showing true leadership.
    Not 10% token bull**** .
    when and it will ... The **** hits the fan , the Taoiseach should lead the way and take a 25% pay cut .
    After that the rest of them 20% ...

Tubridy and Darcy are on a bigger salary than our Taoiseach ... Let that sink in for a minute

Some country we have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

A few people got a little wake up call last week when the tax bill for the pup etc. came through their letter boxes.
    Up in arms they were. Wanted it all written off..
    That was funny. Was all great in 2020, €350 a week to sit on their arses posting crap on Facebook about needing more restrictions. Then of course they all hopped onto the thread in the Taxation forum, Twitter and Facebook crying that it should be written off. I took great glee in anouncing my €650 refund. :D

That is just a tiny taste of things to come regarding paying for this mess. There'll be budget threads full of people crying about their increase in income tax and USC. I can even invisage a new Covid19 tax down the line. Our bill is astronomical and getting bigger with each passing day. People are burying their heads in the sand, though. Government will say nothing about it until this is over to ensure full compliance with these crazy restrictions. "oh sure the loans are interest free". Yeah.. the €20BN capital and counting has to be repaid.

People believe a switch will be flicked once the magic 70% vaccination target is hit. It simply doesn't work like that. This economic damage will be felt for decades to come.

I see already today the ECB have cut interest rates on savings. This is a sure sign the ECB see something it doesn't like. This went largely unreported. More burying of the heads.

That's just the start of it.

Like jacdaniel2014, I'll sit back safe in the knowledge I did not support these nonsense restrictions and overall hysterical overreaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭aziz

Tubridy and Darcy are on a bigger salary than our Taoiseach ... Let that sink in for a minute

Some country we have.

But then again,our Taoiseach is on more money than the president of the USA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Cerveza

aziz wrote: »

He does shakes his hands alot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭acequion

I really enjoyed watching those videos and links posted by whatsisname. Thanks again.:) There was just something so uplifting and liberating about seeing all those Italians of all ages reclaiming their lives and shouting "liberta" and "fuori" [get out ie to the police] Same steely defiance in Poland, allbeit not as exuberant as the Italians but equally determined. Lots of light hearted comments on the twitter feeds.

Ok so we all know there's a dangerous virus in circulation but the reverence it gets here in Ireland and the complete lack of humour and obsession with gloom is as detrimental to many as the actual virus. And I say that with every respect to those touched personally by Covid. But there is more to life, something we've been forced to forget and which those videos help us to remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Piehead

The hard lockdown needs to remain in place until we are at zero cases. Maybe until July with schools going back in September if we’re lucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,656 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Piehead wrote: »
    The hard lockdown needs to remain in place until we are at zero cases. Maybe until July with schools going back in September if we’re lucky

I can’t see why lockdown ever needs to be relaxed

It’s about quantity of life, not quality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

And then what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

I can’t see why lockdown ever needs to be relaxed

It’s about quantity of life, not quality

Even if we can save just one life. Wouldn't it be worth it? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

Beasty wrote: »
    Who specifically are you referring to?

As the poster seems reluctant to reply to you the only example of that happening I can think of was the Golfgate affair last summer. I`m not aware of any other occurrences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

As the poster seems reluctant to reply to you the only example of that happening I can think of was the Golfgate affair last summer. I`m not aware of any other occurrences.

There have been plenty of instances in the US (Gavin Newsom's maskless indoor dinner party, Pelosi's haircut, just the other day Biden disobeying his own federal mask mandate.)

Not sure of any Irish examples, but the point remains: The people who supposedly know enough about this thing to make policy about it, aren't "afraid" of it. Or at the very least, they don't seem to be concerned enough to strictly follow the guidance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Mind yourself in all this too. I’ve taken breaks from Irish media coverage of late & it’s been great. It’s so Covid centric and the only deviation was to the Mother & Baby homes. Today they’d an opportunity to show good news story with fun in the snow and instead they led the snow story with ‘Snow causing terrible driving conditions’. Thankfully I just turn off now.
    Ultimately, we don’t know what exactly is going on behind the scenes and what strings are being pulled and by whom.

After reading that I'm actually going to do the same. I've now disabled pop up notifications from RTE and The Journal. While it's nice to see the numbers beginning to drop I'm sick of reading about Guards giving out Covid fines, Vaccine setbacks or Tony telling people something positive but following on with something negative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Cerveza

That’s trolling at it’s worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭acequion

And then what?

Sure throw in another lockdown after that, why bother ever opening up!

Beasty wrote: »
    Who specifically are you referring to?
    Take your pick:

Golfgate.

RTE going away shindig.

MM telling us how he drove home to Cork a few days ago.

Tourism board head goes on holidays abroad while everyone else was told to holiday at home.

Barry Cowen.

Tony telling us all to work from home but continues with press conferences. Can easily be streamed.

These rules are only for the little people it seems.

Lundstram wrote: »
    Take your pick:

Golfgate.

RTE going away shindig.

MM telling us how he drove home to Cork a few days ago.

Tourism board head goes on holidays abroad while everyone else was told to holiday at home.

Barry Cowen.

Tony telling us all to work from home but continues with press conferences. Can easily be streamed.

These rules are only for the little people it seems.

Haha I forgot about your man off to Italy in his speedos while he was promoting Irish tourism during its worst ever period.

Brilliant stuff

Haha I forgot about your man off to Italy in his speedos while he was promoting Irish tourism during its worst ever period.

Brilliant stuff

Much like your best buddy on this forum who went on a foreign holiday last summer despite him spending weeks constantly bemoaning the fact that Irish hotels and B&Bs etc. were not reopened soon enough for his liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭hamburgham

seamusk84 wrote: »
    This thread used to be my favorite back in the early summer last year when we were staring to reopen and I could then look forward to a pint and meal.

Now the thread title me sad......

I know, I just cannot believe it's still going on, I just can't.

Much like your best buddy on this forum who went on a foreign holiday last summer despite him spending weeks constantly bemoaning the fact that Irish hotels and B&Bs etc. were not reopened soon enough for his liking.

Not sure if you're referring to me here but if you are then I make no apologies for that. And guess what? I didn't die or even catch the deadly killer that is Covid19.

Lisbon was just marvelous. Check it out.

Thats odd, you’ve just registered this month, you must have been keeping a close eye on the forum.

Who are you referring to as my best buddy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,154 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

NIMAN wrote: »
    So you want Irish people to take to the streets and riot cos they can't get out for a meal and a pint?

You do realise a lot of those folk who take to the streets like that are non-believers, anti-vaxxers and conspiracy nuts.

No. Ordinary people are now questioning the whole strategy.
    In the Sunday independent today there was an article about a Garda who tragically took his own life. When this happened it was reported in such a way as to put the entire blame for this tragic death at the feet of Gemma Doherty. Someone I consider to be a despicable human being by the way. However it turns out that, according to his husband, interviewed today, he was not at all bothered by the publicity surrounding a video confrontation with O Doherty and had actually received over a thousand cards and letters thanking him for his stance.
    From initial media reports I concluded that his death had been as a result of this incident. However it appears that this is very wide of the mark.
    Even this article stating the above facts would lead one to believe that this tragedy occurred “following a confrontation with anti mask conspiracy theorist Gemma O Doherty”.

The inference is basically anyone who questions the dogma of lockdown is akin to hateful Gemma O Doherty.

This is not the case. It is an easy, lazy trope.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭RGARDINR

Be great if the government announced a new bank holiday going forward from July this year, be a little bit of good news after all the crap people are going through since March last year. Think we all deserve it.

Lundstram wrote: »
    Not sure if you're referring to me here but if you are then I make no apologies for that. And guess what? I didn't die or even catch the deadly killer that is Covid19.

Lisbon was just marvelous. Check it out.

I wasn`t referring to you actually.

aziz wrote: »

No. The Taoiseach is paid €208,590 ($252,690)
    The US President is paid $400,000 (€326,129)

I wasn`t referring to you actually.

Grand. Don't really like Finbar anyway. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,548 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

RGARDINR wrote: »
    Be great if the government announced a new bank holiday going forward from July this year, be a little bit of good news after all the crap people are going through since March last year. Think we all deserve it.

Should be called 'Remembrance day' in honour of all the people who died from Covid

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Should be called 'Remembrance day' in honour of all the people who died from Covid

How many people would that be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭RGARDINR

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Something like that just could say for this happening and just to remember loved ones who even passed before this happened just something for people, I think they deserve it after all this. We are one of the countries in the EU with the least amount of Bank Holidays as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,913 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Thats odd, you’ve just registered this month,

Yes but he's already put down strong Roots

tenor.gif