Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This Week on Misery Watch: The Late Late Show - Friday 22nd January 2021.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

Any fans on here of The Gloaming?

As soon as any tour dates are announced (especially in Ireland), I'm there. :)

I've heard a bit of them, wasn't blown away by then but I'd give it another try. They are very highly regarded.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,307 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Put Them Under Pressure, the uileann pipes solo is pure magic, 2 mins 23 seconds in :D...

Big Jack was only 55 then :eek:

Time is a horrible thing

• Registered Users Posts: 20,823 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

A girl singing like that in a pub - with about 6 in me. Makes me weak at the knees.

• Registered Users Posts: 72,286 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Can you play 'Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye' whilst simultaneously throwing Ryan out of the studio?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,307 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

She can :P

Post of the night I think

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Did anyone who emailed rte last week get a response?

I have just emailed them there re tonight's show.

I emailed them last week, got the generic reply that they received my email, yada, yada, yada

• Registered Users Posts: 19,597 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Give us more tunes, ffs, this is great.

I can't believe they've just done a bunch of tunes with a small bit of chat. It's...like they've done something really well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭physioman

Or Báid Eddie in Donegal which is disappearing fast :D

BadEddie.jpg

Had many great summers jumping off bad Eddie

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Wishox wrote: »
    I ****ing love the uilleann pipes

Good mate of mine on the left. Jarlath McTernan, son of Kevin.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

YouTube and put in assassins creed iv black flag best sea shanties.
    It even has boats in it.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Even playing that in my mind gets me emotional.

Best thing ever.

The fact he was English shows the utter bollox that is nationalism.

When you think of that daft show they had on for - the girls number 1. When all you have to do - is just put genuine talent out there.

Two girls are unreal - great stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

You’d almost get emotional when you’re reminded what Ireland can be about and not what it’s so often turned into.

Not to trivialise the many many issues we have but we do have a certain spirit and decency that hopefully will prevail.

What a breath of fresh air this musical segment has been, feeling right nostalgic for my local about now. Craic agus ceol.

It’s one of the positive things about Irish culture is Irish trad music. It’s not ‘cool’ but it can draw people together and it is also serious fun to play in a group.

Disagree.

It's cool as f*ck.

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭HeyV

God, I miss Willie Clancy week :(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Ahhh I'd give my first born for a session in one of those Galway bars

You’d almost get emotional when you’re reminded what Ireland can be about and not what it’s so often turned into.

Not to trivialise the many many issues we have but we do have a certain spirit and decency that hopefully will prevail.

And The Late Late has seriously failed to show it

• Registered Users Posts: 81,820 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Can RTE do a last Friday of every month with Irish tunes, 2 hours or so?

Keep playing!

Boo-urns! :(

And The Late Late has seriously failed to show it

It has, amongst many others.

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭jack747

And after the break , we will interview the family who’s house broke off the island and drifted off to Iceland

• Registered Users Posts: 8,315 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Ah here...

She looks a little like my other 1/2 - I wish my moth could play the flute as well :D

If you ask her nicely :pac:

Post of the night I think

Thanks, I'll go now as it's all downhill from here on in.

Ah jesus

The fact he was English shows the utter bollox that is nationalism.

I totally agree. Nations are a silly idea.

But then what'd we do about the World Cup?

We're gonna have to keep them, I'm afraid.

**** sake - The Stardust - Jaysus.

If you ask her nicely :pac:

I genuinely lined that one up - hope everyone know that. :D

And I'm out!

NOT CARK, etc.

Stay safe

Nos da :)