Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst scam you've fallen for

• Registered Users Posts: 8,336 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

mrcheez wrote: »
    The I Love You virus

Isn't he a member here? :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Isn't he a member here? :rolleyes:

Remarkable, i looked at that post and thought the same thing.................

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭Ethereal Cereal

I got 8 premium rate text messages to my phone on Friday, @€;2.50 a pop. Its not a service I signed up for, and am now trying to get a refund.

<rant>
    three, comreg, and the premium service provider are all involved in the refund process. So much work for what obviously a scam. I even text "stop" after their first message, but they proceeded to send the remaining 7 message.

Really annoyed how much effort this is taking me to resolve. How can they be allowed just take all my credit like this, and how is there not an easier resolution process :mad:

</rant> over

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I got 8 premium rate text messages to my phone on Friday, @€;2.50 a pop. Its not a service I signed up for, and am now trying to get a refund.

<rant>
    three, comreg, and the premium service provider are all involved in the refund process. So much work for what obviously a scam. I even text "stop" after their first message, but they proceeded to send the remaining 7 message.

Really annoyed how much effort this is taking me to resolve. How can they be allowed just take all my credit like this, and how is there not an easier resolution process :mad:

</rant> over

But you didn't fall for the scam ...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Akabusi

I was in a boutique hotel one night and a big dude dressed in leather offered me the choice between a blue or red pill, I choose the blue pill and it turned out to be a dud, no effect whatsoever, just woke up in my bed. Felt totally scammed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Anyone who has to pay those charges to companies if you live in an apartment ...you are so so being scammed.

This is partly true if you're paying a third party company. You need to make sure they're delivering what is being paid for and keeping the property in compliance with all the local regulations. There should also be a contribution towards a sinking fund to help cover unexpected costs. They should not be paying themselves a large salary out of your management fee.

The guy running the "management company" for the apartments I moved in to was basically pocketing the money and doing nothing, the building was falling in to disrepair and services such as communal electricity and waste weren't being paid for. The biggest problems were the non-existent insurance and unserviced fire detection system.

He got away with it for so long as the properties were basically being used as financial instruments for some group up in Dublin. Once real people started moving in and questions were being asked we promptly got rid of him and started running it ourselves. The place has been completely turned around since then.

I got scammed applying for the American ESTA, I went to one of the first, non-ad sponsored hits on Google. The website looked completely legitimate and no alarm bells went off until they asked for €100 to process everything. At this stage though I worried that, because I'd started applying through their website, if I now went to the correct website would the process be screwed up. In the end, and after doing some more research, I paid the money knowing that I would get the ESTA but that I was paying some fecker a hefty fee to "process" my application rather than potentially screwing the whole thing up by having multiple applications lodged.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I donated to Amnesty Ireland for a couple of years. Really boils my pi$$ when I think about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Bosco13

Signed up to do Kleeneze.
    There were a load of hidden charges I hadn't been told about. I'd have to sell £60 worth of stuff in each order just to break even with the delivery charges and you can put a catalogue through every door in a housing estate and get no orders and you don't get half the catalogues back each time

• Registered Users Posts: 6,041 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I'm ashamed to say I fell for a phishing scam last year. I'm normally very security conscious, but the text claiming to be from BOI looked genuine as it came from the same source as all the other BOI texts. Thankfully the guards caught the fooker and I got my money back. I was kicking myself for letting it happen though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭One More Toy

I'm ashamed to say I fell for a phishing scam last year. I'm normally very security conscious, but the text claiming to be from BOI looked genuine as it came from the same source as all the other BOI texts. Thankfully the guards caught the fooker and I got my money back. I was kicking myself for letting it happen though.

Did they do time for it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭magic_murph

Marriage.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

A lad I sort of know bought me a pint in a pub one night. I was going but wanted to return the favour. Cnut ordered a double brandy with a dash of port". What a sh!tty thing to do. I wouldn't have minded if that was what he was on but he was supping a pint of Smitwicks prior to this.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,041 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Did they do time for it?
    I assume so. They just told me he had been arrested and I haven't heard anything since.

My boyfriend was caught with this too. In Blanchardstown Car Park, he was accosted by a Sales Rep for Armani...

Myself and my mate fell for this when we were about 18 but it was watches and a sob story about buying diesel etc etc,
    I think it was £50
    I think it was the cheapest lesson I've ever learned .
    I was accosted by the Italian man with the Jackets a few years later .

The wifes granddad got scammed by "him" too when his was in his mid 80s.
    Absolute scumbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

TV licence. Every year they get me.

Whats a TV licence?

Portsalon wrote: »
    I still loathe the sight of these three card tricksters.

NWS_2014-03-06_BUS_001_30893707_I1.JPG

There were loads of other people on the board as well. Alfie Kane, Dick Spring and Ray McSharry too. Irish Government are a load of knackers.

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭COVID

Feisar wrote: »
    A lad I sort of know bought me a pint in a pub one night. I was going but wanted to return the favour. Cnut ordered a double brandy with a dash of port". What a sh!tty thing to do. I wouldn't have minded if that was what he was on but he was supping a pint of Smitwicks prior to this.

Biggest laugh I had today.
    Cheers!

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Snails pace

I didn't get caught but I was very close to signing up for the Phone Watch security system. A sales man was going door to door. I was under no rush and he started off with his sales pitch and said the standard installation fee is 500, he had a special price of 199. Instead of telling him to go away I signed up with him. After a few days I decided I didn't want the service so I rang their head office and cancelled my installation date.

A few days passed and the sales person rang me. He asked why I cancelled and I explained I didn't need it. He then says there's one slot left and they'd install it for free. I asked him why you couldn't give me that offer day one. He was fairly insistent that I take the deal but I didn't want the service. He attitude changed very quickly when he knew I wasn't going to buy the service off him.

It was a fairly high pressure sales tactic and I could see how some people would sign up just to get them off the phone.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,799 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Whats a TV licence?

Some kind of scam.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,073 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Prince in Nigeria
    Ugh, I was at that too, such a waste of money flying all the way to Nigeria for a concert.

I didn't get caught but I was very close to signing up for the Phone Watch security system. A sales man was going door to door. I was under no rush and he started off with his sales pitch and said the standard installation fee is 500, he had a special price of 199. Instead of telling him to go away I signed up with him. After a few days I decided I didn't want the service so I rang their head office and cancelled my installation date.

A few days passed and the sales person rang me. He asked why I cancelled and I explained I didn't need it. He then says there's one slot left and they'd install it for free. I asked him why you couldn't give me that offer day one. He was fairly insistent that I take the deal but I didn't want the service. He attitude changed very quickly when he knew I wasn't going to buy the service off him.

It was a fairly high pressure sales tactic and I could see how some people would sign up just to get them off the phone.

I usually leave a copy of "the Watch Tower" in the porch. That scares them off faster than an Alsatian running loose in the yard!!!

I did have a situation where I was working 12 hour shifts at night. On the fourth morning I was knacked and the Jehovas Witness came knocking at the door with me looking as rough as a badgers ass in my dressing gown barely covering what little modesty what god gave me. I not only invited them in but insisted to debate the bible.... they never came back again and I never found out why!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭XLR 8

Worst scam you've fallen for ?

Marriage

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Wallet inspector, some serious amount of fake ones out there so always ask for I.D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

kyler_87 wrote: »
    Eircom shares

I've no sympathy for anyone who bought Eircom shares. It should never have been privatised in the first instance.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭km991148

Whats a TV licence?

You need one to walk your TV in public. If its a restricted telly then it needs a muzzle too.

km991148 wrote: »
    You need one to walk your TV in public. If its a restricted telly then it needs a muzzle too.

Does it matter if your dog is coloured or black and white?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

On holidays in Bangkok, Thailand.

Was walking to a temple, when a policeman told us it was closed that day.

An accomplice then sprang out of nowhere to offer a Tuk-Tuk tour, and i said fuggit, why not.
    Drives you around the city a bit then makes a stop at some obviously in on it jewelry shops, etc.

I enjoyed the drive though, so not a total loss.

Corruption is a hell of a thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭6541

Drinking in a pub in London and a geezer comes in selling jocks - underpants. 3 in a packet.
    One would wonder why did I buy jocks in a pub ...
    Anyway they actually fell apart after one day of wear ! Disintegrated.

CruelCoin wrote: »
    On holidays in Bangkok, Thailand.

Was walking to a temple, when a policeman told us it was closed that day.

Another one there is a fella saying "you wont get in dressed like that" and then recommending a tuktuk tour.

Or if you ever hear someone say.

"oh,Irish? I love Roy Keane" you know they are throwing out bait!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

.anon. wrote: »
    I've no sympathy for anyone who bought Eircom shares. It should never have been privatised in the first instance.

I remember my Accounting teacher for the Junior Cert telling us that if our parents had any spare cash to throw it into Eircom. He even said "if the can remortgage for the cash they should".

Brilliant Accounting teacher but awful investment advice.