Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst scam you've fallen for

Smashmouth wrote: »
    Bought a ringtone sometime in the early-mid 2000s. ****ers took money out of my credit for weeks. And the ringtone was ****e.

God be with the days haha

• Registered Users Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭TheShow

Anyone who has to pay those charges to companies if you live in an apartment ...you are so so being scammed.

those "companies" is actually a management company which is run by the residents (owners) of the apartments.
    Covers things like insurance, maintenance, bins, grass cutting etc.

Otherwise the place would fall into disrepair.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 pen123

Paying the TV licence.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

or almost fell for. A couple years back, I got the "gardai virus" (type of scareware) on my laptop which said I'd need to pay €150 to unlock my laptop. I stupidly entered my debit card details and on the weekend, found that not just €150 but 300 was taken from account leaving me with just €20. Canceled the card and reported it to the bank who unfortunately couldn't refund it.

Friends werea a bit shocked as they said I'm a computer nerd but they themselves have also fallen victim to ponzi schemes etc and one even lent his camera to a stranger who ran off in Tanzania...

lol my sisters fella went to the local cop shop with his laptop earlier this year with that same virus, said it was going to basically expose his sordid search history etc lol

Gardaí thought it was hilarious:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

peasant wrote: »
    My grandfather stole my nose...fell for that one more than once

we must have the same grandad. He used to find old pennies in my ear, but he never put them back.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

italodisco wrote: »
    lol my sisters fella went to the local cop shop with his laptop earlier this year with that same virus, said it was going to basically expose his sordid search history etc lol

Gardaí thought it was hilarious:pac:

all you have to do is reboot in safe mode and then do a system restore

• Registered Users Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Irish Tax Rebates

Used them two or three years in a row.

Then in 2017 i realised my employer was messing up my tax.
    I was overpaying a bit, maybe 100 a week.
    Did nothing as i decided i would just sort in january 2018.

Come 2018 i went onto Revenue.ie.
    I turned off ITR as my agent and I put my bank account details in instead of theirs for any rebate.
    I then asked for a balancing statement for previous year.

A day later i get an email from ITR that i was due €xxxx from 2017 minus their cut of 6 or 7%.
    Went online and ITR had changed all details back to theirs.
    Rang revenue, too late, money gone to ITR.

Spent days arguing with ITR and their snotty office manager to no avail.
    Eventually just took my cheque.
    Cheeky ****ers were probably on facebook that day boasting about the nice cheque they got for their customer.

Irish Tax Rebates

Used them two or three years in a row.

Then in 2017 i realised my employer was messing up my tax.
    I was overpaying a bit, maybe 100 a week.
    Did nothing as i decided i would just sort in january 2018.

Come 2018 i went onto Revenue.ie.
    I turned off ITR as my agent and I put my bank account details in instead of theirs for any rebate.
    I then asked for a balancing statement for previous year.

A day later i get an email from ITR that i was due €xxxx from 2017 minus their cut of 6 or 7%.
    Went online and ITR had changed all details back to theirs.
    Rang revenue, too late, money gone to ITR.

Spent days arguing with ITR and their snotty office manager to no avail.
    Eventually just took my cheque.
    Cheeky ****ers were probably on facebook that day boasting about the nice cheque they got for their customer.
    Good to know. I would be raging if that happened to me. You worked for that money, unlike them, it's not money that you just picked up from the pavement.

I don't understand why anyone uses those Rebate companies, Revenue are just as knowledgeable, give great advice, and you're already paying for their services. 6% is pretty steep, too. Then again, I know it's just a question of time and convenience for many people.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Good to know. I would be raging if that happened to me. You worked for that money, unlike them, it's not money that you just picked up from the pavement.

I don't understand why anyone uses those Rebate companies, Revenue are just as knowledgeable, give great advice, and you're already paying for their services. 6% is pretty steep, too. Then again, I know it's just a question of time and convenience for many people.

Yeah what i used to do was do all myself and get my rebate and then let them try for any more, they generally got me a couple hundred

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

@Wildly Boaring Cheers for the reminder to remove them as my agent!

P.R.S.I. has to be one of the greatest scams going. Work your bollöx off & get next to nothing back but pay for junkies & associated dregs to do phuk all whike they get so much more.
    PRSI contributions are a fraction of the benefits you'll get on retirement, or if unemployed over the same period. If you earn 100k per annum, you pay 4,000 euro in PRSI.

That's about 4 months of the pension. Most people aren't even paying close to that amount. Then you have the ancillary benefits like free eye checks, discounted glasses, dental, etc. The medical card, although it comes out of a different pot of revenue, is effectively boosted by PRSI revenues.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

THIS

It is so straight forward to use ROS.

Girl in work was paying some lad €50 to do it for her as she hadn't a clue. The mind boggles

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭wildlifeboy

It certainly happens here
    years ago I had some american friends staying in an apartment in Castleknock , we were out on the lash and I was mooching one of them in the back seat of a cab home from Town.
    We got in at the rank at the old virgin megastore .
    taxi driver heard an American say Castleknock when I looked up from my snog we were joining the M50 at Liffey valley.
    Over the toll bridge back and taxi Driver added the toll to the fare which when we landed in Castlenock was over €25
    I paid him a tenner and told him he could go an shoite for the rest in my Dublin accent.
    25 is about right from the quays to castleknock. 20 at the cheapest

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭rgmmg

Look, it happened to me too...........in Cork City at 7pm on a Monday evening one late November. Stone cold sober.

She/he was Indian and honest to God I had no suspicions. Ok in hindsight, the hotel room was pretty much pitch dark but still she was a gentle and considerate lover.

Naively I thought I was going for an Indian Head massage to try something different. She only wanted €40.00 which is way below any rate for a shag so it was a massage I expected.

About half way through (no sex at this stage) massage etc that the penny started to drop (it was about 11-12 years ago) but even now I can't recall what it was exactly that triggered my suspicions.

I think it was because she was way more affectionate and kissing me. She really seemed to be enjoying herself and I'm not talking some BS fake porn star noises to go with the act. Normal hookers do not do that.

But it was clear that her *apparatus* down below was not 100%. I mean don't get me wrong it did the job fine but I did catch a few glimpses. It didn't feel the same and then like a fog lifting I noted her distinct lack of hips from behind.

TBH for €40.00 I was delighted. Normally that **** costs 5 or 6 times- not that I have done it since.

Her langer in your mouth? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭TheShow

25 is about right from the quays to castleknock. 20 at the cheapest

not back in the '90s its not.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭5star02707

Not to me but my friend who bought a seat on his Ryanair flight. Thought he's already checked in so proceeded to the check in desks and was then asked for his boarding pass, less than 2 hours left on his flight so had to pay 55 euro up front.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

5star02707 wrote: »
    Not to me but my friend who bought a seat on his Ryanair flight. Thought he's already checked in so proceeded to the check in desks and was then asked for his boarding pass, less than 2 hours left on his flight so had to pay 55 euro up front.

Well, thats hardly a scam, more carelessness on your friend's part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

5star02707 wrote: »
    gerrybbadd wrote: »
    Welcome on Boards, Michael:D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,292 ✭✭✭✭branie2

It's in the rules and regulations that you need the boarding pass at the airport

• Registered Users Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭5star02707

tbf not all airlines charges you when checking in, only the cheap ones and yes people do get caught :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭wally1990

I was once young and broke living in London, only broke now these days, I was waiting on a bus back from work. Some lad asked me for a pound for the bus. I usually would never do such a thing but obliged for whatever reason. He goes into the shop just at the bus stop and comes out with a can of beer. He cracks it open in my face, thanking me, and walks on. I haven't given money to a beggar since.

I was very drunk one night on Patrick street cork

Got chatting ****e to a homeless guy about his rough life [he was a pity ]

Ended up giving him a tenner and said will you get a cup of tea and a sandwich with it

He bluntly replies , no im gonna try to go halves on a bag of gear[heroin]

I literally just walked off in anger

Why bother ........

• Registered Users Posts: 10,206 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Flying Business Class. I'm basically subbing the guests in cattle class.

Still worth it

• Registered Users Posts: 27,937 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

gerrybbadd wrote: »

It hardly costs Ryanair €55 per boarding pass... looks like a scam.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

Mass

• Registered Users Posts: 40,156 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

odyssey06 wrote: »
    It hardly costs Ryanair €55 per boarding pass... looks like a scam.
    they charge that price to discourage people from doing it. they dont want any checkin staff at all if they can help it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

On a driving holiday of the states, driving for hours on a really remote road- didn't see a single car in about 4hrs. Next thing there was a handmade sign pointing down a dirt road which said "Garage Sale". We were so bored from the driving and thought a stop for a look around a garage sale would be cool. We headed down the road and must have only been about 200metres down it when we both started to hesitate at the same time. What if there's no garage sale and it's some lunatic with a carving knife? You'd never be found the place was that remote.

So, we left and I guess we will never know what was down there. Could have been a garage sale. Could have been a serial killer.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Bananaleaf wrote: »
    On a driving holiday of the states, driving for hours on a really remote road- didn't see a single car in about 4hrs. Next thing there was a handmade sign pointing down a dirt road which said "Garage Sale". We were so bored from the driving and thought a stop for a look around a garage sale would be cool. We headed down the road and must have only been about 200metres down it when we both started to hesitate at the same time. What if there's no garage sale and it's some lunatic with a carving knife? You'd never be found the place was that remote.

So, we left and I guess we will never know what was down there. Could have been a garage sale. Could have been a serial killer.

Cool story bro'...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Bananaleaf wrote: »

Biggest scam was reading this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

Over the last month I became a victim of a clever 'Eastern European' scam, while out shopping. Simply dropping into Tesco's for a bit of shopping resulted in the following...... Don't be naïve enough to thinkit couldn't happen to you or your friends.Here's the scam works:Two very good looking voluptuous 20-21 year-old girls came over to my car as I was packing my shopping into the boot. They both started cleaning my windscreen, their boobs almost falling out of their skimpyT-shirts.When I thanked them and offered them a tip, they said 'No' and instead asked me for a lift to another supermarket. I agreed and they both got in the back seat.Onthe way, they started undressing, and both got completely naked.Then, when I pull over to remonstrate, one of them climbed over into the front seat and started crawling all over my lap, trying to kiss me and touch me intimately, thrusting herself against me.While the other one stole my wallet! I had my wallet stolen July 4th, 10th, twice on the 15th, 20th, 24th, and 29th.Also August 1st, 4th, 10th and twice yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭One More Toy

Ronin247 wrote: »
    Over the last month I became a victim of a clever 'Eastern European' scam, while out shopping. Simply dropping into Tesco's for a bit of shopping resulted in the following...... Don't be naïve enough to thinkit couldn't happen to you or your friends.Here's the scam works:Two very good looking voluptuous 20-21 year-old girls came over to my car as I was packing my shopping into the boot. They both started cleaning my windscreen, their boobs almost falling out of their skimpyT-shirts.When I thanked them and offered them a tip, they said 'No' and instead asked me for a lift to another supermarket. I agreed and they both got in the back seat.Onthe way, they started undressing, and both got completely naked.Then, when I pull over to remonstrate, one of them climbed over into the front seat and started crawling all over my lap, trying to kiss me and touch me intimately, thrusting herself against me.While the other one stole my wallet! I had my wallet stolen July 4th, 10th, twice on the 15th, 20th, 24th, and 29th.Also August 1st, 4th, 10th and twice yesterday.

This has been done a 100 times before :facepalm: