Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trump v Biden 2020,The insurrection (pt 6) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

Trump used twitter to speak unfiltered and raw to the American people. If you wanted to see what Trump actually said you simply had to follow and read his Twitter.
    Previous Presidents depended solely on the press and TV and newspapers who selectively reported or edited what was said to fit their narrative.
    No Big Tech is doing this.

A lot of people interpreted this raw and unfiltered speech as please invade the capitol, try and kill members of government and hang white supremacist flags please. They believed they were doing this in his name and for him so perhaps a bit of a time out might make him think about the effect his words have...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭The Inbetween is mine

Never followed him on Twitter and realistically don't see myself either looking at gab/parler, let alone joining. I'd imagine that's true of most people...

Parler took off in southern states before the election as peoples "truths" were being factchecked on Facebook... mainstream media were lying...and then when the election result started to become clear...it really took off with right wing hate groups, ... Trump will feel right at home there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

Imagine if Dems supporters had stormed tbe building in 2016 what Trump would have said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

This is a power grab. No more and no less.
    All alternative news views and posts will be purged.
    If anyone supports this Orwellian insanity they can't say they weren't warned.

These hyperbolic posts banging on about Orwell irk me somewhat. Have you ever even read 1984?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

This will lead to:

Trump setting up his own financial services company, taking his supporters with him.

It could lead Trump to become a hundred billionaire.

A man who has bankrupted 6 companies, has had restrictions placed on his ability to run a charity has no chance of getting a banking or any other kind of Financial Services license.

I worked for an actual US billionaire who couldn’t get a bank license because he previously awarded building contracts to his wife, Trump has no chance.

Pretty sure he’d have to include his tax returns in any application too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

There clearly is Orwellian elements to censorship of an idealogy that doesn't fit in with the narrative pushed by companies who dominate the discourse of our society. This is now ever more prominent in this digital age we are entering. Just because it doesn't fit perfectly with the story doesn't negate it as a descriptor of what's happening. I've read the book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,752 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Did any police get their sculls bashed in with a fire extinguisher ?

Far worse I'm afraid.
    David Dorn a 77-year-old African-American retired police captain was shot and killed by looters .

2 policeman were ambushed and shot in their police car in Compton.

Plenty of other incidents too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

Trump used twitter to speak unfiltered and raw to the American people. If you wanted to see what Trump actually said you simply had to follow and read his Twitter.
    Previous Presidents depended solely on the press and TV and newspapers who selectively reported or edited what was said to fit their narrative.
    No Big Tech is doing this.

Trump can hold live presser's. You know this.

You have complained about Ayatollah's, B.L.M. terrorist's, (your words) and Islamic hate preacher's still having access to twitter ,whilst trying to make out that poor old Donald, who has access to world media on request, is some kind of martyr!

Cop on!

Write a letter to the White House and inform Donald about Live press conference's.

There clearly is Orwellian elements to censorship of an idealogy that doesn't fit in with the narrative pushed by companies who dominate the discourse of our society. This is now ever more prominent in this digital age. Just because it doesn't fit perfectly with the story doesn't negate it as a descriptor of what's happening. I've read the book.

So you believe twitter should be forced to allow white supremacist attacks against the US government to be encouraged on their platform? Because that is the alternative here. He will encourage more attacks if he is let do so.

Farage talks about this radicalising Americans and causing even more polarisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Mitch McConnell hasn't been suspended from Twitter and why do you think that is

Duh. That's because he's obviously part of the Deep State Illuminati who infiltrated the Republican party to destroy America from within

(or something like that :pac: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,443 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Look those protests were largely peaceful you must understand.
    The 2 billion dollars worth of damage done, that was just collateral damage.
    Thousands of innocent people had their homes and business destroyed.
    Cities burned for weeks, innocent people were beaten up, people were killed.
    It was like something you'd see in a third world country.

The irony of the whole BLM riots was that it was happening in mostly Democrat controlled cities and states yet somehow Trump was solely to blame for causing it.

Trump takes alot of blame yes.

Instead of letting protestors peaceful assemble he immediately went heavy handed calling in riot police and federal law enforcement who then beat the **** out of protestors.

This in turn saw far right and far left elements enter the fray and clash.

There clearly is Orwellian elements to censorship of an idealogy that doesn't fit in with the narrative pushed by companies who dominate the discourse of our society. This is now ever more prominent in this digital age we are entering. Just because it doesn't fit perfectly with the story doesn't negate it as a descriptor of what's happening. I've read the book.

If you’re trying to draw parallels between the US now and 1984 it’s important to realise that Trump is Big Brother, trying to reframe reality to a version that benefits him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,877 ✭✭✭yagan

So his current options seem to be
    1. Leave the White House at the appointed hour and risk jail for inciting insurrection
    2. Sit it out until he's manhandled out of the White House and be assured jail for fomenting an overthrow of the state.
    3. Leave quietly in the coming days on the pretext of heading back to Florida but actually bolting to Russia or somewhere else beyond extradition and spending the rest of his life promising a second coming. Maybe even setting up his own Trumpistan which he'll fund via contributions from his faithful and a few posters here!
    4. Double down and rally his followers to descend on Washington for a second attempt and be arrested and imprisoned immediately.

The smart move would be 3, but I reckon his reptile brain will probably go for 4 because he literally does not know how to back down.

He is but what happens if big tech sides with a Trump like character in the future, where does that leave us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,669 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

He is but what happens if big tech sides with a Trump like character in the future, where does that leave us?

They haven’t sided with anyone he broke the rules.

Farage talks about this radicalising Americans and causing even more polarisation.

I'd say a terror movement developing from the violence Trump incited is likely. But politically Trump is dead. Nothing Orwellian about him being banned from a social media platform for multiple breaches of its term and conditions btw. He agreed to follow the rules when he signed up.

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Trump takes alot of blame yes.

Instead of letting protestors peaceful assemble he immediately went heavy handed calling in riot police and federal law enforcement who then beat the **** out of protestors.

This in turn saw far right and far left elements enter the fray and clash.

Ironically, you had Republicans trying to push Federal Agents to the States against the wishes of those States, in an attempt to enforce federal government controls.

I'd say a terror movement developing from the violence Trump incited is likely. But politically Trump is dead. Nothing Orwellian about him being banned from a social media platform for multiple breaches of its term and conditions btw. He agreed to follow the rules when he signed up.
    Terms and conditions of a private corporation. That's such a cop out in this day and age. I don't like Trump and perhaps as a society we need to handle free speech with care but if you do that, then its not really free speech.its a version of free speech that must exist within the confines of what is acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Would you call Boards.ie 'Orwellian' for banning posters who continuously breach the rules of this site?

How would you describe Trump's assertion that the press are "Truly the enemy of the people"?

Big Tech didn’t take a side, Trump broke the rules and got banned.

We need to make sure that these companies have the processes in place to deal with people like Trump AND that those processes are followed and adhered to without fear or favour.

The same thing as if someone like Murdoch sides with them. The power of a lot of large media organisations does need to be curbed though that seems unlikely to come from the right. This seems like a separate topic to banning someone for inciting a right wing coup which I think many would agree is a decent banning.

It should be noted that big tech has been far more lenient with Trump repeatedly breaking the tos he signed up to due to his position so you can't really say they sided against him. More he pushed several miles past their terms of service and were forced to act or admit that their platforms had no rules.

yagan wrote: »
    So his current options seem to be
    1. Leave the White House at the appointed hour and risk jail for inciting insurrection
    2. Sit it out until he's manhandled out of the White House and be assured jail for fomenting an overthrow of the state.
    3. Leave quietly in the coming days on the pretext of heading back to Florida but actually bolting to Russia or somewhere else beyond extradition and spending the rest of his life promising a second coming. Maybe even setting up his own Trumpistan which he'll fund via contributions from his faithful and a few posters here!
    4. Double down and rally his followers to descend on Washington for a second attempt and be arrested and imprisoned immediately.

The smart move would be 3, but I reckon his reptile brain will probably go for 4 because he literally does not know how to back down.

Already called Snowdon. The bollix said that his cousin was coming to visit next week so he wouldn't have a spare bed free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Trump will probably hold his own presidential inauguration.
    He won, and that what happens after you win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,752 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Like him or loathe him Twitter must owe a huge debt to Trump as he gave the company enormous free publicity over the last 5 years.
    You cant buy that type of advertising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭joseywhales

There's clearly a limit to free speech when it comes to inciting hatred or violence or when the speech is slanderous, this isn't a new thing, that just appeared with social media, these rules have been there for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,669 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Terms and conditions of a private corporation. That's such a cop out in this day and age. I don't like Trump and perhaps as a society we need to handle free speech with care but if you do that, then its not really free speech.its a version of free speech that must exist within the confines of what is acceptable.
    Most people don’t understand what free speech means. It’s never meant you can say what you want when you want where you want with no consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭The Raging Bile Duct

This will lead to:
    Trump setting up his one news channel (something people always thought would happen), taking his supporters with him.
    Trump setting up his own social network, taking his supporters with him.
    Trump setting up his own financial services company, taking his supporters with him.

It could lead Trump to become a hundred billionaire.

This is genuinely one of the funniest things I've read on here. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Trump will probably hold his own presidential inauguration.
    He won, and that what happens after you win.

He didn't win in reality though did he? Just trump's delusions and narcissistic tenancies on display

And when exactly did free speech start applying to what is said on a platform created by a private company? It doesn't, that's the reality. And Trump's behaviour as of late is ultimately bad for business. Depending on the country Twitter censor content btw because plenty of countries put limits on the type of speech that is allowed. Eg Nazis don't tend to be visible in Germany or France and I suspect most are fine with that cause there are reasonable limits to what should be allowed online