Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gyms to Reopen 2021???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,322 ✭✭✭obi604

with these high figures, which in cases are 6/7/8 times higher than our previous peaks, not looking good.
    I know we have the vaccine etc
    but IMHO, after Easter is the best case scenario

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭jrosen

IMO it’s easily going to be easter before we all step food into a gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭leanin2019

obi604 wrote: »
    with these high figures, which in cases are 6/7/8 times higher than our previous peaks, not looking good.
    I know we have the vaccine etc
    but IMHO, after Easter is the best case scenario

Look at the hospital figures for more accurate comparisons as we are testing alot more now than previous peak.

But yeah its not pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭rpurfield

I don't know which is worse....being led along being told 2/3 more weeks repeatedly, or knowing it's straight up going to be 3 more months.

I'd rather know to be honest. I also think if they come out with a line that it's so serious we need to shut a lot of things for three months it might make people cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I don't know which is worse....being led along being told 2/3 more weeks repeatedly, or knowing it's straight up going to be 3 more months.
    I think this time it is very much about the numbers and when they get a lot lower. We just can't guess at that and wait and see approach is the only way to deal with it. We do know that the government is keen to reverse restrictions as soon as it is feasible. Personally, I'm just working with sticking to a weekly routine at home as it's tangible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,560 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

Omega28 wrote: »
    There's a lot of the block type ones going for crazy prices online but they can be bought for half the price from Alibaba etc

And if you order them now, you might have them in time for Covid-20 next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

By the sounds of it, once we get the nursing homes vaccinated, a huge swathe of the population will stand a far higher chance of not dying from Covid. It will take people a while to get over the fear and for government to communicate that we can begin to "live with covid". They need to be strong because we don't seem to be accepting any Covid deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

By the sounds of it, once we get the nursing homes vaccinated, a huge swathe of the population will stand a far higher chance of not dying from Covid. It will take people a while to get over the fear and for government to communicate that we can begin to "live with covid". They need to be strong because we don't seem to be accepting any Covid deaths.

The problem isn't the deaths alone. It's the hospitalisations and ICU capacity. Almost half of all cases of hospitalisations are people less than 65. Vaccinations in nursing homes will prevent deaths but on it's own it won't mean a whole lot for risk to hospital capacity. Deaths, of course, but that's not really the primary driver of the restrictions.

leanin2019 wrote: »
    Look at the hospital figures for more accurate comparisons as we are testing alot more now than previous peak.

But yeah its not pretty.

Yeah the cases are really a proxy for the more pertinent numbers but the higher testing and higher positivity rate does indicate a higher prevalence than in March/April.

The problem isn't the deaths alone. It's the hospitalisations and ICU capacity. Almost half of all cases of hospitalisations are people less than 65. Vaccinations in nursing homes will prevent deaths but on it's own it won't mean a whole lot for risk to hospital capacity. Deaths, of course, but that's not really the primary driver of the restrictions.

The plan was and likely still is that the over 65s in longterm care, frontline workers in patient contact & the over 70s are the first groups to be vaccinated.

Of the "Almost half of all cases of hospitalisations are people less than 65" I would presume lots of these have underlying conditions......... such folk will likely be prioritised for a vaccine also over the rest of the population.

Up to the 12th Dec the following was the case......

Underlying medical conditions in individuals with confirmed COVID-19 by setting..... Community 23%, Acute Hospital 63%, ICU 88.6% , died 93.4%

Nothing about age group in the above but .......Underlying medical conditions in individuals with confirmed COVID-19 by age group, up to midnight 12/12/2020 ........ total show 25% had Underlying condition, 58% No underlying condition & 16% unknown.

Basically most folk who catch covid don't have an underlying condition but most folk in hospital with covid do have an underlying condition.

I doubt that has changed tbh.

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/underlyingconditionsreports/Underlying%20conditions%20summary_1.0v%2014122020.pdf

I can't see gyms open before March tbh. I've a pull up / dip station thing nearly 200 miles away that I'll use a few times over the coming months when I'm there on work related trips. Few dumb bells at home that I've little interest in using but can do dips and press ups etc at home..... I'll concentrate on cleaning up the diet some running I reckon. Try and get under 85kg for when the gyms open and then get back to 1.5 times BW bench press after a couple of months of gym time.

Augeo wrote: »
    The plan was and likely still is that the over 65s in longterm care, frontline workers in patient contact & the over 70s are the first groups to be vaccinated.

Of the "Almost half of all cases of hospitalisations are people less than 65" I would presume lots of these have underlying conditions......... such folk will likely be prioritised for a vaccine also over the rest of the population.

Up to the 12th Dec the following was the case......

Underlying medical conditions in individuals with confirmed COVID-19 by setting..... Community 23%, Acute Hospital 63%, ICU 88.6% , died 93.4%

Nothing about age group in the above but .......Underlying medical conditions in individuals with confirmed COVID-19 by age group, up to midnight 12/12/2020 ........ total show 25% had Underlying condition, 58% No underlying condition & 16% unknown.

Basically most folk who catch covid don't have an underlying condition but most folk in hospital with covid do have an underlying condition.

I doubt that has changed tbh.

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/underlyingconditionsreports/Underlying%20conditions%20summary_1.0v%2014122020.pdf

I can't see gyms open before March tbh. I've a pull up / dip station thing nearly 200 miles away that I'll use a few times over the coming months when I'm there on work related trips. Few dumb bells at home that I've little interest in using but can do dips and press ups etc at home..... I'll concentrate on cleaning up the diet some running I reckon. Try and get under 85kg for when the gyms open and then get back to 1.5 times BW bench press after a couple of months of gym time.

My point was that the vaccination of nursing home residents won't see much of a return to normality.

People with certain medical conditions are in priority group 7 of 15 and that doesn't necessarily cover all underlying conditions so the risk of large numbers of hospitalisations will persists for some months yet.

Given the speed of delivery of vaccines - we're on course to have 470k doses by the end of March - and the likely speed of vaccination, I'm just not filled with hope that normality will return once the vaccination of the nursing homes is complete, which is apparently the end of February.

I'd love to be proven wrong.

My point was that the vaccination of nursing home residents won't see much of a return to normality............

I didn't disagree with your point, if anything I was agreeing with it, folk with underlying medical conditions need to be vaccinated as a priority "such folk will likely be prioritised for a vaccine also over the rest of the population"

By saying "I can't see gyms open before March tbh" I'm not suggesting with any coinfidence they'll open in March.

I do think once the over 70s & those with underlying medical conditions are vaccinated (the nursing homes will be done before them) we'll see a return to normality........ level 3 normality anyway with retail, gyms and barbers etc open.

Augeo wrote: »
    I didn't disagree with your point, if anything I was agreeing with it, folk with underlying medical conditions need to be vaccinated as a priority "such folk will likely be prioritised for a vaccine also over the rest of the population"

By saying "I can't see gyms open before March tbh" I'm not suggesting with any coinfidence they'll open in March.

Sorry...my brain is melted like a Twix on a range today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Omega28

Has anyone had any luck buying the adjustable dumbells? I was about to ordee from Alibaba but I have my reservations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,279 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Omega28 wrote: »
    Has anyone had any luck buying the adjustable dumbells? I was about to ordee from Alibaba but I have my reservations

That sounds like a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,753 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

It's very annoying. I'm on the fence about buying more equipment. Like a decent rack and enough plates to be any use is gonna cost a grand or more while my membership is only €50 per month... If it was the end of January I'd hold out but April means I need to invest. Inflated prices now on the second hand market means there are no more bargains. Scum of the earth charging €180 for two argos style 20kg dumbbells is now the norm. Racks selling for more than they originally sold for too. It's so frustrating. Shoulda kept picking up bits and pieces after the last lockdown really.

That sounds like a joke

No joke 😛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,753 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Adjustable weights are chronic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Chronic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

A lot better than no weights!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Eoinbmw wrote: »
    A lot better than no weights!

I have adjustable dumbbells up to 40kg. They are perfect once you don’t throw them on the ground and grunt after your 10kg chest press

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    I have adjustable dumbbells up to 40kg. They are perfect once you don’t throw them on the ground and grunt after your 10kg chest press
    The are very handy and space saving ideal for home or shed!
    They are fair wide which can make seated shoulder presses a bit awkward but you get used to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,322 ✭✭✭obi604

Dtp1979 wrote: »

Are these roughly about 500 Euro - in today’s environment

Where did you lads buy them? Are they worth paying €5-600 for?

For that money you might as well get a barbell and weights

bluewolf wrote: »

But space tho.

Yeah sorry just in shock at the price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,950 ✭✭✭caviardreams

But space tho.

Plus you can't bro-out as easily with the double-banded-lateral raises while standing on a shoebox doing a donkey kickback.

bluewolf wrote: »

Or both if possible!
    Personally i like working with dumbbells!
    Ideally id have a full set on a rack but space and cost of the equivalent dumbbells is 4-5 times as much!

Plus you can't bro-out as easily with the double-banded-lateral raises while standing on a shoebox doing a donkey kickback.

The sick pump I had yesterday suggests otherwise.