Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭MOR316

It's really about time they started bringing in the roads. In the meantime I'm going to slash tyres on my road, unless person is essential worker.

Why not? NPHET done it to Chris Rea, allegedly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

Hubertj wrote: »
    Question for you all - NOHET modelling at end of November was way way off what is happening now. How did they get it so wrong?
    Government made decisions based on this modelling and other data provided by different sources.
    Is it fair to say they wouldn’t have opened the economy to this extent of the modelling NPHET provided was more accurate?
    I’m trying to work this out in my head as everything seems way off! Thanks

Because there using Professor Nolan's graphs and modeling and modeling projections.
    Rather than the European centre of disease prevention and contro.
    They could be using a mixture of both now not sure

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Ficheall wrote: »
    The number of cases reported today will have been uncomfortably close to the number of cases we've had today. I presume that's what your wondering, as opposed to trying to use the slow processing of numbers through the system to suggest we're not in the sh*t.

The first part of your post.
    I'm truly lost. Don't understand where the numbers are coming from these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭SuperRabbit

‘I can work from home feck the rest of ye’ is certainly the impression I get. Btw I have to be on site everyday although happy to have the separation of home and work.

It is extremely frustrating when you could easily work from home but the government caves and makes you work face to face

And I don't believe a lot of retailers that say it's impossible to arrange click and collect over a 10 month period, that e-commerce is just too complicated and they can't do it. i don't know what is up with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Hubertj

Didn't NPHET say that if they opened restaurants for 3 weeks then the hospitals would be overrun in January? Did I dream that?

Did they? I thought they said in recent days cases are way off charts compared to their forecasts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,508 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

tom1ie wrote: »
    What about tanning saloons, bookies? They essential?

Got on a lucky one, came in 18/1.
    I've got a feeling this year's for me and you.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

lukas8888 wrote: »
    The huge number of cases have a lot of posters very rattled tonight, but has also brought out a few of the loonies that were all over this thread last spring.We are back to March once more with disinfecting groceries,scared of Chinese fast food,wiping down petrol pumps,crossing the road to avoid walkers etc.
    The amount of MSG,salt and sugar will probably kill you faster than your outside chance of catching Covid from the takeaways.

plenty of the other flavour out also.

"People die anyway, if it wasn't covid it'd be flu"

Except now a lot of care is being cancelled because we don't have capacity.

That'll lead to more people dying unnecessarily. Blowout of month not really worth it IMHO.

Hubertj wrote: »
    Did they? I thought they said in recent days cases are way off charts compared to their forecasts...

Yeah as i understand it they predicted that hospitals would be overrun but they didn't think they'd be this overrun this quickly

but I am open to being told i am misremembering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Exponential growth will prove herself to be a cruel mistress in a couple of weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭beaz2018

So if all it took was a few weeks of people (mostly very modestly) letting their guard down, for us to have nearly 10k cases a day, how many would we have had each day last feb/march if we could test back then?

Gael23 wrote: »
    The unions won’t have that. Primary teachers working and secondary Ines nit

They get paid either way, and they work either way.

I don't understand why 16-18 year olds were ever made to go back to schoool since they can learn online easier than the other age groups and since they can spread covid as easily as an adult can, unlike kids

beaz2018 wrote: »
    So if all it took was a few weeks of people (mostly very modestly) letting their guard down, for us to have nearly 10k cases a day, how many would we have had each day last feb/march if we could test back then?

Leaving out the biggest migration of the year, aka Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

The huge number of cases have a lot of posters very rattled tonight, but has also brought out a few of the loonies that were all over this thread last spring.We are back to March once more with disinfecting groceries,scared of Chinese fast food,wiping down petrol pumps,crossing the road to avoid walkers etc.
    The amount of MSG,salt and sugar will probably kill you faster than your outside chance of catching Covid from the takeaways.

Well if one is scared of chinese takeaways, chances are one wont die of msg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭prunudo

tom1ie wrote: »
    What about tanning saloons, bookies? They essential?

In my opinion no, but its not up to me to decide. I'm not saying there isn't merit in closing some sectors but its not a black and white case in imo. There is a cohort on here and who text into media outlets who constantly shout 'shut this, shut the other, curfew etc because they're aren't effected by said closures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭lukas8888

plenty of the other flavour out also.

"People die anyway, if it wasn't covid it'd be flu"

Except now a lot of care is being cancelled because we don't have capacity.

That'll lead to more people dying unnecessarily. Blowout of month not really worth it IMHO.
    No sign what so ever of "people die anyway" or it's only flu crowd around tonight.
    but overflowing with posters absolutely losing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Tpcl20

There has been no data on schools for two weeks, so it is hard to say.

He was saying that they don't have the data GENERALLY to make any judgements about how safe our schools are.

The same gowl who wheeled out charts to show us how safe they were before the Hallowe'en break. The break after which everything went to shit and there had to be unilateral action by schools to contain outbreaks, close contacts weren't being contacted by the HSE in spite of them telling principals that due to GDPR they couldn't disclose cases, schools had to get their BOM to decide on a full closure because there were so many covid cases and it was nigh on impossible to get a test, even as a close contact of a confirmed case.

There have been lies upon lies in order to make the data reflect the safety of schools. It's malicious and dangerous when the case numbers are low but it's complete negligence and tantamount to actual murder when they're refusing to collect or examine the data in order to scientifically study the spread in schools, at this point. Nolan is an absolute cretin and he has been blowing the government's trumpet whenever needed. He'll be remembered as the Iago of this whole period in Ireland when the numbers are available to the experts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,129 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

prunudo wrote: »
    In my opinion no, but its not up to me to decide. I'm not saying there isn't merit in closing some sectors but its not a black and white case in imo. There is a cohort on here and who text into media outlets who constantly shout 'shut this, shut the other, curfew etc because they're aren't effected by said closures.

Problem is you will get people who may be struggling on with a head cold (which is in fact covid) who goes in to one of the above premises and contributes to the spread.
    Bookies and tanning salons are in no way essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,108 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

No sign what so ever of "people die anyway" or it's only flu crowd around tonight.
    but overflowing with posters absolutely losing it.

No way, really? Can you point some of them ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

So when do we get the numbers for :

Vaccines Doses Available -

1st Vaccine Doses Administered -

2nd Vaccine Doses Administered -

—————————————————

Total Vaccines Doses -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,151 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Now NPHETs credibility is in question

Their brief is to keep schools open and keep non Covid healthcare operational, both have failed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The advice from NEFET is that schools are safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Their brief is to keep schools open and keep non Covid healthcare operational, both have failed

If the government had followed the advice to begin with wed be fine

All they can do is advise! They aren’t magic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

The advice from NEFET is that schools are safe.

It very clearly isn’t after tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭lukas8888

xhomelezz wrote: »
    No way, really? Can you point some of them ?

Read back around six pages, yes way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,197 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

—————————————————

Total Vaccines Doses -

Not sure will be get the first as ongoing figure as changes so much with new supply. Probably get number of vaccine does distributed alright.

1st doses have only been administered recently so would be at least 3 weeks from 1st dose for that so won't happen for a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Did they say how many vaccines have been carried out ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

well they did say that christmas should be either opening restaurants/gastropubs OR home visits. Not both. If their advice had been followed then presumably things wouldn't be looking so bleak now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,108 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Maybe they thought people will follow guidelines.. workplaces will follow guidelines..

—————————————————

Total Vaccines Doses -

That's a question for cider. Don't expect an answer soon.

538319.jpg