Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,488 ✭✭✭tanko

Anto_Meath wrote: »
    Sold a nice red Zag heifer yesterday 590kgs €1,540. You would look at her for another while before she would kill into it.
    Sold two other lighter ones
    430 kg €1080 (a twin to a bull) & 450kgs €1120.
    The first one was just over 25 months and the other two were 17 months. I thought it was a price for them.

They were good quality to make those prices.
    What age is the ZAG heifer, if they had a bit more milk they'd make good cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

She was 25 months. Ye I have 3 zag cows, 2 of them are good enough milkers and made a good job of their calves the other one was poor enough milkers. What I like about Zag cattle is they are easy calved and they nice and quiet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Anto_Meath wrote: »
    She was 25 months. Ye I have 3 zag cows, 2 of them are good enough milkers and made a good job of their calves the other one was poor enough milkers. What I like about Zag cattle is they are easy calved and they nice and quiet...

I have 2 Zag cows and very little milk and butty too. They need to get the gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

It varies I have a few REQ cows and got lovely Zag calves out of them. If you have a cow with length and height then Zag is fine, but yes definitely doesn't bring any milk to the equation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,746 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Operating procedures for livestock marts under the new restrictions -

https://www.farmersjournal.ie/lockdown-latest-how-marts-will-operate-592494

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Base price wrote: »
    Operating procedures for livestock marts under the new restrictions -

https://www.farmersjournal.ie/lockdown-latest-how-marts-will-operate-592494

I'm assuming that the derogation to allow buyer's ringside will be withdrawn under the new lock down rules?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,356 ✭✭✭orm0nd

I'm assuming that the derogation to allow buyer's ringside will be withdrawn under the new lock down rules?

yes online only , viewing by app. no doubt the whingers will disagree, but I think we're lucky to have so much, more than we had last march

orm0nd wrote: »
    yes online only , viewing by app. no doubt the whingers will disagree, but I think we're lucky to have so much, more than we had last march

It's better than the alternative and it's allowed the marts to continue trading which is more than a lot of other businesses have endured. Cattle in particular were every bit as dear when 100% online as opposed to online and ringside, in fact plainer cattle were dearer imo when online as lads often didn't get as long to judge them. Having said that I'd be wary of buying a springer or a breeding bull online without having gotten a good look at them beforehand.

some marts aren't showing the owner's name either, having to go into the office before hand and ask to see cards or a print out of the seller's is kinda defeating the purpose,

I think if I'd just f€ck off home,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

“Face coverings will be mandatory for everyone in any area of the mart premises, as well as strict 2m social distancing. Marts must prevent people from congregating in the mart car park or at entry ways to the mart buildingshttps://www.farmersjournal.ie/lockdown-latest-how-marts-will-operate-592494

This must in response to reports of groups crowding around their devices in mart car parks to view online auctions.

“Face coverings will be mandatory for everyone in any area of the mart premises, as well as strict 2m social distancing. Marts must prevent people from congregating in the mart car park or at entry ways to the mart buildingshttps://www.farmersjournal.ie/lockdown-latest-how-marts-will-operate-592494

This must in response to reports of groups crowding around their devices in mart car parks to view online auctions.

I still argue that social distancing around the ringside was better than groups of people standing around the yard or sitting in the cab of a lorry. I'd imagine that most ringsides could accommodate circa 20 individuals in a safe and responsible manner regarding distancing. In a lot of cases this would cater for the number of interested buyers actually present in the mart. The biggest problem is theres a large percentage of mart goers that do little to no business on most visits, there passing the day whilst watching what the neighbours are doing or as during the last week before Xmas simply looking for a complementary calendar out of the office. If you got these people plus the sellers off the premises you'd have a much smaller volume of people to deal with.

The online bidding system is still available to those that wish to use it for whatever reason. Some will find it more convenient where as other particularly older farmer's are reluctant to attend a mart atm but still wish to do business. I've witnessed groups of individuals sitting in the cab of a lorry or some other vantage point while the sale is ongoing and that has to be riskier than being ringside and observing best practice. No doubt I'll be told that the spaces ringside would be reserved for "the boys" and it will descend into the usual them versus us debate about dealer's, tanglers and crooked auctioneers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

A thought crossed my mind today. With all the talk of Roan heifers are roan Bullocks getting any premium in the mart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭richie123

A thought crossed my mind today. With all the talk of Roan heifers are roan Bullocks getting any premium in the mart?

What's the craic with this roan breed?
    Are they making 5 plus euro in the factory ?
    Other than lads thinking they're great stock what's the actual reason they're making such good money ?all the makings of a Ponzi scheme or bitcoin.no intrinsic value behind the crazy prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,714 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

richie123 wrote: »
    What's the craic with this roan breed?
    Are they making 5 plus euro in the factory ?
    Other than lads thinking they're great stock what's the actual reason they're making such good money ?all the makings of a Ponzi scheme or bitcoin.no intrinsic value behind the crazy prices

Roadside field cattle I say. I remember seeing it at marts 10 years ago. Never a fan of shorthorns cattle as there ability to gain weight would be below average. Fellas have a fad for shorthorns breeding in cows in certain parts of the country

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Who2

Roadside field cattle I say. I remember seeing it at marts 10 years ago. Never a fan of shorthorns cattle as there ability to gain weight would be below average. Fellas have a fad for shorthorns breeding in cows in certain parts of the country

Most arent shorthorn, 90%are lm x bb with the roan result.

The roadside type top quality cattle aren't usually Shorthorn bred though, as Who has stated there usually LM crossed with BB. As for the fad for SH bred cows there better suited to marginal type land than the more continental type cows.

The beef SH type are in a similar league to an AA or proper whitehead cow when it comes to hardiness, mothering ability, longevity ect. You have the added bonus of a coloured calf off a LM or CH bull as opposed to a black or mousy type calf off an AA or whitehead cow and the same bull which makes a big difference if selling as weanlings. Finally there's always custom for a good SH heifer weanling regardless of weight although there hard sourced and the best part of many so called SH is the colour. Granted a SH bull weanling isn't in that great of demand although I believe there's a bonus scheme for SH in the North similar to our AA bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

The roadside type top quality cattle aren't usually Shorthorn bred though, as Who has stated there usually LM crossed with BB. As for the fad for SH bred cows there better suited to marginal type land than the more continental type cows.

The beef SH type are in a similar league to an AA or proper whitehead cow when it comes to hardiness, mothering ability, longevity ect. You have the added bonus of a coloured calf off a LM or CH bull as opposed to a black or mousy type calf off an AA or whitehead cow and the same bull which makes a big difference if selling as weanlings. Finally there's always custom for a good SH heifer weanling regardless of weight although there hard sourced and the best part of many so called SH is the colour. Granted a SH bull weanling isn't in that great of demand although I believe there's a bonus scheme for SH in the North similar to our AA bonus.

As said already these Roan cattle that are in fashion at the moment have nothing to do with shorthorns.
    In a way it’s no different to the golden Charolais. Another animal that is over priced based on its colour

As said already these Roan cattle that are in fashion at the moment have nothing to do with shorthorns.
    In a way it’s no different to the golden Charolais. Another animal that is over priced based on its colour

In regards to the orange CH they are generally overpriced oftentimes being even dearer than the equivalent quality white CH weanling. The only reason I could give for this apart from the fact that there more pleasing to look at is this. Usually a bright orange coloured CH calf is bred out of a CH or similar continental type cow. This would lead you to believe that the resulting weanling should develop into a larger and more muscular animal than a mousy CH bred out of a smaller AA or more traditional type cow. Obviously this isn't a hard or fast rule and there's as much variation within as across breeds.

The fact that our (Irish) traditional breeds are predominantly darker coloured for example Kerry and Dexter or roan/brindled eg Irish moiled and Droimeann is something that has intrigued me. It's a similar story for much of the UK breeds especially those from more marginal area's eg Welsh Black, AA, Highland, Galloway ect.

It's only when you enter into the better pastures that the lighter coloured breeds become commonplace eg Devon Red, White Park, Lincoln Red, Hereford, Jersey ect. The lighter coloured breeds are again numerous throughout Europe eg CH, Limousine, Parthenaise, Blondes, Simmental ect. I can't think of any beef or dual purpose European breeds that are black although there's a few that are born dark and lighten over time eg Romagnola.

I used to think that too but I see it here put a pure lm beside a pure ch and then a cross between the two, as soon as you start feeding the orange ch will leave the others sitting. The ch will get into the heaviest weight and take a ball of feeding the lm will get a set weight, the cross gives a nice balanced calf. Put the ch bull to a proper roan and your adding a serious kick of muscle to the colour. If the lm*bb is black you will only get the right colour the odd time. I know it’s different if your feeding on yourself but when I’m selling as a weanlings I have to get everything right to make a profit. I’m very fond of roan heifers , a lot is the look but they do tend to throw the right calf if bred correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Yellow charolais benefit from hybrid vigour. Most cows now have lim breeding. Crossed with a char bull, brings that orange yellow colour. No other cross brings it, so little risk for buyers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭memorystick

Never buy a red with a black nose.

Yellow charolais benefit from hybrid vigour. Most cows now have lim breeding. Crossed with a char bull, brings that orange yellow colour. No other cross brings it, so little risk for buyers.

A Charolais bull on Saler cows will bring golden yellow calves also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

Never buy a red with a black nose.

why?

tanko wrote: »

A nice hairy type calf with good weight gain but can be slightly plainer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

tanko wrote: »

They bring them darker , more orange than yellow , not a patch on a limousine cow imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭forgottenhills

The fact that our (Irish) traditional breeds are predominantly darker coloured for example Kerry and Dexter or roan/brindled eg Irish moiled and Droimeann is something that has intrigued me. It's a similar story for much of the UK breeds especially those from more marginal area's eg Welsh Black, AA, Highland, Galloway ect.

Maybe the traditional Irish cattle breeds were black because of all the cattle raids in days of yore (you could hide the black ones easier at night)? Ireland itself was also traditionally depicted as a black cow in old poems and stories.

They bring them darker , more orange than yellow , not a patch on a limousine cow imo

Not in my experience, a neighbor of mine has a herd of limousin and Saler cows and a CH bull. The calves are almost all golden yellow, it’s hard to tell which calves are off the Lim cows and which are off the Salers, he has well shaped Saler cows.
    The calves off the Saler cows sell just as well also.

I still argue that social distancing around the ringside was better than groups of people standing around the yard or sitting in the cab of a lorry. I'd imagine that most ringsides could accommodate circa 20 individuals in a safe and responsible manner regarding distancing. In a lot of cases this would cater for the number of interested buyers actually present in the mart. The biggest problem is theres a large percentage of mart goers that do little to no business on most visits, there passing the day whilst watching what the neighbours are doing or as during the last week before Xmas simply looking for a complementary calendar out of the office. If you got these people plus the sellers off the premises you'd have a much smaller volume of people to deal with.

The online bidding system is still available to those that wish to use it for whatever reason. Some will find it more convenient where as other particularly older farmer's are reluctant to attend a mart atm but still wish to do business. I've witnessed groups of individuals sitting in the cab of a lorry or some other vantage point while the sale is ongoing and that has to be riskier than being ringside and observing best practice. No doubt I'll be told that the spaces ringside would be reserved for "the boys" and it will descend into the usual them versus us debate about dealer's, tanglers and crooked auctioneers.

5k new cases to day, fair play to the marts that pulled this week's sales ,

if ringside bidding never opened again it would'nt worry me and I certianly will not be entering any ring

orm0nd wrote: »
    5k new cases to day, fair play to the marts that pulled this week's sales ,

if ringside bidding never opened again it would'nt worry me and I certianly will not be entering any ring

To be fair the marts successful operated both online and ringside sales for nearly 2 months leading up to Xmas. Everyone concerned put in substantial effort to make this so and I don't believe the presence of ringside buyers has anything do with the recent explosion in case number's. I would still support a closure of marts for another fortnight until we see can any impact be made upon our current situation. As for your views on ringside bidding in the future your entitled to your opinion but I believe ringside buyer's will always be a factor moving forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Re colour of cattle. How you explain same cow and same bull bring red calf one year and black calf following year. I’ve had this quite a few times.

The first thing I look for is a live calf and the last thing I look for is a particular colour. I finish all at stock here and I can tell you the colour has no bearing on the price when they’re hanging up.

I used to sell a few springers at home. Lads only wanted red ones. I’ve seen lads leave better black heifers behind and take a red one.