Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,077 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Gardaí uncovered a Shebeen with "all the trappings of a traditional pub" on New Year's Eve after the search of a shed at the back of a house near Kildare town.

At around 8.30pm, a search of the suspected premises under warrant discovered nearly 15 people socialising in the shebeen at the rear of the house.

During the search, Gardaí seized all alcohol on the premises as well as assorted pub equipment like drink optics and spirit dispensers.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/courtandcrime/arid-40199610.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭quartz1

I am so sorry for people who may fall ill and I am so frustrated by The Government. The sleepwalked the Country into this mess while our island offered an opportunity for greater control. The complacency began with allowing flights in last summer and continued throughout. It was compounded by Varadkers resistance to NPHETs advice. Where are the assurances now about Test and Trace been ramped up ..what's the app doing.... What advantage was gained in either social or economic terms by opening up for Christmas in a manner contrary to NPHETS advice. ..furthmore those vaccines that arrived and sat in a fridge for days while Donnolly called in for a photo opp now seem frankly disgusting .

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,433 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

messin doorman banned from the forum

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Tpcl20 wrote: »
    Well if Philip Nolan, the person who models the data and extrapolates the causes that are driving spread, isn't going to convince you when he says the UK variant isn't the main issue then I'm hardly going to inspire you.
    They have sequenced less than1 percent of positive tests this past week,possibly a fraction of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Stheno wrote: »
    Nope anecdotal stories of 30 close contacts is beyond stupid

People caused this

When we see the updated contact and tracing dashboard updated it will be insane to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,160 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The UK for all their faults have a very simple message, hands, space face

Ah here, the UK messaging has been all over the place!

Between giving people vouchers to support businesses and then telling people to stay at home, between Boris saying it'd be inhumane to cancel home visits for Christmas and even taking the piss out of the opposition about it - and then turning around and doing that exact thing three days later - moonshot, students locked into dormitories - the list of British cock ups on messaging and resulting confusion is very, very extensive.

The media over there has been full of people complaining about the confusion of the rules for months and months and it seems that there's even less - far less - adherence to the rules over there than here - and their death rate is a total joke!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

quartz1 wrote: »
    I am so sorry for people who may fall ill and I am so frustrated by The Government. The sleepwalked the Country into this mess while our island offered an opportunity for greater control. The complacency began with allowing flights in last summer and continued throughout. It was compounded by Varadkers resistance to NPHETs advice. Where are the assurances now about Test and Trace been ramped up ..what's the app doing.... What advantage was gained in either social or economic terms by opening up for Christmas in a manner contrary to NPHETS advice. ..furthmore those vaccines that arrived and sat in a fridge for days while Donnolly called in for a photo opp now seem frankly disgusting .

Imo we are no better or worse than most Eu countries

In fact our frontline doctors and nurses deserve huge credit that our ICU survival rate is 80%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,623 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Nope anecdotal stories of 30 close contacts is beyond stupid

People caused this

No Covid caused this

People did what people have always done

If people didn’t meet up eventually there would be no new people

quartz1 wrote: »

Hate to burst your bubble, it's not our island, we share it without another country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

People caused this

Ah, so it is the fault of the people of Sweden, Iran, America etc etc

A huge disaster. What stupid people we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,623 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

In fact our frontline doctors and nurses deserve huge credit that our ICU survival rate is 80%

Are we admitting people to ICU that wouldn’t be deemed to require ICU care in other countries?

That would of course increase survival rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,077 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Would it be worth a curfew from 7pm or 8pm and closing off licences until the end of January, really make it a dry January or is it too late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

The guidelines were stay at home, go to the pub, go to restaurants, go shopping, don't use public transport but obviously you can if you like.

And we did all that a lot

I went to restaurants and pubs serving food. I also went shopping. At all times, the protocols left me feeling safe. I didn't go to any house parties though.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Would it be worth a curfew from 7pm or 8pm and closing off licences until the end of January, really make it a dry January or is it too late

Why?
    Does Covid know if you’d had a drink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I see over on reddit someone was looking at the deaths, in the last 6 months nobody under the age of 65 has died from this disease. Thats pretty surprising to me.

I went to restaurants and pubs serving food. I also went shopping. At all times, the protocols left me feeling safe. I didn't go to any house parties though.

Good for you, but you weren't safe. If you did all that you might well have the virus.

Did you meet up with anyone elderly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭quartz1

I could not agree more that the frontline people from Doctors to truck drivers have been true hero's. We are not continental Europe and more could have been done to control travel. We blocked travel in to Ireland and sat on our hands while easyJet delivered people into Belfast who were collected or took public transport out of Northern Ireland..

niallo27 wrote: »
    I see over on reddit someone was looking at the deaths, in the last 6 months nobody under the age of 65 has died from this disease. Thats pretty surprising to me.

Reading the thread, you’d think we should all be planning our funerals.

Think for a moment how insanely stupid that sounds, Niall.

It's bollocks, Niall. Stop lapping it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

Like with most things, the truth is somewhere in the middle.

Did the Government open too early? Yes (that’s not me being wise after the event. I, and many others, said it at the time)

Did they open too much? Yes, after being advised not to.

Did a cohort of people breach guidelines? Yes, and they are to blame for their actions. No one else.

Was the cohort who decided to have a ‘normal’ christmas higher than anyone could possibly have imagined? Clearly.

I’m sure I’ll be hit with ‘why do I need someone to blame’. Well if everyone did what was asked of them we wouldn’t have increased our case count 10 fold in a month. People can be unlucky and catch it (through work, shared accommodation, from someone you have to care for etc) but if you have 30+ close contacts, are socialising when waiting on a test result or have symptoms then you aren’t unlucky, you are (in part) responsible for the mess we find ourselves in.

Ah, so it is the fault of the people of Sweden, Iran, America etc etc

A huge disaster. What stupid people we have.

You know full well I mean people here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

So these 9000 positive swabs in the backlog, let's just add them to the total and move on. Why add them to future case numbers each day, they don't prove if the virus numbers are getting better or worse. Let's just write them off as they surve no purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

It feels like last January again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭AutoTuning

If you think that the public would have tolerated draconian Christmas restrictions being imposed top down, you’re living in cloud cuckoo land.

The government is a reflection of the public and there’s been a total inability to arrive at the kinds of solutions that might work. They need public buy in.

We might laugh at the extremists and conspiracy theorists out protesting but there’s a large aspect of “aargh sure it’s grand!” in the middle.

I was talking to a couple in their 60s on NYE who were off to a party proclaiming this was all a “load of over hyped nonsense. Sure the figures are very low in Cork.” and several who’ve hosted parties and causal get togethers. It’s not all the “youth” either. A lot of these people are in their 60s. They the same mentality that would have a few pints before driving home before the drink driving crackdown or who’d have had to be harangued into wearing seatbelts before that.

Then add the bleed over from the US through social media etc etc and we’re just not going to get this resolved.

I’ve a sinking feeling we are in for a really bad January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Is it? It’s not lethal for younger people. You have to be seriously compromised for it to be a problem if you’re younger. It’s stats like that is the reason why people mingled like they did at Christmas, it’s not dangerous to me or pretty much anyone I know so I’m going to the pub, restaurant, shopping etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Good for you, but you weren't safe. If you did all that you might well have the virus.

Did you meet up with anyone elderly?

I was safe. And thankfully I don't have the virus. The extremely large surge we are currently experiencing is not as a result of people going out for a meal in places that adhered to guidelines.

Anyone I meet outside my house is always two metres away. Including elderly people and I ensure they are safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,160 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Ficheall wrote: »
    It feels like last January again.

Last January was alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭frank8211

Gael23 wrote: »
    Seems to me they are massaging the figures so as not to hit the trigger for closing g schools

Yes of course but they cant keep it up forever. Ok, close hardware, make everyone stay 2km, 1km, 0.1 km from home, give it 2 weeeks, then 'review'... cases still going up....

https://www.rte.ie/news/dublin/2021/0101/1187231-healthcare-worker-death/
    She not count?

You know full well I mean people here

And my point is what's the difference?

We're all following public health advice to varying degrees. Do you think the Swedes are a bunch of ****ing idiots because it's going badly for them?

They've been served up bad advice since the start. The quality of our advice has been in decline for some time ever since the gov took full control.