Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Genuinely don't know what was going through his head. And he has asthma and a chronic smokers cough and is terrified of covid.

Your housemate is clearly not terrified of Covid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

The increasing amount of it now is to do with ....the amount of it then. The amount next week will be to do with the amount now. Usually what happens in big spreads is people scarper off in home and wait it out and then the amount of it decreases. Except the blue collar workers or serfs naturally - off they go.
    Eg in the 1400s Henry VIII kept on the move, sleeping in a different bed most nights, having tiny ante-chambers away from the court, constantly hiding to avoid the sweating sickness - a quarantine so to speak. That's what people do who can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭acer911

marno21 wrote: »
    Friend of mine was tested this evening and told to expect a 4 day wait for results. Close contact of a symptomatic case.

I wouldn’t be at all surprised if we went to March style lockdown before companies go back on Monday. This is crazy stuff

I was tested yesterday at 14.00, got the result (negative) at 17.00 today. Maybe the situation has deteriorated significantly in the last 3 days but I have found the whole process relatively seamless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Tucker tunsel

leahyl wrote: »
    And possibly pass it onto his housemates - Jesus, the ignorance of some people is astounding

These people need to be held accountable either through large fines or taking from pup payment.

Need also more of a humiliation around clowns like these

They are messing with people life's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Tucker tunsel

leahyl wrote: »
    And possibly pass it onto his housemates - Jesus, the ignorance of some people is astounding

These people need to be held accountable either through large fines or taking from pup payment.

Need also more of a humiliation around clowns like these

They are messing with people life's

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

We are still long off the UK rate of new cases per head of population, the UK had similar figures 6 months plus ago, whoy in the jaysus did they not assume the IT system would eventually need to cope with similar levels to the UK figures? It's like we are sitting on a rock with no communication or simple use of Google to establish how other countries do things.

Lets leave the vaccines in the fridge for another month, there may be more valuable vulnerable people to save then, ffs, it's a joke.

Have you forgotten the excel disaster they had in the UK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,780 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

MOR316 wrote: »
    Why would someone with symptoms, or with the virus itself, go out to a restaurant? :rolleyes:

I mean...Makes me feel good that I'm not an arsehole but, y'know

There will be somebody along momentarily to say... “for their mental health”

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Christmas and people's inability not to act the maggot is your answer there

And people closing windows. God forbid a bit of fresh air.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

The people giving out about NPHET not formally declaring the backlogged cases are the same ones who would scream fake news if they did and had to revise their numbers substantially.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,398 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Anyone think its down to this new variant moreso than anything else?

Maybe it's playing a role?
    Not sure.

Has there been any research on the prevalence of the Kent variant here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Faugheen wrote: »
    The people giving out about NPHET not formally declaring the backlogged cases are the same ones who would scream fake news if they did and had to revise their numbers substantially.

If they are not in a position to report correct numbers they shouldn't report any number until they get that sorted - the numbers now are completely pointless

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

If they are not in a position to report correct numbers they shouldn't report any number until they get that sorted - the numbers now are completely pointless

But they are in a position to report correct numbers. There were 1745 of them today.

I’d rather know what’s coming down the pipeline. If it means checking everything to ensure they’re as accurate as they can be rather than just throwing them out and revising later, I’m fine with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

But they are in a position to report correct numbers. There were 1745 of them today.

I’d rather know what’s coming down the pipeline. If it means checking everything to ensure they’re as accurate as they can be rather than just throwing them out and revising later, I’m fine with that.

The daily numbers have always been used to reflect the prevalence of covid within the country. The growth in numbers over the past few days is not being reported in the 1,745. 95% of people don't look past the headline number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Good thread here, This journalist is very good.

https://twitter.com/Mark_Coughlan/status/1345095757142106114

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Crocodile Booze

The problem, and I'm witnessing it as we speak in real life, is that people are shrugging saying things sre stable etc, without taking into account the bumper backlog. Hence they are too relaxed about the dire situation we are really in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭MOR316

Strumms wrote: »
    There will be somebody along momentarily to say... “for their mental health”

Well, take it from me, it's good for your mental well being/health to get out from where you are now and again. It can be crippling staying boxed up, especially if you are surrounded by bad memories and vibes.

However, doesn't excuse leaving the house, never mind a restaurant, if you have symptoms.

Someone said earlier that they may not have had symptoms at the time and if that's the case, I can't help but sympathise. Anything else though, nah...Get in the bin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

We've reached a "when worlds collide scenario". The Covid naysayers/relax restrictions on one side and a Government/Health service struggling/those who accepted restrictions on the other side.

This may be finally decided over the next few weeks. The scene is set. I hope all Boardsies from both sides stick around for the fallout.:D

Stay safe folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

You are joking? Pluck a number from the sky today that suits you? Wtf are we releasing numbers that are forming the basis for restrictions that are not even accurate. I can't go 5km from the house and Tony can't even tell me how many cases are ACTUALLY out there.

I've finally broken, this is a shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,426 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

wadacrack wrote: »
    Good thread here, This journalist is very good.

https://twitter.com/Mark_Coughlan/status/1345095757142106114

He presents Prime Time - fairly good alright

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Stheno wrote: »
    Gonna take an age to get them down to anything decent

We are probably averaging 2.5-3 thousand cases a day the past 5 days

Yeah...but even so...with people hopefully restricted enough now, there shouldn't be many cases in a couple of weeks if the next 14 days covers off most of the current cases, assuming people stick to the restrictions..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I disagree. We should be complaining about their inability to report correctly. I do a reporting/data engineering role for a living and what we're seeing from the HSE here is incompetent.

If a senior manager where I work asked me how many sales there was yesterday and I went well we've had at least 100 but there might be more but we're still processing them so we've no idea were they already members of ours, I'd be fecked out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭blackcard

Given the recent surge in cases, I would not be surprised if schools will remain closed for January, construction closed down, takeaways closed, elite sports shut down.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

titan18 wrote: »
    I disagree. We should be complaining about their inability to report correctly. I do a reporting/data engineering role for a living and what we're seeing from the HSE here is incompetent.

Yep

You'd hope they are clearly explaining the situation to the govt so they understand what's going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,360 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

The announced case numbers regularly get revised with denotifications given later so there must be flaws in the current system. I don't see how just announcing the swab numbers would be any less accurate than the current system. It would also be in real-time rather than the current nonsense of under-reporting cases and having a huge unreported backlog sitting there. The data is there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

This refusal to lock down correctly is going to cost a lot of lives .

Nope . Refusal by a decent percentage of the population to follow the advice will cost some lives.

The whole country should realise we're in trouble here, Do you think they will all follow the advice?
    I can guarantee the same people whio haven't all along will continue not to.
    Last nights shenanigans suggest I'm right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Nphet, government HSE has been worried, concerned, next two weeks are crucial since last March. I’m surprised people continued to listen to them as long as they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,073 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

blackcard wrote: »
    Given the recent surge in cases, I would not be surprised if schools will remain closed for January, construction closed down, takeaways closed, elite sports shut down.

You would hope so. If this continues even a little while longer, it won't just be the tracing system that ends up collapsing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Why do people obsess about case numbers? It's a pretty empty metric to assess infection rate. Positivity rate and hospitalisation numbers are all that really matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,024 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Nphet, government HSE has been worried, concerned, next two weeks are crucial since last March. I’m surprised people continued to listen to them as long as they did.

They should have probably moved to using smaller words to help those who couldn't comprehend the big words they were using.