Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXX-113,332 ROI(2,282 deaths) 81,251 NI (1,384 deaths) (05/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭Polar101

Is that because it is also ****e?

I thought his George Lee impressions on his podcasts were pretty funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,168 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Does anyone know whether construction work is allowed during Level 5?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

It is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,604 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Fairly certain it is. Look through the 'what does level 5 look like' on Rte news app.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,382 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Thing is it is very likely it will mutate and eventually the present vaccines won't work for it anymore.

There is zero evidence that the current vaccines will not protect against the Covid19 variants. Mutations in the Covid19 virus have always been expected. All viruses mutate.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Thing is it is very likely it will mutate and eventually the present vaccines won't work for it anymore.
    That is why flu vaccines have to be adjusted to common strains every year, and so it is probable if not certain to be the same with these vaccines.
    T cell immunity may protect people for longer , but nobody can give you an answer yet for definite .
    It certainly will be a better quality of life for everyone if a majority take the vaccine though and restrictions could be eased / stopped indefinitely then .

Have you stopped singing the hills are alive yet? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,888 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

unbelievably cringe - I had to "pause" it when it came on then fast forward over it. What a shower of idiots we come across as, desperate to be liked , desperate to have a celebrity amongst us, desperate for Matt Damon to say Ireland is lovely. Jeez - at the time I was embarassed, I'm double embarassed tonight seeing that clip on the news!

Its like we have some kind of inferiority complex and need to be liked :o

Nah, just not a load of good news stories around lately I suppose .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,100 ✭✭✭prunudo

Golfwidow wrote: »
    Be careful! 4 out of 6 hère tested positive - 2 had runny noses, 1 had minor sniffles , one had a very bad sore throat. None had temperature or cough!! I think it’s a huge problem that many of us can be fooled with, “it’s a cold; it couldn’t be Covid”!

Reality is, the testing system isn't big enough to test everyone with every minor symptom, so therefore cases must be slipping through the cracks.
    Now maybe it should be, because I'm sure if there was spare capacity, all of us would gladly book a test if we suspected we could have it. I still think this is going to be around for a long time, regardless of vaccines. Roll out of 15 min tests should be looked at too, at the end of the day ot all helps in getting us through this.

There is zero evidence that the current vaccines will not protect against the Covid19 variants. Mutations in the Covid19 virus have always been expected. All viruses mutate.

That ..is not what I said .
    Read the post properly .

Stheno wrote: »
    Have you stopped singing the hills are alive yet? :)

Was told to go to my room and stop jumping around ;))

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Golfwidow wrote: »
    Be careful! 4 out of 6 hère tested positive - 2 had runny noses, 1 had minor sniffles , one had a very bad sore throat. None had temperature or cough!! I think it’s a huge problem that many of us can be fooled with, “it’s a cold; it couldn’t be Covid”!

How did ye get a test if it just felt like a cold? Was someone a close contact or did someone have the cop on and knew it can be very mild in some people and went for a test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Hopefully however we will have some level of cross-immunity against new strains, even if not quite 100%. And it sounds like we can very rapidly get the mRNA vaccines changed if needs be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

I called a lot of this before it happened, and my fake name is dirt around here.

Most of you detest me and my bloody graphs, but I'll go on though because this is important stuff.
    537720.png

hmmm wrote: »
    Hopefully however we will have some level of cross-immunity against new strains, even if not quite 100%. And it sounds like we can very rapidly get the mRNA vaccines changed if needs be.

Yes. That was what I was saying re Tcell immunity.
    Once they have these vaccines they have the blueprint , so to speak , for yearly or biennial " tweaked " vaccines.
    Not saying it's a conspiracy but its the business to be in !
    Youngest is going to be made study science/ pharma , ;)

I called a lot of this before it happened, and my fake name is dirt around here.

Most of you detest me and my bloody graphs, but I'll go on though because this is important stuff.
    537720.png

What does that graph even mean? Could you give some sort of narrative at least so us morons get your drift?

537720.png

Tony , I believed in you !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Tony , I believed in you !

So do I. I don't call your posts BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭jams100

I know its unlikely that we will not be out of this soon, given the vaccine rollout. Thank God. This will be the last lockdown (albeit maybe a couple of months)

But I do think it is interesting to consider what we would be doing now if there were no vaccine on the horizon.....or maybe scientists saying 2023 for a vaccine. We couldn't lockdown and off like this for that long. I actually think that this summer (when rates are naturally lower and easier to suppress) we would be forced into a zero COVID strategy, with everything that that entails re borders and quarantines (and no need to remind me....I know what the issues are). Have been 100% against it to this point, but if this were to be the situation for 2 or 3 years I genuinely think that we would have no choice

I don't think that strategy would ever work unless we were to become a communist country, even New Zealand have struggled to contain it and they don't share a border with another country or are an export country within a continent.

I understand why restrictions have been needed since February however, for me its quite scary that alot of people would quite happily sign away their freedoms for an unspecified period for a virus which is deadly for a relatively small proportion of people in percentage terms. I do wonder how far some people would go and it does scare me. I'm not suggesting opening restaurants or anything of the like, but closing golf/tennis clubs for example makes it seem to me that common sense has completely gone out the window.

Even the amount of people who would seemingly favour off licenses closing is very surprising, with a minister even proposing this! Where does it all end? Would we ban fatty foods? Would we ban take aways? Where does it stop? (I hardly drink before someone points out)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

537720.png

FFS - the Government today effectively moved to Level 6 of controls (with the additional closure of schools). The vast majority of people are agreeing that there is a severe problem and agree with the new restrictions.

Nothing wrong with the message, but insulting all and sundry in how you say it is not exactly helping.

What does that graph even mean? Could you give some sort of narrative at least so us morons get your drift?

It's a chart of hospital admissions and discharges since the pandemic began.
    We're now apparently seeing record admissions.

I should call out that, as you can see, the data for March wasn't recorded.
    But this is clearly bad.

Have you not been following this ? ;)
    Last one I saw had orange lines overlying blue and orange was the previous wave peak overlaid on present wave .
    This is a new one it appears with admissions and discharges?
    A lot of work gone into this and over Christmas too ...

Interesting that Alan Kelly is proposing that there is a daily update on the numbers vaccinated. I think that is an excellent idea in terms of showing people there is hope but also keeping the pressure on the HSE to actually deliver.

Have you not been following this ? ;)
    Last one I saw had orange lines overlying blue and orange was the previous wave peak overlaid on present wave .
    This is a new one it appears with admissions and discharges?
    A lot of work gone into this and over Christmas too ...

No. Why should I? Tony spends half his time posting graphs with no explanation

If I did that in work I'd be crucified

No. Why should I? Tony spends half his time posting graphs with no explanation

If I did that in work I'd be crucified

If I do that I'm genuinely sorry

I suppose I sometimes might assume they're more easily understood than they are because I've spent too long looking at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Golfwidow

How did ye get a test if it just felt like a cold? Was someone a close contact or did someone have the cop on and knew it can be very mild in some people and went for a test?

GP sent family member with sore throat for a test. The others were close contacts. They were sent for testing by HSE. Two of them only registered positive after their second test ... and they had isolated from each other once the first positive case was known. Their first test was 2 days after diagnosis of first positive case whereas the second test was 8 days after diagnosis of the first positive case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,100 ✭✭✭prunudo

I'm still confused with the sudden rate in hospital admissions. I can see it is happening but it doesn't tie in with overly high case numbers 10-14 days ago.

prunudo wrote: »
    I'm still confused with the sudden rate in hospital admissions. I can it is happening but it doesn't tie in with overly high case numbers 10-14 days ago.

Is there a Christmas factor to the figures?

I'm still confused with the sudden rate in hospital admissions. I can it is happening but it doesn't tie in with overly high case numbers 10-14 days ago.

Hi!

I've been looking for someone to share this concern with. For friendship, or maybe more.

I keep saying it's too soon to be seeing the numbers we're seeing. And it's getting no traction.
    Either we missed a ****load of cases weeks ago, or the hospitalisation rate has jumped.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Older people infected in the past 3-7 days are likely candidates for hospitalisation.

It doesn't take you 14 days for you to get sick enough to be hospitalised. Look at the famous cases like Trump, Boris etc. It's a few days.

It's a chart of hospital admissions and discharges since the pandemic began.
    We're now apparently seeing record admissions.

I should call out that, as you can see, the data for March wasn't recorded.
    But this is clearly bad.

That chart is noisy to read. Might be clearer to show a single line with the difference in admissions vs discharges for each day. Net increase in hospital numbers, will plot above and below zero.