Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    The only circle jerk I've seen online this week is among the drinkers in this thread. The mental gymnastics being done to justify social adult playgrounds staying open during a pandemic is quite something

Reddit Ireland has over 300,000 subscribers. And they're all "self-serving, left-leaning, latte-sipping urbanites"? Every single one?

This popped up too https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/kif9oq/friend_sent_me_this_today_dont_know_whether_to/

Some lads in Ireland were so desperate for a pint that they set up their own pub. In a fire truck

Any other year this would be fcuking hilarious. But now?

Fair play to them. Looks harmless enough.. whilst also a nice Christmas pressie for the anti booze outragers.

Hardly the size of cloakroom schoolkids run though screaming their heads off 5 days a week? ( twice a day outside every class from junior infants to 6th year)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Fair play to them. Looks harmless enough.. whilst also a nice Christmas pressie for the anti booze outragers.

Hardly the size of cloakroom schoolkids run though screaming their heads off 5 days a week? ( twice a day outside every class from junior infants to 6th year)

Yeah I thought the drinkers in here might appreciate a fire truck turned into a pub to get around rules put in place to stop the spread of a once in a century virus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Tazz T wrote: »
    You realise this is a coronavirus thread. This has zero relevance. I'm sure there's a thread on drink issues in Ireland somewhere else.

A post quoting facts about Ireland's drinking habits has no relevance in a thread with "Pub" in it's title?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,433 ✭✭✭bladespin

A post quoting facts about Ireland's drinking habits has no relevance in a thread with "Pub" in it's title?

Newsflash: Drink can be consumed in other places to.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Yeah I thought the drinkers in here might appreciate a fire truck turned into a pub to get around rules put in place to stop the spread of a once in a century virus

Yeah because 7 men in a Big Red Fire Engine are hardly not going to cause a covidiotoutburstthesizeofalargeunpronounceablenameinwales?

Hold tight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,357 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

if you don't feel safe in the pub, don't go !
    I left one last week for this reason, but i felt alot more vunerable trying to get xmas shopping done in stores.
    the whole management of this pandemic has been the biggest f up in Irish history, since the day we let the Brits back in Croke park.
    Shamefull stuff

Every country accross the world is struggling with the his pandemic. If it gets out of control it has bigger effects on jobs than at present. Little old Ireland with the poorest health service in the developed world has managed this pandemic not perfectly but a hell of a lot better than many Countries. Our it seems will be one of the few economy in Europe that has growth this year. We have a low mortality rate compared to many. It will cost us less and our economy will recover faster it is predicted than many

Shameful indeed

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭aziz

bladespin wrote: »
    Newsflash: Drink can be consumed in other places to.

Quick,close down all these other places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,471 ✭✭✭MOH

From a thread on the first page of Reddit Ireland today called We need to talk about the drink...

I said it was pointless trying to debate with the majority of drinkers in this thread

But the points (and facts) raised in the Reddit Ireland post were too strong not to share

This is a thread about Covid-19 and pub closures due to restrictions. There appears to be nothing in that post that's in any way relevant to Coronavirus, unless I missed it?

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    And of course Gastropubs and Restaurants are a major customer for the Food production sector, purchasing millions of €uro in food and drink each week... now with that demand stopped it will lead to job losses and closures in food/meat producers....something most don't think about when they go on a rant about the Pint drinker...

Yes they are but people still need to eat so the food is redirected through the retail sector. There is a huge increase in spending on more expensive food products. I heard that Organic free range bronze turkeys virtually few out the doors of Tesco at 34 euro/ Kg that kg now not per turkey even thought they were in bags

Irish whiskey is selling very well as are other sectors of the drinks industry. Ya I like a pin but if it's the choice between granny living 3-4 years more, kids get to go to school or a pint in the local that I miss. The pint in the local gets it in the neck pardon the pun

Slava Ukrainii

Not unless it's related to pub closures do to coronavirus restrictions, no.

The word "Opening" is in the thread title too. I've a nice post about the ribbon cutting at the opening of a new leisure centre, if you'd like to see it?

edit:
    Actually, sorry, that was mean of me to tease.
    I figured I should just share the link

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

Can we stay on topic please. If you want to start a thread about Ireland having or not having a drink problem there are other forums for this.

In the same fashion that cervical cancer issues are not related to Covid-19, neither are the last few posts. Both interesting topics in their own right I have no doubt, but they don't have a place in this particular forum.

Thanks.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Scoondal wrote: »
    Normal pubs with people squashing up around the bar will not be seen for a couple of years. In 2021, they should get to "table service" bars like in most civilised countries.

Sitting on a stool at the bar and drinking a pint is the pinnacle of drinking and the height of civility.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Amirani wrote: »
    Sitting on a stool at the bar and drinking a pint is the pinnacle of drinking and the height of civility.

Agreed. I miss it so much :( We didn't even get the little period since start of December here, neither of the locals serve food and the hotel couldn't get the staff for the Christmas period so stayed shut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,411 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

if it's the choice between granny living 3-4 years more, kids get to go to school or a pint in the local that I miss. The pint in the local gets it in the neck pardon the pun

Wow, amazing logic, wish it was that simple.. if that was the case i'm sure the authorities would have closed the pubs 8 months ago... :rolleyes:

I'm sure if it was the case of No Beer = Granny living then we'd all be teetotalers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

Wow, amazing logic, wish it was that simple.. if that was the case i'm sure the authorities would have closed the pubs 8 months ago... :rolleyes:

I'm sure if it was the case of No Beer = Granny living then we'd all be teetotalers..

Given some of the posts in this thread (never mind the clusterfcuk that is the Restrictions thread) I'm pretty sure we wouldn't be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

From a thread on the first page of Reddit Ireland today called We need to talk about the drink...

I said it was pointless trying to debate with the majority of drinkers in this thread

But the points (and facts) raised in the Reddit Ireland post were too strong not to share

Per year?

Well believe it or not that is it more or less in a nutshell. The government has to make choices NPHET wanted a full shutdown I think from earlier in the week.The authorities have closed wet pubs they allowed them to open in late September band shut them in a flash again.

How do you propose that we reduce the incidence rate n:rolleyes: All you want

Slava Ukrainii

Well believe it or not that is it more or less in a nutshell. The government has to make choices NPHET wanted a full shutdown I think from earlier in the week.The authorities have closed wet pubs they allowed them to open in late September band shut them in a flash again.

How do you propose that we reduce the incidence rate n:rolleyes: All you want

Well maybe people who are going to be seeing granny should think twice before they go to the pub or restaurant. Or anywhere else they might be exposed, like spending the whole day shopping with mates. That's it in a nutshell. It's not complicated. Don't put yourself at risk of contracting Covid if there's a chance you will pass it on to vulnerable people.

The people who aren't capable of grasping are exactly the ones who'll go to house parties anyway when everything is shutdown which isn't going to help granny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,457 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Tell ya what I felt it tonight walking home from work and seeing all the empty pubs. This night the city/towns should be hopping with many a drink been consumed. ****ing virus

Out of interest what countries still have pubs opened ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

So here we are again, last day of the pubs being open where you can relax with a couple of drinks for a while. I booked a table for 115 today so guess I`m lucky. Going to turn up early and see is a table is free or I can wait somewhere else. The pub 1ve booked says they are shut at 3 sharp so it looks looks we will be all out on our ears by 330.

Probably back home staring at the walls, opening a slab of beer again by 4 or 5. Might as well savour the final couple of hours, the next week or 2 is going to be so depressing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Drifter50 wrote: »
    So here we are again, last day of the pubs being open where you can relax with a couple of drinks for a while. I booked a table for 115 today so guess I`m lucky. Going to turn up early and see is a table is free or I can wait somewhere else. The pub 1ve booked says they are shut at 3 sharp so it looks looks we will be all out on our ears by 330.

Probably back home staring at the walls, opening a slab of beer again by 4 or 5. Might as well savour the final couple of hours, the next week or 2 is going to be so depressing.

My local isn’t even bothering opening today.

Drifter50 wrote: »

Absolute disaster isnt it. Was in a local Tuesday night. Got there at 5.30, had dinner. Didnt leave the place till 11.15. The pints were lovely. Felt it tho yesterday morning :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Absolute disaster isnt it. Was in a local Tuesday night. Got there at 5.30, had dinner. Didnt leave the place till 11.15. The pints were lovely. Felt it tho yesterday morning :D

And more of the same yesterday I suppose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

Where's yer man that waa on here going on about " Delicious creamy pints" ?

And more of the same yesterday I suppose?

Ahh no. Going to take it easy until Stephens day :D

if you don't feel safe in the pub, don't go !
    I left one last week for this reason, but i felt alot more vunerable trying to get xmas shopping done in stores.

If you now tested positive for covid, would you blame it on your visits to the pub, or to the shops? I bet you'd blame it on the shops.

Telling non pub goers to avoid pubs won't make non-pub goers any safer, if the people they come into contact with in the stores were in the pub the night before. Like yourself.

Transmission can occur anywhere, its minimising contacts to stop transmission that has always been the goal, not shutting down pubs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Ahh no. Going to take it easy until Stephens day :D

Would this be at 1 or 2 nod and wink watering holes by any chance?

No just a few drinks with a few mates at one of there home built bars :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

No just a few drinks with a few mates at one of there home built bars :D

The fact that you think anyone believes your shtick is kind of cute. You’re at home on your own on boards.ie ffs :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭accensi0n

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Out of interest what countries still have pubs opened ?

Afghanistan
    Albania
    Algeria
    Andorra
    Angola
    Antigua & Deps
    Argentina
    Armenia
    Australia
    Austria
    Azerbaijan
    Bahamas