Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

I dont care if you believe me or not. I am going to enjoy my Christmas and not be living in fear of Covid :D

I believe ya. Had a few myself this evening in the local with a few of the lads. Same crack for the racing on saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

PommieBast wrote: »
    The way the Irish government strang publicans and pubgoers along (elaborated enough in this thread already) just made people think it was dishonest politicians as usual, so such paranoia is understandable.

They couldn't reopen normal pubs because the level of adherance to regulations is not great in many, many gastro pubs
    Or by customers in those pubs

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Drifter50 wrote: »
    Ah here, I don`t think you are being altogether fair here. Anyhow as you are a moderator I assume you have some control on the threads so if you think it reasonable to close a thread down so be it but that tastes of controlling the media and fair discussion at the very least. This is a thread to discuss the state of pubs reopening and the issues relevant to that.

It's one of the shortcomings of the Boards software, a moderator tag shows in every forum, I'm not a moderator of this section, only aviation, so I have no more influence over what happens here than any other user, and I'm not speaking as a moderator, just a Boards user who has been watching this thread for some time, resisting the temptation to comment on many occasions, and coming to the conclusion that some of the posters here have a serious problem with either authority, or alcohol, or both.

Also its not about anyones excessive dependance or otherwise on alcohol, a pub is not necessarily a place to go to drink to excess although I accept some people do that. For most people and I say most, its a place to go to meet friends and mates, to have a couple of drinks, watch the footie, escape the mayhem at home or at work and relax chill for an hour or 2

I wish it was that simple, there's a pub not far from here that I visit when I can, with a group of friends who have similar interests, and I miss those trips out, as the evenings we spend there are good evenings. Not bothered about things like the Footie, too often, that's a very noisy background distraction that means we end up having to shout at each other rather than chat at normal volume levels, but yes, there are good valid reasons for having a place like that, IF times were normal, and that is the sad factor, things are very much not normal, and while we don't like having to admit it, there are some venues where Covid can spread very easily, and a high percentage of pubs come very close to the top of that list, and the lack of personal responsibility over things like masks and hand washing only serve to make the problem worse.
    Anyhow, they are now closed more is the pity and I for 1 look forward to the day all pubs get to reopen properly. I don`t get the government trend that they want the "Irish pub model" to serve food, have customers who stop by to have a couple of bottles of beer. This is more the trend in Europe and we are Irish and will stay Irish. I don`t want to sit in a pub and have food all the time. I simply want to have a drink in a pub, thats all

No argument as such there, mandatory food is a bad idea, it's being used at the moment as a (sub optimal) way to try to limit social contact, and part of that reasoning is the simple fact that food tends to mitigate the onset of poor behaviour when drink is in the mix.

There's a balance somewhere in the middle between the "gastro" pubs and the "wet" pubs that serve nothing other than drink, and over time, I'd like to hope that the pendulum will move to encourage the non food places to at least serve more than just packets of crisps and if you're lucky, salted peanuts.

As for when they will re open, that's going to depend on how good a job the HSE do on getting the vaccine out to the people that need it, and I'm not altogether happy about their track record in these areas, and the other side of the coin will be how virulent the new strains are in comparison to the existing strains, there is a lot of concern verging on panic in a number of places both here and abroad that are supposedly in the know, and that's not encouraging. My own instinct is that we will be lucky to see much open before Easter, maybe later, depending on how bad the spike from Christmas and the new strain is.

In the meantime, here's hoping that as many people as possible get to have as good a Christmas as possible, given the circumstances that are causing such significant upset.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭cityboyjim

KISS .15 per Bar .Cases in the area close until its clear. .Regionalise it for FCUK sake.Think of the older people for once .Keep it simple stupid is what Kiss means by the way .Happy Christmas to the keyboard warriers .God knows what ye will do after this is over .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,005 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Never went out much on Stephens Day but for many its a massive tradition and it will be tough enough for them but suppose Paddys Day was the same and we all know what happened there

So hard to see us being 'left have fun' and the pubs been open by/for Paddys Day 2021. We were very bad boys and girls when we were allowed have our pints these last few weeks and our leaders (mostly Dr Tony) will remember that in our annual review

Hope everyone stays safe and enjoys this unique christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Right now I would be in my local rural pub having my Christmass eve cuppa of spirit tea. Shame that it is not even open outdoors these last months except for two weeks. You know up there in the Dail...its not always about alcohlic drink but community and looking out for each other when times are bad down here in rural Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

PTH2009 wrote: »

Out of interest what countries still have pubs opened ?

Australia and New Zealand.

Mind you they shut their borders rather than the approach we took- leaving them open to infested areas then lying and saying it only caused 2 percent of cases. It was at that stage I stopped believing anything they said .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

PommieBast wrote: »
    The way the Irish government strang publicans and pubgoers along (elaborated enough in this thread already) just made people think it was dishonest politicians as usual, so such paranoia is understandable.

And it’s not just that they shut them down. The last 2 times they’ve shut them up at times when they would have had thousands of euros of stock bought, last time they closed them before a weekend, this time on Xmas Eve, when they’d need to have stock in for Stephens Day etc.

They couldn't reopen normal pubs because the level of adherance to regulations is not great in many, many gastro pubs
    Or by customers in those pubs

Strange that the Gardai stated that the vast majority of pubs were compliant, and it was just a handful breaking the rules. Where are you getting your info from??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

Does the virus know if a business is essential or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,340 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Strange that the Gardai stated that the vast majority of pubs were compliant, and it was just a handful breaking the rules. Where are you getting your info from??

It only takes a handful of packed pubs to add a few hundred cases to the tally as we saw with the Wexford mess. The type of person who’s happy to wedge themselves into a packed pub is not the type of person who is going to self isolate for the benefit of others so it leads to community spread. Most pubs may have been compliant but many have also been sanctioned. If a pub owner orders in thousands of euro worth of stock when they know full well they could be told to close with a days notice that’s their own fault. Anyone with half a brain knew a lockdown was coming.

I seem to remember reading many posts from yourself boasting about ignoring restrictions and it’s people like that that are causing the pubs to close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,203 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

MadYaker wrote: »

I seem to remember reading many posts from yourself boasting about ignoring restrictions and it’s people like that that are causing the pubs to close.

You can expect the ones who boasted about ignoring the restrictions to take absolutely no responsibility for the increasing numbers.

They will whinge about restrictions and then brag about breaking them and they can be easily ignored when it comes to decision making - and it’s clear that government doesn’t care about what these self-interested folks say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

A pub owner i know tells me between himself and his wife getting the 350 each plus grants hes got hes better off than when the pub was open.
    It is a medium size bar in a rural town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Choosehowevr.

As for when they will re open, that's going to depend on how good a job the HSE do on getting the vaccine out to the people that need it, and I'm not altogether happy about their track record in these areas, and the other side of the coin will be how virulent the new strains are in comparison to the existing strains, there is a lot of concern verging on panic in a number of places both here and abroad that are supposedly in the know, and that's not encouraging. My own instinct is that we will be lucky to see much open before Easter, maybe later, depending on how bad the spike from Christmas and the new strain is.

In the meantime, here's hoping that as many people as possible get to have as good a Christmas as possible, given the circumstances that are causing such significant upset.

Where is this concern from people in the know?

It only takes a handful of packed pubs to add a few hundred cases to the tally as we saw with the Wexford mess. The type of person who’s happy to wedge themselves into a packed pub is not the type of person who is going to self isolate for the benefit of others so it leads to community spread. Most pubs may have been compliant but many have also been sanctioned. If a pub owner orders in thousands of euro worth of stock when they know full well they could be told to close with a days notice that’s their own fault. Anyone with half a brain knew a lockdown was coming.

I was asking a direct question to the other poster.

But on your other point, how could a pub possibly run with no stock? Do you think Diageo will do daily deliveries? Food suppliers will do daily deliveries, including Christmas Eve/Day?? Stock would have to have been ordered in advance. A child could understand that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,340 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I was asking a direct question to the other poster.

But on your other point, how could a pub possibly run with no stock? Do you think Diageo will do daily deliveries? Food suppliers will do daily deliveries, including Christmas Eve/Day?? Stock would have to have been ordered in advance. A child could understand that.

Where did I say they shouldn't order any stock? I didn't. I said they shouldn't order loads because of the likelyhood of them being shut down at a days notice which has now happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Oops!

Where did I say they shouldn't order any stock? I didn't. I said they shouldn't order loads because of the likelyhood of them being shut down at a days notice which has now happened.

So going by your logic they should just do a daily shop in the morning ya?:rolleyes:

You don't have a clue what your talking about...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,416 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

"Heya diageo, its the long hall here, can I just have 1 keg of guinness, yeah 1, I'll order another one tomorrow if we're still open......... Hello? Hello?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

hynesie08 wrote: »
    "Heya diageo, its the long hall here, can I just have 1 keg of guinness, yeah 1, I'll order another one tomorrow if we're still open......... Hello? Hello?"

Good one :D Just pictured that phonecall.

Hit the switch to keep the lights on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,988 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

I've been very fond of the drink since about the age of 16. Now late 30s and probably drank 3 out of 4 weekends every month for those 20 + years. A good sup too. Once a week, usually a Saturday 5pm to closing time tying in with a rugby or gaa match. So, 8 or 9 hours once a week. Its one part of my life, along with 50 hours of work and commuting, 60 hours of sleep, 4 or 5 hours of exercise and 20 or so relaxing at home with family. No drinking problem or anything but the hangovers can sometimes have a bad effect on me next day. Haven't had one in best part of a year now.

But this year, all my friends moaning from one end of the week to the next about pubs being closed whereas I am completely indifferent. They started drinking at home a good few times a week now whereas they would have just had one night out like myself. I miss sport more than the Guinness to be honest.

My mother asks me every week if I miss the pub, which I don't. Surprising myself too to be honest that I don't. I haven't even gone (well I did, just twice) when they were open with restrictions because I don't have any interest in signing into a pub, ordering at table, watching a clock countdown from 105 mins.

Think the habit is broken now, anyone else going against the grain and found some positives from the pubs closed, on a personal basis.

Just want to say I do feel for pub owners and employees that are struggling, along with any sectors hard hit. I'm in the fortunate position my job was not affected.

You’ve no idea what your talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭vafankillar

looking forward to having a few take pints in the new years, been working my ass off for december including tomorrow morning at 9, but have a bit of time off in january, with retail open and more toilets around should be more enjoyable.

Only lagers available in one of the places that are open for takeaway is Harp

My god it would tear the stomach out of ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭vafankillar

Only lagers available in one of the places that are open for takeaway is Harp

My god it would tear the stomach out of ya

never been that limited myself. i'm not too fair from dublin city, so handy enough. will be a good few places open there for take away pints come january I reckon especially since government bottled banning them last time. it's far from ideal but I dont mind the cold myself, in fact being a smoker sure I often up outside anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Dickie10

Buddy Bubs wrote: »
    I've been very fond of the drink since about the age of 16. Now late 30s and probably drank 3 out of 4 weekends every month for those 20 + years. A good sup too. Once a week, usually a Saturday 5pm to closing time tying in with a rugby or gaa match. So, 8 or 9 hours once a week. Its one part of my life, along with 50 hours of work and commuting, 60 hours of sleep, 4 or 5 hours of exercise and 20 or so relaxing at home with family. No drinking problem or anything but the hangovers can sometimes have a bad effect on me next day. Haven't had one in best part of a year now.

But this year, all my friends moaning from one end of the week to the next about pubs being closed whereas I am completely indifferent. They started drinking at home a good few times a week now whereas they would have just had one night out like myself. I miss sport more than the Guinness to be honest.

My mother asks me every week if I miss the pub, which I don't. Surprising myself too to be honest that I don't. I haven't even gone (well I did, just twice) when they were open with restrictions because I don't have any interest in signing into a pub, ordering at table, watching a clock countdown from 105 mins.

Think the habit is broken now, anyone else going against the grain and found some positives from the pubs closed, on a personal basis.

Just want to say I do feel for pub owners and employees that are struggling, along with any sectors hard hit. I'm in the fortunate position my job was not affected.

Im exactly the same I dont touch a drop of alcohol at home so only drink in a pub/nightclub environment, I wouldnt really be that comfortable drinking at a barbecue or at someones house at a dinner party or anything like that either. I would probably have 7up or club orange quicker than a drink in a house like that. just dont see the point of it. Would anyone else be like that?

So havent drank since around 28th Septemeber and before that I went from March 7th to August 1st without a drop of drink. I was a saturday and once a month or 6 weeks a sunday night man every week for almost 19 years, would be maybe 2-3 weekends a year I would miss the saturday night pints , prob 9pm-2am drinking. I think that habit is broke now and prob leave it to every second weekend when things fo back to normal. By that rational i will have almost cut by drink consumption in half from normal times. I think every second weekend is easy to get in on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,214 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Buddy Bubs wrote: »

Just the twice!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭E mac

This St.Stephens night will be the first I'll be sitting at home for since 1996..I was 15 then.

I'd say some people are in a state of shock today sitting at home today

I’d say a lot of them are out fighting over tellys and consoles down the shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭votecounts

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/mass-vaccination-and-tentative-return-to-normal-by-next-may-or-june-taoiseach-hopes-39900475.html

You can forget proper pubs opening on St Paddys day or even the june Bank holiday judging by this article.