Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

Enquiring wrote: »
    Dublin received over 12.5 times the development funding Cork received. You didnt manage to find a reason to justify that as yet? Can you point out any other county getting this level of imbalanced funding?

I dont deny that, however Cork wasted millions on a vanity project for their leader which could have been better spent.

As I reminded other posters, you post stuff and then when challenged duck and dive. Name the clubs please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭ooter

RoyalCelt wrote: »
    Probably no more then the cuala manager.

Could that money not have gone to better use elsewhere, like youth development?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Enquiring

kilns wrote: »
    So splitting Dublin helps Longford, Leitrim and Louth now how? Are they suddenly contenders for a provincial or All Ireland or do your interest lie in your own county and giving them a better chance to win an All Ireland to hell with the smaller weaker ones

Your view of the world seems very simplistic

No, they need to be funded and given access to coaches needed to improve standards. Something that should have happened at the same time Dublin were given their special treatment. The money pumped into Dublin has artificially placed them as the top county in mens and women's football, killing the Leinster championship in both. Nearly 100 titles have been won off the back of the increased coaches. I know you want it to happen but we can't just ignore that.

Has anybody explained how grossly over funding dublin and under funding everybody else for 2 decades gets anybody bar dublin closer to winning anything?

Dublin senior hurlers are no closer to winning an all Ireland and the funding hasn't stopped other counties in the country from winning Liam.

Don't worry he'll just revert to the fact that some counties are now getting a tiny taste of what dublin enjoyed so we're all going to be magically competing any day now.

The rot has set in. Counties and their best players are disillusioned. They will fall further behind Dublin and won't catch up.

Over a longer period such as 25, 50 and 100 years Dublin's population increase will absolutely dwarf everybody so the gap long term isn't going to narrow. People won't look back fondly on this period for the gaa. At least the wider public are now wise to the issues with funding and know why there's such a big gap between Dublin and the rest. Maybe dublin will up their PR budget to counter this.

So do you deny that alot of counties, like Meath receive more development funding that Dublin now? Can you tell us how this being spent, what is the Meath development plan, what structures have they now in place. Geniune question as I dont know.

By the way, I believe the development should be centralised and run by experts for the whole country not by individual county boards

tritium wrote: »
    Can you give the detail for you funding distribution plan yet? Detail like not just a few wishy washy buzz words

(To be clear you haven’t done this already)

I have done already. You can't even face the facts that Dublin were over funded for 2 decades, you have no interest in fair play.

No, they need to be funded and given access to coaches needed to improve standards. Something that should have happened at the same time Dublin were given their special treatment. The money pumped into Dublin has artificially placed them as the top county in mens and women's football, killing the Leinster championship in both. Nearly 100 titles have been won off the back of the increased coaches. I know you want it to happen but we can't just ignore that.

So give Leitrim 10 million a year and it will solve the problem according to you:rolleyes:

In your head maybe

We’re still waiting for that funding plan if yours that will show what you believe is fair play

At the moment kids in dublin appear to get access to coaches and development funding at slightly below what they should on a per capita basis. Do you think kids in the capital are less deserving of GAA funding than elsewhere?

Dublin have received 25 million plus this century. The ext highest county, Cork, received less than 2 million. That over funding, not under funding.

Not engaging with you until you provide proof on your statements

Name the clubs.........

I dont deny that, however Cork wasted millions on a vanity project for their leader which could have been better spent.

As I reminded other posters, you post stuff and then when challenged duck and dive. Name the clubs please

Dublin footballers had their home stadium paid for. 250 million plus.

I'm waiting for your pal to get back to me before answering that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

So basically you are saying thats life, Meath will never have the population or financial resources, why dont you find something that cheers you up so.

Heres a question for you, what would make you happy, geniunely

Hurling. It makes me so happy and going to lots of matches every year gives me that buzz I used to get from football before it was murdered by the GAA plan to "save" dublin.

But I really really want the GAA to heavily invest in non hurling counties. Here's a list with great potential.

Antrim
    Kerry
    Offally
    Mayo
    Meath
    Kildare
    Westmeath
    Louth
    Wicklow
    Carlow

Counties who are good at hurling but haven't won many all irelands I believe should get extra help. Namely clare, wexford, Waterford and dublin but dublin already get the special treatment for hurling as we know. Reason being you don't want the likes of Waterford, wexford and clare falling away from being competitive the way Offaly have or wexford once did.

The future of Leinster football and the AI series is boredom. Why not take this opportunity to help hurling take off?

Dublin footballers had their home stadium paid for. 250 million plus.

I'm waiting for your pal to get back to me before answering that.

name the clubs...

So give Leitrim 10 million a year and it will solve the problem according to you:rolleyes:

When you start making up stuff it's clear you lost the argument. How long until you run off again?

Not engaging with you until you provide proof on your statements

Name the clubs.........

You dropped out when you were unable to answer anything earlier in the thread. Get onto your buddy to answer the questions posed to him and them I'll answer that.

When you start making up stuff it's clear you lost the argument. How long until you run off again?

just repeated back what you stated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

This tired aul ****e again

Funny at how ye all care about poor wee ulster all of a sudden. When you thought there was mileage in it it was all poor Leinster, how that that’s run out of gas it’s poor ulster and won’t someone think of the children. Pathetic really. Ulster at the start of the funding was actually consistently performing. From the figures I posed earlier you can see that 3 AI winning counties were in ulstersince the 90s which had become the only real bulwark to absolute Kerry domination- without tyrones influence Kerry would have had a 6 in a row at least and possibly an 8 in a row

Since you care so much about poor wee ulster you’ll love this though

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.sportsjoe.ie/amp/gaa/gaelfast-156749

The GAA looking to applying the lessons from the dublin plan to another large population centre. I can’t wait to have some of you on here in a few years whinging about how we need to split Antrim

You mean the €1m five year plan which is actually less than what Dublin got in 2019 alone and a refusal to give any more funding to help develop Casement!

It’s another issue Dublin don’t have to deal with, for example Cork and Longford got more funding but the majority of that’s for works on their stadia.

It’s Lip service really but of course the optics looks good when it’s put down about learning lessons about the Dublin plan apart from the actual Dublin plan funding level being part of it so I don’t think we will be looking at splitting Antrim any time soon in reality

You dropped out when you were unable to answer anything earlier in the thread. Get onto your buddy to answer the questions posed to him and them I'll answer that.

answer the question, name the clubs.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Are lads here just trolling enquiring? The amount of effort he goes to providing stats and figures and you ignore him and ask for more figures over and over.

YOUR heads are buried in the sand. Keep coming back with your great replies like "so we give Leitrim 10M and they'll beat the dubs".

See you all next year. I'm looking forward to 2 things. Massive hammerings in Leinster football. And the far superior leinster hurling championship. Hurling ABU. RIP FOOTBALL.

Hurling. It makes me so happy and going to lots of matches every year gives me that buzz I used to get from football before it was murdered by the GAA plan to "save" dublin.

But I really really want the GAA to heavily invest in non hurling counties. Here's a list with great potential.

Antrim
    Kerry
    Offally
    Mayo
    Meath
    Kildare
    Westmeath
    Louth
    Wicklow
    Carlow

Counties who are good at hurling but haven't won many all irelands I believe should get extra help. Namely clare, wexford, Waterford and dublin but dublin already get the special treatment for hurling as we know. Reason being you don't want the likes of Waterford, wexford and clare falling away from being competitive the way Offaly have or wexford once did.

The future of Leinster football and the AI series is boredom. Why not take this opportunity to help hurling take off?

It was pointed out earlier that other counties went to HQ to ask for assistance and the door was slammed in their face. Hurling counties were given pittance to try to appease them. 1 million to split between Offaly, Laois, Antrim, Carlow, Westmeath, Kerry. An insulting amount especially looking at what they were giving Dublin at the same time.

just repeated back what you stated

Why lie?

Are lads here just trolling enquiring? The amount of effort he goes to providing stats and figures and you ignore him and ask for more figures over and over.

YOUR heads are buried in the sand. Keep coming back with your great replies like "so we give Leitrim 10M and they'll beat the dubs".

See you all next year. I'm looking forward to 2 things. Massive hammerings in Leinster football. And the far superior leinster hurling championship. Hurling ABU. RIP FOOTBALL.

ha ha poor enquiring. Massive efforts he goes to making claims and then wont provide evidence, I like it

And the far superior leinster hurling championship. Hurling ABU. RIP FOOTBALL.

That inconveniently won't have Dublin anywhere near the final, because they're not wristy enough or only picked up a Hurley at 4 or something like that.

Why lie?

answer the question, name the clubs from your claim...............

Are you ok, I'm genuinely worried about you. I looked at your posts and you've been ranting since before the game for nearly a week now. A lot of repetition and rage. I think you need a break from the internet, your mental health depends on it. Take a break and forget about Dublin for a few days over the Xmas, they'll still be there after the festivities so you can resume your campaign. Seriously man take a look at how much you've posted on this over the last week, it's borderline mental hospital stuff. We get it you don't like the Dubs and you think they get too much money and you want things to go back the way they were when the dubs were crap and the butt of the rest of the countries jokes. For years upon years I was reminded buy country folk that Dublin were **** and that its embarrassing for them that they haven't won an AI with the resources they have and the population advantage, I lived in NYC and watched all their games throughout the late 90s and noughts and took the ridicule, so I for one am absolutely loving this and hope they surpass Kerry's AI tally one day. Take a break man.

This issue wont go away, no matter how much you wish it. The momentum for the split is growing and some us are asking our county boards to raise this. It has to be sorted. I've been longer than a week at this by the way. Seeing our games suffer is something some of us take seriously.

ha ha poor enquiring. Massive efforts he goes to making claims and then wont provide evidence, I like it

Are you disputing the Dublin county board figures? Are they fiddling the books?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

No because we're not being over funded by 20 times what dublin get an for a 15 year period.

We will also not get to play in Navan for most matches.

We also don't have the playing numbers of dublin. The sponsorship potential or the resources afforded by being from the capital such as multiple universities.

Glad you think we will though but just remember dublin fans get just as much fun from leinster as fans from other counties the only difference is you lot are still paying into watch that crap. Ultimately we are all losers here but keep digging those heals in because you're not getting the credit you feel your county deserves.

Do you think Meath should get the exact same development money as dublin? If yes, why given it would mean a vastly disparity In Meaths favour in terms of funding available per person. If no, how should it be allocated- per capita Meath get more than dublin at present and it’s gone up by 30%. How much more do you actually want?

Frankly I’ve shag all sympathy at this point on the playing numbers or the sponsorship. On the playing numbers I’m blue in the face pointing out you need to leverage the “blow in” and their kids and all I get (1 poster in particular) is “sure that would never work, you just don’t understand” . The same mindset that laughed at Dublin when they set out their plans. Too much work to make it happen I guess.

On the sponsorship we have a mindset here like the lady in Kildare, looking for her counties cut - no one willing to look at the journey dublin took, from getting a few bob from Arnotts to having major international sponsors. No one is bothered to ask how their county could do better. Meath with a rich GAA tradition, Kildare with a slew of multinationals who have huge advertising budgets,

You sit right next door to the capital. DCU is on your ****ing doorstep basically. Whatever about the complaints of Mayo folk about long journeys , you can probably get to abbotstown from Navan quicker than I can when you factor traffic. It’s a 30 minute journey on google maps at the moment. Kildare have Maynooth sitting there, from Naas they have a 29 minute journey to abbotstown at the moment.

There’s no point arguing with you because it’s all just pathetic excuses on your side for your county not punching at it’s weight. Not just wrt dublin, with respect to any decent top 5 football team. And it’s easier to blame everyone else than ask your county board to get their **** together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

This issue wont go away, no matter how much you wish it. The momentum for the split is growing and some us are asking our county boards to raise this. It has to be sorted. I've been longer than a week at this by the way. Seeing our games suffer is something some of us take seriously.

Why not let cork and Kerry amalgamate? Or Galway and mayo? or 3 counties join up to challenge. Silly I know but no more outrages than asking Dublin to split. It'll never happen in a million years no matter how much you pontificate on an Internet forum or imagine some kind of "momentum".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

Split won’t happen for a very simple reason. Very few counties will see any point. The only counties that will see any benefit would be a small tier just below dublin. The rest are either Dublin or counties who got used to being hockied by the bigger counties decades ago- doesn’t really matter to them whether it’s dublin, Mayo or Kerry giving them a trimming. Because the idea of an historical level playing field is frankly a myth.

Are you disputing the Dublin county board figures? Are they fiddling the books?

Answer the question, name the clubs or did you just make it up.........

I see Monaghan have made two big appointments to their back room team, Donie Buckley and the Head of Athletic Performance of Ulster rugby has now joined Monaghan as head of Athletic performance.

I am from Monaghan myself and always want to them do well but I dont want to hear complaints about Dublin having Brian Cullen in place when counties like Monaghan can make big appointments like this too

Mongahan is a different animal in comparison to Dublin in that football is the only show in town in 95% of the county with regards to sport. So Games development would need to be a different strategy there as it is in Dublin, something like upskilling coaches/parents already in clubs etc. But as I have always said, development should be centralised and run by experts