Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭bocaman

Joe Brolly's article was nothing more than a hatchet job. Terrible stuff. Brolly seems to have a chip on his shoulder as regards Mayo. he really has it in for Aiden O'Shea who actually played very well on Saturday for Mayo.

Imagine if a player lifted their top and Horan in charge with RIP to somebody. He would go mental and rightly so. Those days are long gone and leave them in the past.

Especially if you can’t spell one of the two words you wrote. That episode summed up Conor Mortimer, too interested in making headlines and wasted the bit of talent he had and looked a right clown as usual, he probably spent a week planning that instead of focusing on the important things. He was always known as toxic in the dressing room, every managers worst nightmare.

His Twitter account is a joke trying to be mates with anyone half famous, I used to get retweets but had to block him. I hear he is a self appointed doctor at the moment giving his 2c to everything and anything Covid related.

Trevor on the other hand couldn’t be a more different footballer and character. 110% committed to mayo and liked to do his talking on the pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,051 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Km79 is the soundest out of the lot of them!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

That's not entirely the case in my opinion. I think he probably does not like this attention that this brings, as it offers nothing to the team. Imagine if a player lifted their top and Horan in charge with RIP to somebody. He would go mental and rightly so. Those days are long gone and leave them in the past.

I mean, that's the point I was making. Conor Mortimer did like to court attention and enjoyed the glare of a camera. Horan wasn't interested in any of that and it played a role in them falling out. When Horan took over, I believe part of his plan was to make the team more "serious", for want of a better word. Serious in their approach to the games, serious in their public image, etc. Mortimer didn't fit with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭flasher0030

km79 wrote: »
    I see the AoS bashing has started again. He is not and never will be a regular scorer . Especially when played midfield . Our kickouts were excellent yesterday. We also completely disrupted theirs . I suppose he had absolutely nothing to do with that .

Simple question
    Who would ye play instead of him ?
    Who would ye bring on instead of him ?

We will miss him when he is gone
    Like Liam McHale he will be appreciated more when he stops playing .
    Like Ciaran McDonald too.......he is everyone’s favorite now . I stood in many crowds when abuse was being hurled at him from mayo “supporters “ because of his “yellow hair and boots “ . He was nothing but a “fancy dan “.

We are a weird bunch at times .

If some supporters were listened to then Clarke , Keegan , Coen , O shea , Diarmuid and Cillian YES CILLIAN would not have started for us this year.
    We must have a serious B squad somewhere because our bench made no impact as usual .

I’m annoyed now :D

Only a few weeks back, some guy or gal on here wanted Cillian reduced to an impact sub - give him the last 20 mins to come on and do the business. You just couldn't make it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

After a day of mourning . I think this song reflects the mayo ethos , team , supporters and ever ending quest .

Mood is much better and the future is still bright for mayo .

https://youtu.be/LODkVkpaVQA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,424 ✭✭✭✭km79

Mayo_fan wrote: »
    Especially if you can’t spell one of the two words you wrote. That episode summed up Conor Mortimer, too interested in making headlines and wasted the bit of talent he had and looked a right clown as usual, he probably spent a week planning that instead of focusing on the important things. He was always known as toxic in the dressing room, every managers worst nightmare.

His Twitter account is a joke trying to be mates with anyone half famous, I used to get retweets but had to block him. I hear he is a self appointed doctor at the moment giving his 2c to everything and anything Covid related.

Trevor on the other hand couldn’t be a more different footballer and character. 110% committed to mayo and liked to do his talking on the pitch

Sounds like you know them very well.
    You forgot about their older brother Kenneth. The guy with back to back all stars.
    What are your views on his ability and character ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,927 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Mayo_fan wrote: »

This is his latest tweet, on delivery of vaccines. No **** Conor? :rolleyes:
    Conor.mortimer (Face with medical mask)Soccer ball
    @Conmort
    ·
    1h
    Get it to the most vulnerable and health care workers immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

PARlance wrote: »
    When you add that he's fond of keeping up to date with the latest fashion trends, he's on a hiding to nothing with some people.

Extremely nice lad, keeps the head down despite media/public always (always) wanting a piece of him, very giving of his time and no airs or graces about him.

We've been lucky to have a great crop of players over the last decade, on and off the pitch.

I can speak from my family's viewpoint that he is a really decent lad,extremely giving of time to those children in greatest need.

Met Conor at a quiz in Breaghwy,get it right Parlance?:D Top lad too.

The clan are well liked.

Not to solely focus on him the Mayo footballers are exemplary role models and have personas not in the slightest in keeping with Brolly's sorry excuse for an article.

PhoneMain wrote: »
    Sure it was the same with Ciaran Mc, some people absolutely loathed him........sure apparently he was sleeping with half the county at 1 point!!!

Haha, I remember this nonsense. Especially laughable given how utterly quiet and reserved he actually was off the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

km79 wrote: »

Twitter seems to have been built to attract eejits.

I am not allowed discuss …

PressRun wrote: »
    Haha, I remember this nonsense. Especially laughable given how utterly quiet and reserved he actually was off the pitch.

The only pipe he was laying around Mayo was under roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,051 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

PhoneMain wrote: »
    Sure it was the same with Ciaran Mc, some people absolutely loathed him........sure apparently he was sleeping with half the county at 1 point!!!

Was that the point against Dublin? I'd say the entire county would have let him sleep with them when that went over :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

The rumours around McD were woeful as was the hatred some reserved especially for him just because of the hair and the boots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭eastie17

The Brolly article is so sickening and cruel and unfair. It’s totally untrue and the people he’s attacking have no way of defending themselves. Problem is most casual observers outside of Mayo will believe there’s something to it.
    I guarantee you those of us from Mayo will have someone quote this at us soon.
    Last point in this, the people of Mayo invented the Boycott back in the 1800s, it’s time to apply it to that prick every time he is in the county and he’s there often enough. Don’t serve him in shops, don’t speak to him, don’t be inviting him to Club events when covid is over and for the love of Godckeep him off mid west.
    Time for Mayo people to get behind our players and show him their are consequences to what you say

The rumours around McD were woeful as was the hatred some reserved especially for him just because of the hair and the boots

It was the same For Mchale (but actually a bit more so sinister when you about ) and Conor Mortimer (but he didn’t do himself any favours at times ! ) .
    Most of it is jealousy at the end of the day .
    I’ve spent years defending Cillian and am all weekend defending Aidan again. Defending them from mayo “supporters” . The sooner some of them jump back off the bandwagon the better

We once played Crossmolina in a minor champ game. McD had a full arm cast on and obviously wasn't fit to play. Cross losing by 5pts to us at half time. He got a pocket knife from someone, cut the cast off, borrowed kit from another sub and came on for the final 10/15mins and beat us by 2pts. That is my overriding memory of the man.

eastie17 wrote: »
    The Brolly article is so sickening and cruel and unfair. It’s totally untrue and the people he’s attacking have no way of defending themselves. Problem is most casual observers outside of Mayo will believe there’s something to it.
    I guarantee you those of us from Mayo will have someone quote this at us soon.
    Last point in this, the people of Mayo invented the Boycott back in the 1800s, it’s time to apply it to that prick every time he is in the county and he’s there often enough. Don’t serve him in shops, don’t speak to him, don’t be inviting him to Club events when covid is over and for the love of Godckeep him off mid west.
    Time for Mayo people to get behind our players and show him their are consequences to what you say

It is completely untrue and what's more, Brolly has a personal stake in discrediting the players that he won't admit to and he doesn't react too well any time someone brings it up. The stuff he is saying is honestly scurrilous and he shouldn't be allowed away with it, but the players have no right of reply really and he knows that.

I honestly hope that whenever Aidan O'Shea retires from intercounty football, he writes a book or does some interview and tells some truths about Joe Brolly and a few others. He's probably too nice to do it, but he'd be well within his rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Achebe

All the usual stories about Aidan being repeated on the Dublin thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭TommyDe

km79 wrote:
    One of my best friends work in Coke alongside him . Similar story

He's the quality manager. In that role he has to make sure every aspect of manufacturing is in line with regulatory compliance.
    There can be no room for interpretation in that role - everything has to be done inside regulations otherwise he gets fired and coke gets fined/ product recalls etc.
    So if course what he says goes in the job. There is no comparison with the day job and mayo coaching here.

Achebe wrote: »

I try to avoid that cesspit. What are the top 5 they are banging on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

The thing is in 20 or 30 years time when people look back at Dublin winning 9 of 10 or 13 of 15 All-Irelands they own't remember the players or there skills they will remember how unfair it was that the GAA doped them to the gills and what had to be done to rectify it. If it ever gets rectified

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Had a quick look in to see. Many are being reasonable. Others are blindingly accepting what Brolly has to say as fact, rather than doing any of their own Critical analysis, but it's the usual embittered and poisonous ones that are at that craic. Imagine how joyless it must be for them that the best thing they can do to celebrate the achievements of their team is to look for sly digs to regurgitate about their opponents.

Same as it ever was.

The thing is in 20 or 30 years time when people look back at Dublin winning 9 of 10 or 13 of 15 All-Irelands they own't remember the players or there skills they will remember how unfair it was that the GAA doped them to the gills and what had to be done to rectify it. If it ever gets rectified
    When you consider they were spending 3 million a year in 2007(half from the clubs themselves) on over 70 professional coaches in the clubs in Dublin it kind of makes the competition not an actual competition anymore. I'll not be surprised in the least if they do a further 6 in a row. Several million in sponsorship alone in the past 10 years, 200 clubs in Dublin, Cuala club alone has 3400 members. Very hard for anyone to compete in that competition. Wouldn't begrudge any young lad like Mullen heading to Australia if he gets an AFL contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Achebe

Oh, the Mayo team would win more if they weren't a bunch of fame whores, and the Breaffy players are the ones picking the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Oh, the Mayo team would win more if they weren't a bunch of fame whores, and the Breaffy players are the ones picking the team.

This is a problem when you lose. Everything gets examined by fans, media, etc. Its part of the package now and social media gives a lot of these a platform to do this.

The players have to be well used to it. It should be water off a duck to them and they should never take any opinion that is given in any format seriously. How could they take Brolly serious when they can see the fabrication that he is doing. If I can see it then the players can see this.
    It should be all about what is discussed in the camp and that's what matters.

I can understand that it can be hard to listen to that **** time and again but when you lose this is what happens. I am getting it from some Galway bucks that I work with. In one ear out the next.

Don't waste your time with irrelevant clowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭Blackjack

This is a problem when you lose. Everything gets examined by fans, media, etc. Its part of the package now and social media gives a lot of these a platform to do this.

The players have to be well used to it. It should be water off a duck to them and they should never take any opinion that is given in any format seriously. How could they take Brolly serious when they can see the fabrication that he is doing. If I can see it then the players can see this.
    It should be all about what is discussed in the camp and that's what matters.

I can understand that it can be hard to listen to that **** time and again but when you lose this is what happens. I am getting it from some Galway bucks that I work with. In one ear out the next.

Don't waste your time with irrelevant clowns.

Well the players would be more than Familiar with Brolly's romantic connection with the 2015 backroom team.
    I think a lack of someones organisational ability and incompetence, creating the resultant annoyance of the players as a result of that has clouded Joe's judgement.
    I never listened to the Hector and Tommy podcast myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

That's why Henelly, Seamus and Conor OS are always the first players down on the team sheet.