Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users Posts: 8,422 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

That's why Henelly, Seamus and Conor OS are always the first players down on the team sheet.

Also why Michael Hall was culled from the panel last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,600 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Also why Michael Hall was culled from the panel last year.

Don't forget Liam Irwin in 2017.

Well he culled himself and no longer plays at all.

I thought he was playing Soccer these days?.

But yeah, he really was a huge talent.

Blackjack wrote: »
    I thought he was playing Soccer these days?.

But yeah, he really was a huge talent.

Commitment required for Mayo League soccer isn't even close to what would be required for Breaffy. At county level he's been brought in twice if not three times, also was brought into London while he was over there and not able to do what is required.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,177 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Achebe wrote: »
    All the usual stories about Aidan being repeated on the Dublin thread.

I can see why AIG sponsor them and the All Blacks.

They both have a cohort of fans that are a misery win or lose.
    And they get the hump if everyone else isn't a fan of them.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

jmayo wrote: »
    I can see why AIG sponsor them and the All Blacks.

They both have a cohort of fans that are a misery win or lose.
    And they get the hump if everyone else isn't a fan of them.

I've seen a lot of people compare the Dubs to the All Blacks, which I wouldn't take as a compliment.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,892 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

My sister has posted a few photos of the her kids (stone mad Mayo fans) meeting some of the players today in a pub in Galway, said they were all absolute gentleman and were great with the kids, chatting away to them and signing autographs etc, really nice to hear. Glad to see them out together having a bit of a session too in fairness. (The players, not the kids):)

Seen that some of them were in Tom Sheridan's alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Sound lads by all accounts......celebrities in Galway as well!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭muddle84

Any sing songs? Garth was wondering. Also glad to hear they got a few pints in!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

When you consider they were spending 3 million a year in 2007(half from the clubs themselves) on over 70 professional coaches in the clubs in Dublin it kind of makes the competition not an actual competition anymore. I'll not be surprised in the least if they do a further 6 in a row. Several million in sponsorship alone in the past 10 years, 200 clubs in Dublin, Cuala club alone has 3400 members. Very hard for anyone to compete in that competition. Wouldn't begrudge any young lad like Mullen heading to Australia if he gets an AFL contract.

I spotted a post by one of our fellow posters stating he/she had been chatting to a Kilmaine native.

According to same scéal Oisín wants to commit to Mayo for a few years.

Great news if there's any truth to it.

To reiterate from a totally selfish point of view I want the Mayo County Board to walk over hot coals to keep him within the setup.

I thought I'd read previously he was awarded a sports scholarship?

God be the days when a promising NUIG student could land a job in the P and T.

Certainly I would not begrudge a lad as talented as Oisín Mullin the opportunity to earn a good living,bask in the sun and travel the world but hopefully the lure of the Green and Red and friendships with Tommy Conroy and guarantee of decent income can sate my selfish motives.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭muddle84

seligehgit wrote: »
    I spotted a post by one of our fellow posters stating he/she had been chatting to a Kilmaine native.

According to same scéal Oisín wants to commit to Mayo for a few years.

Great news if there's any truth to it.

To reiterate from a totally selfish I want the Mayo County Board to walk over hot coals to keep him within the setup.

I thought I'd read previously he was awarded a sports scholarship?

God be the days when a promising NUIG student could land a job in the P and T.

Certainly a lad as talented as Oisín Mullin the opportunity to earn a good living,bask in the sun and travel the world but hopefully the lure of the Green and Red and friendships with Tommy Conroy and guarantee of decent income can sate my selfish motives.

I hope Mullins and Conroy and whoever else of the new faces get offers they can't refuse with college and work afterwards and whatever else on top to keep them in the green and red.

If I was to be asked of a stand out memory from 2020 it would be Mullins and O'Donoghues reaction to that Dublin goal.

I see Buckley has thrown his lot in with Monagha .

https://www.independent.ie/sport/

I see Buckley has thrown his lot in with Monagha .

https://www.independent.ie/sport/

Best of luck to him,he owes us nothing.

I know there was likely a fatigue borne of a longevity in our setup nonetheless I've pined his return to give that extra few percentage gain in performance which I've no doubt he'd bring.

Costs were obviously another consideration.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭spakman

seligehgit wrote: »
    Best of luck to him,he owes us nothing.

I know there was likely a fatigue borne of a longevity in our setup nonetheless I've pined his return to give that extra few percentage gain in performance which I've no doubt he'd bring.

Costs were obviously another consideration.

To be honest, I thought we'd have noticed his absence more. Our tackling was excellent this year which had been credited to him previously, so credit for this year at least must go to the current coaching setup and players of course!

spakman wrote: »
    To be honest, I thought we'd have noticed his absence more. Our tackling was excellent this year which had been credited to him previously, so credit for this year at least must go to the current coaching setup and players of course!

It was something that was very poor last year. Obvious an emphasis has been put on the tackle and trying to turn over higher up the pitch this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,127 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

For god sake this is more of it. Signing autographs in Galway for kids....bloody celebrity culture. They will never win anything with this attitude. What sort of men have we representing us at all

• Registered Users Posts: 18,412 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Mayo_fan wrote: »

Whether he was too abrupt or not is another issue. He was proved right though, Mayo never looked like really threatening Dublin even with a man up. Main gripe with HIckey seems to be the lack of respect Dublin are given as a team and men.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

Whether he was too abrupt or not is another issue. He was proved right though, Mayo never looked like really threatening Dublin even with a man up. Main gripe with HIckey seems to be the lack of respect Dublin are given as a team and men.

The problem with all this is that Dublin ( inclusive of Dublin media ) want the laudits for everything . It’s beyond grinding for the lack of respect for what every other county has to go through and endure for nothing at the end . Absolutely NOTHING
    Isn’t winning enough .

The problem with all this is that Dublin ( inclusive of Dublin media ) want the laudits for everything . It’s beyond grinding for the lack of respect for what every other county has to go through and endure for nothing at the end . Absolutely NOTHING
    Isn’t winning enough .

I think Hickey's gripe is mentions of money, population, splitting dublin, calling the players machines etc etc. Sounds like he is just completely fed up of it and feels it is deliberately used to denigrate the players.
    Little mention of skill hard work, acumen and so on.
    So he thought feck it I will shoot from the hip, and say what I really think.

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

What does he mean by the lack of respect Dublin are given? I saw Charlie Redmond on about the same thing at the weekend.

Pretty much everyone says they're the greatest team of all time. Cluxton the greatest ever goalkeeper, Fenton the greatest ever midfielder etc. Surely Dublin people can understand neutrals may not want the same team winning every year? It's hardly a lack of respect.

I was looking at the Mayo v Dublin match programme and in the Mayo backroom staff and management.

And I noticed Ger Cafferkey is the 'Behaviours and Values Coach'

I never heard the likes of this!

Is it a new thing and what exactly does it involve?

RedDevil55 wrote: »
    What does he mean by the lack of respect Dublin are given? I saw Charlie Redmond on about the same thing at the weekend.

Pretty much everyone says they're the greatest team of all time. Cluxton the greatest ever goalkeeper, Fenton the greatest ever midfielder etc. Surely Dublin people can understand neutrals may not want the same team winning every year? It's hardly a lack of respect.

That is from one corner.
    Others quickly add a 'but' and put in the following: money as the paneca, splitting Dublin and so on, calling Dublin players machines/boring etc.

I can see where the likes of Redmond and Hickey are coming from as they know the work that is put in by the DCB and the players. They know the current players can't really hit back at it. Not the done thing. So as former players they might feel it is their duty to back them up, and talk straight.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,177 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Mayo_fan wrote: »

Well hickey does specialise in ar** es and that area of the body so it seems he now talks out of his own hole.
    Isn’t winning enough .

As I said earlier a fair few of the dubs are getting very much like the Kiwis.
    It is not enough that they beat us, but we must almost now genuflect before them.

Next thing you know the fookers will be doing some sort of dance before the matches and the other teams will have to stand their like eejits till they are done.

And whilst all of them brag about what a fantastic team, actually teams, they have created over the last nearly 10 years, some of them think the competitiors are shyte and they take great pride in insulting and badmouthing the opposition.

Has anyone in the Mayo thread made comments about the personal lives, the attitudes of Dublin players, etc but just see the shyte being spouted and thanked over on the Dublin thread.

I keep saying this there are a fair few of them exactly like Kiwis.
    They are sore when they win never mind if they faced defeat.
    Dear god the reaction if they were beaten would be like a sunami of hyperbolic shyte.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

That is from one corner.
    Others quickly add a 'but' and put in the following: money as the paneca, splitting Dublin and so on, calling Dublin players machines/boring etc.

I can see where the likes of Redmond and Hickey are coming from as they know the work that is put in by the DCB and the players. They know the current players can't really hit back at it. Not the done thing. So as former players they might feel it is their duty to back them up, and talk straight.

Who are these "others"? Ewan MacKenna on Twitter? None of the high profile GAA pundits say that much. Joe Brolly is probably the biggest voice in Gaelic football and he has been lauding Dublin for years while deriding Mayo and certain Mayo players. Des Cahill is the main man on the Sunday game and never hides his pro Dublin viewpoint.

They even got the Dublin commercial manager on the Sunday game a couple of years ago!

jmayo wrote: »
    Well hickey does specialise in ar** es and that area of the body so it seems he now talks out of his own hole.

As I said earlier a fair few of the dubs are getting very much like the Kiwis.
    It is not enough that they beat us, but we must almost now genuflect before them.

See it wound you up because Hickey gave his honest belief he was honest. He laid out his reasons clearly in the article. Was he proved wrong? He would have looked like plank if Dublin lost.

You are proof of those very people who Hickey was aiming the article at. The vehement anti-Dub. Plus it worked a treat in that sense. It got you talking didn't it?

If Hickey had went the Jim Gavin line of things - we always expect a tough game form xyz team. He could be playing Wicklow and Gavin would say the same thing. If Hickey said something along those lines you could have claimed he was been the 'cute hoor' or disingenuous. Or worse taking the piss.

Hickey gave his honest opinion it might have been harsh in it's wording. But I think it is a retaliatory piece. With extra edge thrown in to get a reaction.

RedDevil55 wrote: »
    Who are these "others"? Ewan MacKenna on Twitter? None of the high profile GAA pundits say that much. Joe Brolly is probably the biggest voice in Gaelic football and he has been lauding Dublin for years while deriding Mayo and certain Mayo players. Des Cahill is the main man on the Sunday game and never hides his pro Dublin viewpoint.

They even got the Dublin commercial manager on the Sunday game a couple of years ago!

Ah there is plenty at this stage you only have to read boards.ie or go on you tube for it.

Colm O'Rourke always brings it up no mention of championship structure and how it has failed though.

Dublin won a Sam by playing two div 1 teams one was relegated, to div 2 and playing two div 2 teams one who was relegated to div 3. Softest Sam won in my lifetime.

Brolly always goes with the winning team, he used to slag of Dublin when Donegal looked like the next new thing.

See it wound you up because Hickey gave his honest belief he was honest. He laid out his reasons clearly in the article. Was he proved wrong? He would have looked like plank if Dublin lost.

You are proof of those very people who Hickey was aiming the article at. The vehement anti-Dub. Plus it worked a treat in that sense. It got you talking didn't it?

If Hickey had went the Jim Gavin line of things - we always expect a tough game form xyz team. He could be playing Wicklow and Gavin would say the same thing. If Hickey said something along those lines you could have claimed he was been the 'cute hoor' or disingenuous. Or worse taking the piss.

Hickey gave his honest opinion it might have been harsh in it's wording. But I think it is a retaliatory piece. With extra edge thrown in to get a reaction.

To be honest it's a bit rich for Dubs to demand respect from everyone else when that's the sort of articles they are putting their names to.

Still no excuse for the type of mean spirited article.

No offence meant but who exactly doesn't give Dublin due respect?:confused:

Most non Dublin GAA people have afforded this generation of Dublin footballers due recognition as the most talented ever.