If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXIX-85,394 ROI(2,200 deaths) 62,723 NI (1,240 deaths) (26/12) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

pjohnson wrote: »
    Ask a grown up.

I know several health care people who are tested every fortnight as part of their jobs. Some have tested positive on more than one occasion. Others have tested positive, and then a few days later tested negative.

So I’ll ask again, seen as you are a grown up, what infection are they testing positive for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 elynam

Turtwig wrote: »
    So if you have something that goes above 35 cycles for a detection you retest the sample to rule out potential the false positive. Unless of course your laboratory is actively trying to inflate the positive numbers. Then you cycle that mothafcker up to 50!

The HPSU had a paper on this early October suggesting exactly what you say and the assays should be retested if the test subject was asymptotic. The tried and trusted way in which doctors have always detected illness - starting with symptoms - has gone out the window. Why? The failings of the PCR are set out quite well at this link:-

https://cormandrostenreview.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Turtwig wrote: »
    So if you have something that goes above 35 cycles for a detection you retest the sample to rule out potential the false positive. Unless of course your laboratory is actively trying to inflate the positive numbers. Then you cycle that mothafcker up to 50!

Why would they test at 50 then? Are more positives missed at 35?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Danonino.

What a miserable attitude. Why can’t you just stay in yourself at level 5 or whatever and let others enjoy their perfectly compliant nights out without all the begrudged. It’s fairly obvious some people are simply jealous of others social life.

Ha ha ha

Sure. People are jealous of others social life. In a global pandemic with a vaccine on the way. They are jealous of you having some drinks with friends. Heck they might wonder if they are making the right decision waiting this one out and staying away from social gatherings and pubs. They might even question how someone cannot handle being unable to socialize normally in extremely abnormal times. They’ve adjusted how they socialise and adapted knowing by next year they will party like never before surely others can do the same.
    Are they nuts? Maybe it’s not so bad, it’s gotta be fear mongering and lockdown lovers blowing it out of proportion, they check the figures in Europe, yeah f**k that they think. I’ll wait this out instead and keep my social contacts low.

But it’s all a front. What they really care about is you and your rediculously interesting friends. Oh the thought of ye glittering under the bar lights sharing epic tales and taking selfies turns them green.

Do what you want, especially if it’s within guidelines, hell even celebrate it but jaysus, people jealous because you went for a night out. Mup ourra da.

It’s fairly obvious some people have had zero experience with losing someone to Covid.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,328 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I can totally see why the roaring 20’s happened after 1918! I can’t wait until this sh1t show is over. Going to holiday, eat out, hug family and friends again, bring it on!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

ElJeffe wrote: »
    You are doing the right thing and it IS appreciated by the majority. Unfortunately we have a section of our society who just don't care. They will have their pints, their house parties, their Xmas parties etc... and i absolutely guarantee you they will be the first ones moaning about more restrictions in January and it will be everyone's fault but their own.

They just don't care. Totally agree on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

No the covid tests only indicate when a person is currently infected. An antibody test could be used to test is they previously had it and now have antibodies as a result. But the PCR and antigen tests are for diagnosing current infections that might be transmissible

An antibody test is pretty useless in this circumstance. Unless you had a severe infection it’s unlikely you’d have antibodies months later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

manniot2 wrote: »
    I know several health care people who are tested every fortnight as part of their jobs. Some have tested positive on more than one occasion. Others have tested positive, and then a few days later tested negative.

So I’ll ask again, seen as you are a grown up, what infection are they testing positive for?

I have a relative currently stuck in a hospital, unable to be released to a nursing home because he’s still testing positive a month after the first test. (Has had no symptoms)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,210 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Multipass wrote: »
    I have a relative currently stuck in a hospital, unable to be released to a nursing home because he’s still testing positive a month after the first test. (Has had no symptoms)

The instructions we received from the HSE back in the summer was if you tested positive or had the virus before testing you weren't to be tested again for 12 weeks. Must have changed. If it's still the same they are wasting their time testing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Two most haunting images of 2020 for me..emphasise how the social impact and loneliness have been even more devastating than the direct effect of the virus itself for many people around the world.
    EoemSUMWEAM5FQB?format=jpg&name=900x900

gettyimages-1207840173.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

That is contrary to what is recommended in HSE guidelines. No longer retesting people prior to transfer back to a nursing home. Isolation is required for 14 days from date of first positive test in case of someone hospitalized or in a residential care facility. The person needs to be fever free for last five days of this isolation period for it to be lifted. Isolation is required for 10 days if never symptomatic.

A person is not tested a second time within three months if previously confirmed positive unless they develop symptoms again. In this situation retested with a full respiratory panel for other viruses as well as Covid-19. The cycle threshold (Ct) values are also looked at to help determine if new/persistent infection or detection of a small amount of remnant virus. Such a case would not be counted as a new positive case until a virologist/microbiologist is consulted and multiple factors including symptoms, blood results, radiology, and Ct values of swab results are considered.

manniot2 wrote: »

If test positive, they should not be retested within 12 weeks. They are not included in serial retesting programmes for those 12 weeks if remain clinically well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Barbers shop on main street Dundrum there about an hour ago as i walked past. No windows open and windows all fogged up because of no ventilation. Place was full also with most lads wearing no masks. This is the kind of idiots that will ruin it for everyone and result in another lockdown in January.

Or, if none of them have Covid, nothing will happen. Covid doesn’t appear where there is a crowd. Someone would need to have it to spread it.

It's inevitable because of the Irish attitude of ah sure it'll be grand. Irish people are unable to act maturely enough when left to their own devices hence our recent lockdown rules.

Another self hating Irish person. We’re mature enough to have the lowest number in Europe for the second wave. Does the rest of EU have an “ah sure it’ll be grand” attitude, considering they’re all having second lockdowns too??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,598 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Another self hating Irish person. We’re mature enough to have the lowest number in Europe for the second wave. Does the rest of EU have an “ah sure it’ll be grand” attitude, considering they’re all having second lockdowns too??

Have you thought about why we have those levels? Because restrictions were brought in and then tightened because people flaunted them.

eagle eye wrote: »
    You have your fun but I don't want to hear you complaining when we are back at level 5.
    You know if everybody had a bit of cop on we wouldn't need any levels.

Stop being such a hypocrite. You weren’t following the lockdown rules so are in no position to lecture others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭growleaves

Does the rest of EU have an “ah sure it’ll be grand” attitude, considering they’re all having second lockdowns too??

I read an article a while ago about how French people successfully dodge restrictions.

In any case Ireland isn't full of relaxed, care-free, casual people - that's an out of date stereotype. Many if not most Irish are rules-obsessed, risk-averse, legalistic and interfering, but the national mythology hasn't caught up yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,898 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Stop being such a hypocrite. You weren’t following the lockdown rules so are in no position to lecture others.
    I've acted sensibly all along so I've every right to say what I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Or, if none of them have Covid, nothing will happen. Covid doesn’t appear where there is a crowd. Someone would need to have it to spread it.

Its the pattern that's the concern. If that continues the likelihood of someone having covid increases greatly each day with no simple to implement measures in lace to mitigate risk.

xhomelezz wrote: »
    Take a guess who's vulnerable so. It can hit young, old, middle aged, you? How do you know? Not saying everyone will die. Little threat to who exactly?

No need to guess. We have the stats. It massively effects the over 60s with underlying conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,105 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

wadacrack wrote: »
    Its the pattern that's the concern. If that continues the likelihood of someone having covid increases greatly each day with no simple to implement measures in lace to mitigate risk.

Lot of people seem to have forgotten or just ignored the animation on how virus spread. Remember the one with the dots bouncing around and they touch off one and they become infected and same thing again and again.

https://www.whatdesigncando.com/stories/watch-the-virus-spread/

hmmm wrote: »
    How many times do we have to say that people are worried about more than just deaths?

We have no idea what the long-term effects are from getting this virus, and there appears to be a huge number of people who are suffering from Long-covid, many with life-changing impacts.

Initially this was thought to be lung disease. Now it appears that it actually affects the lining of blood vessels. Who's to say what this will mean down the road for things like strokes, even for people who had a mild illness?

We’ve no idea any time we cross the road if we’ll be hit by a car. We still cross the road.

We’ve no idea any time we drive somewhere that we won’t be in a crash. We still drive.

You sound like Chicken Little. Stop cathastrophising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

The instructions we received from the HSE back in the summer was if you tested positive or had the virus before testing you weren't to be tested again for 12 weeks. Must have changed. If it's still the same they are wasting their time testing them.

He’s ill with other issues. They have to test over and over as the nursing home is holding his place. They want to clear the hospital bed too, he’s stuck until it comes back negative.

What’s wrong with that? Surely vulnerable people keeping themselves out of risk is a no brainier.

100% if you’ve a peanut allergy, you don’t go on a tour of the peanut factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,526 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Have you thought about why we have those levels? Because restrictions were brought in and then tightened because people flaunted them.

The point being made is that other countries have reintroduced tighter restrictions regardless of the perceived maturity of their populations, so the claim that "Irish people are unable to act maturely enough" doesn't stand up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

We’ve no idea any time we cross the road if we’ll be hit by a car. We still cross the road.

We’ve no idea any time we drive somewhere that we won’t be in a crash. We still drive.

You sound like Chicken Little. Stop cathastrophising.

And tbf, that's why we have risk prevention and safety measures like traffic lights, seatbelts, pedestrian crossings, telling people to look both ways before crossing etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 elynam

jackboy wrote: »
    If not true that sort of opinion will be damaging. No one knows but the consensus among the Covid scientists is that it will be at least the second half of next year before the vaccine has a significant impact on reducing restrictions.

Remember early in the summer lots of scientists were saying that the vaccine would be rolled out in September. It just ****e talk.

They would be delighted with this. Would give them ongoing relevance. Ideally the Covid mad scientist crowd which we seem to have a lot of get sidelined ASAP and we can get back to dealing with this problem rationally.

He’s ill with other issues. They have to test over and over as the nursing home is holding his place. They want to clear the hospital bed too, he’s stuck until it comes back negative.
    Sounds like he’s still in hospital because he is still ill with other issues, not because he’s still testing positive. He should not even be undergoing retesting if he already has a confirmed positive result in the last three months.

He doesn’t need to have a swab with ‘not detected’ result for Covid-19 to be discharged back to a nursing home as per HSE guidance. He needs to be 14 days after first swab result and five days fever free. Similar policy can be found in European CDC guidance documents and US CDC guidance documents.

titan18 wrote: »
    And tbf, that's why we have risk prevention and safety measures like traffic lights, seatbelts, pedestrian crossings, telling people to look both ways before crossing etc.

You can wear a seatbelt, drive perfectly, and still have an idiot drive into you. You never know what’s going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭ElTel

majcos wrote: »
    Sounds like he’s still in hospital because he is still ill with other issues, not because he’s still testing positive. He should not even be undergoing retesting if he already has a confirmed positive result in the last three months.

He doesn’t need to have a swab with ‘not detected’ result for Covid-19 to be discharged back to a nursing home as per HSE guidance. He needs to be 14 days after first swab result and five days fever free. Similar policy can be found in European CDC guidance documents and US CDC guidance documents.

Perhaps his illness is causing fever.
    Could an antibody test be used instead? Your not infectious if you've antibodies, right?