If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXIX-85,394 ROI(2,200 deaths) 62,723 NI (1,240 deaths) (26/12) Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 725 ✭✭✭ElJeffe

Don't know a single person going for food or drinks this weekend thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Russman

Eivor wrote: »
    There’s quite a difference between telling a sick person or the relatives of a sick person to give up a year of their lives to get better and asking healthy people who are unaffected by the virus to give up a year for the sake of other people.

Well, are we a society or a collection of individuals ?
    Seems to me there’s a lot of people who are ok with it being a collective until it inconveniences them.
    I could somewhat understand if this happened every other year, but it’s probably a one in a hundred year event that we’ve been unlucky to find ourselves in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

eagle eye wrote: »
    Because they suddenly have an illness like specific organ problems or extreme lethargy and there's other stuff too.

But how could you know it's caused by 'long covid' and not something else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Eivor

I’m not specifically comparing the two as identical, as the measures and restrictions we underwent would make some peoples heads explode in here.

I’m more commenting around people’s attitudes to a situation that is unavoidable, how they treat those in authority telling them what they should do, or even trying to boast about how cavalier they are being.

Lock up the vulnerable and let the healthy get on with it would be a fine strategy if we could realistically identify, separate, and isolate the two groups, but given that’s not possible, we’ve been dealt a bit of a **** hand.

I do find it curious that those who are giving people grief about being “scared” are in fact the ones who are absolutely losing their minds and resorting to silly tit for tat comments

The vulnerable have been dealt a **** hand. The healthy have been told to lock down for a virus that they’ll survive 98% of the time or so.

That’s not the point anyway. The restaurants and pubs are open and people are allowed go so complaining about them won’t do a thing.

Russman wrote: »
    Seems to me there’s a lot of people who are ok with it being a collective until it inconveniences them.
    I could somewhat understand if this happened every other year, but it’s probably a one in a hundred year event that we’ve been unlucky to find ourselves in.

Depends who you ask. I’d say we’re a collection of individuals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Russman wrote: »

We are small groups of individuals, otherwise we would have no homelessness or poverty. I think telling the younger generation to give up their live for a year is a little more than an inconvenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,594 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

GazzaL wrote: »
    I don't know a single person who isn't going out for food and drinks this weekend.
    Such is life. I don't know anybody who is going out. All I've spoken to have said they're limiting all social activity until they meet their closest family members at Christmas.

Different strokes and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Russman

niallo27 wrote: »
    We are small groups of individuals, otherwise we would have no homelessness or poverty. I think telling the younger generation to give up their live for a year is a little more than an inconvenience.

I’d agree with you if it wasn’t necessary. However I’d argue that the US is a good example of what can happen when we go the extreme individual route. Unfortunately pretty much everyone has been dealt a sh1ttyhand this year and some of our old norms have changed for a while. Everyone needs to suck it up for little while, hopefully not much longer. That’s not advocating for L5 til we have a vaccine, just in general we need to realise things are different whether we like it or not.

Anyway this has been done to death a thousand times over. I’m switching on the match !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Eivor wrote: »
    The vulnerable have been dealt a **** hand. The healthy have been told to lock down for a virus that they’ll survive 98% of the time or so.

That’s not the point anyway. The restaurants and pubs are open and people are allowed go so complaining about them won’t do a thing.

I wasn’t talking about restaurants or pubs at all, I’m happy enough they’re open tbh even if I personally won’t be going to one. I’m talking about the contrast in some people’s attitudes to the whole situation. Some wanna be safe and stay at home, some people would rather ignore it all and pretend it’s not happening.

We were told in March there could be 85,000 deaths. Now, after lots of restrictions, there hasn’t been and people are going nuts. The same people who said there wouldn’t be a business left in the country when Leo announced our first three week lockdown was becoming a 5 weeks lockdown.

And yet here we are, 9 months later, virus still knocking around but with the lowest incidence in Europe. No bodies in the streets as “promised” but also no high streets abandoned with boarded up windows citywide, as promised.

Seems to me like we’ve struck a decent balance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

niallo27 wrote: »

When I think back to the few years after leaving school they were the best years of my life. I would have been raging if this happened back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,857 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

hmmm wrote: »
    Who are you trying to convince with this just as a matter of interest? Most people are doing their best to protect their families, and that doesn't involve meeting with large numbers of people over Christmas.

You'd be an awful eejit to spread Covid to your family with a vaccine around the corner.
    Not sure how unwillingly spreading something makes you an eejit?
    Blame game once again. Not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭ongarite

And yet here we are, 9 months later, virus still knocking around but with the lowest incidence in Europe. No bodies in the streets as “promised” but also no high streets abandoned with boarded up windows citywide, as promised.

Seems to me like we’ve struck a decent balance.

The high street fashion market in Ireland is about to be decimated.
    Occupancy in shopping centres is falling dramatically with the failure of Debenhams, Arcadia Group (6 brands) and Oasis, Warehouse, Laura Ashley, Pamela Scott chains.

We were told in March there could be 85,000 deaths. Now, after lots of restrictions, there hasn’t been and people are going nuts. The same people who said there wouldn’t be a business left in the country when Leo announced our first three week lockdown was becoming a 5 weeks lockdown.

Where are people going nuts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,898 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Eivor wrote:
    And as I said that’s grand. You lock yourself away to stop from getting “long Covid†and I’ll live my life how I want to.
    I never told you what to do, was just explaining my position and making ng it clear to you that there's no fear on my part, just making sensible decisions for the health of my family.

But how could you know it's caused by 'long covid' and not something else?
    Am I not supposed to trust the diagnosis made by medical professionals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,104 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Don't know anyone either who is heading out this weekend either.

spookwoman wrote: »
    Don't know anyone either who is heading out this weekend either.

I guess we generally hang out with people who are like us, so it’s no surprise that we get the posts saying “everyone I know is going out” and “I don’t know anyone who is going out”. Both are true of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

'I don't know anyone who is going out'
    'Everyone I know is going out'
    What is this a form of virtue signalling? Go out ,stay in who gives a feck.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

'I don't know anyone who is going out'
    'Everyone I know is going out'
    What is this a form of virtue signalling? Go out ,stay in who gives a feck.

Exactly my oh and I are having lunch with his son in a pub today and going for dinner just the two of us Monday

So one close contact, the positive impact on my ohs mental health is enormous

For Christmas we won't see his kids as their mother is visiting from the North and we don't want that risk as she is also a HCW

Do what you feel comfortable while keeping within the boundaries

We won't have anyone in our home the next month but will meet his son for lunch once a week

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,937 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Positive Swabs

Positivity Rate
    2.88%

https://covid19.shanehastings.eu/api/swabs/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Stheno wrote: »
    Exactly my oh and I are having lunch with his son in a pub today and going for dinner just the two of us Monday

So one close contact, the positive impact on my ohs mental health is enormous

For Christmas we won't see his kids as their mother is visiting from the North and we don't want that risk as she is also a HCW

Do what you feel comfortable while keeping within the boundaries

We won't have anyone in our home the next month but will meet his son for lunch once a week

That's exactly how I see it, sensible, brain in action. Problem is certain amount of peeps will forget boundaries etc. But there's nothing to do about it. So enjoy Christmas folks, sensible enjoyable way.

Hit the switch to keep the lights on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,899 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Big difference in the crowd at the St Annes food markets this morning. Fraction of the crowd of last few weeks.
    The brunchers are gone back to their usual haunts thankfully - don't have to queue much now to get my grub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

322 positive swabs from 11,182 tests. 2.88% for the day.

7 day positivity now at 2.5%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,796 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I see people are now predicting that we'll have a "horror show" in January, like italy in March, etc. People have been predicting these doomsday scenarios here since the start and they've never come to pass, why would January be any different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭blowitupref

322 positive swabs from 11,182 tests. 2.88% for the day.

7 day positivity now at 2.5%

With IT issue cases to be added in we could see 400+ case today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Roots 2020

El Sueño wrote: »
    I see people are now predicting that we'll have a "horror show" in January, like italy in March, etc. People have been predicting these doomsday scenarios here since the start and they've never come to pass, why would January be any different?

I think because no part of the year since March will witness the amount of people movement that will probably happen over Christmas. Indoor also, winter time where more are sick anyway. Presume that's the theory

Ibs didn't see anybody predict an Italy like situation. Comparing it to mid October is what I've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

El Sueño wrote: »

It's not gonna be doomsday scenario, hopefully. Depends how we do this month. If certain amount of population goes wild, we'll all face consequences, it's simple.

Hit the switch to keep the lights on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Not sure how unwillingly spreading something makes you an eejit?
    Blame game once again. Not good.
    No-one willingly spreads Covid, everything is about risk. If you're taking lots of risk and are around vulnerable people who will be receiving a vaccine shortly, then yeah I'm happy to say you're an eejit. I'd probably say worse if I was honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,857 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

hmmm wrote: »
    No-one willingly spreads Covid, everything is about risk. If you're taking lots of risk and are around vulnerable people who will be receiving a vaccine shortly, then yeah I'm happy to say you're an eejit. I'd probably say worse if I was honest.
    The context was related to people going to bars and restaurants. Not sure where you're getting vulnerable people from that? If people are vulnerable they should stay at home. The remainder who do take advantage of bars and restaurants are not 'eejits'.