If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXIX-85,394 ROI(2,200 deaths) 62,723 NI (1,240 deaths) (26/12) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Yep, that's fair enough. In my mind, having approached the pandemic in a reasonably conservative manner, I feel sorry for those that have locked themselves away and hidden from Covid, at the expense of deleting the guts of a year of their lives. But it is what it is. Each to our own. I can't imagine how difficult it was for you to forgo a pint in the pub for 9 months, and can see why you are now crawling the walls looking for a day out. In that respect, I'm doing ok as I've chosen to maximise the potential to live my life to the fullest extent possible. So I've continued, within the regulations, to meet real people and enjoy a pint.

Many people “ loose “ the guts of a year due to illnesses . People on chemo or who a bone marrow transplant , parents of extremely ill children , people on dialysis and have transplants etc . Young people with CF can be months in a hospital awaiting transplant as can young cardiac patients
    They give up that year so they can emerge triumphant and enjoy life again . Its a choice they make for themselves
    Some people have chosen to stay indoors during this pandemic, its a choice they made for themselves .
    Both sets of circumstances certainly doesn’t mean that they are not gagging for it to be over .
    But I personally think we should support them in that choice and not feel sorry for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,898 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Very well said. I've been through tough times before, both from a health perspective and a financial one where the best advice was to stay at home
    Every time that decision led to improvements in my life and good times.
    We are dealing with a virus we know very little about even now. I don't want my family or myself to contract it so I've stayed safe and that means staying at home.
    It's actually not been that bad. I miss going for a meal but my wife and I are both pretty handy in the kitchen so there's been lots of tasty meals. The kids are all doing well. As we are not spending on nights out, or days out for the kids, so we haven't experienced any financial strain.
    I'm looking forward to when we go back to normal and you can be sure we'll make up for all the time spent at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭growleaves

Hay guise I think Kermit is right the third wave is usually the worst and if it isn't, hey, we always have the fourth wave!

• Administrators Posts: 55,668 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

ElJeffe wrote: »
    I think that's a bit off the mark. By mid January it's going to be a complete **** show though. Still at least people will have celebrated Xmas that's all that matters. :rolleyes:

We've been hearing this since March. There's always total doom just around the corner because someone saw someone do something that's not totally in keeping with the restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

growleaves wrote: »
    Hay guise I think Kermit is right the third wave is usually the worst and if it isn't, hey, we always have the fourth wave!

This Kermit chap sounds like a wise man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Many people “ loose “ the guts of a year due to illnesses . People on chemo or who a bone marrow transplant , parents of extremely ill children , people on dialysis and have transplants etc . Young people with CF can be months in a hospital awaiting transplant as can young cardiac patients
    They give up that year so they can emerge triumphant and enjoy life again . Its a choice they make for themselves
    Some people have chosen to stay indoors during this pandemic, its a choice they made for themselves .
    Both sets of circumstances certainly doesn’t mean that they are not gagging for it to be over .
    But I personally think we should support them in that choice and not feel sorry for them

Tbh I think having gone thru something like that you gain extra perspective and resilience. This is why I can’t understand (but kind of can) the attitude of “I want a break, I deserve a break”. I wanted and deserved a break but it just couldn’t happen.

I also didn’t feel like my daughters consultant was on a power trip or was “ruining” Christmas for us. It was just advice. There were incredibly stringent rules. Part of the advice was for him to thoroughly explain all possible outcomes and many weren’t pretty. When none of them came to pass, thankfully, I certainly didn’t dismiss him completely saying “well you said X would happen and it didn’t so you’re a dope”.

But knowing the possible outcomes ensured we followed the rules to a tee to avoid dire outcomes. We “lost” 18 months of our lives, but have a very different perspective and appreciation now. There are some very mild lingering effects of chemo but nothing compared to anything she experienced in the thick of it.

While I’d love everyone to understand it, I also wouldn’t wish it on anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,857 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Here’s what the new freezers in the cold chain centre look like. Total capacity of 1.8 million doses.

https://twitter.com/colmhand/status/1335180442757197824?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

Here’s what the new freezers in the cold chain centre look like. Total capacity of 1.8 million doses.

Cool story bro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

ElJeffe wrote: »
    I think that's a bit off the mark. By mid January it's going to be a complete **** show though. Still at least people will have celebrated Xmas that's all that matters. :rolleyes:

I'm meeting a friend for dinner tonight and meeting my daughter for dinner tomorrow night. Looking forward to being out in a social setting enjoying our lives. Can't see numbers rising because of our docile activities and none of us are in the least concerned that we are risking catching Covid. Each to their own, feel welcome to stay home and worry about January all you like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Out to watch Dublin and Cavan game later with my best mates that I've seen twice this year. Will come back to mine and have some more drinks. Looking forward to the feeling of normality. That will be my big night out for this Christmas

Vaccine roll out will come thick and fast. Cautiously optimistic, it feels like we have turned a corner with the medical advancements.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 725 ✭✭✭ElJeffe

I'm meeting a friend for dinner tonight and meeting my daughter for dinner tomorrow night. Looking forward to being out in a social setting enjoying our lives. Can't see numbers rising because of our docile activities and none of us are in the least concerned that we are risking catching Covid. Each to their own, feel welcome to stay home and worry about January all you like.

Good luck. Hope you enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

They cost about 18,700€.. bought I presume from the company in Blancherstown. Though I rather the person that opened the door in the video washed their hands first :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

I don't know a single person who isn't going out for food and drinks this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

GazzaL wrote: »
    I don't know a single person who isn't going out for food and drinks this weekend.

Stick around here, there are plenty don't worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

none of my locals opened :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Who are you trying to convince with this just as a matter of interest? Most people are doing their best to protect their families, and that doesn't involve meeting with large numbers of people over Christmas.

You'd be an awful eejit to spread Covid to your family with a vaccine around the corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Eivor

Tbh I think having gone thru something like that you gain extra perspective and resilience. This is why I can’t understand (but kind of can) the attitude of “I want a break, I deserve a break”. I wanted and deserved a break but it just couldn’t happen.

I also didn’t feel like my daughters consultant was on a power trip or was “ruining” Christmas for us. It was just advice. There were incredibly stringent rules. Part of the advice was for him to thoroughly explain all possible outcomes and many weren’t pretty. When none of them came to pass, thankfully, I certainly didn’t dismiss him completely saying “well you said X would happen and it didn’t so you’re a dope”.

But knowing the possible outcomes ensured we followed the rules to a tee to avoid dire outcomes. We “lost” 18 months of our lives, but have a very different perspective and appreciation now. There are some very mild lingering effects of chemo but nothing compared to anything she experienced in the thick of it.

While I’d love everyone to understand it, I also wouldn’t wish it on anyone.

There’s quite a difference between telling a sick person or the relatives of a sick person to give up a year of their lives to get better and asking healthy people who are unaffected by the virus to give up a year for the sake of other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,989 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

owlbethere wrote: »
    I will sell my soul to get a vaccine against this bloody virus. I would definitely pay money privately to jump the queue ahead of the the high priority list. Would that be allowed when the vaccine gets the go ahead? Could we skip the queue ahead of the oaps in the nursing homes if I pay the money for a vaccine?

Depends on the country you are in, my boss is powerful enough that I assume we shall get vaccinated rather quickly.

Eivor wrote:
    There’s quite a difference between telling a sick person or the relatives of a sick person to give up a year of their lives to get better than asking healthy people who are unaffected by the virus to give up a year for the sake of other people.
    Well there's two types of illness associated with this virus at present, one is the virus itself which affects a certain amount of people and then long covid which affects even asymptomatics, only a small percentage but but it's another illness and it's an umbrella name for a multitude of things that are happening to people that contracted the virus.
    So knowing all that you have to ask if we should be concerned about even more long term illnesses that can come from this thing down the line.
    Personally I'm in the group that strongly believes that this virus is best avoided. I'd be disgusted with myself, given all I've read and know about this virus, if anybody belonging to me who I have a responsibility to were ever to end up ill as a result of contracting this virus.
    As a result I'm talking every precaution to avoid contracting it.

Eivor wrote: »
    There’s quite a difference between telling a sick person or the relatives of a sick person to give up a year of their lives to get better and asking healthy people who are unaffected by the virus to give up a year for the sake of other people.

I’m not specifically comparing the two as identical, as the measures and restrictions we underwent would make some peoples heads explode in here.

I’m more commenting around people’s attitudes to a situation that is unavoidable, how they treat those in authority telling them what they should do, or even trying to boast about how cavalier they are being.

Lock up the vulnerable and let the healthy get on with it would be a fine strategy if we could realistically identify, separate, and isolate the two groups, but given that’s not possible, we’ve been dealt a bit of a **** hand.

I do find it curious that those who are giving people grief about being “scared” are in fact the ones who are absolutely losing their minds and resorting to silly tit for tat comments

eagle eye wrote: »
    Well there's two types of illness associated with this virus at present, one is the virus itself which affects a certain amount of people and then long covid which affects even asymptomatics, only a small percentage but but it's another illness and it's an umbrella name for a multitude of things that are happening to people that contracted the virus.
    So knowing all that you have to ask if we should be concerned about even more long term illnesses that can come from this thing down the line.
    Personally I'm in the group that strongly believes that this virus is best avoided. I'd be disgusted with myself, given all I've read and know about this virus, if anybody belonging to me who I have a responsibility to were ever to end up ill as a result of contracting this virus.
    As a result I'm talking every precaution to avoid contracting it.

And that’s fine. You can lock yourself away if you’re terrified on “long Covid.” I will be going for my pints and food and trying to live as normally as I can while things are open rather than living in fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I’m not specifically comparing the two as identical, as the measures and restrictions we underwent would make some peoples heads explode in here.

I’m more commenting around people’s attitudes to a situation that is unavoidable, how they treat those in authority telling them what they should do, or even trying to boast about how cavalier they are being.

Lock up the vulnerable and let the healthy get on with it would be a fine strategy if we could realistically identify, separate, and isolate the two groups, but given that’s not possible, we’ve been dealt a bit of a **** hand.

I do find it curious that those who are giving people grief about being “scared” are in fact the ones who are absolutely losing their minds and resorting to silly tit for tat comments

Well the fact that nearly 70% of deaths came from nursing homes would be a pretty good place to start anyway would you not agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

hmmm wrote: »
    Who are you trying to convince with this just as a matter of interest? Most people are doing their best to protect their families, and that doesn't involve meeting with large numbers of people over Christmas.

You'd be an awful eejit to spread Covid to your family with a vaccine around the corner.

Even McConkey is going to Clontarf Yacht club, according to himself on Claire Byrne live this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

hmmm wrote: »

They're going for food and drinks, I didn't say they were going for a communal orgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Well there's two types of illness associated with this virus at present, one is the virus itself which affects a certain amount of people and then long covid which affects even asymptomatics,

How would these Asymptomatics even know they have long Covid since most won't have been tested?

Eivor wrote:
    And that’s fine. You can lock yourself away if you’re terrified on “long Covid.†I will be going for my pints and food and trying to live as normally as I can while things are open rather than living in fear.
    I'm not terrified of anything. All my decisions are though out and rational.
    Like we all know how the virus spreads. Restaurants will have people you know nothing about in them. I see them as best avoided until we are past this thing.

niallo27 wrote: »
    Well the fact that nearly 70% of deaths came from nursing homes would be a pretty good place to start anyway would you not agree.

Completely agree, yes. And it runs through hospitals rampantly too. But it seems like it’s very close to impossible to keep it out of those places, especially when it’s incidence is high in the community.

How would these Asymptomatics even know they have long Covid since most won't have been tested?
    Because they suddenly have an illness like specific organ problems or extreme lethargy and there's other stuff too.

I'm not terrified of anything. All my decisions are though out and rational.
    Like we all know how the virus spreads. Restaurants will have people you know nothing about in them. I see them as best avoided until we are past this thing.

And as I said that’s grand. You lock yourself away to stop from getting “long Covid” and I’ll live my life how I want to.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I'm not going anywhere :(

Hotel in the town isn't reopening till 2021 as the staff don't want to give up their Christmas to work and the two pubs in the town don't serve food so it's going to be a very quiet Christmas in the Necro household.