Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,127 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

SB71 wrote: »
    you enjoy sitting at home reading over covid stats while the rest of us go out and enjoy the pints, you sound like your great craic, the life and soul of the party ;):rolleyes:

Ok

I’m not telling you what to do. I don’t need to watch the stats - the government is watching them and the more people act the maggot the higher the numbers will go and as the numbers go, so goes the chances of pubs closing again.

It’s up to pubs and pub patrons to put a good face on the pub opening. The responsibility is on those who go, you’ll choose how you behave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,662 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Looking forward to a burger and a few pints tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Ish66

All I want is to go to my local on my own on Sunday lunchtime (With the papers under my arm) have a few pints, devour the papers, go home and have my dinner and chill for the rest of the day.
    I don't want food, I don't need company, Just my 30 year Sunday tradition restored. I don't care about the rest of the week, just 2 hours...Please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,440 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Anyone got access to the Indo?

https://www.independent.ie/opinion/comment/dont-talk-wet-we-must-not-let-this-pandemic-be-used-as-an-excuse-to-kill-off-more-of-our-brilliant-traditional-pubs-39824786.html

After an abstemious November I walked around town yesterday, haunted by the pubs of Christmas past: Mulligan’s in Poolbeg Street, the Swan in Aungier Street, the Stag’s Head in Grattan’s Court, Slattery’s in Rathmines.

With their well-worn interiors, soft yellow light and creamy, dark pints, they’re the type of place where you go to catch up with old friends and the elusive spirit of the past.

But if you want to have a pint, you will have to patronise a pub masquerading as a restaurant and, along with it, an unwanted meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Tenzor07 wrote: »

Poetic.
    But I think wet traditional pubs will be fine in the long run. Even going by the sentiment on this page, and other social media channels, there is demand for their services - a simple pint and a chat, none of the trimmings espoused by the gastropubs. However, for the moment, like many other aspects of life, we will have to compromise, so a few scoops and forced food will have to do for a while. Bring on 2021!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Fitz* wrote: »

Have you got a booking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭brisan

SteM wrote: »
    It's certainly what some people were asking but the past few pages it's morphed into some sort of weird thread about hating part time drinkers and people who wear jumpers to pubs.

I have no problem with people wearing jumpers properly in pubs
    its the tossers who wander around the pub with their jumpers tied around their neck while they fondle a bottle of Heino that bother me

Tazz T wrote: »
    Have you got a booking?

If its his local and not in town he will hardly need it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,662 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Tazz T wrote: »
    Have you got a booking?

Yes. It's a local food pub.

Fitz* wrote: »
    Just bring your Passport, Friends phone no's, your mothers blood group ,Don't talk or look at anyone and we reserve the right to fcuk you out when we like.
    Have a wonderful evening.....
    ''Just Eat'' myself and the remote. Cans chilling.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,467 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

brisan wrote: »
    If its his local and not in town he will hardly need it

You'd be surprised. Vast majority are booked up this weekend and next.

I have bookings for my the next 3 Saturdays and 2 for Christmas eve
    However they are not for my local, I will not need a booking for my local

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Ish66 wrote: »
    Just bring your Passport, Friends phone no's, your mothers blood group ,Don't talk or look at anyone and we reserve the right to fcuk you out when we like.
    Have a wonderful evening.....
    ''Just Eat'' myself and the remote. Cans chilling.....

One pub in my town is like that. The other one is grand. They take your phone number and thats it. Its like a normal pub/restaurant after that. No mask to the jacks nonsense.

Flash Bastard ! :D

Good for you but know of plenty local pubs that do need bookings regardless with limited walk up availability.

So to say someone hardly needs one for a local isn't accurate. If someone doesn't want to be disappointed or left standing outside for a while then booking is the way to go.

Have my own local booked for 8pm a few nights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭SB71

Ok

I’m not telling you what to do. I don’t need to watch the stats - the government is watching them and the more people act the maggot the higher the numbers will go and as the numbers go, so goes the chances of pubs closing again.

It’s up to pubs and pub patrons to put a good face on the pub opening. The responsibility is on those who go, you’ll choose how you behave.

My jaysus your such a ray of sunshine, how many hours a day do you spend on here talking about covid-19 :eek:

Wetherspoons in town walk ins only no bookings taken, and more importantly no time limit i asked the girl on the door as you walk in, it looked busy even at 1pm, i also checked another 2 pubs in town, 70% bookings and 30% walk ins, again no time limit in either, so whoever suggested that most pubs in town especially have a time limit might want to think again.

Can you name the 2 pubs with no time limits
    Weatherspoons is not my cup of tea

Can you name the 2 pubs with no time limits
    Weatherspoons is not my cup of tea

not on here, message me if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,352 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

not on here, message me if you want.

Do they have 2m between tables, because if not name them so we know to avoid them.....

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Do they have 2m between tables, because if not name them so we know to avoid them.....

i don't know i didn't ask and i wouldn't be asking that anyway.

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,160 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

hynesie08 wrote: »

Seriously, you think a foot or two will really make any difference to a virus that's supposedly airborne and travels 30 meters.

Anyone who is that concerned and worried should probably stay at home to be honest, the thought of something like this would never even enter my head, there's enough bleedin scaremongering from mainstream media and NPHET on a daily basis as it is, just go out and enjoy yourself without worrying about if tables are 2 metres apart, what next asking all the barman if they sanitized their hands :eek:

My jaysus your such a ray of sunshine, how many hours a day do you spend on here talking about covid-19 :eek:

It's just a fact of the situation. The pubs are open and we all know they're high on the list to close if the numbers go up again. You might not like to think about having responsibility but you have some personal responsibility over how it pans out. Whether patrons play by the rules or they act the maggot will have an influence on whether pubs are closed again.

If you give a shyte about the pubs staying open, you'll behave accordignly. If you only care about no.1 then you'll behave accordingly too. This is fairly basic stuff.

It's just a fact of the situation. The pubs are open and we all know they're high on the list to close if the numbers go up again. You might not like to think about having responsibility but you have some personal responsibility over how it pans out. Whether patrons play by the rules or they act the maggot will have an influence on whether pubs are closed again.

If you give a shyte about the pubs staying open, you'll behave accordignly. If you only care about no.1 then you'll behave accordingly too. This is fairly basic stuff.

well I'm hardly going to be dancing on tables singing the fairytale of New York with my top off am i :eek::rolleyes: don't you worry about me mate ill enjoy my weekend im going out tonight, Saturday and Sunday, you enjoy sitting in!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

Hello from a responsible socially distanced pub in the Midlands!

Few nice pints on a day off from work - happy days.

Enjoy, similarly minded folk!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

Yes nanny!

If they've 2m between tables then there's no time limit. Same as last time. Its a business decsion then if they want to have one.

well I'm hardly going to be dancing on tables singing the fairytale of New York with my top off am i :eek::rolleyes: don't you worry about me mate ill enjoy my weekend im going out tonight, Saturday and Sunday, you enjoy sitting in!

I’m not telling you what to do. You’ll make your own decisions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,352 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Probably not, but if a place isn't willing to do the absolute bare minimum asked of them, I don't want to give them my money.