Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭SB71

Scoundrel wrote: »
    Any pub in a city centre will be enforcing time limit to increase turnover cant blame them really anywhere outside that won't be if you go into a quiet spot on a Sunday afternoon they are not gonna hop you after 1.45h.

Not all pubs in town will be, word gets around anyway which pubs are and which pubs arent, i was looking forward to going to Oscars in Smithfield but the last time they said they were not adhering to the 105 min limit and would instead allow people to stay for 3 hours, this time around they have backtracked and said its 105 minutes inside and 130 minutes outside, so i wont be going there anyway.

in addition to this, people can still make multiple bookings and this will likely the case, a complete and utter farce instead of opening all pubs where everyone can drink in peace instesd of this having to book and stupid time limits in some establishments, we're a bleedin laughing stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,130 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

SB71 wrote: »
    rules, rules, rules, have we become that pathetic and shallow as a nation that anyone who even dares to bend the "rules" is vilified , the pandemic really has brought out the absolute worst in people (im not rnecessarily referring to you BTW, im talking in general) anyone who doesnt abide by the letter of the law 100% gets viified by some people, a tragic state of affairs.

I, like many cannot take anything that NPHET or FFG say seriously,they are an unmitigated nightmare so if that makles me a "rule breaker" then so be it!!!

Sure. You’ve got your excuses in early as to why you shouldn’t obey the rules. Sounds like you’re a right rebel, if your own account of yourself is accurate. I suppose we always have to take account of dobbers who won’t play by the rules, even in an emergency situation. They’re the people who can’t be relied upon to behave admirably. Thankfully, most people generally stick to the rules and help the whole thing run as smoothly as it can under the circumstances.

I wonder if you take your fair share of responsibility when the numbers go up or pubs close again?...(Joke: I don’t expect anyone with the attitude you expressed above to take any responsibility).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Grand well whatever pub you were in either had 2m between tables or wasn't keeping to the rules one or the other.

The same things are in place now that were in place in July.

Except now its Christmas and of course there's more demand for hospitality so expect the vast majority of establishments to say heres the bill after 105 minutes

And the shame is that pent up hospitality demand could be shared if non food pubs could open under the same guidlines or even outdoors and not have people traveling miles extra further away than the local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

speckle wrote: »
    And the shame is that pent up hospitality demand could be shared if non food pubs could open under the same guidlines or even outdoors and not have people traveling miles extra further away than the local.

I've heard of places doing first come first served now cos of multiple bookings not showing up due to ludicrous time limits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,467 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

speckle wrote: »

Won't find me disagreeing with that

I've heard of places doing first come first served now cos of multiple bookings not showing up due to ludicrous time limits.

Cancellations have become a thing all over business. Lots of businesses just can’t afford to lose the business through customers not keeping appointments. Lots of places have started taking booking deposits. Might not be a bad idea.

But when people have a few drinks they’re more likely to not pay attention to the rules or cancel a booking they won’t make. Just human nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,467 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

I know of one very large establishment in Dublin city centre thats been overwhelmed with booking requests but the same thing happened in the summer and there was last minute cancellations and no shows.

So now they've gone with 30% bookings 70% walk ups, first come first served. Doesn’t seem like a bad idea tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Lots of places have started taking booking deposits. Might not be a bad idea.
    +1, lots of restaurants do this. I some one on twitter talking of no-shows a good while back and people recommended deposits, the restaurant owner said it might put people off. There were loads of replies in support of a deposit system, I don't think a single person was against the idea.

Restaurants have to factor the cost of no-shows into their meal prices, so could likely afford to charge people less if they have a deposit system.

Years back we had a deposit system at one of our work parties as the owner was so sick of people not turning up and being charged the full amount for them. A few moaned about it, the very people who often did not show up, others were furious about no-shows too too as that wasted money could have gone in to the drink kitty.

rubadub wrote: »
    +1, lots of restaurants do this. I some one on twitter talking of no-shows a good while back and people recommended deposits, the restaurant owner said it might put people off. There were loads of replies in support of a deposit system, I don't think a single person was against the idea.

Yeah I don’t have a problem with it. I’ve seen some places encouraging customers to book through the website too as they are allowed fewer staff on site so they can’t have them stop work to answer the phone. Makes sense to be fair. Might prefer talking to a person to make a booking but who really cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

There's no substitute for the pub.

A man after me own heart!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Neowise wrote: »
    I agree.

If a rural village was to build a barrier around itself, and ban all crossings of that barrier, and after two weeks was still covid free, then they should be able to goto "Tier 1" or 'level 1 of living with covid'.
    But if anybody was to leave the village, they would not be allowed to return, or if they did return or someone new was to enter the vilage, they would need to quarantine for 2 weeks and the level of the village be raised until their quarantines were over.

I don't like the sound of this to be honest.

I mean it would soon start to bring a whole new meaning to being parochial.

It sounds like something out of a Twilight Zone Episode. I can imagine the children turning amber eyed after midnight and sacrificing the elderly? Sounds very sinister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Hoping to get in somewhere tomorrow, lots of places in Waterford doing walk ins

No point trying to book somewhere as i be on my lonesome and more than likely they will say there booked up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

Yes it looks like it will be very difficult for individuals to book anywhere.I managed to get a reservation for tomorrow evening but am going to try a walk in Saturday afternoon on my own for the Scotland match and back later on Saturday evening. Hopefully this is the end of having to buy the dreaded slabs of Dutch Gold or whatever, the cans are absolute muck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Drifter50 wrote: »
    Yes it looks like it will be very difficult for individuals to book anywhere.I managed to get a reservation for tomorrow evening but am going to try a walk in Saturday afternoon on my own for the Scotland match and back later on Saturday evening. Hopefully this is the end of having to buy the dreaded slabs of Dutch Gold or whatever, the cans are absolute muck

The bookings are a disaster imo. Talk is a lot of bars expecting no shows as people book "just in case" pubs so they have somewhere if they are moved on. It'll be interesting times for sure.
    Now as for the end of muck cans, that is on you man. The one advantage to drinking at home is you have much wider selection of drinks than are available in the pub and for a lower price. I do miss being able to buy a single measure of a spirit I want to try though..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

hynesie08 wrote: »
    You've clearly never been in a pub in December then. Between the 12 pubs ****, Mark from accounts who hasn't had a night out in 8 months because his missus had a baby, who thinks he can still drink like he's 22 or the absolute pricks who see an open bar as a challenge. It is a living nightmare........

Thankfully I've acquired a few local pubs in the last few years that won't take any of that bollix.

spot on

These xmas jumper wearing attention whores seem to fall in to 3 groups.

1.The one who thinks he is a comedian, when in fact he is a loud mouthed pain in the hole

2. The pissed up over inflated egomaniac who thinks he is good gift to women and comes across like a creepy b@stard

3. The angry one who thinks he is conor mcgregor, walks like a pigeon, left leg right shoulder, usually a pissed up little twat with small man syndrome, or else the big crooked jaw rugby lover who you would think would know better after all the slaps he got in the past.

Thankfully my local would not tolerate them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭the rock29

You forget one of thing most of these Christmas jumper brigade only come out once a year or some body paying for it they should not be allowed in any where I know from experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Pub in Donabate/Portrane The Brook, isn't allowed to open. It was originally just a pub, was passed on to the son afaik, he wanted to do it up a few years ago as a gastropub. Wasn't enough room to attach the kitchen to the pub, so he built a stand alone building next door for a kitchen serve the pub. Has been a food pub for a few years now.

Not allowed open as the kitchen isn't "attached" to the pub. What a stupid rule.

spot on

These xmas jumper wearing attention whores seem to fall in to 3 groups.

1.The one who thinks he is a comedian, when in fact he is a loud mouthed pain in the hole

2. The pissed up over inflated egomaniac who thinks he is good gift to women and comes across like a creepy b@stard

3. The angry one who thinks he is conor mcgregor, walks like a pigeon, left leg right shoulder, usually a pissed up little twat with small man syndrome, or else the big crooked jaw rugby lover who you would think would know better after all the slaps he got in the past.

Thankfully my local would not tolerate them.

Or just other people having a Christmas blow out, doing things they wouldn’t do every weekend. Being a bit annoying but easily ignored if you’re with good company.

The pub is a pretty free space. I can have my craic sitting, chatting and sipping pints. Other people can skull pints and have a sing-song, others can graft and try to get the ride. None of my business to police or rate other people’s craic as long as I’m not being asked to do something I don’t want to do.

I don’t own the pubs I go to, I’m just a customer like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭SteM

Hilarious thread. People to government - open the pubs so people can enjoy themselves.... but just not in a way that annoys me and my proper drinking mates.

SteM wrote: »
    Hilarious thread. People to government - open the pubs so people can enjoy themselves.... but just not in a way that annoys me and my proper drinking mates.

Ah, we have another interloper with a flashing geansaí in our midst. Your strawberry daiquiri is on its way, umbrella and all for the early shower.

You're quite the comic sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭PommieBast

Given how long they have been kept closed, the question some of us are asking is if they will open rather than when. Nine months and counting of zero revenue is a sure fire way of becoming insolvent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭growleaves

or else the big crooked jaw rugby lover who you would think would know better after all the slaps he got in the past

I laughed out loud.

Getting cross about other people having craic incorrectly. Some people aren’t happy unless they’re complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭HBC08

Mikey Healy Rae holding court on the Tonight Show with Matt Cooper and Lisa Chambers (FF), "Micheál Martin would choke on a pint if he tried to drink it". Spitting fire, "it is totally unfair on respectable people operating traditional pubs in rural Ireland. Wrong! And you Lisa, you're one of the lieutenants supporting them!". Nine times out of ten I disagree with the flatcap, however here he is completely spot on. We need more with his vigour, VFI take note.

A lot of yapping and shouting then nothing happens.....a bit like the angry people on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭HBC08

The vast majority will, more tables is more business. Dont expect to get more than 1hr 45 mins in most places.

The exact same as it was in the summer

I found in the summer most places in my town were strict on the time limit but one or two werent.
    This time around they're all going to be strict because they'll have another booking in after us for the table,they make a lot more on food so this is what'll be happening most places.
    Its a pain in the hoop and an inconvenience for sure ,the fact that it's only temporary means most rational people can deal with it, that cheers me up along with coming on here to marvel at the meltdowns!

PommieBast wrote: »
    Given how long they have been kept closed, the question some of us are asking is if they will open rather than when. Nine months and counting of zero revenue is a sure fire way of becoming insolvent.

It's certainly what some people were asking but the past few pages it's morphed into some sort of weird thread about hating part time drinkers and people who wear jumpers to pubs.

HBC08 wrote: »
    I found in the summer most places in my town were strict on the time limit but one or two werent.
    This time around they're all going to be strict because they'll have another booking in after us for the table,they make a lot more on food so this is what'll be happening most places.
    Its a pain in the hoop and an inconvenience for sure ,the fact that it's only temporary means most rational people can deal with it, that cheers me up along with coming on here to marvel at the meltdowns!

Of course, you’re right and most people will mostly go along with most of the rules and it will hopefully work out well. Some of the big rebels on the thread are giving it loads, but most people will have their pints, be sensible and enjoy themselves while playing by the rules.

I really hope that anyone who books a table, either keeps the appointment or calls in good time to cancel it. Pubs have been through enough harm that was unfortunately necessary, they don’t need patrons wasting their opportunity to make a few quid on top of it. Worse still is patrons who won’t abide by the rules and wilfully give ammunition to close the pubs if they numbers go up again.

Booked in tonight, taking to the barman who i know he said no time limit nonsense, enough sitting at home this year to last a lifetime, gonna go out all weekend on the gargle.:cool:

Sure. You’ve got your excuses in early as to why you shouldn’t obey the rules. Sounds like you’re a right rebel, if your own account of yourself is accurate. I suppose we always have to take account of dobbers who won’t play by the rules, even in an emergency situation. They’re the people who can’t be relied upon to behave admirably. Thankfully, most people generally stick to the rules and help the whole thing run as smoothly as it can under the circumstances.

I wonder if you take your fair share of responsibility when the numbers go up or pubs close again?...(Joke: I don’t expect anyone with the attitude you expressed above to take any responsibility).

you enjoy sitting at home reading over covid stats while the rest of us go out and enjoy the pints, you sound like your great craic, the life and soul of the party ;):rolleyes: