Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

The Leinster Championship is dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,445 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Well it was you who started with the 1950's in fairness :) Anyway my point is that it is not a 2 horse race, Roscommon are very competitive in Connacht, they would never ever be taken for granted by the Big Two in the way Sligo and Leitrim usually are, and London too

You really need 2 fairly equal top div1 teams + a decent side mid div1\top div 2 in a province. Duopolies or one top team is boring for neutrals.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

ArielAtom wrote: »

You do know that the funding would be for primary school going children. The lads on that team would have been leaving primary and going to secondary that year, so did not get the exposure you have stated. Facts are facts, your timeline example here is factually incorrect.

No, you are wrong on that one. You would be correct for any county outside of Dublin, where GPOs are assigned to geographical areas. In Dublin however, they were aligned to each club from 2005, no doubt they did indeed visit some schools but they were also responsible for developing club players, meaning way more professional coaching for the boys in blue compared to any other county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭MaccaTacca

I'm not aware of the intricacies of Meath but I know that the last period of time Kildare were half way competitive nationally was 2008 to 2012 and it literally broke the county. But sure money has nothing to do with it :rolleyes:

Also, have a look at this before talking about population and how counties should raise more money themselves: https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/ep/p-cp2tc/cp2pdm/pob/

It's no surprise that Meath, Kildare and Wicklow have the highest percentage of residents that were not born in the county. I'm sure all these people wandering about Naas, Navan and Bray in Dublin jerseys and shorts in December are more than willing to help out the local county board.

Noone in Bray gives a bollocks about Gah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,011 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

ShyMets wrote: »
    If I'm right that's and average of just over two a decade. But if we look at it from 1980. The breakdown is Roscommon 7 titles. Galway 14. Mayo 18.

When put like that the gap is reasonably large. So what you have in Connacht is a Province which is a largely two horse race with Roscommon nabbing a couple of titles every decade.

Fairly good for Roscommon considering they've half the population of mayo and one quarter that of Galway
    Plus one of the biggest towns in the county is in mayo for gaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Fairly good for Roscommon considering they've half the population of mayo and one quarter that of Galway

They'll pay their rates to Roscommon, but their respects to Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

You cannot be born in a number of counties as they have no hospital or maternity unit
    Leitrim
    Roscommon
    Longford

The place of birth statistics come from the census and on the census form you put the place where your mother lived at the time of your birth as your place of birth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

No, you are wrong on that one. You would be correct for any county outside of Dublin, where GPOs are assigned to geographical areas. In Dublin however, they were aligned to each club from 2005, no doubt they did indeed visit some schools but they were also responsible for developing club players, meaning way more professional coaching for the boys in blue compared to any other county

While you are correct in that the GPO's were assigned to a club that nevertheless does not change their roles. They were tasked in developing Gaelic Games at both codes at primary school going ages. That meant developing relationships with the local schools and giving approx 1hr per month of coaching to the respective classes in each school.

I will share with you a personal journey from Academy through to Minor. You can either accept of dismiss it. Its your choice.

At academy start (5yr olds) the GPO was tasked with on a Saturday morning in our case of identifying parents to mentor these kids through the coming years. I was one of the ones asked to assist. For the 1st two years we would set up our session on a Saturday morning for a 1.5hr session, this was split between Footbal and Hurling. The first month or so we had the assistance of the GPO in heling us understand the structure of the sessions, fun games and inclusion was the message. The GPO would move between the Boys and the Girls groups ensuring the new coaches were OK and if the required guidance he gave.

This would change after year one as the next group would arrive and requite his direction. The one thing that was asked of all parents looking to get involved was that they completed the GAA Foundation coaching program. This was organised by the GPO.

After year two we were allocated an evening training slot and worked on our own, having a year kick off and year end meeting with the GPO to see how we were progressing. The GPO's are spread between all ages from 5-12 and all codes.

After u12 we pretty much had not contact with the GPO bar informal chats on how we were progressing.

So to say that players in Dublin are getting professional coaching from a team of professional coaches is factually incorrect. The GPO's do not try and identify potential IC players. Their mantra is to develop every child to their maximunm ability. This is all done through inclusion, participation encouragement and all with a view to retaining these children into adult games. The high drop off is one of the GAA's biggest concerns and it is in our interest as a society to ensure we keep children engaged as this will benefit them not only health wise going forward but it also helps develop their social skills.

I do wonder how many posters are actually mebers of their local club and how many have actually coached underage games.

IC is a very small part of a great organisation and I know it is a minority who focus on it. Club before County.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

Roscommon do ok. The point I was trying make quite badly is that they aren't in a position to compete for a Connacht title year in year out.

To be fair to them it should also be noted that while Roscommon is primarily a footballs there are parts of the south of the county where hurling is very strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,834 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

While you are correct in that the GPO's were assigned to a club that nevertheless does not change their roles. They were tasked in developing Gaelic Games at both codes at primary school going ages. That meant developing relationships with the local schools and giving approx 1hr per month of coaching to the respective classes in each school.

I will share with you a personal journey from Academy through to Minor. You can either accept of dismiss it. Its your choice.

At academy start (5yr olds) the GPO was tasked with on a Saturday morning in our case of identifying parents to mentor these kids through the coming years. I was one of the ones asked to assist. For the 1st two years we would set up our session on a Saturday morning for a 1.5hr session, this was split between Footbal and Hurling. The first month or so we had the assistance of the GPO in heling us understand the structure of the sessions, fun games and inclusion was the message. The GPO would move between the Boys and the Girls groups ensuring the new coaches were OK and if the required guidance he gave.

This would change after year one as the next group would arrive and requite his direction. The one thing that was asked of all parents looking to get involved was that they completed the GAA Foundation coaching program. This was organised by the GPO.

After year two we were allocated an evening training slot and worked on our own, having a year kick off and year end meeting with the GPO to see how we were progressing. The GPO's are spread between all ages from 5-12 and all codes.

After u12 we pretty much had not contact with the GPO bar informal chats on how we were progressing.

So to say that players in Dublin are getting professional coaching from a team of professional coaches is factually incorrect. The GPO's do not try and identify potential IC players. Their mantra is to develop every child to their maximunm ability. This is all done through inclusion, participation encouragement and all with a view to retaining these children into adult games. The high drop off is one of the GAA's biggest concerns and it is in our interest as a society to ensure we keep children engaged as this will benefit them not only health wise going forward but it also helps develop their social skills.

I do wonder how many posters are actually mebers of their local club and how many have actually coached underage games.

IC is a very small part of a great organisation and I know it is a minority who focus on it. Club before County.

This is 100% a fair reflection, and the reason I made the point earlier that what the GPO has really done in Dublin has helped the clubs leverage the vast volunteer mentor resource.

And also the reason that I mentioned that a disadvantage in Meath and Kildare is that people have long commutes (relatively) and therefore have less time in the day to make available for volunteer mentoring.

And a third important point is that 99.9% of active playing gaa club members never go anywhere near an Intercounty set up. And from that POV, players in Meath, Kildare and elsewhere are at no disadvantage at all.

Meath might be getting hammered by Dublin. But if you look at the club facilities in Vincents or Ballymun Kickhams or Ballyboden, and compare them to the club facilities at Donaghmore Ashbourne, Ratoath or Newbridge Sarsfields or Eire Og in Carlow....the Dublin clubs are very stretched in terms of capacity. For me, the best resourced Dublin clubs are the ones in towns similar to Ashbourne - so that would be Rush (Maurs), Portmarnock or Balbriggan. They are able to build facilities.

That really is the bigger picture that doesnt get discussed very often, when the "all the money goes to the Dubs" conversation comes up.

To give one illustration of how this manifests itself; it was very difficult for kids in Dublin to a Cul Camps place this year (and most years), whereas if you are in Offaly or Laois its much easier.

I disagree 100% div1 (in particular) is normally a good indicator of who has won Sam, or has potential to win Sam, or is an improving team.

Thats the only point I'll challenge you on as I agree with the rest of what you wrote.

For me, if Dublin dont win the league and they win the All Ireland, they are 99% happy with how their year has gone. If Dublin win the league and dont win the all Ireland, they are 1% happy with how their year is gone.

For other teams, the League has much greater priority. Monaghan would be the best example. I think at this stage the league is a higher priority for Monaghan than championship - and why not, they get a series of games against the top teams year in year out. And on this basis, the league could become a lot more competitive.

But at the very top level - their is just a lot more bite in the final stages of the AI than in the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Thats the only point I'll challenge you on as I agree with the rest of what you wrote.

For me, if Dublin dont win the league and they win the All Ireland, they are 99% happy with how their year has gone. If Dublin win the league and dont win the all Ireland, they are 1% happy with how their year is gone.

For other teams, the League has much greater priority. Monaghan would be the best example. I think at this stage the league is a higher priority for Monaghan than championship - and why not, they get a series of games against the top teams year in year out. And on this basis, the league could become a lot more competitive.

But at the very top level - their is just a lot more bite in the final stages of the AI than in the league.

From an IC persppective I would love to see The Sam Maguire move to league and make it the premier competition. Treat the Championship like the FA Cup. But that will never happen.

TBH - fans decide what the premier competition is. Back in the day, the FA cup was the premier competition and they still use the same trophy. The biggest TV audience ever for a sports event in Britain, apart from the 1966 WC Final, was for the FA Cup final in 1970.

If for example the League was run in spring, the clubs in summer, and the AI series in winter.....then you'd be looking at a situation where Dublin is playing Mayo, Kerry, Donegal at CP in February and March; and playing Longford or Wicklow in October. I've a fair idea which games would draw a bigger crowd.

Another exercise which is useful to indicate how far Meath and Kildare have fallen relative to the top 6 six teams in the country (excluding Dublin) is to ask how many Kildare or Meath players would (honestly) get into the starting 15 of the following teams:

Kerry
    Tyrone
    Donegal
    Mayo
    Galway
    Monaghan

Because in my view it is a tough exercise. I am really struggling with it.
    The fact I have to properly think about it says a lot.

Meath = Menton and Newman (would they get into any or many of those starting 15's)

They do not even make the best Meath 15's in the last 30 years poll:

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/revealed-the-best-meath-team-of-the-last-30-years-as-voted-by-you-436196

Kildare best starting 15 in the last 30 years as voted in a poll:

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/kildare-15-for-30-revealed-444218

Daniel Flynn now in Australia? Peter Kelly? Honestly, I wouldn't know him if he walked in my front door.

How many household names do Meath and Kildare have these days?

Kevin Feely is useful more known for playing soccer than GAA?

How many people in any GAA household in the country (outside Kildare or Meath) could now rattle off names and say that Meath/Kildare player 'some player'!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Another exercise which is useful to indicate how far Meath and Kildare have fallen relative to the top 6 six teams in the country (excluding Dublin) is to ask how many Kildare or Meath players would (honestly) get into the starting 15 of the following teams:

Kerry
    Tyrone
    Donegal
    Mayo
    Galway
    Monaghan

Meath = Menton and Newman (would they get into any or many of those starting 15's)

They do not even make the best Meath 15's in the last 30 years in a poll

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/revealed-the-best-meath-team-of-the-last-30-years-as-voted-by-you-436196

Daniel Flynn now in Australia? Peter Kelly? Honestly, I wouldn't know him if he walked in my front door.
    Useless whatabouttery.

Whether you know or recall all all star winners in the last 30 years is not a reasonable metric of how good a player was/is.

Useless whatabouttery.

Whether you know or recall all all star winners in the last 30 years is not a reasonable metric of how good a player was/is.

It is not, does it not tell you something that Meath and Kildare lack quality players?

Where people say xyz fella would walk into most county teams at their peak.

Declan Browne Tipp for instance, Kevin O'Brien wicklow, Dessie Dolan Westmeath, Donie Kingston Laois, Stephen Meiia and Paddy Keenan Louth, Thomas Walsh Carlow, Paul Barden Longford. GAA people would know or remember those lads.

Or fellas even vaguely heard of outside the province as a 'top player' named by pundits?

Who have Kildare and Meath got at the moment?
    Fellas who people would say 'jayus some player'...and everyone knows him around the country.

Feck all, if any I would argue.

Or even people who would make those outside the county check the match programme 'What is yer man's name....?' I remember I did that when I saw David Clifford play minor for the first time. Also Quinliven for Tipp at minor.

Meath did not win a game in div 1 and were out of it for 13 years. Kildare are not in div 1 and get beaten out the gate in the Super 8's.

If I was from Meath/Kildare I would be embarrassed. Isn't it any wonder I would want to put the focus on Dublin as the fault? And even see removing Dublin from Leinster as the solution?

I challenge Meath and Kildare people to come up names and why they would get into those top 6 starting teams, excluding Dublin.

Kerry
    Tyrone
    Donegal
    Mayo
    Galway
    Monaghan

Could you get 5 from Kildare? Or 5 from Meath?

I bet it most will be greeted with 'who?' from non-Kildare/Meath posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

It is not, does it not tell you something that Meath and Kildare lack quality players?

Where people say xyz fella would walk into most county teams at their peak.

Declan Browne Tipp for instance, Kevin O'Brien wicklow, Dessie Dolan Westmeath, Donie Kingston Laois, Stephen Meiia and Paddy Keenan Louth, Thomas Walsh Carlow, Paul Barden Longford. GAA people would know or remember those lads.

Or fellas even vaguely heard of outside the province as a 'top player' named by pundits?

Who have Kildare and Meath got at the moment?
    Fellas who people would say 'jayus some player'...and everyone knows him around the country.

Feck all, if any I would argue.

Or even people who would make those outside the county check the match programme 'What is yer man's name....?' I remember I did that when I saw David Clifford play minor for the first time. Also Quinliven for Tipp at minor.

Meath did not win a game in div 1 and were out of it for 13 years. Kildare are not in div 1 and get beaten out the gate in the Super 8's.

If I was from Meath/Kildare I would be embarrassed. Isn't it any wonder I would want to put the focus on Dublin as the fault? And even see removing Dublin from Leinster as the solution?

I challenge Meath and Kildare people to come up names and why they would get into those top 6 starting teams, excluding Dublin.

Kerry
    Tyrone
    Donegal
    Mayo
    Galway
    Monaghan

Could you get 5 from Kildare? Or 5 from Meath?

I bet it most will be greeted with 'who?' from non-Kildare/Meath posters.

Jesus Christ almighty I've come across some dismissive arrogance in my time but this avalanche of smugness really takes the biscuit. Kevin Feely absolutely roasted Brian Fenton in midfield a couple of years ago Daniel Flynn would walk into most county teams Jimmy Hyland won an under 20 all Ireland by himself a couple of years ago including roasting Dublin in Leinster.

Your ignorance isn't a barometer of how good or bad a player is all i'll say is you must have been some player to dismiss Meath and Kildares current crop as lacking quality. There are several Leinster minor and under 20 champions in Kildares current squad as well as a few under 20 AI winners.

Tombo2001 wrote: »

OK I understand what you are saying. Priority and so on. But I would argue at the sharp end the league is a massive indicator of where a team are at. Especially when taken over 2/3 year cycles. Teams might experiment for one year and then show improvement.

From 1997 onwards I would argue this has proven to be the case. As you hear less of 'ah sure it is only the league'. Teams have treated it more seriously over the last 20 years or so. Granted there is some experimentation but it leads to improvement in league standing when looked at over a 2/3 year period

Meath were not in division 1 for 13 years.

When they got promoted it was called massive for 'Meath football' by Meath sleeveless legend Trevor Giles.

https://www.the42.ie/trevor-giles-meath-4598442-Apr2019/

Yet Meath failed to win a game and went straight back down. Because they were just not up to same level. Getting there maybe. Showing improvement maybe. But not there yet.

I remember in the 2010 league being devastated when Dublin did not make the league final - just missed out - head to head hard luck. The Dubs had not being in final since 99 and had not won a league since 93.

Why was I devastated? Because it was a chance for the Dubs to show improvement and win a national title. Plus then Dublin went a step further the next year in 2011 and made the league final. But lost to Cork.

Again I was devastated. I think B Brogan was taken off and the game turned?

But we all know what happened in the 2011 AI final and in the years following for Dublin. By virtue of the fact Dublin just missed out on the 2010 league final and made the 2011 League final losing narrowly had shown signs of an improving team in itself.

I believe the groundwork for Dublin was laid in the league with Pat Gilroy experimenting and doing enough to stay in division 1. Which Dubs were happy with because they could see what he was trying to do - blooding new players. But played conservative football building a solid base. No swash buckling stuff.

This is what I mean by the League improving teams and it can generally be seen in 2/3 year cycles. It shows in league and championship time and again in the last 20 years or so.

Scoundrel wrote: »
    Jesus Christ almighty I've come across some dismissive arrogance in my time but this avalanche of smugness really takes the biscuit. Kevin Feely absolutely roasted Brian Fenton in midfield a couple of years ago Daniel Flynn would walk into most county teams Jimmy Hyland won an under 20 all Ireland by himself a couple of years ago including roasting Dublin in Leinster.

Your ignorance isn't a barometer of how good or bad a player is all i'll say is you must have been some player to dismiss Meath and Kildares current crop as lacking quality. There are several Leinster minor and under 20 champions in Kildares current squad as well as a few under 20 AI winners.

OK so you named three Kildare players Feely who I already mentioned, Daniel Flynn who I already mentioned and now fecked off to Australia.

You added another name Jimmy Hyland
    (who I will have to look up -
    playing in div 2 injury problems - sizzling against Antrim apparently - which I would argue is Kildare's level div2)

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/kildare-antrim-jimmy-hyland-203138

So according to you by your own reckoning Kildare have two decent players in the Kildare panel Hyland and Daniel Flynn. Two players!

Next you have to ask yourself would they get into the starting 15 of the following teams?

Kerry
    Tryone
    Donegal
    Mayo
    Galway
    Monaghan

And why?

OK so you named three Kildare players Feely who I already mentioned, Daniel Flynn who I already mentioned and now fecked off to Australia.

You added another name Jimmy Hyland (who I will have to look up -
    div 2 player injured sizzling against Antrim apparently)

So according to you by your own reckoning Kildare have two decent players in the Kildare panel Hyland and Daniel Flynn. Two players!

Next you have to ask yourself would they get into the starting 15 of the following teams?

Kerry
    Tryone
    Donegal
    Mayo
    Galway
    Monaghan

And why?

Daniel Flynn is not in Australia and played in this years championship and you must have done some very selective googling on Jimmy Hyland to not see his performance in the U20 all Ireland final.

Many Kildare players would get into many of those teams Fergal Conway Neil Flynn Mark Donnelan Paul Cribbin etc. I'm annoyed at myself that i've allowed this nonsense form you to deflect away from the central point of this thread i.e Dublin's massive unfair financial advantages and how that has destroyed the Leinster championship.

Scoundrel wrote: »
    You know what you can stick your ignorance up your hole but i'll correct you 1 final time before I put you on mute Daniel Flynn is not in Australia and played in this years championship and you must have done some very selective googling on Jimmy Hyland to not see his performance in the U20 all Ireland final.

Many Kildare players would get into many of those teams Fergal Conway Neil Flynn Mark Donnelan Paul Cribbin etc. I'm annoyed at myself that i've allowed this nonsense form you to deflect away from the central point of this thread i.e Dublin's massive unfair financial advantages and how that has destroyed the Leinster championship.

Why has all these great underage Meath and Kildare players failed to produce outside Leinster at senior and in Div 1 of the NFL? Are they really as great as you think?

Or is it a management and tactical issue? The fact you want to mute me makes it appear you want to stick your head in the sand. The fact Flynn this 'great' player played this year and yet Kildare did nothing of note in Leinster or the league says it all. :D

Plus, I believe the title of this thread is not Dublin's unfair advantages. But is why Leinster is dead? you are the OP! :confused:

So it has been your ulterior motive that is abundantly clear now. It is to have a side swipe at Dublin not to analyse why Leinster is dead as a whole. When I analysed the facts of why Leinster is dead as well as improved Dublin - very poor Meath/Kildare teams div 2 maybe poor div 1 you do not like it. Losing to Westmeath, Carlow and Longford 5 times in the last 10 championships.

It appears your definition of discussion as to why Leinster is dead is based on a very narrow prism of variables.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,627 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Kerry
    Tyrone
    Donegal
    Mayo
    Galway
    Monaghan

They do not even make the best Meath 15's in the last 30 years poll:

How many household names do Meath and Kildare have these days?

Kevin Feely is useful more known for playing soccer than GAA?

How many people in any GAA household in the country (outside Kildare or Meath) could now rattle off names and say that Meath/Kildare player 'some player'!?
    Your lack of knowledge of Meath is laid bare yet again given that you conveniently left out Donal Keogan.
    I'm really beginning to doubt that you're engaging in this in good faith. Again, I'm not denying that we're not as good a team as our best ever teams. But we have improved on the whole compared to 7 or 8 years ago, yet the gap between ourselves and Dublin has increased.

Your lack of knowledge of Meath is laid bare yet again given that you conveniently left out Donal Keogan.
    I'm really beginning to doubt that you're engaging in this in good faith. Again, I'm not denying that we're not as good a team as our best ever teams. But we have improved on the whole compared to 7 or 8 years ago, yet the gap between ourselves and Dublin has increased.

Would Keogan get into many of those top 6 teams I mentioned I am not so sure?
    He would not make Monaghan, Kerry, Tyrone in my opinion anyway. Plus he might not make Mayo. Galway likely poor backs.

When the OP's biases and ulterior motive has been laid bare I doubt the poster was in good faith. The poster really wanted to discussed Dublin's 'unfair' advantages. Rather than discussing the meat of all the issues in their own OP why Leinster is dead.

Yes, Dublin had advantages and always will they organised and improved.
    But it is beyond question that Meath and Kildare have gone backwards. League and games outside Leinster have proved this.
    Plus the structure of the provincials is unfair/antiquated and needs to be scrapped.

But it appears that the OP does not want to analysis this part of the issue, as it appears the truth hurts. Meath and Kildare are not that good, nor have they been for a long time. League and Super 8's prove this beyond doubt.

When Meath and Kildare were even handy teams, I used to rattle off their players.
    Now to be honest when watching Dublin play them I just look to see is there any player with a bit about them at all. A decent div 1 player in other words.

Would struggle to find 2/3 max.

I am just being honest I have mentioned Dublin's past failings. It appears that the OP is unwilling to mention the failings of two main Leinster counties (barring Dublin).

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,627 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Would he get into those top 6 teams I mentioned I am not so sure.
    He would not make Monaghan, Kerry, Tryone in my opinion. Plus he might not make Mayo. Galway likely poor backs.
    100% he would. He is an absolutely phenomenal player. The fact that he's the only current player included in Meath's best team from the last 30 years proves that. He would also make the Dublin team in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭dobman88

Would Keogan get into many of those top 6 teams I mentioned I am not so sure?
    He would not make Monaghan, Kerry, Tyrone in my opinion anyway. Plus he might not make Mayo. Galway likely poor backs.

He would walk into the Kerry team tbf.

dobman88 wrote: »
    He would walk into the Kerry team tbf.

Fair enough we are up to three Meath players Keogan, Newman and Menton for Meath

Plus D.Flynn, Feely, maybe Hyland, maybe Cribben (who is getting on) , for Kildare.

It is struggle after that really stark when you think of the quality of play Kildare and Meath used to have not so long.

Fact is, Kildare and Meath are div 2 teams and occasionally div 1 teams where they get shown up.

The quality of Kildare players shows this.

Maybe it is time they bring in a '5 Dub rule' for Meath or Kildare as a step above the parentage rule. Kildare/Meath might learn something from playing with better players.

Plus it would give fellas that can't make the Dublin panel/or no longer good enough a chance of a run out at intercounty.

It worked to an extent with the Dublin hurlers the other way around - getting country imports to supplement the panel and squad.

Why has all these great underage Meath and Kildare players failed to produce outside Leinster at senior and in Div 1 of the NFL? Are they really as great as you think?

Or is it a management and tactical issue? The fact you want to mute me makes it appear you want to stick your head in the sand. The fact Flynn this 'great' player played this year and yet Kildare did nothing of note in Leinster or the league says it all. :D

Plus, I believe the title of this thread is not Dublin's unfair advantages. But is why Leinster is dead? you are the OP! :confused:

So it has been your ulterior motive that is abundantly clear now. It is to have a side swipe at Dublin not to analyse why Leinster is dead as a whole. When I analysed the facts of why Leinster is dead as well as improved Dublin - very poor Meath/Kildare teams div 2 maybe poor div 1 you do not like it. Losing to Westmeath, Carlow and Longford 5 times in the last 10 championships.

It appears your definition of discussion as to why Leinster is dead is based on a very narrow prism of variables.

Oh sweet Jesus the letter referenced in the OP from the former Westmeath footballer Connellan is literally about how Dublin's unfair financial advantages are the reason for the Leinster championship being dead it's the topic at hand.

You are trying to claim that it is because Kildare and Meath are no good despite you being hilariously ignorant of both counties you tried to claim that all of Meath youngsters come from Ratoath when in fact as a Meathman on here has said none of them do you proclaimed that Daniel Flynn is in Australia he isn't.
    Your arguements cannot be taken seriously because you haven't a clue about Kildare or Meath football and it's clearly just a deflection.

Kildare and Meath are on the whole marginally worse than they were 10 or 15 years ago but the biggest change is how much better Dublin have gotten and how much more resources i.e € Dublin have at their disposal now compared to what they had then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭dobman88

Fair enough we are up to three Meath players Keogan, Newman and Menton for Meath

Plus D.Flynn, Feely, maybe Hyland, maybe Cribben (who is getting on) , for Kildare.

It is struggle after that really stark when you think of the quality of play Kildare and Meath used to have not so long.

Fact is, Kildare and Meath are div 2 teams and occasionally div 1 teams where they get shown up.

The quality of Kildare players shows this.

Maybe it is time they bring in a '5 Dub rule' for Meath or Kildare as a step above the parentage rule. Kildare/Meath might learn something from playing with better players.

Plus it would give fellas that can't make the Dublin panel/or no longer good enough a chance of a run out at intercounty.

It worked to an extent with the Dublin hurlers the other way around - getting country imports to supplement the panel and squad.

Menton and Newman would not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,059 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

If you gave the Kildare and Meath panels the same treatment, training etc. as the Dublin panel they'd be in the top five counties without question.

dobman88 wrote: »
    Menton and Newman would not.
    Agreed. Anyway, rumour is that Newman has retired from IC football.
    I think Conor McGill, in the form from last year at least, would be a good shout.
    Most of this season's team would be very young and in their first full intercounty season.