Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭carsfan2

digiman wrote: »
    Anyone got any thoughts on the Q7 55/60 TFSI e?

Would like one better speced than this but these look great value. Would love to get a vorsprung edition one, they look class altogether.

£53k or €58.5k plus new VRT will be 7% so would allow about €6k for that. If nothing changed with importing cars next year could have one in for €65k for a nearly new Q7.

https://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/new/202006280611051?advertising-location=at_cars&year-from=2020&postcode=bt11aa&model=Q7&page=1&make=AUDI&fuel-type=Hybrid%20%E2%80%93%20Petrol%2FElectric%20Plug-in&include-delivery-option=on&onesearchad=Used&onesearchad=Nearly%20New&onesearchad=New

Seems really cheap alright if doable and plug in hybrid is your thing.
    Nearly went with a 3.0 TDI when looking this time last year but cost to change was only so so and the current x5 is much much nicer drivers car.
    It is a pretty old design now and will be replaced in a couple of years I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭digiman

carsfan2 wrote: »
    Seems really cheap alright if doable and plug in hybrid is your thing.
    Nearly went with a 3.0 TDI when looking this time last year but cost to change was only so so and the current x5 is much much nicer drivers car.
    It is a pretty old design now and will be replaced in a couple of years I reckon.

I wouldn’t say plug in hybrid is my thing, but it’s definitely a cheap way to get into a high powered petrol car/suv for a lot less than the non hybrid equivalent that would otherwise be out of reach.

Whenever I go back to the office it would be a cheap way of running the car/suv for daily driving and a way to go to Donegal/Cork from Dublin without having any worry about range.

The vorsprung edition of these has basically all the spec you can get. The Q7 had a mid cycle refresh about a year ago so no doubt will be updated again in another 2-3 years. The interior did have a decent upgrade though with all the new touch screens.

The Model 3 is a pain in the ass for getting small children into car seats, which has me thinking about changing. Also as the family grows the extra space of an large suv will be great for trips back home.

Actually the vrt will probably be 9% on this as the co2 is between 50 and 80. Either way it’s pretty cheap and won’t make a big difference in cost.

digiman wrote: »
    I wouldn’t say plug in hybrid is my thing, but it’s definitely a cheap way to get into a high powered petrol car/suv for a lot less than the non hybrid equivalent that would otherwise be out of reach.

Whenever I go back to the office it would be a cheap way of running the car/suv for daily driving and a way to go to Donegal/Cork from Dublin without having any worry about range.

The vorsprung edition of these has basically all the spec you can get. The Q7 had a mid cycle refresh about a year ago so no doubt will be updated again in another 2-3 years. The interior did have a decent upgrade though with all the new touch screens.

The Model 3 is a pain in the ass for getting small children into car seats, which has me thinking about changing. Also as the family grows the extra space of an large suv will be great for trips back home.

X5 45e would be similar to import too, no?
    It is thought to be the best plug in suv as far as I have read. Gets some great reviews. Five seat only though.

Yeah, overall I would rather the X5 45e, but the boot in the Q7 looks a fair bit bigger. X5 does have around double the range of the Q7 though.

Will take a Q7 for a spin in the next couple of weeks to see what I think of them and also try and get an extended spin in an X5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

JoeA3 wrote: »
    I don’t think they’re doing an SE on the 4 series anymore.

The suspension is SE for them even though they're only available in M Sport spec.

So much for all the marketing spiel BMW were making about this being much sportier than the 3 series on which it is based:rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,962 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

maybe im wrong but would you get a current model x45e in for similar to the Q7, if thats the case id be going for that, they will both depreciate but the q7 will depreciate harder when the new model gets released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Wailin

I've been looking at changing wheels on the 540i the last few weeks, since I now plan on keeping it i may as well spruce it up a bit. Strangely, even with the m sport plus pack, bmw never put m sport alloys on the car until the lci model came out. Instead, they are bmw individual.

The choices are not great and I'm not really sure what best suits the colour, maybe the two tone black. The m550i alloys are in cerium grey which is unfortunate as they would probably be the nicest option if in ferric grey or even silver.

50663926258_677eb7385d_c.jpg

50664669551_2740bd56a0_c.jpg

50664669576_75929012da_c.jpg

Or there's these 669m wheels which were the m performance upgrade for the pre lci

50664749107_899f1e5ba2_c.jpg

Opinions lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,962 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

the ones you have or the bottom set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Second set would be my preference, I think they look lovely. Not really a fan of the super thin spoked wheels BMW is going with.

Cyrus wrote: »
    the ones you have or the bottom set.

+1 ......... other two options don't look great IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,609 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

From those choices I'd rather keep what's on it. Personally given the money BMW would want for any of those I just wouldn't see them as an improvement.

I'd buy from a third party bazz, like alloy wheels direct. Would not go near a bmw dealer for alloys. I'd be looking at around 3k. The dearest are the m performance 669 at €3700 and cheapest are the set below mine at €2700. M550i set are €3300.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

I like the ones you have already most, which is maybe not what you want to hear. What about doing something with the exhaust instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,678 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

did you get mppk in the end? know you got a quote for it before

vintagevrs wrote: »
    I like the ones you have already most, which is maybe not what you want to hear. What about doing something with the exhaust instead?

Yes that's also something I've been considering and I'd probably get more out of the car than changing alloys.

It's £3500 up north, so €3900, for the full mppsk. Priced down south its €5500....

Wailin wrote: »
    I've been looking at changing wheels on the 540i the last few weeks, since I now plan on keeping it i may as well spruce it up a bit. Strangely, even with the m sport plus pack, bmw never put m sport alloys on the car until the lci model came out. Instead, they are bmw individual.

The choices are not great and I'm not really sure what best suits the colour, maybe the two tone black. The m550i alloys are in cerium grey which is unfortunate as they would probably be the nicest option if in ferric grey or even silver.

50663926258_677eb7385d_c.jpg

50664669551_2740bd56a0_c.jpg

50664669576_75929012da_c.jpg

Or there's these 669m wheels which were the m performance upgrade for the pre lci

50664749107_899f1e5ba2_c.jpg

Opinions lads?
    Stick with the current alloys. They are plenty special enough.
    The car already looks great and doesn't need any changes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,921 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Well im one for factory options only so i say leave it alone.

Don’t like the alloy wheels! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,604 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Not that I have the money but I wouldn't pay 100k for that car never mind 203k. Horrible idea, horrible car. Although I quite like the standard X5 there's just something that shouts abomination about that one with that engine at that price.

Another watchable video from volkswizard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭maddness

Yes that's also something I've been considering and I'd probably get more out of the car than changing alloys.

It's £3500 up north, so €3900, for the full mppsk. Priced down south its €5500....

Keep the wheels on the car, those 20’s on your car are lovely and the price to change is just too high.
    Get yourself a BM3 for the car, it really wakes up the B58.

Another watchable video from volkswizard

Just watched that.
    The S3 is not much of a step forward design wise and quality has gone down which was its usp.

Just watched that.
    The S3 is not much of a step forward design wise and quality has gone down which was its usp.

I’m a big BMW fan but I’d have that S3 over the M135i. It’s a much nicer design and I’d imagine the dsg box would be a lot nicer too. I also can’t get over the mini SUV looks of the new 1 Series either, it’s a pig of a yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Spotted this on another forum ;)

IMG-20201130-WA0001.jpg

.... I'll stop torturing ye all now with the wee ford

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Spotted this on another forum ;)

IMG-20201130-WA0001.jpg

.... I'll stop torturing ye all now with the wee ford
    Don’t put me off anymore!
    I’m trying to get a dealer to find me a m135i to test drive but can’t even get one to send me an accurate price list so maybe I’ll end up in a Ford too but from past experience they don’t try to hard to sell anything that isn’t run of the mill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭elbyrneo

Looking to update my 2nd car, something quick and fun but must be able to seat 5 when needed. Budget between 20k to 30k depending on much i love it, I wont be buying until March so Brexit might put a stop on UK import which is my current plan.

Was between a CLA45 AMG Shooting Brake (silly fast, looks great, likely out of budget though), and an Audi S3 Sportback or Saloon (the more "sensible" option, i'm not keen on the Golf R looks) , but recently came across the Jaguar XE S.

It has a 3.0 litre V6, is RWD unlike the above, is more akin to the M3 in that regard i guess but obv cheaper. Here's one for example: autotrader UK

335bhp V6 Petrol, 8speed Auto, 0-60mph takes 4.9 seconds so swift and sounds like fun to drive being RWD too. 20k/gbp seems to get a reasonably low mileage 2015/16 or so model.

Of course it's not listed on VRT website (grrrr) , but emissions are 194g so it aint going to be pretty, nor is the tax. Have not looked into service costs or Insurance either yet.
    I do small mileage on the 2nd car so fuel consumption is irrelevant. It's really about fun and being happy seeing the car!

Anyone any knowledge / opinions on the car? Not sure if many in Ireland at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Another vote here for the wheels you have on it already Wailin. The ones in the bottom picture look nice but the others aren't great.

elbyrneo wrote: »
    Looking to update my 2nd car, something quick and fun but must be able to seat 5 when needed. Budget between 20k to 30k depending on much i love it, I wont be buying until March so Brexit might put a stop on UK import which is my current plan.

Was between a CLA45 AMG Shooting Brake (silly fast, looks great, likely out of budget though), and an Audi S3 Sportback or Saloon (the more "sensible" option, i'm not keen on the Golf R looks) , but recently came across the Jaguar XE S.

It has a 3.0 litre V6, is RWD unlike the above, is more akin to the M3 in that regard i guess but obv cheaper. Here's one for example: autotrader UK

335bhp V6 Petrol, 8speed Auto, 0-60mph takes 4.9 seconds so swift and sounds like fun to drive being RWD too. 20k/gbp seems to get a reasonably low mileage 2015/16 or so model.

Of course it's not listed on VRT website (grrrr) , but emissions are 194g so it aint going to be pretty, nor is the tax. Have not looked into service costs or Insurance either yet.
    I do small mileage on the 2nd car so fuel consumption is irrelevant. It's really about fun and being happy seeing the car!

Anyone any knowledge / opinions on the car? Not sure if many in Ireland at all.

If you buy one be prepared to own it forever and to get to know your local service department very well.