If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Leinster Championship is dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Rock77

I think Dublin GAA will need to consider it carefully. The footballers have won 8 out of 10 All Irelands. That kind of dominance (which is likely to continue if no change happens) will make the competition in its current guise unviable realistically. In that scenario, the GAA will be forced to act to address the dominance (whether that be splitting the county into 4 etc.)

My point was that it is actually in their own best interests to try engineer it so that hurling takes a bit more precedence. I think a situation where Dublin footballers win 5 and hurlers win 3 in a decade is a bit more tenable than footballers winning 8 in a decade. Its the same number of titles overall for the county but the spread means that there is more semblance of competition.

I just can’t see anyone in Dublin GAA saying ‘we’re too good lads, we need to win less so they don’t split the county’

Surely they should continue being the best they can be and not worry about hypothetical situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

ShyMets wrote: »
    My post was in jest. Splitting Dublin does nothing to solve the overall issues of the GAA.

People point to the Leinster Championship and rightly point out that its a one horse race. They will refer back to the late 90's and early 00's and say look how competitive it was. And they're right but thats the exception. Leinster has been dominated by Dublin and Meath with other teams occasionally challenging.

Whats happening now is one team has had a prolonged series of dominance. This does need to be addressed.

But lets depart from the fallacy that Leinster was always some sort of competitive gem in the Provincial structure
    Fair enough. Yeah youre spot on in saying splitting Dublin doesnt solve much. It wont get most counties near winning a leinster title and the late 90s/early 00s are an outlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

With talk of Fingal and other areas and hypothetical splits, here's something to consider, with some elements of it being reality and some being just hypothetical too.

The traditional county of Dublin hasn't even existed in legal and administrative terms since 1994. That's an absolute fact.

The Local Government (Dublin) Act of 1993 legislated that from 1st January 1994, the former County Dublin would cease to exist, and in its place would be formed three new administrative counties (Fingal, South Dublin, and Dun Laoghaire/Rathdown) and a borough area of Dublin city.

The traditional "County Dublin" continued to operate in GAA, under the terms of the GAA Rule Book, which sets out structures for County Board, inter-county competitions, etc.

However, the GAA Rule Book doesn't actually define its interpretation of the word "county". And in the absence of an alternative GAA definition, then legal logic suggests that the county boundaries as prescribed in the law of the land should apply in GAA terms too.

So hypothetically, a good barrister could probably put up a good argument along these lines in the High Court, if anybody gave him/her the brief to do so. And it could possibly be ruled that "Dublin" have been operating illegally in inter-county circles since 1994, as no "County Dublin" has actually existed since then.

Could even end up expunging all "Dublin" successes since then, in the same way that all of Lance Armstrong's "victories" in the Tour de France were scrubbed from the record.

Anybody want to do a whiparound for a good barrister? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭major interest

Rock77 wrote: »
    I just can’t see anyone in Dublin GAA saying ‘we’re too good lads, we need to win less so they don’t split the county’

Surely they should continue being the best they can be and not worry about hypothetical situations.

I'm not sure they are at the best they can be in hurling though. When they won that Leinster hurling in 2013 and nearly made the All Ireland final, I would have definitely pegged them to have made more progress in the following years than they have done. Even at minor and U-20, they haven't been particularly successful considering the player pool they have.

Conversely, in the football they have absolutely powered ahead. I don't know the ins and outs of the Dublin GAA board but if I were involved I'd certainly be thinking there is room for improvement on the hurling side. A rebalance towards the hurling might have the knock on effect of slightly damping down the football dominance but if that resulted in a big breakthrough in hurling I would say it was worth it.

But I do agree, all any county can do is maximize the resource available to them (player pool, financial, support base) and Dublin are no different in that regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,330 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

With talk of Fingal and other areas and hypothetical splits, here's something to consider, with some elements of it being reality and some being just hypothetical too.

The traditional county of Dublin hasn't even existed in legal and administrative terms since 1994. That's an absolute fact.

The Local Government (Dublin) Act of 1993 legislated that from 1st January 1994, the former County Dublin would cease to exist, and in its place would be formed three new administrative counties (Fingal, South Dublin, and Dun Laoghaire/Rathdown) and a borough area of Dublin city.

The traditional "County Dublin" continued to operate in GAA, under the terms of the GAA Rule Book, which sets out structures for County Board, inter-county competitions, etc.

However, the GAA Rule Book doesn't actually define its interpretation of the word "county". And in the absence of an alternative GAA definition, then legal logic suggests that the county boundaries as prescribed in the law of the land should apply in GAA terms too.

So hypothetically, a good barrister could probably put up a good argument along these lines in the High Court, if anybody gave him/her the brief to do so. And it could possibly be ruled that "Dublin" have been operating illegally in inter-county circles since 1994, as no "County Dublin" has actually existed since then.

Could even end up expunging all "Dublin" successes since then, in the same way that all of Lance Armstrong's "victories" in the Tour de France were scrubbed from the record.

Anybody want to do a whiparound for a good barrister? ;)

Seems like you're;

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Seems like you're;

LOL. Maybe so. And I did say it was hypothetical.

But it's also a fact that the courts have made binding rulings on certain GAA operations and procedures in the past. It would be an interesting one if somebody decided to go that way with this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

LOL. Maybe so. And I did say it was hypothetical.

But it's also a fact that the courts have made binding rulings on certain GAA operations and procedures in the past. It would be an interesting one if somebody decided to go that way with this one.

Hypothetical there is a case there. But if a county board did take the case the optics would look awful.

Sour grapes wouldn't even cover it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'm not sure they are at the best they can be in hurling though. When they won that Leinster hurling in 2013 and nearly made the All Ireland final, I would have definitely pegged them to have made more progress in the following years than they have done. Even at minor and U-20, they haven't been particularly successful considering the player pool they have.

Conversely, in the football they have absolutely powered ahead. I don't know the ins and outs of the Dublin GAA board but if I were involved I'd certainly be thinking there is room for improvement on the hurling side. A rebalance towards the hurling might have the knock on effect of slightly damping down the football dominance but if that resulted in a big breakthrough in hurling I would say it was worth it.

But I do agree, all any county can do is maximize the resource available to them (player pool, financial, support base) and Dublin are no different in that regard.

I'd say this as someone who prefers hurling: If you look at successful dual counties there's usually a geographic split between hurling and foootball. Not the case in Dublin, its all football first. There's very few hurling only clubs or clubs where hurling is the dominant code

Doubt you'll ever see Dublin have much hurling success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

jmayo wrote: »
    Now to be fair underage soccer in Wicklow is a disaster as well and that would be why your mate's son is playing his soccer in Dublin leagues.
    I know of one instance where u16/u17 team travelled the length of the county for match. Both teams had warmed up and togged out for 3 pm kick off, but no sign of ref.
    Someone from home club phoned Wicklow League to be told "oh yeah the ref had to cancel this morning and we didn't have replacement".
    They couldn't be ar**d to let either club know so one travelled an hour and both wasted their saturday afternoon.

That is the type of shyte Wicklow are at in soccer and in GAA.
    Bunch of useless feckless halfwits seem to always end up running stuff in that county and all the hard work the grassroots do is wasted.
    That issue with ref is far from a wicklow gaa, GAA, issue. Happens all the tme in all sports. Its happened to me coaching and as a ref in rugby....
    I can't argue with that fair point. Plus as the country lads grow up they end up setting up clubs, or being integral parts to the life of Dublin GAA clubs and the cycle continues Dublin get stronger.

But I was thinking by their proximity to Dublin surely it gives Meath and Kildare advantages as many are dormitory towns and so on.Leading to the big smoke.

Maybe a tweak in the rules in the GAA for Kildare and Meath? Because there must be load of players falling through the cracks GAA wise who come up to Dublin to work and it is too difficult for them to travel home to play for their home club.

Because I believe for any province to be considered a proper competition there should be at least three competitive counties. Otherwise it is a waste of time with either two teams dominating in a duopoly or in Dublin's case one team.
    If there is not three competitive counties in each province. They should either be scrapped or reformed.

I would have the main AI as follows:

Donegal, Mayo and Galway as the three in 'Province 1'
    Tyrone, Monaghan, Kildare in 'Province 2'
    Kerry, Dublin, Cork in another 'Province 3'
    Tipp, Meath, Cavan in another 'Province 4'

Each province has a home and away group phase of at least 4 games each

The top two of each group go towards the AI QF's which are knock out. An open draw QF would be ideal and keep the whole thing a bit random.

Based on NFL rating and team performances on a 2/3 year cycle the leagues can be rejigged. No backdoor or any of that craic.
    You dont need to scrap the provinces or reform them. Keep provinces as they are but change their role in the all ireland. Main portion of all ireland should be league/group based. Its crazy that all competitions start and are completed before the next really starts. Thayt needs to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Enquiring

One thing that can't be ignored is that it's not just one area of Dublin GAA that has improved. Their senior footballers have obviously dominated but so have their female counterparts. Also, their underage results have changed dramatically and their club teams. This shows the effect the money has had across the board.

It seems to be gathering huge momentum now. Soon enough the mainstream media will have to start discussing it and splitting Dublin will come into serious consideration. There probably will be a need to have an investigation into the origins of the funding. Was it all above board? Bertie Ahern and Maria Bailey's father were involved. And with the Dublin County Boards refusal to release their accounts, it all seems very murky.

Enquiring wrote: »
    One thing that can't be ignored is that it's not just one area of Dublin GAA that has improved. Their senior footballers have obviously dominated but so have their female counterparts. Also, their underage results have changed dramatically and their club teams. This shows the effect the money has had across the board.

It seems to be gathering huge momentum now. Soon enough the mainstream media will have to start discussing it and splitting Dublin will come into serious consideration. There probably will be a need to have an investigation into the origins of the funding. Was it all above board? Bertie Ahern and Maria Bailey's father were involved. And with the Dublin County Boards refusal to release their accounts, it all seems very murky.

You forgot to mention the Magdalen Laundries, the Mountjoy breakout and Nicky Kelly in your conspiracy.

What conspiracy? Bertie Ahern as Minister for Finance and John Bailey as Dublin County Board chairman met up to put the plan into place way back in the late 90's. The Dublin County Board have also not released their financial accounts.

url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fmakeameme.org%2Fmeme%2Fnow-theres-a-5ac66b&psig=AOvVaw25i1kTkqRffDhtg8jWUIQz&ust=1606665365798000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=0CAIQjRxqFwoTCLCBhYjNpe0CFQAAAAAdAAAAABAD

now-theres-a-5ac66b.jpg

What conspiracy? Bertie Ahern as Minister for Finance and John Bailey as Dublin County Board chairman met up to put the plan into place way back in the late 90's. The Dublin County Board have also not released their financial accounts.

Right. I thought this was about Leinster football. Didnt think I'd stumbled into the conspiracy thread, but there ye go. Looks like Mayo got a poor return on Enda being taoiseach judging by your line.

Got to go now. Dublin ladies kicking off now. Hoping Berties investment pays off today!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

What do you mean murky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Rolo2010

Hypothetical there is a case there. But if a county board did take the case the optics would look awful.

Sour grapes wouldn't even cover it

It wouldn't work. The legal logic he refers to doesn't exsist. At most, a judge would advise the GAA to come up strict definition and they would just go with the traditional county boundaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

Come on, that is some spin on it.

Micko got his son Karl to move to to Kildare to play for them, just one example!

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-20345763.html

"Resigned to the fact he would not improve on the three championship appearances he made in the green and gold over 1992 and 1993, nor the nine league appearances he made in ’93 scoring 3-21, (Karl) O’Dwyer parted from Kerry in 1997.

A few months after he secured a teaching job in Rathangan - before moving to Confey where he continues to work today - he was a Kildare player under the management of his father Mick."

When Micko managed Wicklow didn't he poach one of Carlow's best players Thomas Walsh?

https://hoganstand.com/county/kildare/article/index/14281

Micko was notorious for the 'transfer market'.

He was cute hoor worked his celebrity well, for the good of his teams.

I give you Ryan O Dwyer, Declan Darcy, John Timmons, Ciaran Barr. Will I carry on?

I'm sure you'll have an excuse for each one. You're proving very good at that.

Right. I thought this was about Leinster football. Didnt think I'd stumbled into the conspiracy thread, but there ye go. Looks like Mayo got a poor return on Enda being taoiseach judging by your line.

Got to go now. Dublin ladies kicking off now. Hoping Berties investment pays off today!!!

Which is the conspiracy? Bertie and Bailey or Dublin County Board not releasing their accounts?

The murky business your alleging. Any proof or are you just trying to spin a web?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

My post was in jest. Splitting Dublin does nothing to solve the overall issues of the GAA.

People point to the Leinster Championship and rightly point out that its a one horse race. They will refer back to the late 90's and early 00's and say look how competitive it was. And they're right but thats the exception. Leinster has been dominated by Dublin and Meath with other teams occasionally challenging.

Whats happening now is one team has had a prolonged series of dominance. This does need to be addressed.

But lets depart from the fallacy that Leinster was always some sort of competitive gem in the Provincial structure

The roll of honour does not back up this point.

The most competitive period was the 17 seasons from 1935 to 1951. Seven different counties won Leinster Championships, Meath five, Laois four, Louth three, Dublin two, Kildare, Wexford and Carlow one each. This is the golden era of competition within Leinster.

1997 to 2005 is the second most competitive period.

Prior to that, only from 1983 was it sown up between Dublin and Meath.

Offaly won three Leinster Championships in each of the 60s, 70s and 80s. Three different counties won in the 70s. Four different counties won in the 1960s: Dublin three, Meath three, Offaly three and Longford one. The 1950s also had four different counties winning, and I've already outlined from 1935 above.

The simple facts are that the periods where two counties dominate are the less common and the Leinster championship had many very competitive periods where numerous different counties managed to get over the line. It really was a competitive gem in the provincial structure.

ArielAtom wrote: »
    What do you mean murky.

We all know about Bertie's history and the Bailey families dodginess. When you add in the omerta over the Dublin County Board's financial accounts, it's all very murky. It could all be above board but I think it deserves investigation for sure.

Go to your local Garda station with your concerns and see what they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Come on, that is some spin on it.

Micko got his son Karl to move to to Kildare to play for them, just one example!

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-20345763.html

"Resigned to the fact he would not improve on the three championship appearances he made in the green and gold over 1992 and 1993, nor the nine league appearances he made in ’93 scoring 3-21, (Karl) O’Dwyer parted from Kerry in 1997.

A few months after he secured a teaching job in Rathangan - before moving to Confey where he continues to work today - he was a Kildare player under the management of his father Mick."

When Micko managed Wicklow didn't he poach one of Carlow's best players Thomas Walsh?

https://hoganstand.com/county/kildare/article/index/14281

Micko was notorious for the 'transfer market'.

He was cute hoor worked his celebrity well, for the good of his teams.

So one example and that happens to be his own son who had actually started working and living in the county prior to playing for the county. That's hardly "scouring the country for anyone who would line out for them".

The other examples you might find, all two of them, also lived and worked in the county. What he actually did was scour the county, not the country.

And I'm insufficiently familiar with what went on in other counties to comment on them.

The murky business your alleging. Any proof or are you just trying to spin a web?

Again, which part do you not believe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Stop beating around the bush and either state your accusations on stay quiet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

This type of nonsense really annoys me. You see it posted quite a bit. The suggestion that there was and perhaps still is some underhand financial activity going on with the Dublin County Board.

Yet when you ask for proof you're met with the sound of Crickets

What accusations? I'm saying this deserves investigation. Look at the characters involved and the amount of money that has been taken for this scheme. Millions of taxpayers money I might add. I think it'd be of public interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,544 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

The strangest thing to happen with Dublins accounts apart from they are kept very much under wraps was when they held a fundraising dinner selling tickets for 2500 euro a table and we’re going to have an auction at it and a big glitzy night. Then when the Dublin accounts leaked on st Sylvester’s website for that year the total amount for fundraising was 59k.

No one asked any questions in our esteemed media of course. Could be completely fine what happened to that money but makes no sense.

This type of nonsense really annoys me. You see it posted quite a bit. The suggestion that there was and perhaps still is some underhand financial activity going on with the Dublin County Board.

Yet when you ask for proof you're met with the sound of Crickets

Any reason why they won't release their accounts? Anything to hide?