Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Had it out this morning again on a familiar back road. Previous car had 19s with low profile tyres, and with the weight of the diesel hitting the odd lump or bump would make me wince if it caught me off guard. The ford just eats the stuff up with no jarring in the cabin. This is probably just down to smaller rims and more tyre but it makes it more enjoyable to tip along. I've driven the BMW quick on those roads before and you're constantly braking hard for known bad spots on the road, then back on it. Kids have complained they felt I'll before with all the back and forth. Need to relearn this now as the ford takes them without feeling like you're wrecking the car which is great. Driving with the windows down on a cold Sunday morning with only the odd runner/walker out was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭padyjoe

vintagevrs wrote: »
    I picked up the little fiesta this morning and so far so good. It's a 2018 st2 in frozen white with some extras, including a pan roof and the LED head lights.
    So all and all, thumbs up!

No, I don't want this, too dirty, I'm green. With envy!
    Well wear and enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭SummerK

Had it out this morning again on a familiar back road. Previous car had 19s with low profile tyres, and with the weight of the diesel lump hitting the odd lump or bump would make me winch if it caught me off guard. The ford just eats the stuff up with no jarring in the cabin. This is probably just down to smaller rims and more tyre but it makes it more enjoyable to tip along. I've driven the BMW quick on those roads before and you're constantly braking hard for known bad spots on the road, then back on it. Kids have complained they felt I'll before with all the back and forth. Need to relearn this now as the ford takes them without feeling like you're wrecking the car which is great. Driving with the windows down on a cold Sunday morning with only the odd runner/walker out was great.

Many congrats vintage. We need pics of your new ride 😀
    Well wear.

Ford do a few versions of the ST. The one I bought is an ST2 and the wheels let it down a little, they look like this:

2018_Ford_Fiesta_ST-2_Turbo_1.5_%281%29.jpg

The ST3 comes with these ones, which are 18s and I like them:
    715_ffspor_2.JPG

And then Ford released a performance edition of the ST which is basically an ST3 with most of the options ticked, unique orange colour, performance wheels and coilovers. Turns out you can buy the coilovers and wheels from Ford directly. I had a little look at my front tyres today and they are on the way out so will need changed anyway. Anyway, thought feck it and just placed an order with Ford UK and just bought these wheels for what seems like a good price, and they'll be here on Friday......oops

Capture.png

.............. Anyway, thought feck it and just placed an order with Ford UK and just bought these wheels for what seems like a good price, and they'll be here on Friday......oops

Fabulous :cool:
    They look wheely great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Anyway, thought feck it and just placed an order with Ford UK and just bought these wheels for what seems like a good price, and they'll be here on Friday......oops

YES!
    Love this attitude :D

Well wear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,239 ✭✭✭shanec1928

shanec1928 wrote: »

Not sure I'll ever do this to be honest. I find the power in the car at the minute suits it and me grand, I must be getting on. Need to sort out the tyres wheels first as it too easily spins the front wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Wailin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,962 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Rear looks good

Back half looks like a c class coupe and front is pure Alfa Romeo

I love BMWs but I don’t think that will ever look well, can only imagine how bad the se will look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,566 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Cyrus wrote: »
    Rear looks good

Back half looks like a c class coupe and front is pure Alfa Romeo

I love BMWs but I don’t think that will ever look well, can only imagine how bad the se will look.

I don’t think they’re doing an SE on the 4 series anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭chalky_ie

Cars need to go back to curves, new cars are so angular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

conor-w wrote: »
    Cars need to go back to curves, new cars are so angular.

I'd say the opposite, compare the e36/e46 to that and it has too many curves if anything, the design is very fussy. I really think the best (mass produced) design bmw ever had was the late msport e39.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭chalky_ie

I'd say the opposite, compare the e36/e46 to that and it has too many curves if anything, the design is very fussy. I really think the best (mass produced) design bmw ever had was the late msport e39.

I don't know if I've phrased my statement badly, or you've misinterpreted it, but we are on the same page. Simple lines and gentle curves(not a million different ones) is what I am talking about.

Showing your ages lads :D

Courier is delivering new wheels today, tyre place has tyres waiting so looking forward to getting the car sorted now. Will prob be Monday though as courier site is saying delivery this evening.

Pics soon please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭Technique

Wailin wrote: »
    Pics soon please!

Saw it in the flesh last night, lovely looking car. Looking forward to seeing photos with the new wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Technique wrote: »
    Saw it in the flesh last night, lovely looking car. Looking forward to seeing photos with the new wheels.

Yes
    Pictures please when the new wheels are on.

Small clip of car starting up...
    Kind of looks like an S-max :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,609 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭padyjoe

Is that a wrap or a sunroof on top, vintagevrs?
    I'm not really convinced it's good to have, doesn't make the car top-heavy biased?

bazz26 wrote: »

https://www.completecar.ie/car-news/article/10416/All-new-2021-BMW-M3-and-M4-get-510hp

Pricing from about 120k apparently but new vrt rates may have changed that.
    I don't think the budget changes have helped any performance oriented cars.

padyjoe wrote: »
    Is that a wrap or a sunroof on top, vintagevrs?
    I'm not really convinced it's good to have, doesn't make the car top-heavy biased?

It's a car I take the kids to school in and go get groceries in, I don't think I'd notice that in fairness and it makes the car a much nicer place to be in my opinion.

Sealed the new wheels today when it's easier now.

IMG-20201129-142635.jpg
    IMG-20201129-142652.jpg
    IMG-20201129-142722.jpg

Vrt appointment is this week. Would it make any sense to keep the old wheels on it for the apt? From memory all they do is check the vin and it shouldn't matter but don't want them applying a higher value to it for any reason.

Gorgeous wheels, they'll really transform the look of the car.

As regards the vrt , they won't check from my experience.

bazz26 wrote: »

Yeah I linked that here a few posts back too. Really not sure where they are getting 94k from though. I specced one up on the configurator with a much higher spec and was getting around 88k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭digiman

Anyone got any thoughts on the Q7 55/60 TFSI e?

Would like one better speced than this but these look great value. Would love to get a vorsprung edition one, they look class altogether.

£53k or €58.5k plus new VRT will be 7% so would allow about €6k for that. If nothing changed with importing cars next year could have one in for €65k for a nearly new Q7.

https://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/new/202006280611051?advertising-location=at_cars&year-from=2020&postcode=bt11aa&model=Q7&page=1&make=AUDI&fuel-type=Hybrid%20%E2%80%93%20Petrol%2FElectric%20Plug-in&include-delivery-option=on&onesearchad=Used&onesearchad=Nearly%20New&onesearchad=New

Carsfan is the man for this. I think he was looking at these before settling for the X5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,962 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

digiman wrote: »
    Anyone got any thoughts on the Q7 55/60 TFSI e?

Would like one better speced than this but these look great value. Would love to get a vorsprung edition one, they look class altogether.

£53k or €58.5k plus new VRT will be 7% so would allow about €6k for that. If nothing changed with importing cars next year could have one in for €65k for a nearly new Q7.

https://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/new/202006280611051?advertising-location=at_cars&year-from=2020&postcode=bt11aa&model=Q7&page=1&make=AUDI&fuel-type=Hybrid%20%E2%80%93%20Petrol%2FElectric%20Plug-in&include-delivery-option=on&onesearchad=Used&onesearchad=Nearly%20New&onesearchad=New

I presume the current q7 is near the end of its life so factor that in, also they are very spec sensitive, the one you linked looks pretty unimpressive you’d need a black pack s line minimum with 21 inch wheels I reckon .

Wailin wrote: »
    Yeah I linked that here a few posts back too. Really not sure where they are getting 94k from though. I specced one up on the configurator with a much higher spec and was getting around 88k.

Configurator is probably wrong.
    From what I can see it is not set up for January 2021 pricing taking new vrt rates into account. They still have the nedc emissions on it when it really should be the new wltp rates as that is what is going to be used. the UK site has the proper emissions but obviously not the right pricing.
    I have been speccing up a M135i and it is a pain. I am waiting for the dealer to come back to me with the proper figures. It is a pain as the standard car has 169g/km but spec the plus pack with 19" wheels brings it to 172g/km which is a new vrt band and makes the whole car substantially more expensive.
    The M440i probably has gone up in price with the new rates too.