Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVIII- 71,942 ROI(2,050 deaths) 51,824 NI (983 deaths) (28/11) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Cork2021 wrote: »
    They certainly don’t help themselves going on radio telling people ye are being very bold and lockdown will need to continue. I posted Dr Mary Faviers interview on morning ireland on Tuesday. It was a disgrace the way she spoke.

Not for the first time. I think this level 5 circuit breaker was a good idea but the messaging is all over the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,806 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Handed in my last docket years ago. That McDonkey is a lame one, isn't he. Who would ever dream of backing him, except the perennial losers that are RTÉ.

He ran a blinder today lad.Elliot has him on track for cheltenham

• Registered Users Posts: 8,761 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The medical dictatorship in Ireland is getting some hammering on the radio and TV lately. The tide certainly is turning against NPHET.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,777 ✭✭✭Polar101

Sure here are some:
    1. Close your business indefinitely and we won’t give you any idea whatsoever when you can reopen so you can be totally unprepared when we drop the bomb at the 11th hour. Or better still, you won’t be able to reopen at all as we’ll make sure these lockdowns keep rolling on with no alternative plan.

I'm not an angry man myself, so no comment on the rest of the points, but the opening/closing businesses point is definitely something I'd completely agree with. It hasn't been handled well at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Tony’s going to be calling the numbers next week wearing a fur coat,after they gas all the minks he gave the death sentence to.
    Waste not want not and all that

They'll be able to keep all the windows open.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Cork2021

The medical dictatorship in Ireland is getting some hammering on the radio and TV lately. The tide certainly is turning against NPHET.

You could sense that a small bit with Miriam on prime time. She wasn’t letting the very forceful Aoife McLysaght speak over your man(can’t think of his name) she was on his side about letting retail trade open. I think Kieran Cuddihy on newstalk is probably the most balanced and talks the most sense about the situation as did Ivan Yates when he was on air love him or hate him!

• Registered Users Posts: 37,716 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

It's people who haven't any foresight who are against them. I'm happy to live safely until we have a vaccine and can get back to a real normal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭gipi

Another hospital confirms an outbreak - Loughlinstown, South Dublin

Asymptomatic patient on a ward developed symptoms, tested positive and over 20 patients are now positive.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/more-than-20-patients-in-south-dublin-hospital-test-positive-for-covid-19-1.4414171

• Registered Users Posts: 14,369 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

A positive message? You know something like to boost morale within the country but they don’t seem to be capable of that. I’ll go back to late June when we had 3/4 cases a day and no deaths but they were still very concerned. No wonder people switched off

But the thing is they do say positive things in the briefings. Professor Nolan was pointing out that while the numbers have stalled that, relative to where we were, that's an amazing achievement and indicates a huge effort and sacrifice.

Tony Holohan talked at length about how were one of the best performing countries in Europe in terms of incidence of the virus and once acknowledged that it was down to huge public effort. They do thank the public and acknowledge the efforts A LOT. Seriously, next time look out for it - you'll be surprised.

Both of them were insistent that we can reduce the incidence further with sustained efforts over the next two weeks - at no time did they paint a negative outcome as a foregone conclusion.

A morale boost? A morale boost was surely saying to people, come on, we need to redouble our efforts and try to bring this thing down to a manageable and sustainable level for December - they've always led with the message that this can be achieved by people being proactive and they've never been fatalistic in their message about this.

What else can they say? Relax lads, we're doing well, everybody forget about restrictions? Is that what people want to hear - great, but it isn't true. They simply have to keep on message about sticking to the advice.

Okay, I'll admit that the pressers aren't laugh a minute and there are a lot of sentences prefaced with the words "Don't", "Can't" or "Shouldn't" - but there's always nuance and praise, alongside the advice, in what they say.

Interesting from FG...

Interesting, it's good to have debate on possible actions on how to manage this pandemic.

But I do find it disingenuous when FG acts like they are the opposition.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Arghus wrote: »
    But the thing is they do say positive things in the briefings. Professor Nolan was pointing out that while the numbers have stalled that, relative to where we were, that's an amazing achievement and indicates a huge effort and sacrifice.

Tony Holohan talked at length about how were one of the best performing countries in Europe in terms of incidence of the virus and once acknowledged that it was down to huge public effort. They do thank the public and acknowledge the efforts A LOT. Seriously, next time look out for it - you'll be surprised.

Both of them were insistent that we can reduce the incidence further with sustained efforts over the next two weeks - at no time did they paint a negative outcome as a foregone conclusion.

A morale boost? A morale boost was surely saying to people, come on, we need to redouble our efforts and try to bring this thing down to a manageable and sustainable level for December - they've always led with the message that this can be achieved by people being proactive and they've never been fatalistic in their message about this.

What else can they say? Relax lads, we're doing well, everybody forget about restrictions? Is that what people want to hear - great, but it isn't true. They simply have to keep on message about sticking to the advice.

Okay, I'll admit that the pressers aren't laugh a minute and there are a lot of sentences prefaced with the words "Don't", "Can't" or "Shouldn't" - but there's always nuance and praise, alongside the advice, in what they say.

How is it an amazing achievement to reduce case numbers in a Level 5 lockdown?

A positive message? You know something like to boost morale within the country but they don’t seem to be capable of that. I’ll go back to late June when we had 3/4 cases a day and no deaths but they were still very concerned. No wonder people switched off

I don't know if the message is the issue - it's just that a lot of people don't want to listen to authorities. It's the same with people we don't like - because by default we take a dislike to them, if they say or do something even a little negative we focus on that.

I'm not a communications expert, so I wouldn't know how to present what NPHET is trying to communicate in a way that would make people listen to them, or in a way that would stop offending people - because clearly a lot of people are offended by anything they say. Just to exaggerate a little, anything dr Holohan or dr Nolan says will offend someone enough that they'll post about it in this thread.

I take it "positive message" doesn't mean something like "today's best county is again Longford, only 2 cases - well done Longford. Keep it up!" - at least I won't need that kind of stuff. Just wondering what it is that is missing? Or is it just that they're not saying "that's it, we're done with restrictions now"?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

I know it's an incredibly childish reaction, literally the definition of petulance and immature lashing out, and it's probably just because he's the visible public face of the whole thing but..

I'd really like to do a big open hand slap down on top of Tony holohans stupid bald head. Not even particularly hard, and it would be a mostly comedic moment.

Just can't wait to not have to see his sour face on every bit of media.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,452 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Will Yam wrote: »
    What nphet (nor anyone else) has satisfactorily explained is why the numbers upturned after 4 weeks of decline.

We have been told that when the R number is below 1 it reduces the spread of the virus. It came down, significantly, to somewhere in the region of 0.5 or 0.6.

So if the R number goes down why do the numbers go up?

Something doesn’t add up here.
    Asymptomatic cases that haven't been counted in the numbers as they haven't been tested but have unfortunately been spreading.
    That's the most obvious answer but there are plenty other caveats/variables involved.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,471 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

spookwoman wrote: »
    Might be an idea for the mods to open an "I hate NPHET and it's all their fault" Thread, because this thread is just about that now.

There is a thread centered on NPHET already

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058110181

• Registered Users Posts: 14,369 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

robbiezero wrote: »
    How is it an amazing achievement to reduce case numbers in a Level 5 lockdown?

Well we're in a level 5 lockdown now and the numbers have levelled off, so it isn't a foregone conclusion that numbers will fall away to nothing even at level 5 - you still need a basic buy in from people limiting their contacts etc, etc and that's what Nolan was acknowledging, to go from 1200 cases a day to 400, is, regardless of the level of lockdown, built on people making individual decisions to do the right thing to try to contain the virus - and that does involve sacrifice. He acknowledged that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Heavily front loaded with the death rate with Covid ..

Fact is the IFR is rapidly decreasing and verging toward flu - new paper was stating around 0.14% IFR for CV19 - flu is ~0.1% .. other papers are showing around 0.2% ... Covid is more dangerous - but not as more as originally thought.

Facts are flu is MORE dangerous for kids then covid - check the numbers.
    About the same for young healthy adults and a lot worse for older compromised people - and these accounts for vast majority of deaths...

I know that dissapoints people like you, but these are the facts!!

FFS, that is exactly what I am talking about. :confused:
    2000 US citizens are going to be dead in 24 hours today from COVID19. So are you saying there is going to be a similar number of deaths from flu today in the US because of this "vergency"?

It’s not hating NPHET it’s the way they’re going about this.
    The language they’re using etc. We are adults and will do what is right but they’ll keep harping on about how concerned they are and we need to do better...

Unfortunately you just need to read a few threads on here to see that it is very difficult to keep everyone focused and/or caring.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,910 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Some people really need to grow up and be mature and patient.

Nphet are advising Gov, so Gov are taking their advice. Bring your anger back to Gov now.

But it’s really not worth it anymore, the myriad of vaccines is trundling towards us. Might not be tomorrow. But it is giving people a lot of hope.

Bide your time, be the adult in the room and look forward to a Covid free future.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭prunudo

Polar101 wrote: »
    I don't know if the message is the issue - it's just that a lot of people don't want to listen to authorities. It's the same with people we don't like - because by default we take a dislike to them, if they say or do something even a little negative we focus on that.

I'm not a communications expert, so I wouldn't know how to present what NPHET is trying to communicate in a way that would make people listen to them, or in a way that would stop offending people - because clearly a lot of people are offended by anything they say. Just to exaggerate a little, anything dr Holohan or dr Nolan says will offend someone enough that they'll post about it in this thread.

I take it "positive message" doesn't mean something like "today's best county is again Longford, only 2 cases - well done Longford. Keep it up!" - at least I won't need that kind of stuff. Just wondering what it is that is missing? Or is it just that they're not saying "that's it, we're done with restrictions now"?

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1329496235431129094?s=09

This is a perfect example of my issue with Tony Holahan and his messaging.
    We have health care, schools, construction, manufacturing, some retail and a limited public transport. Yet he is blaming busy roads as proof that we're not doing our bit.
    He just fires out remarks without realising that there are plenty of people who have genuine reasons to be doing whatever his latest gripe is.
    All that does is alienate your audience and people just loose interest in what he has to say.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Whitters22

niallo27 wrote: »
    Or open up a I love Tony and thou shalt not ever question nphet for yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Thierry12

gipi wrote: »

Asymptomatic patient on a ward developed symptoms, tested positive and over 20 patients are now positive.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/more-than-20-patients-in-south-dublin-hospital-test-positive-for-covid-19-1.4414171

Those hospitals are bringing the country to it's knees, absolute scandal

What the hell are they doing in there?

12,000 cases out of 70,000 Covid cases in Ireland are health care workers

In that article it says health care workers are self isolating over that patient.

Why are they self isolating?

Are they not wearing PPE all day?

PPE not fit for purpose?

Or are those eejits having chats to each other and socialising on site in the hospital's with no PPE?

If a health care worker is getting Covid at work they should be disciplined, simple as

If PPE works, no excuse for catching it at work.

prunudo wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1329496235431129094?s=09

This is a perfect example of my issue with Tony Holahan and his messaging.
    We have health care, schools, construction, manufacturing, some retail and a limited public transport. Yet he is blaming busy roads as proof that we're not doing our bit.
    He just fires out remarks without realising that there are plenty of people who have genuine reasons to be doing whatever his latest gripe is.
    All that does is alienate your audience and people just loose interest in what he has to say.

He made a complete hames of this....totally agree.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

What do people want? A pat on the head? A lollipop maybe? NPHET are not your parents, they give data and public health recommendations during a global pandemic that is killing 5000+ people a day.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Well we're in a level 5 lockdown now and the numbers have levelled off, so it isn't a foregone conclusion that numbers will fall away to nothing even at level 5 - you still need a basic buy in from people limiting their contacts etc, etc and that's what Nolan was acknowledging, to go from 1200 cases a day to 400, is, regardless of the level of lockdown, built on people making individual decisions to do the right thing to try to contain the virus - and that does involve sacrifice. He acknowledged that.

I think they call them restrictions more so than individual decisions.

Thierry12 wrote: »
    Those hospitals are bringing the country to it's knees, absolute scandal

What the hell are they doing in there?

12,000 cases out of 70,000 Covid cases in Ireland are health care workers

In that article it says health care workers are self isolating over that patient.

Why are they self isolating?

Are they not wearing PPE all day?

PPE not fit for purpose?

Or are those eejits having chats to each other and socialising on site in the hospital's with no PPE?

If a health care worker is getting Covid at work they should be disciplined, simple as

If PPE works, no excuse for catching it at work.

PPE isn't infallible, nor are the people who wear it.
    How do our numbers stack up with other countries?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Some people really need to grow up and be mature and patient.

Nphet are advising Gov, so Gov are taking their advice. Bring your anger back to Gov now.

But it’s really not worth it anymore, the myriad of vaccines is trundling towards us. Might not be tomorrow. But it is giving people a lot of hope.

Bide your time, be the adult in the room and look forward to a Covid free future.
    It just annoys me that when when somebody actually puts up some real information on COVID19, these keyboard warriors scramble with their calculators to come up with these ~0.1% ~0.2% statistics in an attempt to disprove it that mean absolutely nothing. And then half a dozen people thank them as if they were experts in something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Thierry12

kippy wrote: »
    PPE isn't infallible, nor are the people who wear it.
    How do our numbers stack up with other countries?

We were one of the worst

Hard to find modern data

https://www.inmo.ie/Home/Index/217/13581#:~:text=Ireland%20faces%20one%20of%20the,cases%20are%20in%20healthcare%20workers.%E2%80%9D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

How would you prefer them to deliver the message?

If you mean NPHET -NPHET shouldn't be delivering any messages - ever.

Our elected representatives should be delivering the messages they received from NPHET as NPHET work for them and in a round about way for every citizen in the country.

NPHET should not be releasing statements at all. Especially not the CMO who threw all those women involved in the cervical cancer to the wolves. Hes scum and shouldn't be involved in the health of the public at all.

Remember he was the one who advised AGAINST a review of the cervical cancer screening programme.
    We`ve very short memories here in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,942 ✭✭✭normanoffside

gipi wrote: »

That’s shambolic tbh. There’s only 100 beds in the hospital and already 22 patients have tested positive. How did the initial ‘asymptotic’ patient (who later developed symptoms) get placed on a public war without testing? How did the infection spread so much?