Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Lockdown: a second squirt will keep dat scrolling finger safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Clon63 wrote: »
    Ah thought yesterday was a good show. Moved along nicely. Thought Kathleen was a legend. Lost it a bit and then apologised graciously. Wonder was Joe lustening to see how its done Still no sign of the DMO apology.

Woke McDermott will be a happy bunny today His campaign to get Fairytale of New York banned has been somewhat of a success Joe's favourite network the BBBBBBBCCCC (well Radio1)thinks its too stark for listeners unfamiliar withthe song!!

Apparently they will have a different version where the offending line will be replaced by youre worn and youre haggard.... #saddayfortheparish

FFS.

He backtracked enormously when he gort rightly ridiculed for being a woke twat on that, nwhe'll feel empowered and the self-righteousness and smugness will be unbearable.

From 2-18 so to speak:
    Earlier today he released the statement on his Twitter and in it he said: "Given the widespread reaction, I wanted to clarify a few things.

"Firstly. Nobody on our team asked anyone at RTE for the song to be banned or censored. Lots of clickbait headlines suggesting such.

"We had a chat in the office which I tweeted about. It's a classic song and loved the world over.

"I know this. I get the dysfunctional characters and mayhem and trading of insults."

He continued: "My point was we beep out relatively harmless swear words all the time on radio to appease literally everyone.

"Ass, ****, ****, etc - and that is widely expected. If you play an unclean version of a song by mistake the complaints fly in.

"So, the idea of beeping one word on daytime radio didn't seem so radical -given this particular word packs a lot of punch for many people and is used as a powerful slur outside this song.

"I'm not ashamed to point that out, even if it's unpopular. Twitter is a place for exchanging opinions.

"We didn't campaign for anything in RTE, so they'll play it like they always have, so let's all breathe.

"The world will keep turning & I hope we'll all be sound to each other, the world needs more of that. Nollaig Shona," he finished.

xEoghan%20McDermott.jpg

giphy.gif

The term White Christmas should go too then while they are at it.

Plenty of White Christmases in RTE. Allegedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Clon63

Just reading on the BBC website that the original can still be played on Radio2 and 6Music but not on Radio 1 the cutting edge BBC music station and home to hardcore rap amongst the schedule. I am 44 so not too oldbut starting to think like my parents - the worlds gone mad {Ted}

From 2-13 so to speak but will we get a repeat twoday and dat?

OMG no! Imagine auld lads and wan discussing the vagaries of the XBOX or PS4 features with technophobe Joe? Not to mention they're not backwards compatible with existing games…..

Joe: And this PS4 you speak of, was there a PS3?
    Caller: Yes Joe.
    Joe: Wow. And a PS2?
    Joe: My God. And a PS1?
    Caller: Yes, Joe, but that was just called a Playstation.
    Joe: My God, it's all terrible confusing and all and anyways.
    Caller: Not really Joe.
    Joe: And the Xbox One then, that's the first Xbox then so to speak?
    Caller: No Joe, it's the second one.
    Joe: Wha? Whoy didn't they call it the Xbox 2 then?
    Caller: I don't know Joe.
    Joe: But how are people supposed to know the difference then? I mean if I go into a shop and there's an Xbox and an Xbox One beside each other how will i know which is which?
    Caller: Well the previous editions are discontinued Joe so that's highly unlikely.
    Joe: Well you say that caller but with all due respect peoplez duz be confused so dey do be do be abour all of this technology stuff. It's all terrible confusing so it is.
    Joe: What do these machines do anyway caller?
    Caller: Well essentially they're a complete home entertainment system in one box that allows for online gaming, multiplayer gaming, access to the EPG feature of your tv, Skype, web access, voice command and motion support alone with access to streaming sites and a multitude of other features Joe.
    Joe: A wha?

I could go on……...

POSSIBLY (but highly unlikley to be) on twodaze show so to speak......
    • More mixed messages for Irish peeple abroad and dat.
    • Lee-oh Varad-Carr and de deputy Tanaiste
    • "If yer on yer own ye can come home" so to speak - more rapping?
    • Dublin Malaga flight full of whackers
    • Noyiz again
    • Linda is a Moaning Michael Mee-shell
    • Herr Duffy talking over de clip

Super-camp outro.

From 2-13 so to speak but will we get a repeat twoday and dat?

OMG no! Imagine auld lads and wan discussing the vagaries of the XBOX or PS4 features with technophobe Joe? Not to mention they're not backwards compatible with existing games…..

Joe: And this PS4 you speak of, was there a PS3?
    Joe: Wow. And a PS2?
    Joe: My God. And a PS1?
    Caller: Yes, Joe, but that was just called a Playstation.
    Joe: My God, it's all terrible confusing and all and anyways.
    Joe: And the Xbox One then, that's the first Xbox then so to speak?
    Caller: No Joe, it's the second one.
    Joe: Wha? Whoy didn't they call it the Xbox 2 then?
    Caller: I don't know Joe.
    Joe: But how are people supposed to know the difference then? I mean if I go into a shop and there's an Xbox and an Xbox One beside each other how will i know which is which?
    Caller: Well the previous editions are discontinued Joe so that's highly unlikely.
    Joe: Well you say that caller but with all due respect peoplez duz be confused so dey do be do be abour all of this technology stuff. It's all terrible confusing so it is.
    Joe: What do these machines do anyway caller?
    Caller: Well essentially they're a complete home entertainment system in one box that allows for online gaming, multiplayer gaming, access to the EPG feature of your tv, Skype, web access, voice command and motion support alone with access to streaming sites and a multitude of other features Joe.
    Joe: A wha?

I could go on……...

Dat kind of caller doesn't be phoned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Xbox One was the third Xbox caller, the second was the Xbox 360.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

goose2005 wrote: »
    Xbox One was the third Xbox caller, the second was the Xbox 360.

Simon Harris wants to know if the 23 other boxes were any good....Abox, Bbox, Cbox, etc etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

FFS, caller, spend some money on a decent phone.

That's whoy de rest of us don't floy these times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,466 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

could they not have checked the phone line for the very first call ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,972 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

celebrating Whacker getting out of the joy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Nomads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Clon63

Why were you going to Malaga caller?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Nomads?

Tar Boiler Appreciation Society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

This be a cultural thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,466 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

how do you bring cans of cider onto a plane ? honestly don't believe it's possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    FFS, caller, spend some money on a decent phone.

It's the rte system. Not allowed use zoom out the usual direct dial system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,491 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Ethnic Minority?

Clon63 wrote: »
    Why were you going to Malaga caller?
    teacher needing some sun for his Mental Health

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭bmorrissey

The driver was gonna turn around and there'll be no Malaga for anyone :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Methinks this caller doesn’t like travelling with the riff-raff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

95% full flight to Malaga - jaysus

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Jesus the line is brutal

Do we know if these were of a certain ethnicity?

Our fine ethnic minority?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

vicwatson wrote: »
    95% full flight to Malaga - jaysus

Lucky fookers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Big Family Group

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,528 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

"Joe it's terrible. I was forced to get on a plane to my holiday home in Malaga."

howya boss...i mean jose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Was it obvious they were drinking alcohol ;)