Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions on onlyfans and adult entertainment industry

• Registered Users Posts: 35,696 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Kamu wrote: »
    Looking at instagram it seems to have been a mix of everything: Onlyfans, revenge porn, underage girls, girls not knowing that they were being filmed.

Just looked at twitter there now, and so many '' My heart is with those, OFs users, especially those under age who had their nudes leaked''

''
    person who leaked the Onlyfans nudes will be sleeping soundly tonight while those kids may be crying themselves to sleep''

''
    so sick hearing about all the Only fans irish girls (who most are UNDERAGE) having their nudes leaked. those men deserve time :''

goes on and one

WTF are kids doing on there in first place, no one is asking that, it's just

''aww i'm so sorry those kids had their nudes leaked ,WTF''

World is a fcked up place.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Gradius

Isn't that onlyfans thing like a soft porn website, essentially?

All this social media guff teaches boys/men to treat women as objects and become walking wallets, while it teaches girls/women to treat men as ATM's and to become objects.

It simply must be psychologically damaging.

Like all that influencer shoite, a growing pile of people being taught to have zero utility in life, gurn at a screen and get money for such low efforts.

What a pitiful waste of life, genuinely sad :/

Gradius wrote: »
    Isn't that onlyfans thing like a soft porn website, essentially?

All this social media guff teaches boys/men to treat women as objects and become walking wallets, while it teaches girls/women to treat men as ATM's and to become objects.

It simply must be psychologically damaging.

Like all that influencer shoite, a growing pile of people being taught to have zero utility in life, gurn at a screen and get money for such low efforts.

What a pitiful waste of life, genuinely sad :/

Eh, never on it, but it's hardcore, hardest of the hard, no regulation. It is what ever each person wants it, and some are twisted as fck.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Gradius wrote: »
    Isn't that onlyfans thing like a soft porn website, essentially?/

No, it's hardcore pornography for people who pay.

If someone sets up an only fans it 99%+ of the time means they are offering hardcore pornography.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,178 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

It should be banned,

can you imagine the debates in the Dail though...

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Kamu

Eh, never on it, but it's hardcore, hardest of the hard, no regulation. It is what ever each person wants it, and some are twisted as fck.

Onlyfans can be whatever the content creator wants it to be. People subscribe monthly and can pay for individual content.

Obviously it was taken over by the sex/influencer/celeb industries.

You name it, you will find it there.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

we have stage names in work to protect our identity
    Once you understand that once a picture or video goes online, it stays online.

It seems many don't realize this.

No, it's hardcore pornography for people who pay.

If someone sets up an only fans it 99%+ of the time means they are offering hardcore pornography.

Well the original concept is still there, there are 1000's of people on there doing Yoga, Cooking, Exercise, Singing, Art, Woodwork, Travel Vlogs, General Vlogging, ect ... you name it, all nothing to do with porn whatsoever.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Well the original concept is still there, there are 1000's of people on there doing Yoga, Cooking, Exercise, Singing, Art, Woodwork, Travel Vlogs, General Vlogging, ect ... you name it, all nothing to do with porn whatsoever.

That may be true, but to put it into perspective most people there doing yoga, cooking, exercise, singing etc. are doing it as a backdrop to hardcore pornography. ;)

It should be banned,

can you imagine the debates in the Dail though...

Well if those kids wanted to get a drivers license they'd have failed by not proving age, but getting on OF's was easy. Yet OFs take no responsibility, click terms of use, and they're protected, so will gladly take 20% of those kids earnings.

That may be true, but to put it into perspective most people there doing yoga, cooking, exercise, singing etc. are doing it as a backdrop to hardcore pornography. ;)

Ha no, maybe some. But lots of up and trying musicians on there, and vloggers, even celebrities, and they're not doing porn.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,418 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

just upset people are getting them for free really. Its a dangerous path were going down teaching young girls to sell themselves on the internet.

Classy approach to child pornography
    https://twitter.com/taiggoth/status/1329153252588457984?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Larsso30

I don't understand all this 😂 did they hack Of site? How was there underage images? Were they people underage on OF?

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭robinbird

Some of the outrage on Twitter is hilarious. From what I can gather most of the naked mages were sold by women for money to men on Onlyfans. There was no outrage or condemnation that all these women were making large amounts of money from selling porn to suckers.
    And seemingly no calls to ban or shut down the onlyfans private porn sites.
    The main anger seems to be because these images were seen by men that had not paid them for them.
    Hypocrites.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Larsso30 wrote: »
    I don't understand all this �� did they hack Of site? How was there underage images? Were they people underage on OF?

It sounds as if it's a combination of the two, both adult nude images from a subscriber-only site and personal images shared with former partners by women and underage girls.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

So the Irish Porn stars are pissed off their photos are going round the internet?

bigpink wrote: »
    So the Irish Porn stars are pissed off their photos are going round the internet?

Yes. Exactly.. But now they have got all the political parties involved and the Gardai are tracking down and will be prosecuting those that looked at their private porn for free. Politicians and newspapers all on board with the outrage.

It sounds as if it's a combination of the two, both adult nude images from a subscriber-only site and personal images shared with former partners by women and underage girls.

If you're going on the tweet above they don't always tell the truth. She has an onlyfans site so assume that's where the photos are from.

I assume that onlyfans does age verification checks on these women before it allows them to sell private porn.

robinbird wrote: »
    Yes. Exactly.. But now they have got all the political parties involved and the Gardai are tracking down and will be prosecuting those that looked at their private porn for free. Politicians and newspapers all on board with the outrage.

I don't get their out rage they posted the pics what they expect

The underage thing is sick however

I don't get their out rage they posted the pics what they expect

The underage thing is sick however

The outrage is that men got to see them without paying. And again I don't know how it operates but if onlyfans allows the sale of porn without age checks on those selling it then that should be the real scandal. Not that these women are losing out on additional income.

Oh I think the underage thing is guys posting ex underage girlfriends i.e teens or pics from there social media
    Under 18 illegal but thinks it all teen stuff not kids
    Shows the danger of posting pics and the potential to be shared

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Oh I think the underage thing is guys posting ex underage girlfriends i.e teens or pics from there social media

I presume the women who post adult content for subscribers know the risk of their pics being shared, for them it's probably a copyright issue.

The scum who share personal pics of their former partners deserve to be prosecuted as criminals and/or sex offenders.

I see she deleted a tweet '' sub to my onlyfans''

see here is a kid distributing CP on onlyfans, and her only problem is the leak and loss of earnings? She needs a visit from Garda herself in all fairness.
    And then she comes out with ## I only sent it to my BF''

Seems to be a few angles to this story

Teens are kids, when they are under 18.

I see she deleted a tweet '' sub to my onlyfans''

see here is a kid distributing CP on onlyfans, and her only problem is the leak and loss of earnings? She needs a visit from Garda herself in all fairness.
    And then she comes out with ## I only sent it to my BF''

Except that's not what happened.

Private, intimate photos of her when she was under age, or a child, were leaked without her permission. Her OF site came later.

But thanks for making excuses for the lads jerking off to child pornography.

• Site Banned Posts: 1 Large Cappuccino

Women have since the dawn of time traded sex. It is quite common for wives all over the world to use sex to gain control over their husbands.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,401 ✭✭✭✭kippy

There's a good few things that need to be separated out here and dealt with outside of the very obvious issue of your man sharing these types of images including underage girls with the world.

1. Our younger people seem somewhat naive do they share these pictures of themselves in any manner and assume they will stay 'private'. You are relying on the security of the medium or moreso the intentions of the person or people you have sent them to. This has always been the case however nowadays it is so easy to do this, the downsides really need to be published, maybe this case will help but I doubt it.
    2. If people are being photographed without their consent or knowledge and it is possible to identify the photographer there should be ramifications for the photographer. But again this is difficult to achieve I would expect. This type of behaviour is again much easier to engage in due to technology advances over the past decade or more.
    3. If sites like only fans are hosting and facilitating the dispersal of nude images of underage kids the full rigours of international law should be directed at them as would be the case for other sites hosting child porn. They were obviously have not done their job if underage pics are available there.

More broadly people need to realise that technology and communications have greatly increased the viability of taking and distributing pictures and videos over the past decade or more at this stage. We have a generation or two of people now who have been brought up in this age and the age of social media and the potential ability to live off an income generated from an online presence.
    Are we letting down our young people? Is there enough information being given to them on these topics? Should we have harsher penalties for those that take and share pictures without the subjects expressed consent?
    Are we miles behind with out laws,policies and abilities to handle these challenges?
    Should we care if adults who sell their pictures start banging the abuse drum if their pictures get hacked or released for free?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,401 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Women have since the dawn of time traded sex. It is quite common for wives all over the world to use sex to gain control over their husbands.

I don't think this is the matter at hand to be fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

SusieBlue wrote: »

If he gets done for child porn his life will be ruined, no question

**** him, good enough for him.

It should be banned,

I don't see why, but there should definitely be a serious clampdown.

I can't see why it would be so difficult to pass a law that states, if child porn turns up on a server owned by "X" then X is guilty of distributing child porn unless they can prove they took every reasonable and available step to block it in the first instance, and remove it in the second instance, should they have honestly failed to block it.

We asked the 12 year old what age she was and she said 18 is just not going to cut it. If you are happily profiting from selling this shít you are a fúcking scumbag, and should be treated as such, end of story! Same thing if you are buying it, viewing it, trading it or whatever.