Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I just went on the RTÉ website and saw the headline:
    “Virus deaths top 2000 with 379 new cases”.

Do you see what they did there? Before the cases always came before the deaths because the deaths are so low but now that we’ve reached a milestone they’ve switched it so it sounds worse. Subtle but very telling. Also they almost sound happy that we’ve finally reached 2000 deaths!

giphy.webp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭MOH

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Fascinating some of the views here, it got me wondering, what if government turned around tommorow and said, feck it, lift all restrictions, abandon all levels, open up everything, disband NPHET and put Lobby groups in charge, let's all party.

Perhaps the experts here might give us a time line when it all goes pear shapped, whilst their at it, look across the irish sea, about 57 miles to Wales, UK, 19,000 New cases and over 550 deaths today, sure it wlll be grand......, and just for comparison, Scotland reached 5000 Deaths today

Fun fact for you - take a look at the 3-day average for daily cases:
    https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/ireland/

If you ignore the sudden dip from Nov 8th to 13th before it reverted towards where it had been (but still lower), there's been a steady decrease since the peak on October 20th (incidentally, a decrease which began rapidly about a week before L5 restrictions kicked in).

So there's been an ongoing decline in cases if you ignore an odd anomaly for a few days. An anomaly which is unfortunately totally unexplainable, can't think of any sector which closed for a few days a week or so beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,870 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Damn that in bold hurts so much because deep inside of me I agree. We have replaced catholic church worshipping weekly, with covid numbers worshipping daily at 6.

And this is so much worse. Least with the other you could opt out or just pretend- this effects almost every fibre of our being as normal human beings. And that’s why the lockdowners love it so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    People die.. every day for a variety of reasons.

They died before CV-19, they're dying during it (but not generally from it), and they'll die after it's vaccinated against/cured.

Death is part of life, can happen any time, and you can't prevent it. There are some here who seem to have forgotten that. Lockdowns and restrictions are more harmful long term to the living (including those most at risk who are more isolated and alone as a result) than anything else.

In fact more people die every year from air pollution than died from COVID.

Nphet should ban driving too. Unless you have an electric. Imagine how this would drive an adoption of EVs.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

Its all about the cases. Religion of covid states that cases are much more important than any other variables. You have a lot of cases? you are f*ed. :rolleyes:

Masks the rosary beads...hand sanitizer the holy water. Amen

walus wrote: »
    In fact more people die every year from air pollution than died from COVID.

Nphet should ban driving too. Unless you have an electric. Imagine how this would drive an adoption of EVs.

That will probably be their next incarnation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Thierry12

Resign?

He comes in there every evening like the king on the iron throne laying down the law to his minions and the Government are spinless dogs afraid to say a word against him.

I'd bet the house next year even with a vaccine we will be the last European country to lift restrictions.

We need a Simba

Scar has reigned too long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,591 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Gun shot victims counted as Washington coronavirus deaths

https://mynorthwest.com/1889564/rantz-gun-shot-victims-washington-coronavirus-deaths/?

Charlie you do come out with some classics let me tell you. USA? Where hospitals get $12,000 if they count death as covid?

You could be the comedian of this thread :)

In a effort to avoid any discussion of comparison between your calls to completely lift lockdown; and the country you put so much time and effort into championing that now has 4,000 new cases daily and is locking down, you post a link from the so called Freedom Foundation. A bunch of right wing U.S.A. nutjobs funded by such luminaries as Charles Koch.:D
    No need for me to provide comedy. The resident one is playing a blinder.

Him gloating about Sweden's case numbers increasing is also a class act

I was not gloating about Sweden`s case numbers. I was pointed out the hypocrisy of someone who defended no lockdown in Sweden, where they are now using it due to case numbers, now looking for the same here while being fully aware how failed the whole strategy has shown itself to be even to the Swedes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

road_high wrote: »
    That will probably be their next incarnation

Most likely. Tony was seen test driving Model S last week.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,991 ✭✭✭growleaves

charlie14 wrote: »
    In a effort to avoid any discussion of comparison between your calls to completely lift lockdown; and the country you put so much time and effort into championing that now has 4,000 new cases daily and is locking down, you post a link from the so called Freedom Foundation. A bunch of right wing U.S.A. nutjobs funded by such luminaries as Charles Koch.:D
    No need for me to provide comedy. The resident one is playing a blinder.

The Seattle Times and Seattle Weekly covered the story when it broke. It isn't disputed.

Google 'washington gunshot victims covid' for multiple sources.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 547 ✭✭✭BeefeaterHat

charlie14 wrote: »
    I was not gloating about Sweden`s case numbers. I was pointed out the hypocrisy of someone who defended no lockdown in Sweden, where they are now using it due to case numbers, now looking for the same here while being fully aware how failed the whole strategy has shown itself to be even to the Swedes.

It took 8 months before Sweden had to lockdown and even then they were able to double their ICU in July. I think they've done better than us all in all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭aziz

Masks the rosary beads...hand sanitizer the holy water. Amen

Don’t forget the mouthwash as the communion wine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

People seem to have short memories of IBEC,
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/keep-minimum-wage-cut-ibec-1.871261a

Mc Coy was a DCU lecturer and ESRI official before IBEC, always on the state tit

walus wrote: »
    Most likely. Tony was seen test driving Model S last week.

Of course. The proletariat can cycle or use public transport though. Some born more equal than others and all that

aziz wrote: »
    Don’t forget the mouthwash as the communion wine

That’s only been recently consecrated- not sure how aware the Covid disciples are of that one yet

It took 8 months before Sweden had to lockdown and even then they were able to double their ICU in July. I think they've done better than us all in all

Sweden`s strategy was being heralded as a success because it would mean they would never have to lockdown. That and everything else to do with their strategy from economic advantage, (GDP, consumer spending), unemployment figures and herd immunity have all now shown to have failed.
    Even with doubling their ICU numbers their ratio of deaths to confirmed cases in the first wave at 6% was twice Ireland`s. They also had 40% more deaths per head of population that Ireland and multiples of there Scandinavian neighbours.
    For a poster that backed that strategy to the hilt advocating the same here is hypocrisy of the highest order.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 547 ✭✭✭BeefeaterHat

That’s only been recently consecrated- not sure how aware the Covid disciples are of that one yet

Will it be upgraded to a class 2 relic anytime soon?

Since June 1st, well over 10000 have died in Ireland.

350 of those died with Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

SusieBlue wrote: »
    But I thought you were all about saving lives? We don’t know yet how many people will die indirectly, though it’s projected to be quite a lot given how far behind we are with cancer screening backlogs and the delays in elective surgeries.

But even if it was just one indirect life lost, surely we should be trying to save it? As we are trying to save lives from covid at an astronomical social and financial cost?

Why is it worth it to save just one life from covid but not one life from an indirect death from the restrictions.
    I have to say your arguments just aren’t stacking up here at all.

"projected to be quite a lot"

projected by who? what is quite a lot?

if you have some actual estimates or figures we can actually compare them to covid deaths and make an assessment. otherwise this beyond stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭Seweryn

And the crucial word in that sentence is "with".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Penfailed

dalyboy wrote: »
    lf at that point we hear uttered the words “lockdown” , “new normal” or “social distancing” etc there’ll be vicious riots on our streets daily. Guaranteed.

Nah. Riots and mass protests have been predicted a few times over the months on these threads. Nothing.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

Where can you see this information?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

This is the point.

Swedish citizens are now where we were last March when Leo made that gowel speech about so many asking so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Fascinating some of the views here, it got me wondering, what if government turned around tommorow and said, feck it, lift all restrictions, abandon all levels, open up everything, disband NPHET and put Lobby groups in charge, let's all party.

Perhaps the experts here might give us a time line when it all goes pear shapped, whilst their at it, look across the irish sea, about 57 miles to Wales, UK, 19,000 New cases and over 550 deaths today, sure it wlll be grand......, and just for comparison, Scotland reached 5000 Deaths today

If you listen to the Irish media you'd believe the UK has collapsed to a Walking Dead situation.

It certainly has been handled terribly by a useless tory government, in particular a scandalous neglect and mismanagement of care homes.
    But the chances of getting covid are still very small. And if you get it the chances of dying are still very small.

People in Ireland (prompted by most of the media) are way more obsessed with covid, which is bizzare when you consider the very small (but obviously sad) number of deaths.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Penfailed wrote: »
    Nah. Riots and mass protests have been predicted a few times over the months on these threads. Nothing.

I’ve a WhatsApp group set up now so that could change

froog wrote: »

if you have some actual estimates or figures we can actually compare them to covid deaths and make an assessment. otherwise this beyond stupid.

Were are your nonsense predictions coming from that over 10000 would be dead without lockdown?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,103 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

This is the point.

Swedish citizens are now where we were last March when Leo made that gowel speech about so many asking so much.

Brave Varadkar.

The tough decision of putting so many out of work while keeping his own fat salary.

A true hero.

We're all in this together....

Where can you see this information?

On 1st June we had 1640 deaths with Covid. Only 350 or so since then.

The 10000 is a bit of an estimate based on average deaths per year. That’s probably actually on the lower end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

froog wrote: »

Well if you applied COVID projections to general risk of mortality, then quite a lot means taking the worst case from missed cancer screenings plus worst case of missed heart disease diagnoses, factor in other chronic respiratory illnesses and lung conditions, multiplied by worst case deaths from missed treatments = quite a lot.

Thing is, most rational doctors don’t issue prognoses based on worst-case statistical modelling to forecast for our already familiar lethal diseases and viruses. So it’s hard to quantify. God help us if they did - no one would get out of their bed in the morning.