Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs when/will they re-open - the Megathread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭SB71

Russman wrote: »
    If you change the narrative from "we have amongst the lowest case numbers and the harshest lockdown", to "we have amongst the lowest case numbers because we have the harshest lockdown", would that not make more sense though ? I wouldn't be happy with waiting until things got really really bad before we imposed restrictions, would you ?

Whether its plain to see or not, that's purely opinion. What about its plain to see pubs are places where people gather and that helps spread the virus ?
    You really think Holohan and the govt are doing all this for the craic ?
    It seems to me that almost every business claims to be safe and that they should be open, so why not open everything up ? Like I said earlier, its the low hanging fruit. They know they can't really shut everything down so they go with the obvious and easy ones.

My employment or not has nothing to do with my opinion. I know people who are working from home, I know people on the PUP and I live with a front liner who suffered terrible mental health issues during the first lockdown (and is still getting treatment). Of course I have sympathy with people struggling, but there's a bigger picture that I can have an opinion about too.

Ireland hasnt had the harshest lockdown though by any stretch compared to Italy, Spain or France, yet their pubs were still allowed to remain open in addition to other countries some where bars never closed, its clear to all that NPHET right from the outset have continually blamed pubs and foreign travel, and this is without a shred of evidence to back up these outlanish claims, so why are they doing this, for the craic, nah i just think he doesnt like pubs and has used them as a scapegoat ,this is exactly what is happening here, except its not asking pubs to close early which they wouldnt mind they just will not allow them to open period, , they will not admit the risk associated with pubs is low, the mass job lossed and pubs closing for good and this is all NPHETS doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭opinionated3

LVA and VFI putting the pressure on government today with their latest statements. Clearly calling out nphet for not producing scientific evidence that pub's are some sort of super spreader environment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭SB71

Another epic fail on behalf of NPHET /FFG, they drove home the message for months on end that foreign travel was dangerous, and people should holiday at home, or "staycation" (who came up with that cringe word) and promising a"staycation subsidy"

So you had people paying obscene amounts of money to go and stay in hotels in popular places like Killarney,etc where you could sit in the hotel bar and at the time you had to pay €9 euro for the covid meal and you could stay for one hour 45 minutes then you had to leave no questions your time is up, but this is Ireland and you cant rely on the weather and what in the most likely event its raining what can you do, not a lot asides from sit in your hotel room and look out the window wishing you were beside the pool in Spain depressed, so more and more people started to question why they would want to fork out big money for an utterly depressing experience like this and said i can get a week in Italy or Spain flights, hotel and spending money for what you'd pay in Ireland in a few days and the sun will be shining and it will feel like an actual holiday, so people done this and came back and said they'd a great time, adhered to social distancing mask wearing and proper hand hygiene and never felt safer, i done this myself and never felf safer.

NPHET though continued on with the same narrative and still advised that air travel was dangerous and continued to drive home the "staycation" nonsense, when it was pointed out that people have a greater chance of catching the virus in overcrowded tourist towns like Killarney as opposed to half empty holiday resorts this was shot down as nonsense, then what transpired was .....

(click link)

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/coronavirus-cases-up-at-staycation-spots-as-doctors-worry-about-test-no-shows-39390371.html

but again nothing was said about this, NPHET continue to this very day to say that air travel is dangerous, if air travel is so dangerous why are there no reported clusters of airline staff who contracted the virus, why are there so few cases attributed to travel, the simple fact is it's safer to get on a plane with proper air filtration and everyone wearing a mask than it is a weekend away in some crowded Irish town.

But again hell will freeze over before they ever admit this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,467 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

LVA and VFI putting the pressure on government today with their latest statements. Clearly calling out nphet for not producing scientific evidence that pub's are some sort of super spreader environment
    He hasn't exactly ruled it out
    https://twitter.com/MichealLehane/status/1326526095886340096?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,708 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

This is kind of ****e that brings panic and hysteria

Level 2 workers now waiting for news and have no idea what to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭vojiwox

a young couple went away for a weekend and attended a house party. :rolleyes:

Keep reading.... People's attention span these days! :pac:

SB71 wrote: »

I dont have to produce evidence to show that pubs are safe and conrtrolled environments because it's plain for all to see.

It's not though. Lots of people disagree with you.

Such is life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,631 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

SB71 wrote: »
    ... nah i just think he doesnt like pubs

Public health specialists are well aware of the damage alcohol does, and likely have very good stats about the reduced A&E volumes due to pubs being closed.

They're no different from any other interest group in wanting to use the opportunity to further their cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,073 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

If/when pubs are closed for Christmas (which apparently is on the cards) - can they claim compo from the govt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

Well policed bars with strict distancing and table service are much better than people gathering at homes during December.

It really be foolish decision to keep them closed.

Well policed bars with strict distancing and table service are much better than people gathering at homes during December.

It really be foolish decision to keep them closed.

They wouldn’t be well policed or ran though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

The majority will. Don't let a few tarnish the whole.

They will.

Well they won’t because they won’t be open, but even hypothetically open they still wouldn’t. It’s the attitude of getting one over on the rules, people can’t help themselves. It was glorified everywhere last time they were open, yet the same idiots can’t seem to figure out why they’re closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,467 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Jesus will you ever give them a chance. Tarnishing every restaurant or pub with the same brush. The vast majority were extremely well run when they were open.

You'd swear based on your posts that every pub was breaching guidelines, that the place was rammed full. The Gardai have the powers to deal with the minority.

You quite clearly weren't in a well ran pub or restaurant when they were open. Went to a few myself and thought they were exceptionally well run, never had a problem, anyone acting up was shown the door. Signage everywhere, staff visibly cleaning surfaces constantly, everyone sat at the table, mask on if getting up to use the toilets.

Admit it, you haven't got the foggiest inclination what you're talking about. Imagine tarring an entire sector in the most glib fashion possible. I'm hopping off this joyless merry-go-round, I'd sooner debate a hamster on a wheel than engage with you any further.

Even the ones that are well policed have people from multiple households not socially distancing around the same table for hours.

They'll have signage, hand wash, one way systems and masks on the way to the toilet but it will spread through the community across the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Well they won’t because they won’t be open, but even hypothetically open they still wouldn’t. It’s the attitude of getting one over on the rules, people can’t help themselves. It was glorified everywhere last time they were open, yet the same idiots can’t seem to figure out why they’re closed.

Everywhere?? Yes, there were a few well documented cases. And they were rightfully vilified. Most pubs were well run and, believe me, we would have known if they weren't as there is a certain curtin twitching, finger wagging sector of society who would have broadcast it - as they seem determined to see pubs closed indefinitely. These people, maybe you are one, are entrenched in their views and can't be reasoned with. I just hope the government aren't as dogmatic.

I certainly don’t want pubs closed indefinitely, I wish they weren’t closed at all but I just see it as a necessity at the moment. But even read back here, it’s all full of defiance of breaking the rules in pubs and laughing about lock ins or fake menus, etc. Then the same flowers are up in arms and can’t understand why they couldn’t stay open. Can’t have it every way.

Admit it, you haven't got the foggiest inclination what you're talking about. Imagine tarring an entire sector in the most glib fashion possible. I'm hopping off this joyless merry-go-round, I'd sooner debate a hamster on a wheel than engage with you any further.

Well make sure you stick to it and stop there then. Would be better for both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Allowing pubs to open for the Christmas period will not stop house parties and after pub get togethers, and gatherings in people's homes either.

I want things to open up, doesn't everyone? But not at the cost of another flipping lockdown either. It is possibly a big risk around Christmas, we have sacrificed a lot to get to this point, lockdown after lockdown etc. I'd honestly be happy enough to be able to travel outside my county to visit family TBH.

But sure look it, the schools are open, that was the target.

I'll duck down now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭AssetBacked2

Allowing pubs to open for the Christmas period will not stop house parties and after pub get togethers, and gatherings in people's homes either.

I want things to open up, doesn't everyone? But not at the cost of another flipping lockdown either. It is possibly a big risk around Christmas, we have sacrificed a lot to get to this point, lockdown after lockdown etc. I'd honestly be happy enough to be able to travel outside my county to visit family TBH.

But sure look it, the schools are open, that was the target.

I'll duck down now.

It's important to remember that in Level 3 you cannot travel outside your county and only you may visit your family (max 1 person at a time mixing with amiyhet household). As such, it's not a trade off between wet pubs and family get together. It's both or none.

Heard of a few people looking too book overnight stays in local hotels in December using it mainly for the indoor access to the bar/restaurant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,170 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

We were sold a pig in a bag to save Christmas, moved from level 3 to level 5 so we could have level 3 which in no way facilities Christmas.

Level 5 was to stop the big rise in cases, nobody was promised anything at the end of it. You’ve read or heard that somewhere but it’s not the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

It's important to remember that in Level 3 you cannot travel outside your county and only you may visit your family (max 1 person at a time mixing with amiyhet household). As such, it's not a trade off between wet pubs and family get together. It's both or none.

Level 2.7 so and allow inter county travel lol. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,170 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Level 5 was to stop the big rise in cases, nobody was promised anything at the end of it. You’ve read or heard that somewhere but it’s not the case.

We were told it was to save Christmas, we bought in now we're stuck as the best hope there now offering is level 3, with a return to level 5 shortly after. It's a **** show to put it mildly. 5 level plan isn't fit for purpose and people should demand a better way of life.

were going into Level 3.95

What will it be **** knows, something Idiotic more than likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

I gave up complaining ages ago. No matter what they throw at us the people will suck it up and take it on the chin. They broke my spirit. And many others. All i see on here is noise and empty rhetoric. There's no stopping these medical overlords. We are rightly doomed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭AssetBacked2

Level 2.7 so and allow inter county travel lol. ;)

Yes, exactly. Something like that. My point is just to not let yourself get sucked into the "we hope to move to level 3 in December" narrative as it is not sufficient to enable wet pubs opening, indoor dining in restaurants, travel outside your county and gatherings in households with more than 1 other person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

People living in Dublin haven't been allowed to leave the county since 19 September. It would be scandalous if they were then told they can't go and visit their families at Christmas, but it won't happen.