Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

it's not.
    as has been pointed out before there is absolutely nothing to show that views on anything in relation to covid are based across income, political or anything else lines.
    it's just easy to believe otherwise as it gives some people comfort to believe that everyone in the same situation as them agrees with them and holds the same view, while the others are all the same and are against us yada yada.

And this would be the type of response i’d expect from someone that my post would be directed at. Do tell end of the road, hows life for you at the moment? No money worries during this lockdown? Everything ok for you?

You’ll find the lock us down permanently brigade on here are quite comfortable enough without any financial worries and not to mention who do very little in their lives and go nowhere but just watch tv all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

Looks like them chancers are going to keep Dublin in Level 3 for December,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,050 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Looks like them chancers are going to keep Dublin in Level 3 for December,

who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

MOH wrote: »
    Pity we haven't tried that here. We've had whole swathes of the economy closed since March

we have more or less tried it, that was our approach after lock down.

yes a couple of industries did stay more closed due to a mix of lack of demand, high risks and other issues which are slowly but surely being resolved.

That hasn’t in Ireland though. Surely you agree on that?

We went into lockdown in March and it wasn’t until 29th June when some meaningful restrictions were lifted. Over 3 months.

Pubs only opened in September after 6 months closed and were closed again very soon afterwards.

We’ve always had a very large number of restrictions. Even level 1 is restrictive.

In Ireland it is more like long term lockdowns and restrictions followed by very restrictive reopening.

it has been very successful yes .
    cases will always go up once lockdown ends but we do have a problem minority who fail to follow anything hence our cases do go up more then necessary.
    if everyone follows the guidelines then cases stay lower and the lot works.
    it's not lock down and restrictions that are the problem, it's a small minority breaching everything that is the issue.
    we were a bit later into lock down then other countries, but earlier then others, however we did need to wait a little bit to see how the bigger countries would do before we opened up as we were a bit more vulnerable to the economic and health service issues covid could bring if things went wrong.
    pubs were just unlucky as they are high risk environments in terms of spread and by the time they were able to modernise and diversify a bit so they could open, we ended up having to go back into another short lock down.
    our restrictions are actually very minimal, wear a mask and social distance, the other restrictions only come into play when we have to increase the levels to a high level.
    in ireland it was 1 long lock down which every country more or less had, open up with minimal restrictions and high risk parts restricted or kept shut until they can figure out a way to meet public health and safety requirements meaning they can then open.
    we have actually had it easier here in ireland in terms of restrictions compared to many other countries where the lock downs were harsher with actual enforcement and penalties for breaching lockdown and even minimal restrictions rules.

Micky 32 wrote: »
    And this would be the type of response i’d expect from someone that my post would be directed at. Do tell end of the road, hows life for you at the moment? No money worries during this lockdown? Everything ok for you?

You’ll find the lock us down permanently brigade on here are quite comfortable enough without any financial worries and not to mention who do very little in their lives and go nowhere but just watch tv all day.

actually no, i won't find it as i don't know the specific situation of anyone who understands that these vital public health measures are needed currently.
    the reality is the agreement or disagreement with anything covid related is not based on anything specific, such come from people from all walks of life.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    We haven’t done a good clap in awhile

Yeah nurses started hinting that they might actually prefer cash or more take-home pay instead as appreciation and it spoiled all the fun for everyone. :o

There was always a 'virtue signalling' thing in society as far as I remember and I'm an ould fart. They were just the do-gooders and Holy Joes.

But over the last 10 years or so it has been ramped up into a hobby or virtually a sport for many. Especially the loudmouths across all media. Hollowness has become a way of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

actually no,

As in you’re not financially affected?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I gather there is now talk of powers to detain somebody who is sick. Crazy.
    https://www.thejournal.ie/leo-varadkar-restirc-movemments-5256570-Nov2020/

At that point you'd want to be mad to go for a test, or even whisper to somebody that you don't feel well :D

Great way to take on a contagious disease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 feedmindc19

topper75 wrote: »
    I gather there is now talk of powers to detain somebody who is sick. Crazy.
    https://www.thejournal.ie/leo-varadkar-restirc-movemments-5256570-Nov2020/

At that point you'd want to be mad to go for a test, or even whisper to somebody that you don't feel well :D

Great way to take on a contagious disease.

The government are getting drunk on power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Three weeks ago Varadkar didn’t want level 5 now he wants this? What the hell is going on here?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,364 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/1105/1176049-coronavirus-nphet/

very small glimmer of hope of level 2 making a return. Xmas pints might happen :D:D

Que a few hours and Dr Tony/Leo come out and say Level 2 is not happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Three weeks ago Varadkar didn’t want level 5 now he wants this? What the hell is going on here?!

Well, Pope Holohan if he fully got his way would send anyone crossing the border into a detention facility for 14 days..

....Can we not send Holohan to China to run the “re-education” camps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,559 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Lads even the non lockdown version is very prohibitive. This **** wont end until there is a vaccine ... oh i cant wait to go back to level 3... gigs, travel, proper pub etc oh wait... pity they were able to borrow tens of billions, instead of just coming up with solutions...

I believe a big part of the fall in numbers isnt shops closing etc, its people being more cautious,due to the higher cases a week or two back likely the vulnerable in particular, these people would and should curtail needless trips regardless because of increased risk. Shutting down the businesses that they just have again is idiocy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Back to the annoying multi quote nonsense again I see.

It appears to annoy you for some reason. Why do you think there's a multi-quote function?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Penfailed wrote: »
    It appears to annoy you for some reason. Why do you think there's a multi-quote function?

So someone can be wrong more than once in a single post??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

Interesting to see the difference in people this time vs. our last Lockdown.

Apart from places being closed people still seem to be going about their business, Gardai are even just waving people through checkpoints. I was in Dublin last weekend for work (I'm essential etc etc) but I was surprised to see many groups of people along the canals drinking at night time etc, just enjoying life. I'm not giving out for a second, I have zero faith in NPHET or this lockdown strategy. Before someone calls me an anti-mask merchant i'm absolutely not, but I am for letting people have some responsibility for their actions and get on with life. I'm yet to see the "living" part of the "living with covid" framework.

yeah I was out shopping earlier, at the start of this, people were treating each other as if they were lepers, now on top of each other like normal again, a few people on top of me at the checkouts and I actually couldnt care less at this stage.

There was fear back then as we didnt know what we were dealing with, there isnt now for a huge amount, because they have as good a chance of winning the lotto as dying of covid if under 60 ish without underlying conditions...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭bikeman1

Idbatterim wrote: »
    yeah I was out shopping earlier, at the start of this, people were treating each other as if they were lepers, now on top of each other like normal again, a few people on top of me at the checkouts and I actually couldnt care less at this stage.

There was fear back then as we didnt know what we were dealing with, there isnt now for a huge amount, because they have as good a chance of winning the lotto as dying of covid if under 60 ish without underlying conditions...

I was in a local shop earlier, a man beside me was struggling to get a tub of butter into his shopping bag because he was in a sling and only had one hand available.

I asked him can I give him a hand as he was struggling. He said if you don’t mind, I said of course no problem. He was genuinely chuffed that I didn’t mind getting close for literally two seconds to open the bag and pop it in. I said the country has gone mad and don’t worry we’ll get through this. We were both wearing masks and I used the sanitiser on the way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭FrStone

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    this takes time, months if not years to truly take affect, some services are in fact still reducing

Spoken like a true bureaucrat. Never strive for efficiency when you can get away with being mediocre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1324425914663473155?s=21

Dr Holohan out using emotional blackmail today. Funny he doesn’t seem concerned about increased mortality from these lockdowns, the restrictions, health issues not being treated and an incoming economic depression. As long as no one dies from Covid. He’s been on the airwaves a lot this week, trying to dampen any hope of early lifting of restrictions or Christmas parties. It’s poor form and doesn’t sit well with me that he’s so unconcerned with the impact their actions have on Irish society as a whole.

The Irish public are quietly voting with their feet, the mood has shifted & people have had enough. Even the Gardai couldn’t be bothered anymore, I’m sure they’d like to return to actually doing their jobs. Instead of standing out in the wind & rain asking someone why they’re going to that shop, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭MelbourneMan

Flyer1 wrote: »
    Interesting to see the difference in people this time vs. our last Lockdown.

Apart from places being closed people still seem to be going about their business, Gardai are even just waving people through checkpoints......I have zero faith in NPHET or this lockdown strategy. Before someone calls me an anti-mask merchant i'm absolutely not, but I am for letting people have some responsibility for their actions and get on with life. I'm yet to see the "living" part of the "living with covid" framework.

Hello. Yes, many sectors of the economy are indeed open and people are encouraged to go about their business in these sectors when safe to do so, and working from home is not possible for them.

NPHET provide the most informed and qualified advice on the management of the pandemic, and the expert advice provided to the cabinet to best inform its policy direction, is based on a sound scientific foundation rather than any issue of faith.

The details of living with Covid have been published and you can use the link below to read them at your convenience.

Link : https://www.gov.ie/en/campaigns/resilience-recovery-2020-2021-plan-for-living-with-covid-19/

He really is a cancer at this stage, the nation does not need to hear or see this prophecy of doom. Its really gone beyond a joke at this stage... rte the fear ridden backward cesspit it is, obviously love him! Wonder will he make an appearance on the toy show? You know in late late show tubridy fashion, whirl out the horror story on a friday night, just to remind you that life could always be worse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Penfailed

So someone can be wrong more than once in a single post??

Well, no. It does happen though!

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

Hello. Yes, many sectors of the economy are indeed open and people are encouraged to go about their business in these sectors when safe to do so, and working from home is not possible for them.

NPHET provide the most informed and qualified advice on the management of the pandemic, and the expert advice provided to the cabinet to best inform its policy direction, is based on a sound scientific foundation rather than any issue of faith.

The details of living with Covid have been published and you can use the link below to read them at your convenience.

Link : https://www.gov.ie/en/campaigns/resilience-recovery-2020-2021-plan-for-living-with-covid-19/

Oh it didn't take long :D

The reality is the average joe on the street hasn't bought in to it for the most part. People continue to visit homes, exceed their 5km exercise limit, the list goes on. The public support for this strategy just isn't there on the ground.

Have a nice evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Yep the fear is gone and there are loads more people out and about than in 1st lockdown. I think closing the retail shops was unnecessary.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,955 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Funny he doesn’t seem concerned about increased mortality from these lockdowns, the restrictions, health issues not being treated and an incoming economic depression.

Its chief covid officer, not chief medical officer.

Melbourne Man, we are all painfully aware of the ‘Living with Covid’ plan. I understand what the intentions are but there seems to be no concern as to the cost of this level 5 or a prolonged level 3. And I’m not just talking about the economic cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,816 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Sorry if it’s a bit unrelated but the University of Manchester decided to put a fence up around the student accommodation and it looks like the students here have finally had enough. Uni’s took their 9k and then got blamed for the increase of cases.

https://twitter.com/themancunion/status/1324447530025951235?s=21

[url]

I’ve mentioned before how all I’ve seen is people my age in favour of even harsher restrictions, maybe this might cause a change in opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭joseywhales

He really is a cancer at this stage, the nation does not need to hear or see this prophecy of doom. Its really gone beyond a joke at this stage... rte the fear ridden backward cesspit it is, obviously love him! Wonder will he make an appearance on the toy show? You know in late late show tubridy fashion, whirl out the horror story on a friday night, just to remind you that life could always be worse...

Whatever you feel about his advise, he is just doing his job, he is not singularly responsible for every decision. I don't think he deserves to be called a cancer for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

Sorry if it’s a bit unrelated but the University of Manchester decided to put a fence up around the student accommodation and it looks like the students here have finally had enough. Uni’s took their 9k and then got blamed for the increase of cases.

https://twitter.com/themancunion/status/1324447530025951235?s=21

[url]

I’ve mentioned before how all I’ve seen is people my age in favour of even harsher restrictions, maybe this might cause a change in opinion.

Fair play. Can't see the UCD Students Union having that sort fortitude .

Whatever you feel about his advise, he is just doing his job, he is not singularly responsible for every decision. I don't think he deserves to be called a cancer for that.

I have nothing personal whatsoever against Dr Holohan. He is just doing his job, and most importantly - being unconcerned with anyone else’s job or how many are permanently lost.
    I do not agree in the manner in which he’s implementing, sorry ‘recommending’ restrictions.

The latest PR release today:

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/europes-second-wave-of-covid-19-could-scupper-our-christmas-plans-39713007.html

I’ve had enough, what are we in a level 5 for now if we’re not going to get some respite at Christmas? Why aren’t we just in level 3 being properly enforced?
    It’s funny, Government & NPHET were happy for Ireland to be an outlier in Europe for much of 2020. Last to reopen in the summer, strictest conditions when we did. Continued ‘advice‘ & vilification of anyone who dared travel, despite this going against the ECDC & EU policy. But now that Europe’s wave is ‘out of control’...we somehow don’t get to reopen here based on this? The vilification of Varadkar in the media for standing up to Holohan previously doesn’t fill me with confidence that our Government will actually govern.