Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Army and Navy

• 19-10-2020 9:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 84,341 ✭✭✭✭

Should the army and navy be deployed to help the Gardai during this pandemic, to keep law and order, keep to restrictions, break up large gatherings etc., Gardai need to be given more power to stop and punish the rule breakers

Would you be opposed to the army and navy helping?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,026 ✭✭✭C__MC

Surely give the army something to do
    As far as I can see they do **** all in this country as it is

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Should the army and navy be deployed to help the Gardai during this pandemic, to keep law and order, keep to restrictions, break up large gatherings etc., Gardai need to be given more power to stop and punish the rule breakers

I think the army have better things to do than break up afternoon tea with Mam.

• Registered Users Posts: 80,798 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn

I think we just need proper fines as a deterrent, currently nothing happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

The Gardai should be able to hand out fines.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,017 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

No

Some of the more livelier areas of Dublin would be more heavily armed and add Halloween into the mix and it would end up in a bloodbath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Send a gunship to Athlone I say.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,180 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Army on the streets would require martial law. So no

• Registered Users Posts: 14,086 ✭✭✭✭elperello

C__MC wrote: »

Well you'd be wrong there for a start.

They are there are there as a back up for the civil power.

They are well trained and each and every one of them has taken an oath to protect the state.

Strange thing in Ireland people feel free to run down our military. You don't tend to see that attitude in other countries.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 146 ✭✭salamiii

most countries don't let troops on th st

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

ted1 wrote: »

No it wouldn’t. You’re wrong there Ted.
    salamiii wrote: »
    most countries don't let troops on th st

Stop spouting nonsense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Navy :D Gunship up the royal canal to stop the partying on d'Northside?

Army will help out with logistics/contract tracing etc. Not acceptable here to have military acting as police. Hek the Guards barely act as police at times.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,812 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

elperello wrote: »

They are well trained and each and every one of them has taken an oath to protect the state.

Strange thing in Ireland people feel free to run down our military. You don't tend to see that attitude in other countries.

Our military is a joke as we can't defend ourselves which is the purpose of having a military. Its not the soldiers or sailors fault though its our fault.

If the Gardai don't have authority to break up gatherings the army won't either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

elperello wrote: »

Chill dude, jaysus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

I've been at festivals in Asia where the army help out with security and general crowd control

Apart from UN "peace missions" what the fúck does the Irish army do exactly?

Del2005 wrote: »
    Our military is a joke as we can't defend ourselves which is the purpose of having a military. Its not the soldiers or sailors fault though its our fault.

If the Gardai don't have authority to break up gatherings the army won't either.

Bit strong calling it a joke because it can't fulfill your own very narrow definition of the purpose of a military.

Fair enough that you are not blaming the men and women in our services for the deficiencies which exist.

Legal authority is essential.

Chill dude, jaysus!

Quite chilled thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 84,341 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Spain used their army to enforce lockdown

• Registered Users Posts: 6,335 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

Navy :D Gunship up the royal canal to stop the partying on d'Northside?

Army will help out with logistics/contract tracing etc. Not acceptable here to have military acting as police. Hek the Guards barely act as police at times.

We've already had gunships on the liffey. Didn't turn out so well for the locals

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭smck321

C__MC wrote: »

Would you prefer they have a nice war to keep them busy?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Heard of a woman in Cork who needed a test but had no way to get there. Apparantly the army came and brought her. Not sure if that's happening often or not.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 9,922 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Apart from UN "peace missions" what the fúck does the Irish army do exactly?

Beyond training and preparation one would hope nothing. It like insurance you hope you won’t need it and you know its too late to try and get cover once everything goes pear shaped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Jim2007 wrote: »
    Beyond training and preparation one would hope nothing. It like insurance you hope you won’t need it and you know its too late to try and get cover once everything goes pear shaped.

Ireland have been a neutral country for decades and decades though

Put the Army to some use or do away with them altogether. They're just window dressing ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 24,696 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Army has the JTF (Joint Task Force) set up in McKee barracks, specifically as a result of Covid, to help with covid.

https://www.military.ie/en/who-we-are/army/covid-19-joint-task-force-jtf-/

Doing plenty, a friend of mine is based there all be it I’ve had no elaboration on the details of what’s happening but this link provides info.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,696 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Ireland have been a neutral country for decades and decades though

Put the Army to some use or do away with them altogether. They're just window dressing ffs

Army as in covid and other big challenges in the state acts as an atcp (aid to civil power). You hope you don’t need them but when you do ‘like now’ you’ll be sure glad they are there.

I don’t think or at least I’ve never heard of a country of substance with no army.

Del2005 wrote: »
    Our military is a joke as we can't defend ourselves which is the purpose of having a military.

Really, you clearly don’t understand stand the defense strategy then - it has never been to fight a conventional battle. Otherwise we’d be spending more on defense and conscription would be typically at 18 like in other countries.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Jim2007 wrote: »
    Really, you clearly don’t understand stand the defense strategy.

Wait wait wait...... There is an official strategy of some type?

Ireland have been a neutral country for decades and decades though [/QOUTE]

Ireland is not a neutral country, it’s government has a policy of neutrality which means it can be easily changed by the government of the day.

Ireland is part of the Nordic Battlegroups and the army is part of our commitment to the EU. And under the mutual assistance clauses of the treaty Irish troops have been used to beef up/replace French overseas troops in the past.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 Oglaigh84

No it wouldnt

• Registered Users Posts: 28 Oglaigh84

We've already had gunships on the liffey. Didn't turn out so well for the locals

You dont get down to the liffey often do you? There is constantly warships docked there, ours and other countrys.... Including , shock horror, royal navy ships

No such thing in Ireland as martial law despite what wikipedia claims. It's constitutional barred in it's true form save for actual invasion and even then it's hot real martial law.