Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVI- 50,993 ROI (1,852 deaths) 28,040 NI (621 deaths) (19/10) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

khalessi wrote: »
    It wasnt me that was objecting, I can't help how you were raised. I was merely explaining reason for the other reaction.

'i can't help how you were raised' ? You don't know me so prehaps keep your insults about my parents to yourself. Hopefully you have better manners in the classroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,130 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Going to be interesting here tomorrow when the decision is made. :eek:

But for now let's pretend all is well.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

So large gatherings the problem according to authorities.

Why not keep pubs/restaurants open to max of 2 per table (at least couples or 2 friends could go) without big crowds.

And why close normal retail where crowds are not a problem.

I don't care about the "schools transmitting or not" subject, but if they are going to allow schools open for whatever reason, they should have a bit of logical thinking before flatly closing business down, and allow for some scope for safe operation.

I'm a few stone overweight and take no offence at what you're saying .you're absolutely right.

It's my biggest failing in life probably, and the embarrassment of being "larger" and the knowledge I'm asking for trouble hasn't spurred me into action to change it. It's more than just being lazy for some. I walk my two dogs a few miles twice most days, unfortunately I just binge eat frequently as well.

I let myself down most days, and that embeds a darkness in my mind more each day.

Some day maybe I'll overcome it, but it's a psychological issue.

I wouldn't worry too much about a few stone and obviously with the walking miles each day with the dogs you are in pretty good nick, otherwise you couldn't do that. We're all working on some aspect of ourselves, except for some of the completely perfected beings posting here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

theballz wrote: »
    Hahhahahahha

Yes . Easy to get a laugh with facile asinine comments like that .

Thankfully when the economy crashes the Dubs won’t be able to afford any more Sam Maguire’s and we won’t need listen to this nonsense.

Every cloud and all that

Ah never. Dubs are the best even if they don't win. Far too many supporters in the old pre Covid days in Croker. But look, let's just try and live in harmony for now. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

They are not trained or invested with powers to police the civilian population. As you say no need to go off on a tangent.

Well its called "Aid to the civil power". Not "act as" or "substitute as" the civil power.

I think the argument would be that the Defence Forces can assist AGs with routine checkpoints and patrols. AGS are always in operational control of both, the DF would just be supplementary bodies for numbers allowing increased operational capabilities if it came to it.

They are trained to handle most situations in fairness, patrolling, checkpoints, cordons, searches, crowd riot control etc. They wouldnt be out checking tax or breathalising....although Military Police are trained with all that stuff.

Antares35 wrote: »
    My dad is 74. He got locked down in Spain for the worst of it and couldn't get home. He learned to do his shopping online, managed to order flowers to be delivered to me when I had the baby, he joined the library and downloaded some books for himself, went online and applied for his airfare refund, set up PayPal and used his pension to pay for things that way, and even managed a few zoom calls with family :D This is a man who before the pandemic used to ask me to book his flights.

So one positive from all of this ;)

Might be a year without it, but yep, the Dubs are great in fairness. Who would have thought that a non culchie county would do so well. Driving all the boggers mad.

I have a pic of my little nephew (pre Covid of course) sitting inside of Sam. Those were the happy days. The Dub manager Jim Gavin was behind all that. from Clondalkin and brought the cup to all the schools in the vicinity and as far away as the Dublin Border lol. Was mighty for the kids. But don't know how it will go now. The eldest nephew is hurling mad.

Seen more than one joke about covid being released by someone from Kerry to prevent the six in a row, or by someone from Mayo so they might have a chance.
    Still have a picture of me with the cup from the 80s when it was brought to my primary school in north county Dublin, brought it with me anywhere I've lived, wouldn't part with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

'i can't help how you were raised' ? You don't know me so prehaps keep your insults about my parents to yourself. Hopefully you have better manners in the classroom.

Hold on I thought you said we dont sugar coat here, hmm doles it out cant take it, interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

Going to be interesting here tomorrow when the decision is made. :eek:

But for now let's pretend all is well.

It'll a moment to sit back, get the popcorn and watch all the mayhem unfold in here haha

Well its called "Aid to the civil power". Not "act as" or "substitute as" the civil power.

I think the argument would be that the Defence Forces can assist AGs with routine checkpoints and patrols. AGS are always in operational control of both, the DF would just be supplementary bodies for numbers allowing increased operational capabilities if it came to it.

They are trained to handle most situations in fairness, patrolling, checkpoints, cordons, searches, crowd riot control etc. They wouldnt be out checking tax or breathalising....although Military Police are trained with all that stuff.

They are not attested, so you may as well have the girl guides accompanying AGS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,732 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Russman wrote: »
    This is all very simple,

Ask yourself how many people do you mind dying so you can pay your bills ? And then, how many people do you mind losing their jobs so you can stay safe ?
    Then find the mid point.

It's a pandemic thankfully where few will die but nonetheless people will die. In the grand scheme of things we are just a number and many seem to have a problem accepting that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Hold on I thought you said we dont sugar coat here, hmm doles it out cant take it, interesting

An interesting little man for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

Why not keep pubs/restaurants open to max of 2 per table (at least couples or 2 friends could go) without big crowds.

Yeah, thats goddamn important for me. Can't live without it.

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Seen more than one joke about covid being released by someone from Kerry to prevent the six in a row, or by someone from Mayo so they might have a chance.
    Still have a picture of me with the cup from the 80s when it was brought to my primary school in north county Dublin, brought it with me anywhere I've lived, wouldn't part with it.

Like your style. At the end of the day it IS a county rivalry. What is the point otherwise?

I often feel for Mayo though. That's the Dubs for ya! But I suppose until the so called curse is expunged there, they may have to wait. Especially now with the current curse on all of us.

You made a personal remark about my parentage I'm wondering what has that got to do with my comment about obesity?
    I have no problem with you or anyone challenging my comment, but it's obvious you can't and resort to a personal attack instead. Play the ball dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

They are not attested, so you may as well have the girl guides accompanying AGS.

I don't think you quite understand what you are talking about.

Blondini wrote: »
    An interesting little man for sure.

I'm in trouble now the teachers are getting personal. ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Eod100 wrote: »
    Looks like level 4 as media has it alright https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1317786408229261313?s=19

No sh!t the county by county system hasn't worked..

The rest of the country was happy to think Covid was only a Dublin thing when Dublin was singled out for specific treatment. Pubs open across the country and everything.

Usual FF looking out for the 'grass roots' ... But it was the wrong message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

shocksy wrote: »
    It'll a moment to sit back, get the popcorn and watch all the mayhem unfold in here haha

The usual lot will have their meltdowns, "I'm not doing that, how dare they tell me what I can and can't do" "NPHET are spreading the virus" or "They just want to control us" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I see Niall Boylan causing divisions (better for his show) that it is the public servants and unions who are the one championing this.

I certainly hope there is no Level 4 or 5 as we can not afford it. I can see powers coming in for gardai and maybe mandatory those who can work from home will have to. They need to make sure that hospital appointment keep going with the private hospitals been used to help if there is a deal with them

shocksy wrote: »

Indeed. It is something to pass the time and contribute our own rubbish comments from time to time also. Which are generally no worse than anyone else's either.

I don't think you quite understand what you are talking about.

It's quite simple soldiers have no legal powers to direct members of the public. I'm well aware of what 'aid to the civil power' means. As I said the girl guides would be as effective and have exactly the same policing power as a soldier.

You made a personal remark about my parentage I'm wondering what has that got to do with my comment about obesity?
    I have no problem with you or anyone challenging my comment, but it's obvious you can't and resort to a personal attack instead. Play the ball dude.

Ah you are grasping at straws with all this false outrage .
    Your post was nasty , no sugar coating could hide the fact that you were trolling for a reaction, but you don't like it when you get it back .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 57 ✭✭FrogmanBegins

It's quite simple soldiers have no legal powers to direct members of the public. I'm well aware of what 'aid to the civil power' means. As I said the girl guides would be as effective and have exactly the same policing power as a soldier.

It's a bit funny how the virus has brought out all the little Hitler's. God knows what they'd get up to if they were around in Nazi Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭flanna01

Still think this is over kill...

It's the young bucks that don't really seem to care too much about social distancing and all that jazz...

They get a lash of the Kung Flu, and spend the next fortnight scratching their sacks and feeling sorry for themselves.

The handful of deaths a day, though tragic and regretted, are not that uncommon in the bigger picture of things..

People pop their socks everyday... The young, the old, the brave and the bold... It happens like!

How many cancer victims have now gone undetected? How many more critical surgeries have been put on the long finger...?

The vulnerable know who they are.. The elderly know who they are.. The forty majors a day merchants know who they are...

Driving home this evening from my 'essential employee' workplace, I passed numerous gatherings of youths without face coverings or any form of Covid ettiquette... There was even a couple shifting...(Young love....)

Ok, so these morons are not bothered about the Kung flu, the statistics state they will hardly notice if they get it anyway..

But what about the parents of these Gobshytes?? Where do they think their little angels are on a cold, wintery October evening...? The parents of these dregs of society, are the first one's too be calling the Gubberment this, that and the other.. And we wonder why level 3 is a complete waste of time... And it is to.

No more talk of lockdown.. It's futile. It's as ridiculous as suggesting we stop the economy again.

Do people still not get it....?? We lock down for six weeks, we emerge as warriors with lockdown medals, and proceed to do the dog on it for the next two weeks... Akin to a home coming after a long six week battle..

And the numbers go up again...

What now? Can't really do much until after Christmas anyway.. Might as well get totally polluted between now and then, bit of a session before we go for the hatrick..

It's a vicious circle. And like a perfect circle, it has no beginning and has no end.

Simple - Logical answer: Protect the elderly, the infirm and the vulnerable..... Be damned to the rest of us. We know the safety guidelines, we know what protective measures are required, we know how to protect ourselves...

If you drink a drink a bottle of scotch, and then drive at speed.... Who you gonna blame when you crash??

A little personal responsibility here guys...

The army can and do provide armed and unarmed assistance to the AGS and have done so for years.
    Plenty of examples online, and not just in relation to terrorism
    https://www.thejournal.ie/drugs-ammunition-seized-limerick-gardai-4930392-Dec2019/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Ever since covid began we have began an obsession with mortality, I hadn't a clue before this that 100-150 people died a day, that cancer took so many lives in this country. But now we hear of 2 deaths from covid or even with covid and its, God isn't it shocking, we need to do everything we can to stop it, get the army in. Do you think when this is over we will continue to be so obsessed with death. Will it carry over into our health service, will it improve. Will people care so much about all the other deaths when this is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,413 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

There must be an appetite among people in safe jobs to pay a Covid 5% tax in order to give more to those made unemployed.