General Premier League Thread 2020-21 - Mod Notes in 1st post. [Updated 17/12/20]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

https://twitter.com/mikeyfranklin/status/1317528860351696896

I've seen players touch ref's but never a linesman. Anyone else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Is the groper going to be sanctioned? "Hands on" is against the rules isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Is the groper going to be sanctioned? "Hands on" is against the rules isn't it?

Nope, you're allowed do it now
    Sergio Agüero will not face any retrospective action for placing a hand on the left shoulder of assistant referee Sian Massey-Ellis during Manchester City’s win over Arsenal as it is not deemed by the PGMOL, the governing body for officials, to have been an aggressive or threatening action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,487 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

RasTa wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/mikeyfranklin/status/1317528860351696896

I've seen players touch ref's but never a linesman. Anyone else?

Thats actually a good question, Ronaldo pushing the referee and some other incidents with referees came straight to mind, nothing springs to mind with linesmen but I can take a look

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Thats the right outcome imo. If they deemed it problematic enough the officials should have dealt with it during the game. He could well have seen red, or at least yellow for it but they decided not to action it rightly or wrongly and the context being key is what saved him from retrospective action obviously.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,972 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

On the Pickford tackle, it was atrocious.

Being a goalkeeper isn't a licence to make that kind of feet-first lunge towards an opponent. He did something similar to Mandzukic in the WC semi-final I think.

Has it been cleared up (by PGMOL) as to whether there was a VAR review of the incident, or did it stop at the offside. I find it hard to believe that such a tackle can ever be beyond the scope of VAR, regardless of any decision that had already been made.

And on a related note, is there still such a thing as a 'retrospective red card' or whatever it used to be called, or has that come to end now that VAR is in play to (supposedly) eradicate the need for it?

osarusan wrote: »
    On the Pickford tackle, it was atrocious.

Being a goalkeeper isn't a licence to make that kind of feet-first lunge towards an opponent. He did something similar to Mandzukic in the WC semi-final I think.

Has it been cleared up (by PGMOL) as to whether there was a VAR review of the incident, or did it stop at the offside. I find it hard to believe that such a tackle can ever be beyond the scope of VAR, regardless of any decision that had already been made.

And on a related note, is there still such a thing as a 'retrospective red card' or whatever it used to be called, or has that come to end now that VAR is in play to (supposedly) eradicate the need for it?

Pickford has form for those weird lunges alright, him being a keeper will likely get him away with that I'd imagine?

I didn't see the game, was the incident itself dealt with by the officials, as in did they see it and decide to do nothing at all I mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

yeah, apparently it wasn't even reviewed by VAR which was used to look at the offside just before the "tackle"

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

This is the issue I have with it. PGMOL deciding if it's aggressive. Probably a whole week's worth of non-Sport Guardian commentary articles about it interpreting body language and the such like. Everyone else on Twitter judging it and speaking for her.

The only opinion that counts is Massey herself. If she felt uncomfortable about it, reports it as such and nothing is done, then the judgements can come down above and beyond Aguero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Everyone is taking about the VAR on the pickford challenge but on top of that ref had a perfect veiw and there was a reply of him looking straight at it, nó idea how he can say he didn't see it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,057 ✭✭✭✭adox

My opinion is it should be a red regardless of sex.

I mean it’s just unacceptable to be grabbing officials. There’s enough indiscipline from players as it is without this regarding officials. I think this if let go is setting a dangerous precedent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,882 ✭✭✭✭CSF

adox wrote: »

I mean it’s just unacceptable to be grabbing officials. There’s enough indiscipline from players as it is without this regarding officials. I think this if let go is setting a dangerous precedent.

Yellow surely? I mean it’s clearly not appropriate but a red card seems crazy harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Are the offside lines shown by the TV companies done by themselves or are they getting images seen & sent from the VAR?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,057 ✭✭✭✭adox

CSF wrote: »
    Yellow surely? I mean it’s clearly not appropriate but a red card seems crazy harsh.

Yeah even a yellow but to let it go is not on.

I always remember in the past it was an unwritten rule that you didn’t touch the officials, certainly the ref. You ran the risk of being red carded if you did and that’s when cards weren’t as prevalent as they are now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

Just seen the Pickford incident there this morning, looked more like an awkward coming together than a malicious challenge, Can't understand the outrage.

Mane was offside, be it 2mm or 2 metres its still offside.

The tackle on Thiago, Richarlson was given a red and Thiago finished the game, to hear some of the responses last night I thought Thiago had been stretchered off.

What are people complaining about I'll never understand.

Aguero was wrong to do what he done but still not as bad as I expected to see, given people talking about him grabbing the official around the neck.

adox wrote: »

It could be a red, and there'd be little defence.

I think reading much more into it is pointless.

Ironic that it will probably take up far more analysis than the proposals for the women's game in Operation Big Picture. Where the owner of a club that shut down its own women's team and another that ran theirs into relegation proposed giving women a cheque and then turfing them out of the organisation to survive on their own. That's a much bigger threat to women in football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,946 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

CSF wrote: »

They should be cutting all intimidation, contact and verbal abuse of officials out.

Only the capitan can speak to the ref, if he shouts or curses then he's booked. No other player can speak to the ref or assistants and you can't touch the officials. If you do your booked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭McFly85

Just seen the Pickford incident there this morning, looked more like an awkward coming together than a malicious challenge, Can't understand the outrage.

Mane was offside, be it 2mm or 2 metres its still offside.

The tackle on Thiago, Richarlson was given a red and Thiago finished the game, to hear some of the responses last night I thought Thiago had been stretchered off.

What are people complaining about I'll never understand.

Aguero was wrong to do what he done but still not as bad as I expected to see, given people talking about him grabbing the official around the neck.

Awkward coming together? Pickford lunged in, missed the ball completely while diving feet first into Van Dijk. It’s as reckless a challenge as you’ll see on a football pitch and deserved a red. The VAR completely messed up that call.

The Richarlison red was deserved and correct. Knew he wasn’t getting the ball and got the man. Just because someone can walk after a challenge doesn’t mean it’s grand.

And if you can show me an angle that shows that 2mm that Mane is supposedly off, I’d love to see it.

McFly85 wrote: »
    Awkward coming together? Pickford lunged in, missed the ball completely while diving feet first into Van Dijk. It’s as reckless a challenge as you’ll see on a football pitch and deserved a red. The VAR completely messed up that call.

The Richarlison red was deserved and correct. Knew he wasn’t getting the ball and got the man. Just because someone can walk after a challenge doesn’t mean it’s grand.

And if you can show me an angle that shows that 2mm that Mane is supposedly off, I’d love to see it.

But he didn't catch VD with his feet, it was his upper legs made contact with him.

Look at the angle the VAR official used, that will show you.

If Thiago was injured why didn't he go off injured. Judging by the pass he played when Mane was offside he wasn't that injured.

Anyhow, no point in going around in circles, You seem to judge the incidents different to me but that's the great thing about the beautiful game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,882 ✭✭✭✭CSF

TitianGerm wrote: »
    They should be cutting all intimidation, contact and verbal abuse of officials out.

Only the capitan can speak to the ref, if he shouts or curses then he's booked. No other player can speak to the ref or assistants and you can't touch the officials. If you do your booked.

Yeah, no problem with a yellow for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,255 ✭✭✭eigrod

But he didn't catch VD with his feet, it was his upper legs made contact with him.

Look at the angle the VAR official used, that will show you.

If Thiago was injured why didn't he go off injured. Judging by the pass he played when Mane was offside he wasn't that injured.

Anyhow, no point in going around in circles, You seem to judge the incidents different to me but that's the great thing about the beautiful game.

Pickford’s was a 2 legged, knee high lunge ffs. Totally reckless and potentially career ending as most pundits, including Everton’s Osman said.

Richarlison’s was the same. Thiago had to go to hospital for a scan - the results of which aren’t known yet.

You are clearly biased in your opinion as you’re making out otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Fulham 1 up against Sheff Utd with a goal for Lookman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Sharp equalizes for Sheff Utd, 1-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Sharp equalizes for Sheff Utd, 1-1

Fresh off the bench about 2 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,182 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Those challenges like richarlson happen alot, over the ball studs up, not high or really reckless. Pickfords was absolutely crazy though, jumping in with a scissors challenge above the knee. He is a truly brainless footballer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,101 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Two feet off the ground, legs scissoring around Van Dijks standing leg impacting with his entire weight, and entirely out of control. About as dangerous as it gets to be honest.

You’re actually the first I’ve seen on here, in the media, or anywhere to say it wasn’t a terrible, dangerous challenge.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,681 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Goal for Palace, Zaha deputising admirably for Milivojevic on the pen

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Two feet off the ground, legs scissoring around Van Dijks standing leg impacting with his entire weight, and entirely out of control. About as dangerous as it gets to be honest.

You’re actually the first I’ve seen on here, in the media, or anywhere to say it wasn’t a terrible, dangerous challenge.

I think the Referee and the VAR official agreed with me.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I think the Referee and the VAR official agreed with me.

I think it was said that the VAR official didn't look at it, so he didn't agree with you. Even those who initally argued that the offside means he can't action it have backed down.

You are really having to stretch reality to not see that tackle as a red card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Ah lads come on.. obvious is obvious ,why feed them