If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

General Premier League Thread 2020-21 - Mod Notes in 1st post. [Updated 17/12/20]

1320321322323324326»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,420 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Yer forgetting the point against Liverpool.

1 win, 1 draw and 3 losses is his league return thus far.

I did, was focusing on first win too much. Would need to do better than 4 points from 15 to stay up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Yer forgetting the point against Liverpool.

1 win, 1 draw and 3 losses is his league return thus far.

Great result today albeit Wolves looked poor for much of the game. Still 4 points on the road at Anfield and Molineux is good going. Their defence looks really exposed at times. Think Sam will be looking for a defensive midfielder. Definitely needs a couple of players.

Simon Harris is monitoring the situation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,668 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Bielsa and Nuno found out, pair of bengal lancers:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Panrich

The Elland road pitch is like a ploughed field. A bit of a throwback to the 80's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,864 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Is Connolly injured for Brighton or has he been dropped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,012 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Is Connolly injured for Brighton or has he been dropped?

Out injured for another 2 weeks or so.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Very smart by Fulham to put a big white shiny display at the Chelsea end so that we can't see the goal post and crossbar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,430 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

kowloonkev wrote: »
    Very smart by Fulham to put a big white shiny display at the Chelsea end so that we can't see the goal post and crossbar.

Well they need to play into it in the second half so not sure they are trying to gain an advantage...

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Well they need to play into it in the second half so not sure they are trying to gain an advantage...

I'm talking from the tv viewing perspective. I was being sarcastic but it's a bit irritating and you'd think Sky would have the remove it behind the goal.

Chelsea utterly dominant, just camped around the Fulham box... seems like the chelsea plan is just to have the fullbacks hang out by the sideline to whip in crosses, and everrryone else hangs out in and around the box trying to not get in each others ways.

Christ... Fulham miss a bit of a sitter on the break. Very good play to create the chance, with a fairly abysmal shot at the end of it from Cavaleiro.

Coming into it a bit more towards the end of the half though.

Chelsea a few times in a row now doing some really stupid attempts at playing out from the back - each time giving it away really cheaply.

<edit>
    Aaand, a red card for Fulham. Hard to complain about it too much, was reckless alright.
    All action last 5 minutes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,142 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Well that was ****en stupid, completely out of control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,430 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Fulham has them selves right in it for 10 mins there and should have taken the lead. Stupid tackle now for a red card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,663 ✭✭✭doc_17

Seemed to be his right knee that caught the shin. Harsh. Probably deserved it more for making the actual tackle than the tackle itself. Stupid.

doc_17 wrote: »
    Seemed to be his right knee that caught the shin. Harsh. Probably deserved it more for making the actual tackle than the tackle itself. Stupid.

I think it's a red even if he makes no contact at all to be honest. He had no control of himself. Reckless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Fulham had a chance of getting something from the game before that red card and all, which makes it worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Another meh performance from us so far. The chance Fulham nearly scored from was lovely play. Still can’t really see what we are trying to do.

Fulham are very well organised. Only conceded 3 in their last 6 games.

Mendy not looking as solid these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,864 ✭✭✭The White Feather

That should be the end of that. I was hoping Fulham might hold onto a draw

Why wasn’t Abraham booked for knocking the ball out of the Fulham player’s hands when he was rushing to take a throw? I know they’ve replaxed that rule but wasn’t Wan Bisaku booked a few weeks ago for trying to stop a free kick being taken quickly?

Weepsie wrote: »
    Jaysus, I think Lampard has broken Werner. He'd have eaten up these chances the last 2-3 years. Fulham were very good, but Chelsea just look very, very averaage which that squad should never look
    I think defensively they don’t have great players. Good? Yes. But as good as Liverpool, City, Spurs and even Utd? I don’t think so. Serious issues in CM as well as he doesn’t have a regular pairing there and can’t seem to decide beside Kovacic and Jorginho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

I know they won the return fixture last year, but after the hammering they got last year I'd like Southampton to win again tonight against Leicester to win back some more bragging rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,786 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Feeling a bit stupid here because for the last couple of years I thought the Newcastle forwards name was Joe Linton. Turns out his name is Joelinton Cássio Apolinário de Lira :o

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

That has to be one of the more underwhelming days of PL football in recent times. Four pretty poor 1-0s until the late injury time goal at Leicester.

There seems to be a saturation point coming soon, not every minute needs to be seen...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,223 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

dfx- wrote: »
    That has to be one of the more underwhelming days of PL football in recent times. Four pretty poor 1-0s until the late injury time goal at Leicester.

There seems to be a saturation point coming soon, not every minute needs to be seen...
    The day did start with a 2-3 away win where the lead changed hands 3 times.

L'prof wrote: »
    What do the numbers in brackets mean lads? Brain not functioning today

I hate to critique work I haven’t done but I think the table would look much clearer and cleaner if it just had points attainable in the brackets.

Putting in games left too just muddies it.

Love the idea of the table though. Think it shows the state of play at a quick glance.

The tautology does confuse/ruin it though imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,629 ✭✭✭batistuta9

dfx- wrote: »

Rory Smith was making similar points on a twitter thread recently
    https://mobile.twitter.com/RorySmith/status/1345826312880062465

Some good points in it but just because it's on doesn't mean you've to watch it. Probably didn't watch those games before, so why now?

Can watch motd or YouTube highlights even quicker instead. If you've a VPN you can watch extended highlights on yt from NBC.

I still think all games should be broadcast after covid too, maybe not in individual timeslots but they'll still be fans of those teams that can't get to games that'd want to watch them