Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVI- 50,993 ROI (1,852 deaths) 28,040 NI (621 deaths) (19/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

UrbanFret wrote: »
    So how many cases would there have been in Dublin if they hadn't moved to level 3. Do you honest believe level 5 would have seen less cases today?

Level 5 when recommended would have had a minuscule effect today (maybe 10 cases).

If Dublin hadn't gone to level 3 I'd say it would have been consistent with the previous patter and had about half 40% of the national total (rather than 25% today).

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Whatever plan the government comes up with in the next few days, they need to focus on enforcement. They could announce level 5 or level 4.5 or level 3.75 or whatever, but that won't make a bit of difference if the same people continue to believe the rules don't apply to them.

Other European countries have enforced their restrictions much more stringently and we need to do the same.

That goes for employers too. If employees successfully worked from home during the first wave, there should be no reason why those employers should be asking / forcing the same employees into the workplace now. The government needs to make this unequivocal.

This is probably the best post on this thread Ive read in weeks.

Enforcement is key. People are flouting the rules for the sake of it and because there is no enforcement we are where we are right now.

Employers are just as bas as the ones flouting the law.
    Employers in Ireland by their very nature are very mistrusting of employees. They want to be able to micro manage everything their employees do.
    When they had no choice they were quite happy to keep businesses open online or from home working but now they is some semblance of normality they want people back in offices.

My wife has been told to show up in the office next week to literally just make phone calls- (no clients will be allowed to go to the office at all) - something she has been doing since February at home with zero issues. That's not quite right in a pandemic. Employers should be made to let people work from home that can work from home.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Slowed it? Sure for a week

We are now back to exponential growth

That’s not slowed!

Thing about the 'tables' of counties and incidence rates is as well...

The smaller counties can rise in incidence rate rather quickly with a significant cluster.

Leitrim were up near the top two weeks ago now things are stabilising again and they're lower down the table, whereas Sligo who by all accounts were probably doing among the best for a long time have now had exponential growth in the form of less than 200 cases in 2 weeks and now have an incidence rate of almost 300.

Whereas Dublin had more cases today but per population have a lower infection rate.

Nobody is doing well, that's the actual problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

JP100 wrote: »
    Yes but within that some approaches are more effective than others. HSE are like headless chickens at the moment. This whole thing of it been down to domestic spread first and foremost is a total joke. Either the whole country is having a house party every weekend or the virus is magically coming down through the light fittings of people's homes. Domestic spread is very much their answer to everything. In other words they haven't a fupping clue.

It's too easy to find a household contact.

As they said yesterday. If the two of us meet for a coffee and you have the virus and I catch from you. We both go home infect our spouses and kids. We have 2 domestic outbreaks. The link between you and me will probably be missed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,336 ✭✭✭RGARDINR

Akesh wrote: »
    We won't be able to afford to buy vaccines if we decide to go into continuous lockdown. Maybe those championing these lockdowns should be forced to pay the tab.

Everyone on the dole and in the civil service are desperate for another lockdown.

The head of the HSE is running NPHET who are covering for our shambles of a health service. You couldn't make it up...
    Why the civil service as a fair whack are already working from home so wouldn't make a difference to them in that respect.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Necro wrote: »
    Army currently have 7300 active personnel. Might help, but still probably not enough for the level of enforcement probably required for Hellrazer's proposal (I don't disagree with it per se, I just don't think we have the manpower which is part of the problem).

I think we would have if it was targeted. The Celbridge exit on the N4 this evening had 12 gardai at the checkpoint.

That's just nuts. 1 or 2 backed by a couple of army personnel would allow us to stretch our resources a lot more and we might just be able to use the targeted approach Ive suggested would stop this virus in its tracks.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

It's too easy to find a household contact.

As they said yesterday. If the two of us meet for a coffee and you have the virus and I catch from you. We both go home infect our spouses and kids. We have 2 domestic outbreaks. The link between you and me will probably be missed.

Exactly. I'm fairly sure I caught Covid from a mate who had been up the North (never told me) watching a match two weeks ago around at his place. His sister subsequently tested positive during the week.

I only developed symptoms on the Tuesday so the contact tracers didn't even want to know about what I did Saturday evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭King_Joffery

Very sorry for asking a question that was answered about 50 times already but what does backlog mean. 1000 today but 300 backlog. Why don't they just say 1300??

Well the 300 may not have been notified. Also positive swabs not always equal to the number of positive cases for a number of factors. We will likely see them in tomorrow's figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

Hellrazer wrote: »
    There is an alternative. That does involve restrictions.
    Heres the way I would do it if I was in charge of advising the government.

1. Open up the country.

2.Protect the most vulnerable in society-cocoon / isolate the vulnerable with supports in place for them ie food deliveries etc.

3.Enforce what we have instead of jumping from pillar to post and changing the rules when you(the government and nphet) feel like it. Its not helping the issue.

By enforce I mean make it a punishable offence for not wearing a mask / not sticking to the boundries of your local lockdown (see number 6) - mask wearing is the single most effective way to protect us all. -fine people that don't wear them when they are supposed to.

4.If you have a 5 point plan with properly defined procedures for dealing with the pandemic stick to it. Not have a 3.1 or 4.5 or any infinite number of decimal places between stages. Give each stage at least a defined time frame to see if it works.

5. Stop scare mongering the population. Be honest. Stop basing the lockdowns etc on unreliable information.

6. Use local lockdowns and not county wide or region wide. By this I mean if say Crumlin has the highest incidence of covid in Ireland - lock it down for 14 days and lock it down. None of this "its advice" and we have no way to enforce it. Theres no point in locking the back arse of Leitrim down when they have no cases and the city / town don the road is reporting huge numbers. Targeted lockdowns will halt the spread.

7. Stop NPHET from releasing information to the public. All media announcements to come from senior government. And backed up with reliable information.

well said. agree 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

We should take this very well presented opportunity Of huge case numbers to annex Cavan and use it for Military target practice.

What country are you from? Who is this we you refer too?You are obviously not Irish or you would know Cavan is already part of Ireland or maybe you though you'd sound educated by using a word you clearly don't understand. Cavan will be just fine. This day week Cavan numbers will be way down and somewhere else will be the centre of attention. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

What country are you from? Who is this we you refer too?You are obviously not Irish or you would know Cavan is already part of Ireland or maybe you though you'd sound educated by using a word you clearly don't understand. Cavan will be just fine. This day week Cavan numbers will be way down and somewhere else will be the centre of attention. :rolleyes:

Did he hit a soft spot, hai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Great to see Dublin numbers falling, the closure of pubs and restaurants has really had an impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Lesnar Defender

No need to make personal comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Swabs number = midday to midday

Case number = midnight to midnight

Different times, therefore they don't line up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭Polar101

Swabs number = midday to midday
    Case number = midnight to midnight
    Different times, therefore they don't line up

Maybe by the next pandemic they could move one of the times by 12 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭maebee

Exactly. I'm fairly sure I caught Covid from a mate who had been up the North (never told me) watching a match two weeks ago around at his place. His sister subsequently tested positive during the week.

I only developed symptoms on the Tuesday so the contact tracers didn't even want to know about what I did Saturday evening.

How are you doing now Necro? How are you finding the isolating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Cavan lads be so mean they won’t even share a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Queried

Hey Necro,

Hope you've been feeling better, have your symptoms improved at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭AlphaDelta1

bennyl10 wrote: »
    14 day incidence in Dublin has gotten considerable worse this week

Level 3 is failed dramatically

Yeah been obvious now for a few days L3 not working whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Hellrazer wrote: »
    I think we would have if it was targeted. The Celbridge exit on the N4 this evening had 12 gardai at the checkpoint.

That's just nuts. 1 or 2 backed by a couple of army personnel would allow us to stretch our resources a lot more and we might just be able to use the targeted approach Ive suggested would stop this virus in its tracks.

That checkpoint is slowly turning into a town of its own... They now have a wind turbine and solar panels, manned 24/7... Ran past yesterday and about 15 gaurds at it.

3km away from the unmanned station in the town itself

Akesh wrote: »
    We won't be able to afford to buy vaccines if we decide to go into continuous lockdown. Maybe those championing these lockdowns should be forced to pay the tab.

Everyone on the dole and in the civil service are desperate for another lockdown.

The head of the HSE is running NPHET who are covering for our shambles of a health service. You couldn't make it up...

What are you blathering about, most of the civil service are working from home so no effect on them in terms of work apart from not having to travel into their office.

If you were to believe most of the posters on here about the unemployed they are missing out on their three sun holidays a year.

Also the head of the HSE is Paul Reid, who isn't a member of NPHET.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Friend of mine tested positive Wednesday, contacted by tracers this morning for all the contacts. Think that's fairly good going, roughly 48 hours from testing positive to contact tracing finished and tests organised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

No need to make personal comments.

He brings it on himself in This case

Tweet ironic things, you become fair game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭rsl1976

maebee wrote: »
    How are you doing now Necro? How are you finding the isolating?

I'm fine now, though still have 9 days isolation to go :(
    Queried wrote: »
    Hey Necro,

Hope you've been feeling better, have your symptoms improved at all?

Symptom free since Monday evening, though the breathlessness is probably going to hang around for a while. Not noticeably so though, so just taking it easy this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

It’s the schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Russman wrote: »
    Just by the by, and with a view to enforcement and manpower, is there any legal way for the govt to temporarily, say for 6 months, empower the army with policing powers to assist with checkpoints etc etc ? Like instead of two Gardai you might have one Garda and one soldier at a checkpoint. Genuinely asking. I know there might be constitutional issues or problems with the civil liberties whingers.
    Never turn your army on the people for enforcement, use them to help eg in the testing as they are doing or bringing people to hospital etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Parabellum9

Yeah been obvious now for a few days L3 not working whatsoever.

No level will work while the schools are still open.