Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVI- 50,993 ROI (1,852 deaths) 28,040 NI (621 deaths) (19/10) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Neddyusa

What could the government realistically have done differently? Is not as if they can magic up extra capacity in the health service - and this is especially true when medics are in high global demand.

They spelt out some fairly simple rules. Wash your hands, wear a mask, keep your distance, avoid crowds, limit your contacts. It's the last two that has largely been ignored and the country is in the state its in because of that.

The citizens for once will have to take the blame here, this isn't governments fault.

Seriously - what's this obsession with blame??!

It seems like blame and recriminations are the "we're all in this together" of the second wave.

It's a mostly asymptomatic, highly transmissible virus.
    Unless it turns out to be a manmade virus then nobody is "to blame"!
    Humans behaving as humans do is not unexpected.
    Do you need to blame someone when it rains?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,494 ✭✭✭pauldry

Maybe the Government should say

"Everyone go to sleep for 2 weeks and rest yourselves"

Would it be gone then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,152 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

pauldry wrote: »
    Maybe the Government should say

"Everyone go to sleep for 2 weeks and rest yourselves"

Would it be gone then?

Well seems noone would be there to stack the shelves we would all be dead within a week.

Forgive my cynicism, but I'm just seeing mental health being bandied about as an excuse for ignoring the guidelines. It's the case that a huge proportion of people have zero resilience and are that fragile, or it's a convenient excuse to hide behind.

And for the vast vast majority it's the latter.

People generally confuse morale and mental health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

People generally confuse morale and mental health.

Oh what crap you spout.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Anyone asking for guidance on whether Halloween is cancelled is a feckin idiot.

Do people really need to be told ffs.

Course they do. Most of us have cop on, a few don’t and we can thank them for the new tightened guidelines.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

I think most people feel like going to bed for 2 weeks

you go into Arnott's and buy something, it'd handed to you from someone who hails from some community!!

you knock on a door, you're handed something from somebody in your community... crisps, M&M's etc.. all packed in a factory all stacked on a shelf in Dunnes/Tesco by guess who?? YAYYYY someone in your community!!!

what's your point???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

Well I will still be celebrating Samhain, don't need trick or treating for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Daily operations update is out.

Total in hospital down to 214 (from 234 this morning). 30 in ICU with sadly 1 death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

HSE operations report 14/10
    214 confirmed hospitalised cases, down from 230 last night
    30 in ICU, 21 ventilated.
    One death in ICU last 24 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Can somebody explain to me what Sinn Fein actually want in relation to the same lockdown measures across the whole island? They keep demanding that the whole island should be the same, but surely a regional approach is the way to go, Derry & Strabane need a higher level than Belfast, and some border counties on this side of the border need something similar, but how can the whole island have the same level? Britain is very regionalised too with certain cities having tighter Covid controls due to outbreaks being worse in some places/regions than others, so can we and should have exactly the same lockdown measures all over the island of Ireland? NI closes all schools so we do the same, Derry moves to the UK equivalent of Level 5, so should we do the same in the rest of the island?

One size fits all?

I think most people feel like going to bed for 2 weeks

Believe it or not life will continue with or without covid.

Sooner the better we all realise this.

Until then we have to hide away scared and full of fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,139 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Neddyusa wrote: »
    Seriously - what's this obsession with blame??!

It seems like blame and recriminations are the "we're all in this together" of the second wave.

It's a mostly asymptomatic, highly transmissible virus.
    Unless it turns out to be a manmade virus then nobody is "to blame"!
    Humans behaving as humans do is not unexpected.
    Do you need to blame someone when it rains?!

Apples and oranges. Cohesive societies like japan have been able to keep a lid on this by following the guidelines.
    Ours hasn't because a large proportion, possibly even a majority are unable to follow simple instructions.

So yes, blame is appropriate and as unpalatable as that may be, its appropriate to lay it on the citizenry, not government.

Can somebody explain to me what Sinn Fein actually want in relation to the same lockdown measures across the whole island? They keep demanding that the whole island should be the same, but surely a regional approach is the way to go, Derry & Strabane need a higher level than Belfast, and some border counties on this side of the border need something similar, but how can the whole island have the same level? Britain is very regionalised too with certain cities having tighter Covid controls due to outbreaks being worse in some places/regions than others, so can we and should have exactly the same lockdown measures all over the island of Ireland? NI closes all schools so we do the same, Derry moves to the UK equivalent of Level 5, so should we do the same in the rest of the island?

One size fits all?

They just want to say "We need an all Ireland approach". They say that about everything, there is rarely any logic or sense to it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

rusty cole wrote: »
    you go into Arnott's and buy something, it'd handed to you from someone who hails from some community!!

you knock on a door, you're handed something from somebody in your community... crisps, M&M's etc.. all packed in a factory all stacked on a shelf in Dunnes/Tesco by guess who?? YAYYYY someone in your community!!!

what's your point???
    Aside from the fact that we're being told to wash our hands and keep our distance (because you can pass this on even if asymptomatic through droplets someone else expels), are we fighting for Halloween now!!! An American holiday based around sugar and creating an unhealthy stigma around death involving frightening imagery and fictitious creatures. Bob for apples in your gaf and try to get a coin out of an orange hanging from a door with just your teeth. Just make sure to sanitize everything for the next person.

Have you no more pressing impediment than not getting free sweets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Parabellum9

The upswing in infections starts to trend from around the time the schools reopened, I can’t understand why people are blaming house parties non stop for this. People had house parties all throughout the summer and the numbers were low, the second the schools reopened it went out of control again.

Would it not make sense for them to send students back to remote learning for at least a month and see what happens in terms of cases?

Apples and oranges. Cohesive societies like japan have been able to keep a lid on this by following the guidelines.
    Ours hasn't because a large proportion, possibly even a majority are unable to follow simple instructions.

So yes, blame is appropriate and as unpalatable as that may be, its appropriate to lay it on the citizenry, not government.

Exactly.

Ireland is full of let's say people who don't care about anyone or anything only themselves.

Huge amount of these around compared to a lot of other countries.

One size fits all?

I don't think it's Sinn Fein driving it. I think it is by virtue of the fact we have a common travel area.

All good saying you can't travel from wicklow to Dublin but it loses its meaning when you can travel to Belfast or London without hindrance.

It is in fact farcical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

CBear1993 wrote: »
    The day that you have to wear a mask outdoors is the day this thing has went way too far. I along with others will be “done” as it’s said.

Can’t believe they’re proposing it

If wearing a mask outdoors becomes a thing that keeps the transmission down and keeps shops open is it not a good thing. If there was a choice between level 3 with masks outdoors and level 4 would you not be happy with level 3 with masks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,130 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

One size fits all?

That failed part of UK will never be ok now. As I see it Arlene will not align with ROI ever, and that is a tragedy. We here would align with them I have no doubt.

But they are putting everyone at risk for just not wanting anything to do with ROI at all even though they know that Westminster couldn't give a fig about them.

I really thought Covid would change things. But no.

Fed up with the lot of them SF, and DUP idiots. Want to hear more from Alliance and others with a non Sectarian brain now.

Probably for another thread, sorry now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,413 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Cork needs another hospital, this isn’t really a new thing. Last I heard they were in preliminary talks and looking at the St Stephens site in Glanmire for a new hospital but haven’t heard anything since.

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1316502476376412160

What about St. Mary's up the Northside is that just CCovid testing now?

Is SIVH also open to in patients?

The upswing in infections starts to trend from around the time the schools reopened, I can’t understand why people are blaming house parties non stop for this. People had house parties all throughout the summer and the numbers were low, the second the schools reopened it went out of control again.

Would it not make sense for them to send students back to remote learning for at least a month and see what happens in terms of cases?
    Have you a link to all your claims?

House parties were going on all summer?

Did you miss the reopening of society in July?

But schools schools schools.

Give us the evidence.

The rate of infection has been growing steadily through the summer, at much the same rate as it is now. We just didn't notice it then because the number of cases was small.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭CBear1993

You’re some a*s licker. Get off your high horse, comparing us to Japan, too right we aren’t Japan.

The rate of infection has been growing steadily through the summer, at much the same rate as it is now. We just didn't notice it then because the number of cases was small.

Some of us did though and got slagged left right and centre. Sure look ,maybe it'll stabilise. Exponential is a dirty word on here. :rolleyes:

You pointed it out in July?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭CBear1993

If wearing a mask outdoors becomes a thing that keeps the transmission down and keeps shops open is it not a good thing. If there was a choice between level 3 with masks outdoors and level 4 would you not be happy with level 3 with masks?

No ciaran. I wouldn’t.
    So you’re telling me I’d have to put one one when I go out through my front door in an urban area in the mornings. Or on the street in your town/city.

That’s lost the plot stuff that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

I don't think it's Sinn Fein driving it. I think it is by virtue of the fact we have a common travel area.

All good saying you can't travel from wicklow to Dublin but it loses its meaning when you can travel to Belfast or London without hindrance.

It is in fact farcical.

Farcical is the word alright. The porous border and freedom of movement that everyone was so precious about not that long ago during Brexit negotiations isn't serving us very well now.