Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,546 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

This age debate is a bit dishonest and a bit creepy - from both 'sides' tbh.

Yes average age is early 80s but once you are 80 you are not likely to drop dead tomorrow. On average you have a good few more years in you if you're fit enough to have reached 80. 80+ year old people are hardly 'expendable'.

But equally it is a bit dishonest to hint that anyone tries to argue that they are. Nobody is saying people in their 80ies have had their lives and if they get knocked off by covid tough sh1t. No one is saying that.

But a couple of points must be made all the same.
    Firstly if you're 80+ covid is not exactly a death sentence. The risk is significantly higher but even the vast majority of 80+ people are ok.
    And secondly respiratory disease/pneumonia is one of the major causes of death for the very.frail and old. Its what people die from - you and me too. Thousands in Ireland every year long before covid. That or heart or stroke or cancer. A lot of the very old and frail who died from covid probably wouldn't be able to deal well with the flu or a fall either. So in that sense its certainly not the same as if school children would be the high risk group.

Of course . You have said this before ..
    But neither are acceptable things to say about any age group , that is my point .
    Especially as the op didn't seem to have empathy for older people or their relatives , but has children, hence the turnaround .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,183 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Latest HSE op report

Hospitalised 187 (+16)
    ICU 31 (+4)
    ICU Deaths 2
    Ventilated 18 (+1)

https://www.hse.ie/eng/services/news/newsfeatures/covid19-updates/covid-19-daily-operations-update-2000-09-october-2020.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Ce he sin

tom1ie wrote: »
    What vaccine? It’s roll out date has been announced?

There are several vaccines in Phase 3 trials, so whichever has been approved by then. Production has already started in some cases and the best estimate is that there will be some availability early next year.
    Unless you have information to the contrary of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,136 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Gruffalux wrote: »
    Sick of this sh1t. My mother is a short few years off 80. She walks miles every day. Loves style. Maintains a house including painting rooms when she gets the notion. Mows a half acre of lawn every week. Maintains her flowerbeds. Likes whiskey and wine and has a vast number of friends to whom she is always talking on the phone. Reads. Likes the news. Gives out vigorously about all the current affairs. Is hugely interested in her many grandchildren all of whom love her a lot.
    This creeping casual eugenicism is disgusting actually. And I am fed up of it.

Me too. Load of selfish creepy evil shîte. The majority of my aunts and uncles on both sides of my family as well as parent are over 80. My aunt at her next birthday is 90.

Every one of them drives bar the 89 year old who never did.

All living ACTIVE and fulfilling, enjoyment filled lives. They all live active social lives, regularly meeting friends, siblings. Involved in charity work. So they deserve this getting sorted and the SACRIFICES we ALL need to make in the interim to enable that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Ce he sin wrote: »
    There are several vaccines in Phase 3 trials, so whichever has been approved by then. Production has already started in some cases and the best estimate is that there will be some availability early next year.
    Unless you have information to the contrary of course.

We don’t have a concrete date for a mass roll out for a vaccine.
    That’s just a fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Always_Running

spookwoman wrote: »
    Latest HSE op report

Hospitalised 187 (+16)
    ICU 31 (+4)
    ICU Deaths 2
    Ventilated 18 (+1)

https://www.hse.ie/eng/services/news/newsfeatures/covid19-updates/covid-19-daily-operations-update-2000-09-october-2020.pdf

Big increase in Cavan hospital in recent days. Still low numbers in the 3 Connacht hospitals.

Was the 2 deaths on that hse update added into today's reported deaths?

Big increase in Cavan hospital in recent days. Still low numbers in the 3 Connacht hospitals.

Not sure, will probably see them in tomorrows or next weeks epidemiology reports

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

The surge of Covid cases wouldn't have happened if it hadn't been for the Gaelic county finals.

Britain did without the Wimbledon tennis championships for this year - why can't Ireland do the same with Gaelic matches?

Where’s your evidence for blaming county finals for the surge.i heard of nothing in my county associated with a surge.typical of the anti gaa shower to blame the gaa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Latest HSE op report

Hospitalised 187 (+16)
    ICU 31 (+4)
    ICU Deaths 2
    Ventilated 18 (+1)

Dublin hospital numbers looking pretty stable. Cavan number is pretty shocking. Border counties are going to be a big issue. Please, Northern Ireland, shut your pubs, it's out of control.

Mater and Vincents out of ICU beds. CUH people on trolleys this morning and now 2 general and 0 ICU beds.
    System's cracks starting to show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Mater and Vincents out of ICU beds. CUH people on trolleys this morning and now 2 general and 0 ICU beds.

Only 2 in Mater ICU with covid, and 1 in Vincent's. So, not really a Covid issue, it just exposes that we don't have enough ICU beds. Agree re Cork. Awful pity that NPHET didn't recommend level 3 for whole country early last week, would have made a huge difference. I think the system will be under very severe pressure outside Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 522 ✭✭✭ax530

MarkY91 wrote: »
    My friend from Belfast said it's mostly people in Derry and Strabane. No idea if that's true or not but she blamed them at least.

That the problem, people think it bit them and they don't need to restrict.
    In NI very few restrictions & little to no communication so they not sure if following UK guidelines or where to find out local restrictions.
    Spoke to someone Belfast today couldn't believe pubs & indoor sport here closed. He was off to indoor soccer (18-20) followed be a few pints!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Past 14/7 days Dublin hospital patients went from: 69 -> 75 -> 80
    Rest of the country: 41 -> 57 -> 107
    All based on the daily 8pm HSE hospital reports.
    Dublin appears ok, the rest of the country is far from it though and we won't see any effect of level 3 for at least another week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,679 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Ah yeah, sure it was Necro.

*waves*

Yeah just following the train of thought on this, the school principal has been in touch, the school won't be informed unless my kid tests positive (which, is probably likely seeing as try as I might, young kids want to hug and play with their dad and have no concept of social distancing).

But the school know, they just can't do anything until they have a confirmed case. Which will probably be next week in all honesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,136 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

boggerman1 wrote: »
    Where’s your evidence for blaming county finals for the surge.i heard of nothing in my county associated with a surge.typical of the anti gaa shower to blame the gaa.

There are GAA people blaming the GAA. I know of one quite known person involved in an inter county set up who has been prominently critical.

Interesting how people who disagree or are critical get labeled ‘anti GAA’. They are in fact pro health, pro wellbeing, pro community. If that would make them anti GAA ( it of course doesn’t ) I’m fine with that. Reality is that ‘some’ GAA heads need to pick up all their toys that they’ve thrown out of their cribs. When it comes time for them to walk, they’ll be in the middle of a trip hazard. People won’t forget this in a hurry. Longggg memories, maybe certain government people will be reminding themselves when it comes to funding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭obi604

Delete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭poppers

Think someone said on here that there was a big outbreak in the hospital

poppers wrote: »
    Think someone said on here that there was a big outbreak in the hospital

Reported today
    https://www.leitrimobserver.ie/news/home/579783/covid-19-outbreak-at-cavan-hospital.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Thanks. That explains it, was just 3 in Cavan hospital with Covid 2 days ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭mollser

Fair play to Martina for keeping track of the data. Great to see very few schools with more than 1 or 2 cases.

I noticed this. The hysteria that some have about schools, yet this account is literally proving beyond any doubt that there's f all spread in schools!

Not saying it can't happen (esp in older classes) but the sheer amount of schools with isolated cases is quite comforting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,969 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Appears to be a big outbreak in Cavan hospital based on the operations report.
    Beaumont also had 12 confirmed cases today, while Cavan had 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,793 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Yep, every winter is a disaster in the hospitals. This one will be even worse and we had plenty of time to prepare.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I feel for another with relatives and friends in hospitals and also in residential care nursing homes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,879 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Appears to be a big outbreak in Cavan hospital based on the operations report.
    Beaumont also had 12 confirmed cases today, while Cavan had 10.

Outbreak actually in the hospital...again?

Yep, every winter is a disaster in the hospitals. This one will be even worse and we had plenty of time to prepare.

One saving grace here in Waterford is the new wing that was built and are using it for covid. Separate building to the main hospital and also has single rooms etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,969 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

fritzelly wrote: »
    Outbreak actually in the hospital...again?
    Cavan now has 20 cases, second highest in the country. Yesterday they had 11, 9 the day before.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

The young lad on the late late show. He ended up in ICU and has nerve damage from either being in ICU or from covid, they weren't sure. He can't walk. Was on a ventilator for 12 days. He has other lasting affects as well, can't smell or taste. He's only 17. They didn't mention other family members having symptoms (though in my opinion, if they were living with him, they must have been asymptomatic).

I don't know what's more scary, his horrific story or how the rest of his family were ok. This is one weird virus and how it affects people differently.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Thierry12 wrote: »
    Risk of death at 80 is about 10% in general life

At 80 you generally have months left

We have to die

Really?

My parents are 90 and 95, and another close family member is also 90, so I'd kind of like to be able to get to that sort of age as well, so keeping away from Covid is pretty high on my agenda right now.

Right now I am sick to the back teeth of the "feck ye and yer rules" brigade who seem to think that this pandemic is a joke.

Level 4 or 5 won't make that much difference to the spread of this virus, a much more effective solution would be a curfew from 2100 to 0500, and some teeth to the rules with sanction for those who think the rules don't apply to them.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

The young lad on the late late show. He ended up in ICU and has nerve damage from either being in ICU or from covid, they weren't sure. He can't walk. Was on a ventilator for 12 days. He has other lasting affects as well, can't smell or taste. He's only 17. They didn't mention other family members having symptoms (though in my opinion, if they were living with him, they must have been asymptomatic).

I don't know what's more scary, his horrific story or how the rest of his family were ok. This is one weird virus and how it affects people differently.

Its terrifying to be honest, scariest thing for me is that we really don't know what long term effects it will have on people's/kids health, saw some article a few days ago about it affecting male fertility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,305 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Really?

My parents are 90 and 95, and another close family member is also 90, so I'd kind of like to be able to get to that sort of age as well, so keeping away from Covid is pretty high on my agenda right now.

Right now I am sick to the back teeth of the "feck ye and yer rules" brigade who seem to think that this pandemic is a joke.

Level 4 or 5 won't make that much difference to the spread of this virus, a much more effective solution would be a curfew from 2100 to 0500, and some teeth to the rules with sanction for those who think the rules don't apply to them.
    Your parents are lucky to have such a decent family. Seems like some would have had the coffins sitting in their front room the last 10-15 years.