Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,000 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Wolf359f wrote: »
    I can assure you, in Ireland it's not the same.
    This crap about did they die from/of/with covid or when deaths are announced some people assume it's historic deaths etc.... Maybe trying to downplay it in their mind to make it easier on themselves or justify their behavior.

Tony Holohan admitted it.

Said deaths where Covid was not the primary cause was counted as a covid death.

The median age of death was 88.

I can link but its behind a paywall

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/health/making-sense-of-conflicting-data-around-covid-19-deaths-1.4265947%3fmode=amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,145 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

So if you stop the car, get out and get back in half way through your journey you can safely travel twice as far?
    Those kind of analogies are just pointless.
    Unless you want to add in drink drivers, cause then your more at risk of killing someone else. That's a more fitting analogy.

Add in whatever you want, you get in your car tomorrow and drive to work. You journey to work is more deadly than covid if your under 60. This is fact you can't dispute it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,556 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/health/making-sense-of-conflicting-data-around-covid-19-deaths-1.4265947%3fmode=amp

This is the magical question that needs to be answered.

ICU deaths are quite possibly the real metric.

People deemed healthy enough to recieve treatment who passed away

So there could be people in ICU with covid but ended up there because of a road accident????

Surely this can't be right????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭RickDeckard

The only thing I know is we live in a divided country where everything is everyone else 's fault.

No one takes any ownership of consequences,from the top to the bottom of Irish society.

I think about 80% of us are doing the right things, but we must stop tearing each other apart.accept and manage idiots.

This is a God Awful **** show, f u c k MM & LV and the rest. They may be doing their best genuinely,but they are minnow's on the scale if things, I.e useless.

It breaks my stone cold heart to see this country being divided up like chopped liver against each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

The virus is not an extremely mild virus.

I would agree with this from talking to the people I know who got it. Quite a nasty dose for up to 2 weeks to recover from the worst of it, with some milder prolonged conditions like bowel issues or fatigue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

niallo27 wrote: »
    Add in whatever you want, you get in your car tomorrow and drive to work. You journey to work is more deadly than covid if your under 60. This is fact you can't dispute it.

If I get in my car and crash will all my close contacts be at an increased risk of also crashing on their way to work?

How are people still comparing covid to car crashes? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

rusty cole wrote: »
    sure her's a 50yr old dies less than a week after a car crash and was put down as covid.. are you telling me that if he had not been in a crash, he'd have died from covid 19 in 7 days??

he never even knew he had it, was going about his business and maybe suffered a puncture lung and other injuries in the crash.

stupid stuff!! Admitted on the Monday and died that sunday, < one week
    https://www.wfmz.com/health/coronavirus/coroner-man-hospitalized-after-crash-dies-of-covid-19/article_768425fc-77fc-11ea-9c71-bf0a00d2beb8.html

He was tested as he was displaying symptoms and then passed away due to virus related respiratory failure.
    No mention of a punctured lung.

Yeah as there are a huge number of Garda killing suspects. Huge problem.

I think the joke has gone so far over your head its orbiting the moon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭xvril

So there could be people in ICU with covid but ended up there because of a road accident????

Surely this can't be right????

Yes but it would have to be a bad car accident.

It is very possible that someone with covid has a serious non-covid related accident or illness and ends up in ICU. If they are known to have covid they will need to be added to the ICU list of people in ICU with covid. Even if they are being treated for a brain injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

I checked Irelands latest life expectancy stats - 78.4 / 82.8 years for men / women.

Unfortunately I can't read the article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

If I get in my car and crash will all my close contacts be at an increased risk of also crashing on their way to work?

Because it's comparable risk. We have to accept some risk and do every day in our lives when we get into a car. So it's a good example of why you cannot have no risk. We do not demand risk free driving

Obviously you can't catch a car crash. That's not the risk that's being compared.

xvril wrote: »
    Yes but it would have to be a bad car accident.

It is very possible that someone with covid has a serious non-covid related accident or illness and ends up in ICU. If they are known to have covid they will need to be added to the ICU list of people in ICU with covid. Even if they are being treated for a brain injury.

And if they die they are added to the 200 + 3 that died from covid numbers we see every day.

Absolute bonkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,245 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

I can assure you, in Ireland it's not the same.
    This crap about did they die from/of/with covid or when deaths are announced some people assume it's historic deaths etc.... Maybe trying to downplay it in their mind to make it easier on themselves or justify their behavior.

You are very assured in your but 100% wrong

and yet the magic media are busy getting excited over poltical dynasties and who said what about which day they said it and if the healy rae's are right and Leo is wrong etc. Jurnos are real pieces of ****, we should know that from the tribunerals...

Bottom line is, all the good will in the world is gone now and with Xmas coming, there's not a chance of level 5 because we';; come out of this level 3 in November, the busiest shopping month of the year and if that doesn't happen, we'll see more suicides, job losses, civil disobedience and protests than anything..
    The usual posters can jim corr this and gemma that but thems the facts people may have short memories at the ballot box but they have shorter tempers in traffic jams of 2 h+ hours, No pubs, no shops, no family or grand parents to share the stress, no off licence, no gyms, no walking dogs in the park, no coffee with a friend, no dinners out..etc etc etc.. we may as well live in a basement for the next few years like anne frank!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭xvril

And if they die they are added to the 200 + 3 that died from covid numbers we see every day.

Absolute bonkers.

In saying that there are genuine people who do get very sick and die from covid but it is rare.

I think the statistics are a load of crap on the death side of things anyway.

You are very assured in your but 100% wrong

Well maybe you can point me in the direction where it states anyone who ever tested positive from covid will eventually be counted as a covid death.

rusty cole wrote: »
    and yet the magic media are busy getting excited over poltical dynasties and who said what about which day they said it and if the healy rae's are right and Leo is wrong etc. Jurnos are real pieces of ****, we should know that from the tribunerals...

Bottom line is, all the good will in the world is gone now and with Xmas coming, there's not a chance of level 5 because we';; come out of this level 3 in November, the busiest shopping month of the year and if that doesn't happen, we'll see more suicides, job losses, civil disobedience and protests than anything..
    The usual posters can jim corr this and gemma that but thems the facts people may have short memories at the ballot box but they have shorter tempers in traffic jams of 2 h+ hours, No pubs, now hops, no family ro grand parents to share the stress, no off licence, no gyms, no walking dogs in the park, no coffee with a friend, no dinners out..etc etc etc.. we may as well live in a basement for the next few years like anne frank!

That's a mouthful, in my opinion level 3 will be sufficient if enforced but will last till at least mid January, gardai will get extra enforcement abilities in the meantime

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Serious question, Is the Dáil bar now closed and if open only allowed serve food to 15 outdoor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Mwengwe

Time stands still for some folk, that or they don't bother to inform themselves of things that go against their stance.

Well maybe you can point me in the direction where it states anyone who ever tested positive from covid will eventually be counted as a covid death.

That's a complete backtrack from what you said, the test used in Ireland is acknowledged to give a positive test for up to 70 days after infection, with dead cells etc

well PCR is so sensitive that everyone on thiis thread may have had covid last march and if an atom bomb hit Dublin and the bodies were swabbed, we'd test feckin postive and guess what,,though it's not stated..the brass necks would still put decapitated by flying shards..died with covid..

Worded as follows.
    Tonight we can confirm another 2500 people have died in Ireland with covid-19! end of!

That's a complete backtrack from what you said, the test used in Ireland is acknowledged to give a positive test for up to 70 days after infection, with dead cells etc

There is a difference between covid mentioned on a death cert (as it's a notifiable disease and extra precautions have to be taken from handling, embalming, burying and exhuming a body) and covid being mentioned as an underlying cause of death. As per WHO guidelines, which Ireland uses for deaths:
    Screenshot-20201008-001244.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,019 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

UsBus wrote: »
    It seems Rte and virgin just want an opposing opinion with medical background on to stir the pot. It's dangerous have Martin Feely on to spout some of his opinions.
    He might not be on again for a while after letting one rip live on air....

It's amazing that's we're constantly told to listen to the experts and ridiculed if not doing so. Yet someone with vast medical experience comes on with an opposing view (shared with many experts worldwide) and suddenly it's dangerous to have him on

There is a difference between covid mentioned on a death cert (as it's a notifiable disease and extra precautions have to be taken from handling, embalming, burying and exhuming a body) and covid being mentioned as an underlying cause of death. As per WHO guidelines, which Ireland uses for deaths:
    Screenshot-20201008-001244.png

So you are saying that any person who dies in Ireland with a positive covid test is not recorded as a covid death?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Czech rep is a bit of a surprising one, it's getting very out of hand there very quickly.Over 80 ICU admissions in the last 48 hours there, a lot in a country of 10m. Imagine that here, 20 new iCU admissions a day, posters would be going up the wall. You'd wonder how countries like Belarus managed to stave off this surprise outbreak so many countries have suffered even while trying so hard to stop it. Not that I think Belarus is necessarily reporting too accurately, but I think it's pretty obvious they didn't end up with healthcare catastrophe. How do some countries just manage to get off lightly with all the odds against them. Belarus has one of the least healthy populations in Europe with one of the lowest life expectancies

So you are saying that any person who dies in Ireland with a positive covid test is not recorded as a covid death?
    We wouldn't have any deaths recorded based on what you are assuming I meant.

If the person dies from covid complications (respiratory failure etc...), they would be recorded. If the person had covid and died of another illness/accident, they wouldn't be recorded as a covid death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭quokula

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    It's amazing that's we're constantly told to listen to the experts and ridiculed if not doing so. Yet someone with vast medical experience comes on with an opposing view (shared with many experts worldwide) and suddenly it's dangerous to have him on

Because the vast vast majority of experts agree with the overwhelming weight of evidence. You’ll always be able to find one or two people with good qualifications who are willing to spout nonsense to get themselves noticed / sell their book or whatever.