Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,967 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

528520.JPG
    These graphs are fantastic, fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,105 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Boggles wrote: »
    That's what every other cabinet official did. They are not being "slammed".

Well Martin said
    To move on Sunday to Level Five would have been an enormous shock to people and to jobs. Government has to take wider issues into consideration...
    The impact of moving to Level Five would have been very, very severe on the lives on many, many people.

Surely that's implicit criticism of NPHET? Seems to me Leo is getting hammered by Mary Lou in particular for calling a spade a spade and not taking refuge in plamas and platitudes

This is a Govt failure. Nothing to do with people. We had to resource up contact tracing yet it was stood down over the summer. That is the scandal and a lockdown should not be the solution.

You can't destroy the economy and peoples health because the Govt didn't hire enough contact tracers
    It blows my mind that rather than increase contact tracing while numbers were low and extend it back another 48hrs to determine where it was caught, they stood them down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭TexasTornado

Le Bruise wrote: »
    The Gardai Have to be 'seen' to be doing something (as we're being told Level 3 will be enforced more). Being out on the roads with flashing lights is the easiest way of doing this. House parties are almost impossible to police, unless there are neighbour complaints or it's some kind of project X shindig.

Well I don't pay an almost 50% rate of tax so they can be seen to do something. I want them to actually do something. Blue flashing lights on the N11 at 8am in the morning make no difference to the scumbags throwing dinner parties in Donnybrook at 9pm on a Friday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Its not a fall in Dublin yet, its a decrease in the growth rate over 7 days. Day to day starting to move in the right direction but too early to make conclusions
    528521.JPG

Form your graph, is it not a fall in 14 day incidence in Dublin from the peak on 3rd October and also below 1st October levels?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Great chart, thanks. Really shows a consistent fall in Dublin. Much more limited impact in Donegal. Hopefully, we'll see some action from Northern Ireland government - we need an all Ireland approach urgently.

Donegal is too small to impact national numbers. Hopefully, the green national line will follow the Dublin line over the next 3 weeks and we avoid Level 4.

Unfortunately, we are not going back to Level 2 again until at least March 2021. There is no scenario over the winter that i can see the Govt easing restrictions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

This must be annoying and achieves absolutely nothing.

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1313768609697665025?s=20

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭TexasTornado

LuasSimon wrote: »
    The checkpoints and restrictions will largely end up inconveniencing the law abiding like most other garda clampdowns .
    There’s a cohort of society that don’t adhere to any laws including covid compliance that the guards are afraid of or generally avoid that need to be tackled for these checkpoints to be effective . Travellers are the cause of clusters in many parts of rural Ireland particularly and in Dublin it’s general criminals who can do what they want .

Rubbish. I suppose the Clifden mob are excluded from your critic. A lot of people just gave in after that. It's not just criminals and travellers.

Form your graph, is it not a fall in 14 day incidence in Dublin from the peak on 3rd October and also below 1st October levels?

I am reluctant to draw any inferences on day to day movement of data. The growth rate chart I have is based on change relative to 7 days earlier, chosen as it is roughly the incubation cycle

People wanted Garda presence and are now complaining that Gardai are stopping people to ask them where they're going?
    It's a very clear deterrent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,336 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Surely that's implicit criticism of NPHET?

No, that is the actual leader of country explaining to the nation why advice wasn't followed in a calm manner.

Now of course Leo wasn't going to be upstaged by that, because he is in "opposition" so like the spoilt brat he is he throws a strop to garner attention and hop on the bandwagon of populism.

NPHET's crime, the emergency team had the absolute temerity to call an emergency meeting about a once in a generation pandemic on a Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

People wanted Garda presence and are now complaining that Gardai are stopping people to ask them where they're going?

Pissing people going off to work and hauliers is not clever. We need to start being a bit more nuanced. Clearly most people on the road at that time are going to work or hauliers. If we inspected work places we could prevent unnecessary journeys if that's the concern. Also how many nurses and doctors might be stuck in that or people who have essential journeys to make.

Also Leo getting called out on his talking point sh!te. i.e Lies

https://twitter.com/GabrielScally/status/1313444583238512640?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,715 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1313768609697665025?s=20

Pointless really at this hour of the morning, look at the amount of commercial trucks. And I would hazard the vast amount of traffic are heading to work, not going to hang around the streets, parks and shopping centres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭OwenM

The only people that put themselves in that position are NPHET, between their constant leaks to press before even informing Government of their decisions, to the stunt pulled on Sunday evening. That was an outrageous thing to do, and it is they whose ego's need to be put firmly back in their boxes, particularly Tony. He couldn't give a toss about the implications of what he was suggesting.

Correct, NPHET face an asymmetrical risk and still smell of roses even if the IMF are back here in two years time cutting the health budget by 40% and laying off Gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

I am reluctant to draw any inferences on day to day movement of data. The growth rate chart I have is based on change relative to 7 days earlier, chosen as it is roughly the incubation cycle

Agreed....at least it is positive. Lets hope people continue to follow the rules and we avoid harsher lockdowns. I fully believe adherence to Level 3 restrictions is enough to quell this surge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

GooglePlus wrote: »
    I don't think you even understand the concept of left and right wing politics. I think it's more a case that you use the term left to put those who disagree with you into a box.

Life is far more complex than left or right, you need to expand your thinking about these things.

Shes as looney left as anyone. If looney left was in a dictionary Izzy would be the picture.

Any update on Darwin?? You seem to have run away from that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

If we go to Level 5 we will not be getting out of it this side of Christmas. That is almost guaranteed based on the evidence of previous lockdowns worldwide. All because we have a few people in ICU and Hospital. We need a proportionate response otherwise the social solidarity will be broken for good.

I think the opposite. Stamp it out fast over 2-4 weeks then we CAN open up for xmas.

The only countries that have managed it have reacted hard and fast initally, then strict test, trace isolate.

To my mind Its like wildfire, we are trying a controlled slow burn, prob there is, sparks up and we are fire fighting again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

That guy on CB on RTE1 saying the main problem is people with trolleys of drink. His brother has a pub.
    He said it's ok if people get a bottle of wine in the evening.

So you want to incentivise people to go to the supermarket more often. Most sensible people buy 6 / 7 bottles at a time so they don't have to go to the supermarket every evening.

I'm sorry but it's a stupid idea and won't stop house parties.

I thought the same. It'd be a great strategy to get people out into supermarkets more frequently.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

CDC has updated their website again about covid being airborne, after removing it last week. The UK has acknowledged it's airborne.

And ourselves: spread by large droplets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

Free movement within the republic of Ireland, meeting family, keeping your business open etc are privileges given to us by the authorities , not rights, time people started to realize this.

CDC has updated their website again about covid being airborne, after removing it last week. The UK has acknowledged it's airborne.

And ourselves: spread by large droplets

The White House has a higher growth of infection then some countries.

I imagine they insisted on it being put back in.

No, that is the actual leader of country explaining to the nation why advice wasn't followed in a calm manner.

Now of course Leo wasn't going to be upstaged by that, because he is in "opposition" so like the spoilt brat he is he throws a strop to garner attention and hop on the bandwagon of populism.

NPHET's crime, the emergency team had the absolute temerity to call an emergency meeting about a once in a generation pandemic on a Sunday.

Incorrect, the teams position pivoted from the equivalent of a stiff breeze to a category 3 hurricane in three days, what changed so radically in three days, the perception by an individual did so it's not science based.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Polar101

Tánaiste tells FG meeting Level 5 'circuit break' is highly possible

I'm starting to think some people want a "strong leader", and think Leo is it. He did well in March, but there's a reason he was voted out of the office in the elections before that.

I found his "none of those nphetians would go on PUP" completely disingenuous, a poor attempt at pretending to be a man of the people.

There was no need for his show, all he did was guarantee that the next time NPHET makes a recommendation, the public do not trust it.

I do agree with Leo and friends that level 5 didn't make sense, though.

Tanaiste says level 5 is not appropriate now but may be in the future. There is nothing wrong with that statement. Suppose some want to be outraged by everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Polar101

Might be a good idea just to wave all those trucks through, unless they are planning to tell them they should only deliver their goods inside a county?

Pissing people going off to work and hauliers is not clever. We need to start being a bit more nuanced. Clearly most people on the road at that time are going to work or hauliers. If we inspected work places we could prevent unnecessary journeys if that's the concern. Also how many nurses and doctors might be stuck in that or people who have essential journeys to make.

Nothing nuanced about level 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

The NI executive has done absolutely nothing to try to achieve Zero Covid. Unfortunately, both major political parties in NI are spoofers of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭sp00k

Quite right, just by looking at the vehicles you know its going to be mostly work related. Set these checkpoints up on a Saturday morning to deter daytripping families, not a Wednesday morning.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

Things are looking ugly in Poland. Over 3,000 cases today and 75 deaths.
    The ministry said that as of Tuesday there were 263 ventilators and 3,719 hospital beds devoted to COVID-19 patients, compared with 141 and 2,399 respectively a week ago.
    https://www.reuters.com/article/health-coronavirus-poland/update-2-poland-reports-new-record-of-daily-coronavirus-related-deaths-idUSL8N2GX226

OwenM wrote: »
    Incorrect, the teams position pivoted from the equivalent of a stiff breeze to a category 3 hurricane in three days, what changed so radically in three days, the perception by an individual did so it's not science based.

https://www.gov.ie/en/collection/ba4aa0-letters-from-the-cmo-to-the-minister-for-health/#october

Knock yourself out.

Again no one from cabinet has refuted the science or data.