Covid 19 Part XXV-44,159 ROI (1,830 deaths) 21,898 NI (598 deaths) (13/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

How frequent are the tests and are they tested without warning?

Any stats for the workers who are living in Direct Provision?
    Not sure of the frequency. As the minister will be in front of a Committee later some details may emerge then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

Any positive swab updates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭stockshares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,801 ✭✭✭Benimar

Any positive swab updates?

518 swabs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

I suppose those protesters will be put in their place tomorrow when the new restrictions and "enforcement" measures kick in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭440Hertz

screamer wrote: »
    In the grand scheme of things, there have been a lot worse things done to ordinary people. You should look up the cervical check scandal, now that’s a very big **** show with tragic outcomes.

If they’re too conservative about it, they’ll get huge blowback. If they’re too relaxed about it, they get huge blow back.

There isn’t a perfect solution to this and there’s going to be a large degree of flying by the seat of our collective pants and muddling through.

The areas the government would rightly be heavily criticised for are more the traditional ones: lack of healthcare resources and that’s one going back a long way.

There was a report being quoted this morning from an EU agency that was also showing not everyone is measuring the same things when it comes to health. A significant aspect of our health budget is actually social care, yet we tend to assume health spending = doctors and hospitals. That’s quite likely feeding into a lot of false comparisons on health spending here.

There needs to be a really cold hard look at what is actually going on in health here not just not but across the last 3 decades or so and it would be very useful if Eurostat had access to figures for each of the 27 EU members that exclusively deal with health, not agency or departmental budgets that are defined differently in different jurisdictions.

I’m increasingly getting the sense we are getting on a moral high horse about health spending when we are likely pushing money into other aspects of the social services and classifying it as health, possibly as a result of our health system having its roots in welfare and the Poor Law / Unions etc etc

Something doesn’t add up in the comparison with other countries on similar levels of spend and my suspicion is we aren’t comparing like with like at all, as it’s fairly clear looking at what’s happening on the ground that the resources aren’t there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

OwenM wrote: »
    I'd say you can't wait, the glee is just oozing from you.

The problem is he is in all likelihood. correct. There's no point denigrating a poster for posting their opinion.

There's also no point denying what's as plain as the nose on your face.

I really think it's very infantile to slag people off, call them 'curtain twitchers' and 'doom merchants' simply because you don't like what's happening.

I don't like it either, don't want to be locked up, but given what I've seen this weekend, mostly GAA related in fact, I can't see anything but a large uptick in numbers and then hospitalisations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Minnie Snuggles

So the actions of one idiot is enough to put that county into level 3? what about the many others sticking to guidance and keeping cases level low in your county.

Read it again. The first idiot was just one of 9 that tested positive that day, he infected at least 4 more in a local bar, I don't know how many in the gym. One of these 4 - another idiot is not self isolating neither is another of his household.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,226 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Hypothetically speaking, if a vaccine is rolled out Jan 1st, who exactly would be expected to take it?

I would have thought health care workers would require a 100% uptake?

Health care workers have traditionally a very low uptake of the flu vaccine every year. I wonder would it be different for a Covid vaccine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,336 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Read it again. The first idiot was just one of 9 that tested positive that day, he infected at least 4 more in a local bar, I don't know how many in the gym. One of these 4 - another idiot is not self isolating neither is another of his household.

Doctor from Donegal on the radio this morning saying people who have been confirmed close contacts or awaiting test results walking past his surgery the past couple of weeks.

150 in hospital for second day running and 24 in ICU, an increase of one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,689 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Boggles wrote: »
    It's not how it works.

NPHET recommend what to do, they put this in a letter which gets sent to the cabinet.

It is how it has always worked and how it worked here.

It's up to Cabinet to make the decisions, including the time frame which they did for Dublin extending it out by 48 hours.

The main problem here is the cat is out the bag.

The promises about schools and health care being core priorities it quite obviously now bullshít

That's the reality setting in that protecting the economy is paramount, too many are detached from realism though and think every life has to be and can be saved. Your just a spoke in a wheel that has to keep turning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

NIPHET were responsible for leaking the following recently

Cowen's drink driving
    Phil Hogan's driving licence details
    Cabinet discussions on Brexit (https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/warning-to-cabinet-over-brexit-leaks-as-tanaiste-becomes-exasperated-at-disclosures-38521278.html)
    FG ministerial positions (https://www.redfm.ie/news/cork/varadkar-to-ditch-ministers-who-leak-to-the-media/)
    Government policy during Covid (https://www.express.co.uk/news/world/1272748/ireland-coronavirus-crisis-leo-varadkar-leaked-memo-eu-leaders)

Varad and FG in general is too media savvy and are partial to the odd leak, the last day or two reek of a set up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Hand in Your Pants

I wonder would that dope ever mind her own business. If a particular individual committed a criminal act it's a matter for the Gardaí. The last thing the world needs is another narcissistic Instagram 'influencer' mindlessly blabbing away in segmented tweets on Twitter as she kicks up water out of her play pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,003 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

humberklog wrote: »
    Health care workers have traditionally a very low uptake of the flu vaccine every year. I wonder would it be different for a Covid vaccine.

Thats my point.

The highest uptake among HCW in an Irish survey last year was at 53%. It was at 40% in 2014.

Why would the vaccine for Covid have a better uptake, or maybe it doesn't need a better uptake???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Exactly.

Leo bringing up the emotive nonsense of oh they wouldn't have to tell someone they are going on PUP was absolutely embarrassing.

He will have to come out and offer some sort of apology for that absolute shít show last night.

That Varadkar interview wont age well especially in a few weeks when hospitals are under increasing pressure. He clearly tried to to portray himself as a man of people but its just highlighted his lack of integrity

Thats my point.

The highest uptake among HCW in an Irish survey last year was at 53%. It was at 40% in 2014.

Why would the vaccine for Covid have a better uptake, or maybe it doesn't need a better uptake???

Ah come off it. You aren't comparing like with like. Its virtually guaranteed a Covid vaccine will have a better uptake than prior flu vaccines. Look at how much this has disrupted the world, people will take it far more seriously than a flu vaccine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,725 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

rob316 wrote: »
    That's the reality setting in that protecting the economy is paramount, too many are detached from realism though and think every life has to be and can be saved. Your just a spoke in a wheel that has to keep turning.

The schools been open and health care not been over run is vital to the economy. That's why the government identified them as core priorities and gave that task to NPHET. It's now changed.

The economy isn't just a singular thing that runs along by itself.

wadacrack wrote: »
    That Varadkar interview wont age well especially in a few weeks when hospitals are under increasing pressure. He clearly tried to to portray himself as a man of people but its just highlighted his lack of integrity

He outlined what his job is, to protect public interest, just like he said NPHET are there just to advise on public health. We spent months wondering are NPHET in control and the government just follow or are our elected representatives in charge? We got our answer last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,298 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The GAA coming out against their own should be a clue.

GAA doing what they felt was necessary to protect their inter-county tournaments that are starting up shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,665 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

So Gardai are going to operate 132 checkpoints...but without any legal powers to turn someone around?!?
    What a waste of time and money

The schools been open and health care not been over run is vital to the economy. That's why the government identified them as core priorities and gave that task to NPHET. It's now changed.

The economy isn't just a singular thing that runs along by itself.

The teachers are on the verge of throwing in the towel, do you really think if you go to a level 5 lockdown the notoriously strong teacher unions will allow their member to attend classes? Leo said last night he doesn't think schools can remain open under level 5. I agree, its fantasy.
    It comes plainly obvious the schools are driving the infection rates up and they will not go down while our children attend them.

Level 5 shuts all non essential business, that is quite a large portion of the economy.

Leo said last night he doesn't think schools can remain open under level 5

Really?

I must have missed that, where did he say it?

Research from NUI Galway has revealed that threats of arrest, fines and quarantine do not encourage people to follow the public health advice.

https://www.galwaydaily.com/news/covid-19/threats-of-arrest-and-fines-to-follow-covid-restrictions-dont-help-nui-galway-study-shows/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,003 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

AdamD wrote: »
    Ah come off it. You aren't comparing like with like. Its virtually guaranteed a Covid vaccine will have a better uptake than prior flu vaccines. Look at how much this has disrupted the world, people will take it far more seriously than a flu vaccine.

Calm down.

You could be right, Im only asking the question. You think its guaranteed.

The facts are HCWs havent a great track record taking vaccines, 1/3 of Irish adults said they wont and Im just wondering what the uptake needs to be for the vaccine to be successful.

Really?

I must have missed that, where did he say it?

CB asked why they rejected NPHET recommendations and he said one of the questions they asked was can schools stay open? NPHET said they could but they weren't convinced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭440Hertz

gmisk wrote: »
    So Gardai are going to operate 132 checkpoints...but without any legal powers to turn some around?!?
    What a waste of time and money

They were offered more powers and said they don’t want or need them but will keep that under review if their current approach doesn’t work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Calm down.

You could be right, Im only asking the question. You think its guaranteed.

The facts are HCWs havent a great track record taking vaccines, 1/3 of Irish adults said they wont and Im just wondering what the uptake needs to be for the vaccine to be successful.

Why wouldn't any normal person with a brain take a vaccine? Surely it's just those braindead anti mask protestors who wouldn't take it? That's fine by me. They can kill each other by infecting each otherfor all anyone cares.

CB asked why they rejected NPHET recommendations and he said one of the questions they asked was can schools stay open? NPHET said they could but they weren't convinced.

I'd say you misheard TBH.

That would be headline today if he said that.

Micky has pinned his response on keeping schools open.